Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

msa9696
post Sep 9 2015, 03:17 PM

1,593 posts

Walked in to CIMB branch to enquire. The best they can offer is 3.9% for 6 months. I think so far the 4% is really for PB customers.
msa9696
post Sep 11 2015, 10:54 AM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 10 2015, 11:34 PM)
Different branches diff policy. For example, my BR branch still issuing banker's cheque while my UOB branch charges fee for it even though I point other branches foc.

For the uob extra 0.05%, it is only for branches in the central region.
Not sure how we define "central". I just called UOB Jalan Sultan Ismail. The person who picked up the call insist only 4.2% max. I told her I'm depositing 150k she said no way 4.25%. I then asked if there's anyone I can speak to who can grant special approval, she said she's the one has the ultimate decision, very arrogant. Then she said at least 500k only she will consider, that's only consider, not confirm. And she said no way other branch giving 4.25% on amount less than 500k. Of course I believe the few who got it, just that they are very inconsistent, and for this time, very arrogant.

Damn.....forget about UOB, I'm going for Maybank 4.15%, since it's 10 months and more convenient for me to open in Maybank than UOB.

p/s: Anyway just wondering if it's worth to wait for the OPR announcement this evening, assuming in unlikely circumstances BNM increase 0.25 basis point, how soon and how much increase in FD rate we expect.
msa9696
post Sep 11 2015, 11:14 AM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 11 2015, 10:57 AM)
Maybe you can try Puchong branch. I can only remember this branch's name when the list was being read to me.

I would just place the FD today. If there is an increase in OPR and banks are offering new rates, then you can consider to just uplift it and place for the new promo (different bank for fresh fund).
Thanks, you're right if new rates are much better I can always uplift. I'll place today. I stay in Puchong but as weekends banks are all closed can only do it on weekdays. It's really difficult to do banking far from my office, hence no choice I'll just go for Maybank which is below my office only.
msa9696
post Sep 12 2015, 01:56 PM

1,593 posts

As I don't place FD that often, I find that the certs issued from Maybank very misleading and unclear to me. Previously the one from RHB was very clear and direct. Hope someone can feedback or if anyone has similar experience with Maybank or those "5+5" kind of promotion.

1) On the front page it stated 3.3% profit rate (I was told that this is the normal rate and it's ok)

2) My FD is 5+5 months (first 5 months 4% and next 5 months 4.3%, effective rate 4.15%)
but on the cert itself it stated 5 months and the maturity is on the next 5 months. Hence am I supposed
to assume that it will auto renew another 5 months upon "maturity"

3) It only printed 4% for 5 months at the back of the cert, and nothing is mentioned that I shall have
another 5 months with 4.3%, except with the teller's handwriting at the back indicating this

4) The "payment of dividend" area is printed as "capitalized (term)", does this means the interest after
months will be added to the principal amount of my FD, and it will only be paid to me when the FD
matured after 10 months? I have actually asked them to credit to my savings account, but one of the
cert stated my saving accounts number but this cert stated "capitalised".

I think maybe there's system limitation or fixed design on their cert, which restrict them from printing
the terms clearly, but I just want to make sure I don't end up arguing with them after 5 months if I
don't get the actual offer.

msa9696
post Sep 14 2015, 10:07 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Sep 14 2015, 07:27 PM)
Yes we have this additional FD promotion rate of 0.05% however this promotion is strictly only open for customers in Central 3 Region Branches which are Jalan Othman, Puchong, Damansara Uptown, Ampang, Cheras and Jalan Tengah, and this promotion is only until 11/9/2015.
Kindly refer as above reply from uob RM.
Their feedback very inconsistent. I sent a complaint that day and today someone called me. She said the offer was only from Uptown Branch and it was the sole discretion of the manager there. She also mentioned the promotion was from 07 - 11/09. Then she offer me some kind of unit trust + savings, really wasting my time, I told her if cannot match the rate no need counter offer something entirely different.
msa9696
post Sep 23 2015, 10:21 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(Plutoman @ Sep 23 2015, 09:24 PM)
12 months any idea what is the rate? can get 4.25%?? since 3 months alr 3.95%  brows.gif
Can't remember but definitely lower than 4.15%. I concur on the 3.95% which I asked about 2 weeks ago. I asked in Wisma Genting, beside CIMB is just Maybank. I told them Maybank give 4.15% effective rate for 10 months, the lady then asked me go to Maybank as really impossible for them to offer such good rate. She gave me a look like how come so competitive now
msa9696
post Sep 26 2015, 02:35 PM

1,593 posts

Anyone didn't receive the previous OCBC Hugo Boss Pen? Asking because I made deposit for the current promotion of Luggage Bag/ Air Purifier. No matter how I read the T&C, it doesn't mention on limited quantity. It only needs us to register, then show it to the teller/ banker when we make the placement. After I show to the banker, he said they will contact me in Dec to collect the gift. There's no indication of the entitlement, and no slips or receipts given to me to prove my eligibility to the gifts. So it's very possible when comes Dec I do not receive any call and they can claim that I didn't register. It's very ambiguous. No proof whatsoever. I e-mail them to clarify but no reply after 1 week.

This post has been edited by msa9696: Sep 26 2015, 02:36 PM
msa9696
post Oct 1 2015, 12:51 AM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(thkhai @ Sep 30 2015, 12:10 PM)
Yes, I did the same thing on yesterday. I dont get any prove my eligibility to the gifts, just FD slip. Any news kindly update me, Thanks.
Ok will update here if I ever get the gifts. Guess we can only wait for now and lodge a complaint later if didn't receive.
msa9696
post Oct 1 2015, 12:55 AM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(voc888 @ Sep 30 2015, 07:02 PM)
Dear Sifu, I went to make a placement on the very last day of OCBC 13m 4.2% promotion. During account opening, I've asked the staff whether I need to shown them the SMS registration to proof my eligibility. The staff told me he is only in charge of account opening and I need to show it to the teller later when I surrender my banker's cheque for them to print me the FD Cert. After completion of account opening, all the forms were submitted to the teller by the staff and I was told to wait for them to call my name. However, the teller didn't ask for proof of the registration SMS and I too have forgotten to ask them.

If such event, am I still entitle to the gifts ? What should I do now to ensure I'm entitle to the free gifts?
Keep the sms, write in a complaint on this matter. They ignored my first letter under "feedback", and then I sent another one under "complaint" and they the banker in charged of my FD called me. He asked me why I wrote a complaint and it directed to him, guess it will affect his performance? I'm not sure about that. Anyway I told him it's not his fault but it's the stupid marketing department causing so much ambiguity. He says he will feedback to the management. But I believe if everyone starts writing in, it might help as they might seriously look into this when they keep receiving the same complaint. Moreover it also serves as a documentation that you have highlighted this before, so that you might have a point to argue later. Also don't delete your sms
msa9696
post Oct 2 2015, 09:12 PM

1,593 posts

Updating on my OCBC gifts/ complaint. Another person called me from the branch, she said she has checked and confirmed with HQ that my FD is maintained with gifts, she said confirm will get. They will only call to collect in Dec. Fingers crossed

0.0439sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:04 AM