7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

[Intro]Linux & Open Source Software, Readme 1st

farkinid
post Sep 13 2012, 01:05 PM

997 posts

QUOTE(Assassin's @ Sep 13 2012, 12:50 PM)
Can anyone teach me how to change Debian 6 DE from Gnome to Xfce. As a screen real estate extremist, I find Gnome really cramped to work with.
Also, my internet is slow, so if there any downloading required, I have to do it at CC (no downloading through terminal).
Yeah you gonna have to download xfce's package. Normally the best way would be to be something along the lines of
CODE
~$sudo apt-get install xfce

I assume thats the package in the repository but I can't be sure.

If you are going to download into a CC machine, you have to download the source from the xfce website and take it back to you computer and compile it. I suggest you download the dependencies found on the website before you start compiling.

Once you have installed it, its just a matter of getting your login manager to point to the correct window manager.
Assassin's
post Sep 13 2012, 08:25 PM

467 posts

I've downloaded the (xfce-4.10.tar.bz2) from the xfce website, unpack it in Debian and now i have this multiple files showing up.

exo-0.8.0.tar.bz2
exo-0.8.0.tar.bz2.md5
exo-0.8.0.tar.bz2.sha1
garcon-0.2.0.tar.bz2
garcon-0.2.0.tar.bz2.md5
garcon-0.2.0.tar.bz2.sha1
gtk-xfce-engine-3.0.0.tar.bz2
gtk-xfce-engine-3.0.0.tar.bz2.md5
gtk-xfce-engine-3.0.0.tar.bz2.sha1
libxfce4ui-4.10.0.tar.bz2
libxfce4ui-4.10.0.tar.bz2.md5
libxfce4ui-4.10.0.tar.bz2.sha1
libxfce4util-4.10.0.tar.bz2
libxfce4util-4.10.0.tar.bz2.md5
libxfce4util-4.10.0.tar.bz2.sha1
Thunar-1.4.0.tar.bz2
Thunar-1.4.0.tar.bz2.md5
Thunar-1.4.0.tar.bz2.sha1
thunar-volman-0.8.0.tar.bz2
thunar-volman-0.8.0.tar.bz2.md5
thunar-volman-0.8.0.tar.bz2.sha1
tumbler-0.1.25.tar.bz2
tumbler-0.1.25.tar.bz2.md5
tumbler-0.1.25.tar.bz2.sha1
xfce4-appfinder-4.10.0.tar.bz2
xfce4-appfinder-4.10.0.tar.bz2.md5
xfce4-appfinder-4.10.0.tar.bz2.sha1
xfce4-dev-tools-4.10.0.tar.bz2
xfce4-dev-tools-4.10.0.tar.bz2.md5
xfce4-dev-tools-4.10.0.tar.bz2.sha1
xfce4-panel-4.10.0.tar.bz2
xfce4-panel-4.10.0.tar.bz2.md5
xfce4-panel-4.10.0.tar.bz2.sha1
xfce4-power-manager-1.2.0.tar.bz2
xfce4-power-manager-1.2.0.tar.bz2.md5
xfce4-power-manager-1.2.0.tar.bz2.sha1
xfce4-session-4.10.0.tar.bz2
xfce4-session-4.10.0.tar.bz2.md5
xfce4-session-4.10.0.tar.bz2.sha1
xfce4-settings-4.10.0.tar.bz2
xfce4-settings-4.10.0.tar.bz2.md5
xfce4-settings-4.10.0.tar.bz2.sha1
xfconf-4.10.0.tar.bz2
xfconf-4.10.0.tar.bz2.md5
xfconf-4.10.0.tar.bz2.sha1
xfdesktop-4.10.0.tar.bz2
xfdesktop-4.10.0.tar.bz2.md5
xfdesktop-4.10.0.tar.bz2.sha1
xfwm4-4.10.0.tar.bz2
xfwm4-4.10.0.tar.bz2.md5
xfwm4-4.10.0.tar.bz2.sha1

What to do next ? rclxub.gif
Lord Tiki Mick
post Sep 13 2012, 08:53 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(Assassin's @ Sep 13 2012, 08:25 PM)
I've downloaded the (xfce-4.10.tar.bz2) from the xfce website, unpack it in Debian and now i have this multiple files showing up.

Oh my, are those sources? Can't you just apt-get install? hmm.gif
farkinid
post Sep 14 2012, 11:51 AM

997 posts

QUOTE(Assassin's @ Sep 13 2012, 08:25 PM)

Yup, sure looks like the source. The only thing you can do now is go into each tarball and extract and compile each component.

Buiding from source is very painful but a educational experience. That being said, don't forget the dependencies or else each time you compile a part you will suffer.
FlameReaper
post Sep 18 2012, 08:29 PM

I lari portable on my dude
560 posts

Egads, Farkinid, you are making that poor guy compile a whole DE? whistling.gif

Considering it's Debian, XFCE should already be available in the repositories...

You can configure Synaptic (should already be in a stock Debian installation I think, else use the apt-get method) to generate a list of files you can download. Here's a quick run-down on how:

QUOTE(Synaptic method)
1. Open Synaptic.

2. Search for the "xfce" package.

3. Right click on it and select "Mark for Installation."

4. Go to File > Generate Download Script. You can save it as anything in anywhere (best saved as a .txt in a pendrive).

5. What will be generated is a text file containing the lines "wget -c (there will be an URL here)". You can ignore the "wget -c" in the text file if you wish, and load up all the URLs in your download manager or something (IDM does the job nicely if your CC allows installing it).

6. You can just straight up use Synaptic to add the downloaded packages (File > Add Downloaded Packages) and proceed to installation.
As for the apt-get method:

QUOTE(apt-get method)
1. Open up the terminal.

2. Do this:

CODE
`apt-get install xfce --yes --print-uris | grep -i http` > [any file name as long as you remember].txt

in the terminal and copy it into your pendrive. This file will contain links to download the necessary files. You can try loading it up in IDM if your CC allows it, or just do it one-by-one if you can't - considering you're trying to install Xfce, having a download manager will really be helpful.

3. After you've downloaded the files (on a pendrive), open it in your Debian PC, copy all the files off into "/var/cache/apt/archives/" (as root). Then in the terminal, proceed with "apt-get install xfce" (as root).

There. Quite tedious, but should be a bit more comfortable than having to download the source tarballs elsewhere, and compile it from scratch. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by FlameReaper: Sep 18 2012, 09:09 PM
farkinid
post Sep 20 2012, 04:58 PM

997 posts

QUOTE(FlameReaper @ Sep 18 2012, 08:29 PM)
Egads, Farkinid, you are making that poor guy compile a whole DE? whistling.gif

Considering it's Debian, XFCE should already be available in the repositories...

You can configure Synaptic (should already be in a stock Debian installation I think, else use the apt-get method)  to generate a list of files you can download. Here's a quick run-down on how:
There. Quite tedious, but should be a bit more comfortable than having to download the source tarballs elsewhere, and compile it from scratch. tongue.gif
Actually.... the only reason he has to do this is because his computer has little to no intahwebs connection. So he is stuck with the manual way. Download from somewhere and then install
Lord Tiki Mick
post Sep 20 2012, 08:39 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(farkinid @ Sep 20 2012, 04:58 PM)
Actually.... the only reason he has to do this is because his computer has little to no intahwebs connection. So he is stuck with the manual way. Download from somewhere and then install
Then, I think he can use this to simplify things
CODE

# tar -xzvf xfce-4.10.tar.bz2
# cd xfce-4.10
# tar -xzvf *.tar.bz2
# for i in `ls`; do if [ -e $i/Makefile ]; then make -C "$i"; fi; done

p/s: Script not tested.
FlameReaper
post Sep 20 2012, 10:16 PM

I lari portable on my dude
560 posts

What about the build dependencies?
Lord Tiki Mick
post Sep 21 2012, 12:02 AM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(FlameReaper @ Sep 20 2012, 10:16 PM)
What about the build dependencies?
He should read the README file first to check whether any external packages is required and install the dependencies before build process. If nothing is listed, then the only way I know is to look at the errors.
farkinid
post Sep 21 2012, 09:07 AM

997 posts

QUOTE(Lord Tiki Mick @ Sep 20 2012, 08:39 PM)
Then, I think he can use this to simplify things
CODE

# cd xfce-4.10
# tar -xzvf *.tar.bz2

p/s: Script not tested.
Hmm this might work unless :-
  • not all components are stored in tar.bz2 files but rather zip and/or tar.bz files
  • some components use cmake instead of make

Lord Tiki Mick
post Sep 21 2012, 12:44 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(farkinid @ Sep 21 2012, 09:07 AM)
Hmm this might work unless :-

• not all components are stored in tar.bz2 files but rather zip and/or tar.bz files
  • some components use cmake instead of make

I'm not use to cmake. sweat.gif
He should examine the directories first (with find, grep etc) and make suitable adjustment to the script.
Assassin's
post Sep 30 2012, 08:28 AM

467 posts

Sorry for the late response everyone, like I mention before, I have one SLOW AND UNRELIABLE INTERNET CONNECTION.

Regarding Lord Tiki Mick's code, this is the response :
CODE
# tar -xzvf *.tar.bz2

gzip: stdin: not in gzip format
tar: Child returned status 1
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

So, after countless failure (probably due to my lack of Super Cow Powers), I've decided to just go the easy way and try to download and install XFCE through my slow internet........also with no success as terminal greets me with this prompt:

apt-get method:
CODE
# apt-get install xfce
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package xfce

aptitude method:
CODE
# aptitude install xfce4
No candidate version found for xfce4
No packages will be installed, upgraded, or removed.
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0 B of archives. After unpacking 0 B will be used.

Also, forgot to tell that I installed Debian using the CD version (not the DVD), dunno if that helps or not.

(P.S. - Got any fun linux easter egg to share in the meanwhile)
Lord Tiki Mick
post Sep 30 2012, 10:15 AM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(Assassin's @ Sep 30 2012, 08:28 AM)
Sorry for the late response everyone, like I mention before, I have one SLOW AND UNRELIABLE INTERNET CONNECTION.

Regarding Lord Tiki Mick's code, this is the response :
CODE
# tar -xzvf *.tar.bz2

gzip: stdin: not in gzip format
tar: Child returned status 1
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

So, after countless failure (probably due to my lack of Super Cow Powers),
No, it's my fault for giving you an untested script. bzip2 should use 'j' option, not 'z'. It should be like this:
CODE

# cd xfce-4.10
# find . -name '*.bz2' -type f -exec tar -xjvf {}

P/s: The last line probably wont work if the tarballs are not using Makefile. :/

For the aptitute method, you should first search xfce pakage name, you do it like so
CODE
apt-cache search xfce

Assassin's
post Sep 30 2012, 02:20 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(Lord Tiki Mick @ Sep 30 2012, 10:15 AM)
CODE

# cd xfce-4.10
Again, stuck with the third command with this response:
CODE
find: missing argument to '-exec'

QUOTE(Lord Tiki Mick @ Sep 30 2012, 10:15 AM)
For the aptitute method, you should first search xfce package name, you do it like so
CODE
apt-cache search xfce
Response:
CODE
# apt-cache search xfce
shared-mime-info - FreeDesktop.org shared MIME database and spec
Then what?
Lord Tiki Mick
post Sep 30 2012, 07:33 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(Assassin's @ Sep 30 2012, 02:20 PM)
Again, stuck with the third command with this response:
CODE
find: missing argument to '-exec'

I forgot to put "\;" it should be
CODE

# cd xfce-4.10
# find . -name '*.bz2' -type f -exec tar -xjvf {} \;

Response:
CODE
# apt-cache search xfce
Then what?
Then nothing, It didn't display anything useful.

p/s: If you get errors again, please consider to read the man page.
farkinid
post Oct 1 2012, 12:07 PM

997 posts

QUOTE(Assassin's @ Sep 30 2012, 02:20 PM)
Response:
CODE
# apt-cache search xfce
Then what?
I'll leave the install script to Lord Tiki Mick.

As for the download from the repo, I'm assuming this is a brand new install. So the first thing you have to do is remove the CD-s as a source of data. The 2nd thing is to point to a correct repository. So use gedit or nano or (if you brave) vi to edit your /etc/apt/source.list

Put a hash in front of any part that says "deb cdrom" and add in an online repository. After you are done, it should look something like this :-
CODE
# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 6.0.0  _Squeeze_ - Official i386 NETINST Binary-1 <date & time>/ squeeze main

# Singapore
deb http://mirror.nus.edu.sg/Debian Squeeze main non-free contrib
deb-src http://mirror.nus.edu.sg/Debian Squeeze main non-free contrib

# US 6.0
deb deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/Debian squeeze main non-free contrib

The example is what I'm using, although my sources.list have more entries from other repositories. After you have edited the sources.list, run a "apt-get update" and then "apt-cache search xfce". You should see something like my screenshot. Then run "apt-get install xfce4".

HAHA.. woops, my picture highlighted the wrong thing. Its xfce4, a few lines above the highlighted one. Also, use sudo if you have to run the update and install.

This post has been edited by farkinid: Oct 1 2012, 12:09 PM

Hao Ren
post Oct 9 2012, 09:13 PM

269 posts

Boleh ushar sini kalo nak cari software latest untuk Linux, atau bagi yang kaki update.

http://miyuchronicles.wordpress.com/2011/1...ftware-catalog/

Atau gi je direct ke http://pkgs.org/
Sword Breaker
post Feb 25 2013, 05:51 PM

57 posts

untuk latest software, boleh update dari repository daripada personal blogs.. risiko kena bug tinggi brows.gif
jyothireddy
post Nov 5 2014, 12:57 AM

45 posts

Ktorrent is best for Linux. And for working in linux i suggest the Ubuntu for all
liaosing
post Oct 1 2015, 10:47 AM

ANYONE KNOW THIS :

ROBACUS is a software automation platform that was developed at the Boeing Supercomputing Center by a group of nuclear engineers out of the University of California, Berkeley, in the early 80's.

Today the PC has surpassed the then supercomputers and is beckoning the re-activation of ROBACUS. And ROBACUS has answered this challenge by moving beyond nuclear engineering, into the area of computer intelligence and digital robotics.

ROBACUS has demonstrated its ability to innovate by solving Newton's problem of gravity and deriving Einstein's E=mc**2 equation. And in a contest of IQ's, ROBACUS has showed us how computers go about dealing with typical human IQ riddles.

But all these achievements would be meaningless if they involve complex theories and demand scientific expertise, all to be backed by strenuous thinking on our part. So, this is where ROBACUS has its breakthrough.

ROBACUS' user interface is all in plain English. That's only possible if ROBACUS is made to absorb all the thinking to itself. We essentially have created a digital brain.
Well, what's the use of a brain without action. So, we also engineered some digital robotics to do the work. We have created what we called "software robots". These robots are designed to, someday, perform all the tasks on the computer.

At this point, we are left with one last question:
"Would any school accept a supersmart and hardworking computer as a student?"

PROF DR.JOE CHING
NUCLEAR WEAPON SYSTEM DESIGNER
B.S.Engineering Physics,UC,Berkeley
M.S.Engineering Science,Caltech
Ph.D.Nuclear Engineering,Columbia Univ.
Oak Ridge National Laboratories
Energy, Incorporated
UNIV. CAL.Berkeley, Nuclear Dept

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top