BF2142 Tech support, Here we rant about issues with the game.
TSempire23
Nov 2 2006, 12:53 AM, updated 19y ago
Team Island Hopper
UPDATED
A few people i've hear inclusive of myself have gone through numerous problems with BF2142, and the loss of hair afterwards. Well, might as we start a thread out dedicated to solving technical issues associated with this Successor to Windows ME Game. Well i hope the mods pin it up so this thread can get more exposure and maybe help a few dudes push in some game play time.
This thread will generally compile problems and solution, which should be submitted in a simple and easy to read format as per the below for further ease of reference by our esteemed members, TKers and n00bs alike.
Diagnosis : One of the easiest ways to get a diagnosis is to use the system log. Go into the Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Events Viewer -> System. And then look for log entries with the Exclaimation mark beside them. Easy right?
[PROBLEM] Problem : eg; Giant Crabs in BF2142 Location : eg; Verdun Time : eg; While I was High last night Ping : eg; 100ms Setup : eg; Pentium MMX....... Likely Source : eg; Stupid DICE programmers, EA. Added Notes : The crab just CAME! Likely Fix : Find it's weak spot and hit for massive damage
[SOLUTION] Problem : eg; EA people hate me (post 1337) Solution : Hate them back
I plan to update the thread's first post with the above and if everyone with the same problems could chip in abit, heck we could send this shit to EA and get them to fix it. Plus in the mean time we could come up with fixes of our own.
Here's a few problems of mine
[PROBLEM] Problem : Graphical Corruption and funny geometric shapes on screen Location : Random Time : Random Ping : Random Setup : AMD Athlon X2 with X1800XT 512mb with Catalyst 6.9 Likely Source : Lankey Drivers or Game itself Added Note : Gets in the way of shooting people
[SOLUTION] Problem : the above Solution : None, but reduction of such anomalies is possible by upgrading to the Catalyst 6.10 Drivers. People also report that lowering the resolution helps, but i'm still not sure.
[PROBLEM] Problem : Screeching sound, PC hangs Location : Random Time : Random Ping : Random Setup : AMD Athlon X2 with X1800XT 512mb with Catalyst 6.10 and Audigy2ZS Likely Source : Game itself Added Note : NA
[SOLUTION] Problem : The above Solution : Go into DXDIAG, lower sound hardware acceleration to BASIC. Or use Software sound in the BF2142 options, or buy an XFI.
So i hope you guys keep posting so we can all help each other out. Even if you have a solution to a simple and maybe meaningless bug, just put it here.
USER SUBMITTED BUG REPORTS
REPORTED BY CEREAL
Problem : Random CTD's Graphical Bugs Location : Titan Mode Time : Playing more than 1 round of titan mode Ping : Any Ping Setup : Athlon64 3000+ X1600xt 256MB ram Likely Source : Graphical Drivers (using OLD cataclyst 6.6 Omega Drivers)
Problem : the above Solution : Downloaded Newer cataclysy 6.9 Drivers since Omega Said they cant produce any later drivers anymore www.omegadrivers.net
REPORTED BY NASIK [PROBLEM] Problem : inner titan goes to black Location : every titan map Time : everytime i enter teh titan, both enemies and own Ping : 100% not related. even in singleplayer teh same Setup : athlon64 3000+ 7800gt Likely Source : dont know. in demo it works fine Added Note : sux. cant see shit in it
[SOLUTION] Problem : the above Solution : none. at least for now.
REPORTED BY SIHUMCHAI
[PROBLEM] Problem : Crash to Desktop Location : Whatever map Time : Random, see added notes. Ping : Not related? Low ping and high ping also got. 120-450 Setup : AMD Athlon XP 1800ghz 9550SE 512mb RAM Likely Source : The Game itself.. Or my crap system Added Note : Happens after loading a map, not first game, maybe second, third, or fourth-- etc. etc.
[SOLUTION] Problem : the above Solution : Unsure
Unsure? Because a forumers asked me about CTD's.. I think it was Yoshuka, and I said no, doesn't happen to me. But recently it happened a 1-2 times. __________________________
[PROBLEM] Problem : Memory Leak Location : Whatever map Time : Random, see added notes. Ping : Not related? Low ping and high ping also got. 120-450 Setup : AMD Athlon XP 1800ghz 9550SE 512mb Likely Source : The Game itself.. Or my crap system Added Note : After long duration of gameplay, the game slows down dramaticly.. When exit to desktop.. It says virtual memory too low, or.. A hazard sign will be displayed at the system tray(which is low virtual mem).
Empire23's note : You probably need more memory since BF2142 uses around 750 megs of it
REPORTED BY AOSHI_88
[PROBLEM] Problem : It lags when the commander moves the tian you're assaulting Location : Whatever map(TITAN) Time : A few times Ping : 100-110ms Setup : AMD Athlon XP 2500 Barton with GeForce 7600GS 256MB GDDR2. Likely Source : The Game itself.. could be the Engine Added Note : I jump and so do other people.... all OVER the screen. [SOLUTION] Problem : the above Solution : None... EA hasn't said anything yet.
This post has been edited by empire23: Nov 4 2006, 03:08 AM
Aoshi_88
Nov 2 2006, 05:41 PM
[PROBLEM] Problem : It lags when the commander moves the tian you're assaulting Location : Whatever map(TITAN) Time : A few times Ping : 100-110ms Setup : AMD Athlon XP 2500 Barton with GeForce 7600GS 256MB GDDR2. Likely Source : The Game itself.. could be the Engine Added Note : I jump and so do other people.... all OVER the screen. [SOLUTION] Problem : the above Solution : None... EA hasn't said anything yet.
EDIT: Changed my GPU to Nvidia GeForce7600GS.
This post has been edited by Aoshi_88: Nov 3 2006, 02:08 PM
sihumchai
Nov 2 2006, 06:36 PM
Yate Haugan WOOSH!
[PROBLEM] Problem : Crash to Desktop Location : Whatever map Time : Random, see added notes. Ping : Not related? Low ping and high ping also got. 120-450 Setup : AMD Athlon XP 1800ghz 9550SE 512mb RAM Likely Source : The Game itself.. Or my crap system Added Note : Happens after loading a map, not first game, maybe second, third, or fourth-- etc. etc.
[SOLUTION] Problem : the above Solution : Unsure
Unsure? Because a forumers asked me about CTD's.. I think it was Yoshuka, and I said no, doesn't happen to me. But recently it happened a 1-2 times. __________________________
[PROBLEM] Problem : Memory Leak Location : Whatever map Time : Random, see added notes. Ping : Not related? Low ping and high ping also got. 120-450 Setup : AMD Athlon XP 1800ghz 9550SE 512mb Likely Source : The Game itself.. Or my crap system Added Note : After long duration of gameplay, the game slows down dramaticly.. When exit to desktop.. It says virtual memory too low, or.. A hazard sign will be displayed at the system tray(which is low virtual mem).
[SOLUTION] Problem : the above Solution : Unsure.. Help?
Unsure because, other people have reported memory leaks.. I think even wiki notes it.
This post has been edited by sihumchai: Nov 2 2006, 06:43 PM
Everdying
Nov 2 2006, 06:44 PM
Two is One and One is None.
blah blah blah. now i cannot alt-tab out of the game without it locking up.
same if i logout from my soldier acc and login again, just to get my new unlocks. it locks up also.
was working fine before.
silencer
Nov 2 2006, 06:46 PM
I guess u all needs a good system..as I have never encountered any stability problem as the above except thrice boing dc from the server since i first playing this online game. My system is Intem Pentium Dual Core 3G with dual slr xfx 7800GT.
nasik
Nov 2 2006, 06:46 PM
[PROBLEM] Problem : inner titan goes to black Location : every titan map Time : everytime i enter teh titan, both enemies and own Ping : 100% not related. even in singleplayer teh same Setup : athlon64 3000+ 7800gt Likely Source : dont know. in demo it works fine Added Note : sux. cant see shit in it
[SOLUTION] Problem : the above Solution : none. at least for now.
This post has been edited by nasik: Nov 2 2006, 06:46 PM
Everdying
Nov 2 2006, 06:48 PM
Two is One and One is None.
QUOTE(silencer @ Nov 2 2006, 06:46 PM) I guess u all needs a good system..as I have never encountered any stability problem as the above except thrice boing dc from the server since i first playing this online game. My system is Intem Pentium Dual Core 3G with dual slr xfx 7800GT. Thanks you have just cursed yourself. expect the witches of EA to rain down bugs and crashes on you in the next few days
XaVieRGizmo
Nov 2 2006, 06:58 PM

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 2 2006, 06:44 PM) blah blah blah. now i cannot alt-tab out of the game without it locking up. same if i logout from my soldier acc and login again, just to get my new unlocks. it locks up also. was working fine before. yeah i get that lockup problem as well. Not all the time though
SUSRaikkonen
Nov 3 2006, 06:38 AM
Guys, no server found. After using the new 1.01 patch...server will be available?
Cereal
Nov 3 2006, 08:12 AM

QUOTE(nasik @ Nov 2 2006, 06:46 PM) [PROBLEM] Problem : inner titan goes to black Location : every titan map Time : everytime i enter teh titan, both enemies and own Ping : 100% not related. even in singleplayer teh same Setup : athlon64 3000+ 7800gt Likely Source : dont know. in demo it works fine Added Note : sux. cant see shit in it [SOLUTION] Problem : the above Solution : Set Your Lighting to Medium. (been that way since beta) Problem : Random CTD's Graphical Bugs Location : Titan Mode Time : Playing more than 1 round of titan mode Ping : Any Ping Setup : Athlon64 3000+ X1600xt 256MB ram Likely Source : Graphical Drivers (using OLD cataclyst 6.6 Omega Drivers) Problem : the above Solution : Downloaded Newer cataclysy 6.9 Drivers since Omega Said they cant produce any later drivers anymore www.omegadrivers.net
Xonius
Nov 3 2006, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Nov 3 2006, 06:38 AM) Guys, no server found. After using the new 1.01 patch...server will be available? just update 1st, there will be servers.
TSempire23
Nov 4 2006, 02:22 PM
Team Island Hopper
Anyone using ATi cards can list your feedback and problems here. Last i checked, the Catalyst team do very well listen to user comments so the more you send them, the better. Link http://support.ati.com/ics/survey/survey.a...ID=486&type=web
nasik
Nov 4 2006, 03:30 PM
yo empire, cereal aka zoidberg already posted the solution for mein problem.
SUSRaikkonen
Nov 4 2006, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(Xonius @ Nov 3 2006, 01:13 PM) just update 1st, there will be servers. Thanks. And Empire,  for strating this thread. Great initiative
Aoshi_88
Nov 4 2006, 05:16 PM
*YAWNNNNN* My ranks are stuck again. Tried deleting profile 0001 and cache in the Documents folder but it stopped working.
nasik
Nov 4 2006, 10:28 PM
err sorry for ot, but i after reading in some websites including wikipedia about memory leak, i still didnt get wtf it is. can some1 explain it to meh?
crestfallen
Nov 5 2006, 10:38 AM
Ooh.. you touched my tra la la... Mmm.. my ding ding dong
thx empire for brinngin this up. i think i shuld pin this thread
valho
Nov 15 2006, 01:36 AM
[PROBLEM] Problem : QUOTE The description for Event ID ( 0 ) in Source ( ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: 7. Location : any map Time : random Ping : any Setup : athlon64 3200+ 7600gt Likely Source : no idea, it just happen and go back to desktop [SOLUTION] Problem : the above Solution : no idea anyone encounter the error above b4 ?
gaijin_otoko
Nov 20 2006, 10:32 PM

co-op lan problem
game crashes after joining the game for few secs
old system but no prob when playing single player
any ideas?
scaygoo
Nov 20 2006, 10:38 PM

How bout Multiplayer or Single Player, did the pc crashed too? Have you updated your hardware driver? whats your pc specs?