koolspyda
post May 17 2009, 05:52 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(rifasha @ May 16 2009, 05:25 PM)
i doubt that

in T3, its been said that JC dies in the hands of T800 in the way future.

but as sarah connors said to john: "The future is not Set. There is no fate but what we make"
(mantra of the "Terminator" franchise)

even in the trailers, JC did say "This is not the future my mother warned me about. Something has changed."
in past terminator series; Judgment Day did not occur as originally predicted (did not occur in 1997 as the movie timeline)

waiting in anticipation, i think this T4 will rock

(sorry transformer, its too big time michael bay again>pearl harbour, armagadon, whisperer rolled into transformer 2 trailer ; ok "the rock" passes. )

This post has been edited by koolspyda: May 17 2009, 05:55 PM
koolspyda
post May 18 2009, 01:54 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ May 17 2009, 10:01 PM)
"I am the only hope you have"

Every critics said that Sam's stole the show.....really wanna see it wink.gif
sams involvement was personal recomendation from james cameron. (sam is in james camerons biggie "AVATAR")

koolspyda
post May 20 2009, 11:43 AM

222 posts

oh crap, now i know the movie, whatdahell it will still truly be enjoyable,

& yup, X-Men Origins: Wolverine was ok,

Star Trek would be good, havent watch it but read FILM, EMPIRE a year back, know the effort to make it good, trust JJ A
koolspyda
post May 27 2009, 05:48 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(jason991 @ May 27 2009, 01:01 AM)
is not surprise tat night at the museum 2 beat T4.....becuz NATM target family audience while T4 is more dark n to male audience....well watever the result it is i stil gonna watch tis movie....^^
if i'm not mistaken, was set at PG13 & that restricted number of theaters in US
koolspyda
post Jun 1 2009, 12:58 PM

222 posts

if time travel confuses some guys, go watch "back to the future I, II, II"

its a simple, entertaining movie about "what if's, time travel" should put some young chaps here about "pararell time line" blush.gif finding it hard to UNderstand, err stick to transformers then. hmm.gif
koolspyda
post Jul 1 2010, 07:25 PM

222 posts

TS is quite good. it remains an integral continuation of the saga.
i place TS as equal to T2. while of course in current times T1 appears 80'ish, T2 90ish respectively (movie style), did TS to current.

i have T1, T2, T3 & TS DVDs

yet no 'avatar' DVD in my collection. saga 'terminator' > avatar story in my books.

koolspyda
post Nov 21 2011, 08:21 PM

222 posts

Still T2/T4 > T1/>>T3

sorry I had to nick that in smile.gif

CB did a fine job (t4 haters)

arnie' as the terminator owns the all. biggrin.gif
koolspyda
post Dec 9 2014, 03:22 PM

222 posts

i prefer Terminator Salvation too.

bale as john connor
koolspyda
post Dec 9 2014, 05:33 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(Claire Farron @ Dec 9 2014, 05:40 PM)
I preferred T3 because it still feels like a Terminator movie. I don't think there should be any Terminator film set 100% in the post apocalyptic future. In the original movie the future scenes were just used as one of the plot point, never meant to be the focus of the whole movie. From the moment I heard Salvation gonna be 100% post apocalyptic I already had doubts about it.

But that's just me tho tongue.gif and yeah I agree Bale was great as JC.

And speaking of Bale, toady Bale himself just admitted that Salvation did not work
http://www.denofgeek.com/movies/terminator...tion-didnt-work

but i think his reasons are probably different.
Wasn't it where he supposedly shouted at a member of the filming crew (explilaives and all)

Yeah, I was rooting more for Connor than of worthington's "terminator".

That failed the movie for purist fans of terminator. Despite good performance by him (sam worthington').Unfortunately fans of this franchise doesn't dig worthington's "terminator", I don't like that "terminator", too "human". Arnie terminator is half way, struggling to understand human emotions etc.

That was the whole reason why terminator is "reboot" in a way where Arnie comes back, terminator can work because "I'll be back"

Story wise "salvation > terminator 3" anytime.

And "John Connor "in T3 doh.gif

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Dec 9 2014, 05:36 PM
koolspyda
post Dec 9 2014, 08:31 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Dec 9 2014, 07:37 PM)
After clinching the statue, Bale is more selective on the type of project he wants to work on. Furthermore, he has some not very nice thing to say about Salvation on a whole. IMO Salvation has no identity as to whether to compete with TF or just beating a dead horse. I couldn't remember exactly what the movie details anymore. Guess it was that generic to me. biggrin.gif No offense to those who enjoys Salvation. wink.gif
Pretty indifferent of the new trailer as it can skew both ways. Pros for finding ways to reset the story and cons for rather uninspiring casting choices and aesthetically not too pleasing with their choice of method to convey the lo-fi ambiance of 80/90's. Kinda like a made for TV movie quality. Who knows, maybe the 2nd trailer could inspire more confidence???
Jonathan Nolan screenplay wor cool2.gif
koolspyda
post Dec 9 2014, 09:52 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Dec 9 2014, 10:38 PM)
33% Rotten Tomato wor  cool2.gif  tongue.gif
Heh if u dug salvation,good for you.Whatever rock your boat. wink.gif
Well, some of us aren't guided by rotten tomato, sure it has a peaksure on general films. I do find the dystopian future likable. I not a a big fan of sams work. (Look where is he, just saying)

In the article, it stated bale mentioned his work didn't (quite) work but not elaborated. It's far from being critical.

T2>salvation/T1>T3

Looking at gross takings too it's about there despite what tomato rotten had to say
koolspyda
post Dec 10 2014, 11:25 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Dec 10 2014, 12:26 AM)
Likewise I'm not guided solely by Jonathan Nolan's work. wink.gif
You can justified all you want, the studio just don't see a continuation from Salvation for reasons unknown to me and you.if they perceived post Salvation makes sense,they would have done so with all their power to put Bale in the new movie.
Making a public dissing of McG's capability is far from subtle on my book and the article posted earlier was a sugar coated variation.Look for the Wall Street Journal article.
To be honest I couldn't care less bout Salvation or T3.They just didn't match the legacy of the first 2 films.Just my own personal opinion.
Is it really that difficult to allow difference in opinions. hmm.gif
I'm not guided by reputation (sure it helps). Even for his famous sibling bro. Critics, crititism all may differ, I'm also not bothered by general (critics) acceptance of a movie or their slaying of ones work

There is a saying, you are only as good as your last work. As long it drives a person to better their previous work, it shd be worth to a consideration to watch.

But of course I'm have my preferences, sci fi, comedies etc. any horror movie(s) not much. not that i don't like horror, well macabre, gruesome, grisly, grim, gory, morbid, lurid, grotesque well, there is a limit, & horror movies has been been there, seen before.

Salvation offers a "difference" from the earlier terminator movie(s). Which to me T3 didn't. Apart from Arnie, and gritty Claire Danes, the rest of the cast was doh.gif nick starl yawn.gif the supposely "anti climax" in the end was no where near explosive as I hoped it would be.

Which comes the the question of the coming instalment in "terminator genisys:, what will this next terminator movie offer from what we have seen before previously? I would like to hope the trailer may not have shown everything (hopefully the best bits are unravelled when one goes to the movies)

In t2 The terminator was ground breaking, everyone saw it being a superior terminator to t100. We will wonder how will the future (Korean/Asian) terminator morph..? Blend into a car, metal, flooring? Done before, able to be turn itself into a weapon? done before...will wait n see.

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Dec 11 2014, 11:53 AM
koolspyda
post Dec 11 2014, 12:11 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Dec 11 2014, 09:41 AM)
Huh...umm why bring up JN involvement in the first place.He's only one of the many script doctors hired and he was not the one who wrote the mainframe but just to patch dialogues/scenes while filming.

To innovate simply not just about doing something new everytime. A simple analogy,when I buy a Radiohead album you won't know what it's gonna be as each new release is different from the previous.Coldplay on the other hand,it's the exact same formula stylistically since their first album.It all boils down to how the music is made.

While Salvation takes place in the future timeline, handling of characters and story are too convoluted to begin with. At one point it's a story of JC then a forceful human wannabe terminator storyline takes precedence over everything which a rehash of T2.Then your action sequences just try to do what TF is doing.I don't even remember one iconic action scene from Salvation.For T3 at the bare minimum still remembers Arnold shootout in the cemetery and a female t-1000 hunting everyone.Salvation just a bunch of generic evil terminators doing forgetful things.So Salvation is nowhere near the Coldplay status as it couldn't even do Radiohead to begin with.And not many people can be Radiohead.
Well, everyone is a fan of a series/franchise movie or a particular band because of what it embodies. At the very least the main structure of the movie, without that it falls apart. Nobody wants an unexpected 'wizard-of-oz' stewed into a sci fi movie just because it's maybe innovative, unexpected or compoundly different from the previous instalment. sweat.gif

I don't know every time T3 (rise of the machines) movie appears on the telly, or reshown on TV, it feels like a very made-for-tv, no grandeur, no mystical magic unlike even T1 0r T2 (when its played on the small box). cool2.gif Well, as you mentioned our opinions differ. perhaps some other movies we may find a middle ground. cool2.gif
koolspyda
post Dec 12 2014, 08:50 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Dec 12 2014, 11:45 AM)
So whassap with the almighty saying of "you only as good as your last job."
There also this saying "The only good thing about bad taste is that you don't know you have it." I watched my fair share of bad movies until I found Rotten Tomato. brows.gif

I tremendously dug vanity innovation like what Cameron did with T2 and Aliens. Blompkamp oso not bad wif D9. Uhmmm there oso that fella that made a movie about a dream in a dream in a dream.2001 Odyssey a bit boring and still dunno what the movie about oso ok,I think. Kurosawa's Hidden Fortress is the exact same story like Star Wars,Alien with a boy cycling over the moon,Keanu Reeves learning kungfu,Gremlins is so adorable,etc...so how's that for wizard of oz stews into conventional genre or my interpretation of "Radiohead" sweat.gif whistling.gif tongue.gif

I already said I couldn't care less about T3 and Salvation as they are both equally bad movies to begin with. For better or worse, I remember Arnold mowing down people in the cemetery and a female terminator.Salvation just a whitewash in my memory.

At least you love your Terminator Salvation and no need to convince me otherwise.And I lllloooovvvveeee T1. wink.gif
there are those who ride on their reputation and there are those who will want to do better than their last movie.. few genuine one left.

of course some we will forgive if they stumble in 1 or 2 movie but their desire to want to make good movies and try not to milk/ride on their reputation.

koolspyda
post Dec 13 2014, 08:27 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Dec 13 2014, 11:18 AM)
Brah!!!! Stick with your argument point lorr and not switching goalpost everytime. biggrin.gif
Salvation just not in anywhere a better version of T1 or T2.Just remember why I loathed Salvation so much because it resembles too much of those RE movies.Again If you dig RE movies,great for you. brows.gif
FYI there are reputable (in your words)"wizard of oz"-type of film directors.Takashi Miike,Spike Jonze,Terry Gilliam,Gaspar Noe,Michel Gondry,Kim Ki Duk,David Lynch,David Cronenberg,Sono Sion,and many more.
There are tremendous film directors and good movies to be found if you are open minded about it.Ooops you dislike movie critics because their opinion differs from yours. biggrin.gif The thing about movie critics is they are passionate to promote and share new film directors.Without them buzzing Nolan's The Following,do u think studio will fast track to make Memento.Same goes for Pulp Fiction.The score isn't everything but rather an idea to find newer movies experience and film directors.
Have you watch Snowpiercer,Automata,John Wick or A Hard Day. These are not those heavy oscar bait movies but just smart entertaining action movies in 2014. Look when movies not my cup of tea,I simply won't stop other people from liking their cup of tea. wink.gif
Hey I wasn't shifting goal post, just saying.

I think there are 2 type of fans of the terminator movie franchise. There are those that just enjoy the actions, guns blazing, hasta la vista baby, being intrigued by human cyborg...kinda don't have to think much, but enjoy all the action + a American Austrian accent one-liners.

What I think some f I feel salvation move into a wee more thinking for your ordinary fans of the franchise. Some understood, many didn't.

Hey you made your reasons known, I respect that. I sure do hope as the testimony of several forumers here too dislike T3. To us it the least, T3 seems like an kinda outcast movie, casting of the roles were not quite there. Action seemed the same same fare or less

What some fans of this series/franchise can identify for example; what they like, for example a memorable action scene in each particular Terminator movie series.

T1 - seeing for the very first time how Arnie,T800 reveal itself the hard cool metal beneath the flesh. It was mind blowing back then seeing a very well built mr.universe arnie withstanding hail of bullets and all. Hurray Arnie!

T2 - the awesomeness of the large truck chase bike. scene where a superior t1000 could take what is given, man that. Arnie in the Harley jump! smile.gif and scarying the shite of movie goers where a smaller terminator could morph. Dude, a killer cyborg can transform into liquid metal! Hastalavista Arnie

t3 - I don't remember much. Oh yah, ok girl terminator whistling.gif

T4 - the fight for survival in the begining, where John Connor, the helicopter crash in a "seemingly" single shot scene & the fight with those terminators., and the awesome terminator bikes!! What ruined salvation for me as I said was Marcus wright. He may have received commendable credit for his role here and of avatar (I didnt enjoy avatar. Sorry world, I found it terribly zzz). He is no main lead, can't carry a film. He is no next Russell Crowe

Some talking point in my head, whenever I get to rewatch any of these movies, I kinda always look forward to watching these scenes again. Well, my guess too for those yearning for action sequences

Many talking point I read why many felt dissatisfied of t4 salvation was there is very little Arnie. That 1-2 minutes of all glory of Arnie is just not enough. People pay to watch terminator because of Arnold T800!

Okay let's not get overboard on this t1, t2, t3, t4. Let's move on smile.gif

It to arrive at the theaters, the all new Terminator Genisys. Yeah more Arnie, even if he is older, he is still the hasta la vista Arnie the T800 cool2.gif the reason T5 gets made wink.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Dec 13 2014, 08:37 PM
koolspyda
post Jul 10 2015, 08:27 AM

222 posts

kinda sad isn't it

Despite all the rave prereviews that in trying to undo T4:salvation, we have supposedly bomb proof next franchises; old man Arnie is back, not CGI (t4), 10001 one liners. T5-genisys, the return of old formula of (and enhanced) what made T1 & T2 successful and invigorating to the fans.

Genisys, Complicated for the fans? It is not. Considering when T1 (or T2 for that matter) first appeared those days, it would and might have split hairs on half the audiences. This latest installment reviewers shouldn't have faulted 'complicated' timeline as its Achilles heel nor the plot review John Connor is now a ...

Tis
koolspyda
post Jul 10 2015, 09:51 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jul 10 2015, 10:22 AM)

The snapshot will be all where sent simultaneously back in time where 'it-all-still-exist-and-relevant'. (Back up button, if you may 😜 )

There is still many variable situations (for argument sake). It's not all that confusing (for me)

I had cautioned the "reboot" in this case, I would rather the
continuation dystopian future from T4 left off. anyone here thinks the latest madmax wouldn't be bad ass movie? (dystopian movies don't cut it they say) No right? Mad(baneπŸ˜‹)Max probably had like a few more lines than arnie did with T1&T2 combined but that's my opinion. 😌

There were successful (reboot/reimagined) movies recently. Jurassic World isn't really a reboot, and it stampede the BO world. (Though JW wouldn't tickle my brain for movie of the year)

πŸ˜“ this is what happens when movie studio caved in to some fans (what they think they want)

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Jul 10 2015, 09:53 AM
koolspyda
post Jul 10 2015, 10:50 AM

222 posts

It's acknowledged the 'death' that usually condemns a franchise to its knees is the 3rd installment πŸ˜‚

Far more successful sequels or continuations than a reboot per say.

I agree, genisys in itself had something to say, together with many fans wanting mr icon that made a (supposedly began as a ) B movie to a A list bona fide legend πŸ˜…πŸ˜‡
koolspyda
post Jul 10 2015, 08:23 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(Shiniz @ Jul 10 2015, 07:30 PM)
not that timeline confusing...( i have watch movie with even deeper lines)

but....it how 1 movie manage to thrash all 3 of em like it didnt exist in the first place...

and if u actually throw all other previous movie u will enjoy this movie more lol
Perhaps you may be right (throw out all thoughts of old), though it still leaves the studios grasping for answers, what next

0.0454sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:34 AM