Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

okuribito
post Jun 16 2015, 10:27 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 11 2015, 02:39 PM)
2 days ago, the BR officer said in order to solve my lowered interest rate by 0.10% issue, the BR officer
suggested me to withdraw my 5 years FD (2 more years to go), then use the money to place another
new FD for 1 year at 4.25%....!!!
I cannot imagine how stupid is this BR staff...  mad.gif
hahaha so silly!

but seriously, did BR revise your 5 yr FD rate downwards? How did you find out? Did they send u notification?

I better go chk mine hmm.gif
okuribito
post Aug 6 2015, 02:37 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 6 2015, 08:58 AM)
This SCB another problem with interest crediting. My Jan 15 mth 4.5% FD received interest just 2 weeks ago. Then another one supposed to be due yesterday still not yet received.  shakehead.gif

They have to fix this issue. Now have to go and chase after RM (not leng lui  tongue.gif ) .

Anyone else has this problem ?  hmm.gif
wahhhh you got full 4.5% for 6mths? have to check mine!
okuribito
post Aug 6 2015, 02:56 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Aug 6 2015, 02:02 PM)
Ringgit is heading to RM4 to 1USD..
http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/r...ainst-us-dollar

palm oil and crude oil also trending lower..

Things do not look good in M'sia with the latest political development.

Seriously need to diversify to foreign assets especially if you plan for overseas education for your children.
"The ringgit exchange rate breached the 3.89 mark to the greenback today, hitting RM3.8920 against the US dollar at 9.40 am this morning, data from Bloomberg showed. It then declined further to RM3.8950 against the US dollar at 10.30 " malaysiakini

okuribito
post Aug 6 2015, 03:56 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 6 2015, 03:38 PM)
Bro, please read carefully. Not 6 mth 4.5%.  shakehead.gif

I mean the 6 mth interest for the 15 mth FD not received.  biggrin.gif
aiyohhhhh of course lah. what i meant was that the 4.5% was actually the board rate of 3.25% plus a campaign bonus of 1.25%. apparently the campaign bonus 1.25% said to be payable only on maturity after 15m.

ie i expect them to pay the 3.25% every 6 mths for 6 mths interest cool2.gif but if you get 4.5% 6mths interest, then i will ask them for it too
okuribito
post Aug 7 2015, 11:24 AM

1,021 posts

Has anyone posted & discussed this RHB FD/ASN UT bundle yet? Remember in prev versions (iirc v7 or v8) there was some interest in investing in Amanah Saham UTs & it was said that some of them were highly sought after but low in supply. Dunno if that applies to these

FD:UT ratio >> 1:1
FD promo rate 3m 7% // 6 mths 7.8%
Min FD 10K
non-bumi UT's ... ASN3 Imbang, ASG-Pendidikan, ASG-Kesihatan, ASG-Persaraan
UT sales chg >> 5.3% incl gst
Offer ends >> 30 Sept 2015

Anyone tracking these UT's

Link to factsheet

This post has been edited by okuribito: Aug 7 2015, 11:35 AM
okuribito
post Aug 7 2015, 01:43 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 7 2015, 12:51 PM)
Tis was discussed earlier n u need to spend time to read
Tis is a bundle product where u need to understand the operations of UT together with the Fund objective
ok just searched - discussed in june. thx. hahaha still think 5% upfront is a big handicap. & noticed MBB's expired promo offered 8.8% (?) in a similar bundle. think i'll pass for now as I feel equities got more to fall in the coming mths. maybe reconsider the SC 1.5% discount later in the year (expires 31/12)

tq again
okuribito
post Aug 13 2015, 12:47 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 12 2015, 09:47 PM)
Today's evening news paper headline is really spine-chilling.
[attachmentid=4737079]
was there any article supporting this headline? link pls?

okuribito
post Sep 10 2015, 10:54 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(cj7lee @ Sep 10 2015, 10:41 AM)
Try to deposit RM 5500 for one more month, then you will know whether the bank calculate the interest by total days in a month or by 1/12 year  tongue.gif

If my calculation is correct, next month the interest you will receive is

RM5500*30/365*3.25% = RM14.69
correct! all banks calculate to the exact # of days. one easy rule to remember is the # of days in the prev month eg prev mth is Aug... Aug has 31 days - u'll get interest for 31 days in sept... doesn't matter which day in Aug it start. Let's say u put money in on 17Feb 2015 & u are supposed to get 1mth interest on 17 March ... straight away i can confirm u will get 28 days interest becos there are 28 days in feb. Dun believe? Simple mah... take out calendar & count with your fingers la biggrin.gif

If more than 1 mth how? Just add up the elapsed mths' days. Again dun matter which day u placed the deposit. Of course, if bank pays for the weekend/holiday, just add those la

0.0402sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:26 PM