PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V6,, Comparison and Advice

spongebobdono P
post Feb 15 2022, 07:38 PM

Probation
13 posts

Hi, I'm thinking of upgrading from my 5-year-old Creative T40 for my Mac. Any recommendations would be appreciated. What I'm looking for:

- Must have bluetooth
- 2.0, no space for sub and not a big fan of bass, I got my T40's bass turned to around 40%
- No auto-off for energy saving like the T40. The 5-second wait for it to wake is very annoying to me
- Mostly listen to podcasts or lectures (talking). Occasional netflix. Don't listen to music.
spongebobdono P
post Feb 17 2022, 10:35 AM

Probation
13 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Feb 15 2022, 09:45 PM)
how much are you willing to spend?
Around RM500. I'm no audiophile, far from it, just wanna hear clear, crisp speech.
spongebobdono P
post Feb 18 2022, 02:42 PM

Probation
13 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Feb 17 2022, 02:59 PM)
How about Creative T60?
Has Bluetooth
No mention of auto-off feature
Has Clear Dialog button if you want clearer speech, good for podcast and lectures.
Also within your budget
Wow, this seems to be what I'm looking for! In my search I had also came across Edifier R1855BT, how do you think it compares? Even though the Edifier is RM600+, I've seen it go for <RM450 on sale, well within budget.

But I'm pretty much sold on the T60, it's even cheaper than my old T40-II. Thanks!
spongebobdono P
post Feb 21 2022, 05:06 PM

Probation
13 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Feb 18 2022, 05:17 PM)
If you're not a big fan of bass, I think u might not like Edifier's house sound. They're generally warm with boomy bass. Good for music but not so much for dialogues.
Definitely not a big fan of bass. I have a 2.1 soundbar for my TV, which is okay because I watch it (and hear it) from at least 8ft away. When I walk nearer to it I feel my heart thumping out of my chest. Guess my heart has a low bass tolerance, if that's a thing.

QUOTE(power911 @ Feb 19 2022, 07:03 PM)
I was gonna suggest Presonus Eris E3.5 but I guess T60 would suit you more icon_rolleyes.gif
This one seems especially good for music? Might know someone I could recommend this to, who listens mostly to music and would appreciate the clarity and ability to hear the different kinds of instruments.

Thanks sifus, for such high quality and precise recommendations and help!
spongebobdono P
post Mar 4 2022, 04:02 PM

Probation
13 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Feb 26 2022, 01:48 PM)
It's subjective to say studio mons are good for music or not. I personally like the raw untouched sound so therefore I like it for how true it is but it can be bland and not interesting for some others.
But even if you eventually got space and upgrade with a nice subwoofer, it'll still complement the entire system without compromising on overpowered bass.
I find that many ppl think the subwoofer is not important. But having a proper match subwoofer to your system can sound extra amazing. It's like adding salt to your food. You don't need it. But you can improve it with a hint of it. laugh.gif
Oh, the Eris Sub8 is much more expensive than the 3.5. I'm with you on the salt analogy, when my Sony soundbar's subwoofer connection drops (it's wireless and erratic), everything sounds thin and low quality. I'm a weird creature who doesn't listen to music so I have no opinions on the raw untouched sound laugh.gif

Are built-in woofers not able to compensate for the lack of a subwoofer, even the high-end ones? I only know subs are always large, and bass from speakers always sound nothing like the real thing.

0.0695sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:39 PM