Terminator: Movies Thread, James Cameron is back

hfi
post Jul 21 2008, 04:35 PM

598 posts

I think this is a good move to revive the franchise. T3 was lame and cheesy tho i can understand why they need to milk it. Bale is simply awesome but the movie is being directed by McG ? FFS why a music video director ? Surely they can find someone better.
hfi
post Jul 21 2008, 06:47 PM

598 posts

Lol ok rebooting then but i suspect is gonna be lame seeing its under the direction of McG whom did stuff like Charlie Angels! ><

Wish they gone for someone like the Wachowski Brothers.

hfi
post May 29 2009, 02:09 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ May 28 2009, 10:11 PM)
I'm a terminator fan, watched all the movies and TV series (sarah).

It was hard for me to open my eyes at the beginning stage (after the heli crash)...blame it on watching too much terminator stuff previous night. Mid way, story picked up and end of it....nothing to shout abt. (except for the action scenes which was very good...up to todays standards).
-Tense and suspense scenes were missing...it was never like T1 where you are sitting edge of the seat, maybe there was too much of it in T4 or not executed well by the director.
-Void of humor (yes, it does matter even with a Terminator movie, T2 was great, even T3 had some humor). Now I can understand why some critics mention it.
-Infiltration to skynet was way too easy...I was thinking of nothing less than ninja skills or superman to break into skynet alone, even with Marcus help.
-Another problem is it started and ended in 2018......even in 2029, humans were having a hard time with skynet...so 2018 is just a passing year...so when are we humans gonna win the war....T5, T6 or T7?
-Thing is...why did he has to save Kyle Reese?...yes, I know its mention in T1, but think of it....John Connor is alive right?...even with his dad getting killed, he will still be alive.....how many 'worlds' are there bro?....suppose someones dad gets killed by an accident means that the child is not born?...but the child now is already been born and kicking butts. i remembered in 2029, John in still alive (but older with the scar face) fighting a war.

End of the day, after rewinding back T1,2 and 3...plus all of that sarah chronicles, come to my senses abt the whole Terminator Story and the fall of it in T4...hope they wont mess it up in T5.

I personally give it a 6/10! sorry fanz....6 because the action was good, and they didn't forget Arnie....or else its a 4/10.
I would have given an 8 if it was not rated U, with more F words, more gore, more epic battle, more hope of the survival of mankind, and i wanna clap my hands or cry in the end of the show....sadly all this was missing.
I agree with this. I had high hopes for T4 but as predicted, came out of the cinema dissapointed. I agree with you about how gripping T1 and T2 were, both release featured gritting cat and mouse action thriller - iconic scenes and memorable dialogs. No comments on T3, thought it was a forgetful all action, no substance film. T4 had some good scenes and concepts, but sadly i felt they werent executed or flowed appropriately. The more i think about what they've could done to some of the stuff in the film, the more i get dissapointed with it. The movie had a good look and feel about it, but somehow the dialogues and direction really cheesed me off. Film was predictable, but then again which Terminator film isnt - but hey if you going to 'reboot' the entire franchise might as well go for the jugular imo.

Agree with the piss cake inflirtration, here i was expecting some bad-azz defense perimeter ala the matrix, only to find out it was defended by a lone turret that was easily hacked and switched off, and a couple or so of outdated T400 on patrol. Sigh. Real anti climax for me. And the final insult was the fact that Skynet actually 'planned' the whole thing - say cheese ? - yet somehow allowed the resistance to prevail at the end ? Double sigh.

Oh dont get me started with the whole Terminator back to the future paradox. Its messed up. For John Connor to exist, he has to send Kyle Reese so he could be conceived. So somewhere down the line, he needs to send Kyle back to past doesnt he ? If not, why does it matter if Kyle dies ? So basically, Kyle gets sent back to conceive him and the whole cycle restarts again for what seems eternity. Ridiculous.

This post has been edited by hfi: May 29 2009, 02:31 PM
hfi
post May 29 2009, 06:04 PM

598 posts

lol shahar thats a fair assesment.

Like what you said there about 2nd chance. I too agree the impact of it was a letdown, simply because the execution wasnt right, and there's hardly any emotions in the film. I really like the dude playing Marcus, but i dont think his heroic gesture was truly captured and climaxed in the film. I remember how taken back i was when i first saw the visually driven heroism of Arnie in T2, with the Terminator theme in the background. That was epic for me - granted i was only a teen back then. But still, you catch my drift. T4 was missing that epic theme and iconic moments imo.

I still stand on my prior view that McG was the wrong guy for this movie. He may think he deserves 2nd chance, but to me he's as good as terminated lol.
hfi
post May 29 2009, 09:33 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(themanwithnoname @ May 29 2009, 08:51 PM)
T1 and T2 left so much impact because;
1. That time you just around 10 years old? tongue.gif
2. No other hoo haaa woahhh movie that time?

Now T4 looks like ordinary movie because
1. You much matured to accept all things till some say need some logical here and there,eventhough everything is illogical at all. doh.gif
2. Too much CGI movies nowadays,till all sunken down by transformers, made terminator looks another action movie.

To watch this movie (T4) i think one need to understand the timeline of T1,T2,T3,TSCC,Tnovels, and understand the concept of different future that my mom warned me about. And need to lower down your level of maturity abit i think tongue.gif
I love this movie. Enjoiced watching it. All the actors had done their job well, connor aka Bale really brings out the 'tension' as he grown up as JC and can feels his feelings and fear and how much he wanna end wars and revenge to the Skynet. The effects are just too awesome and unthinkable and gives alot of suprises. Overall, 10/10 laugh.gif
Wrong dude. T1 kicked off the whole T series and despite its outdated special efx it was Terminator at its most brutal and gory origin. T2 was an epic follow up that added a new twist and heroism in the series. Thats the reason why fans are still fond of the first 2 films. Sometimes less is more.

Nothing to do with competition or what not. Those 2 movies were simply good movies at that time and it seems still are to a lot of people. Some movies despite its age are still better than current or recent ones. I still prefer Die Hard 1 and 2 than the latter ones. I still prefer Alien 1 and 2 than the rest. Godfather series are still epic even after all this years. Top gun pwns Stealth. etc etc

I guess each to their own but to say we need to lower our level of maturity to enjoy a movie is a bit silly. I dont even know how to do that lol. If the movie is good, its good. I thoroughly enjoyed Star Trek but disliked Watchmen despite its mature content.
hfi
post May 29 2009, 09:48 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ May 29 2009, 09:36 PM)
T1 still has the most authentic 'terminator' atmosphere to it, is what I think. It is the only one which truly makes you frightened about what machines can do, what the future holds. It is dark and moody, and filled with suspense and dread, with a terrific closing scene and shot. Plus there is the whole time travel paradox, the damn thing you just cant seem to wrap you head around.

T2 sacrifices the suspense and atmosphere, but makes up for it with its mindblowing action scenes. It doesnt want you to be scared. It wants you to stand in awe of it. And we definitely do that.

T3 is pretty much a retread of T2, with more action and CGI. If you ask me, a bit too much action (that trail of destruction in the first chase was just... wow), and CGI which is inferior to the second. The action is fine, but never in the same league as T2. The T-800 vs T-1000 hand-to-hand fight just blows the T-800 vs T-X fight out of the water. Not to mention the T-X is easily the weakest terminator in terms of presence in the series.
Good post dude. Like the description for T1, hits the nail that. The terminator was a god damn terrorist if you think about it. Goes into the police station and just completely massacred everyone. No stealth or camo approach, just terminates everything that stands in its way.
hfi
post May 29 2009, 10:23 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(themanwithnoname @ May 29 2009, 09:52 PM)
Maybe something like Dark Knight rather than Batman n Robin? tongue.gif

Maybe i was wrong, maybe i was right. That time no internet, today so much different. I was mentioning bout physcology of the movie. That time how old was you?and how many gore movies had u watched?

Bout the infrared laser sight, what i can say is the older model doesnt have accuracy to shoot. Just to destroy. Its 10 years earlier to T800 self aware?

Yeah, T loves to throw ppl around here n there. Why dont they just snap their neck or crush ppl with giant robot? tongue.gif

Mini scale military base maybe had been corrupted by marcus, and marcus helps alot to destroy t600 and T1 and so on so on. Remember air support coming also?

Moar discussions! I also had alot to clear out myself too. But if thinks too logically, jew just lost the fun and imaginations of it.  nod.gif

Added on May 29, 2009, 9:54 pmBtw, i agrees with 'T3 is pretty much a retread of T2'
I did say some movies not all movies. But Its good that you brought up Dark Knight because when you think of how well the Batman has reinvented itself, i cant help but feel it was a miss opportunity for the T series to do the same. As previous posters mentioned, the casting are bland, dialogs are forgetful and the story is kinda meh. Sure the CGI is great but thats pretty much all it has going for it. Take that away and you left with nothing.

Nothing to do with accepting illogical ideas, all sci fi and fantasy based films are imaginative fictions. Its how those ideas are presented and fit into the film that matters to most adult audience. I ldo ike some of the T4 scenes and concepts, but their executions and sequence are just cheesy and even downright cheap. Thats what puts me off. It doesnt have to sophisticated like Dark Knight, it just has to be polished and well thought out.
hfi
post May 30 2009, 09:49 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(Stupidity Police @ May 30 2009, 12:33 AM)
Batman needed to be reinvented to be commercially viable, after what happened with Batman and Robin. The Terminator films were just fine as they are, yes even T3.
Yes and no. I agree the Terminator didnt really need to reinvent its general concepts and ideas but it still had to because of Arnie. Even some fans are saying a Terminator movie without Arnie isnt a T movie at all. People will always associate Arnie with Terminator, to a lot of people he is still the Terminator. Just like Bruce Willis is John McCain and Harrison Ford is Indiana. The Terminator franchise needed to reinvent itself as It needed a new action hero, or at least new direction that could revitalize itself from being an Arnie flick.
hfi
post Jun 1 2009, 04:51 PM

598 posts

Truth is theres no knowing what would happen should one alter the past. No one knows but the storyteller lol.

Who to say that 2029 in T1 was even the presence then ? It may be just another alternate timeline. Connor was already there to give orders to Reese so wouldnt that suggests that a repeated time travel already taken place ? Connor cant exist without Reese meeting his mom yes ? So another Reese must have been sent back to conceive him so that Connor could get to that present time in T1 to lead the resistance.

So for all we know T1 was just the 899292th time that Reese has been sent back to protect the mom lol.

0.0723sec    1.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:42 AM