Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

gsc
post Jul 17 2015, 10:10 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 16 2015, 10:17 AM)
I heard the same. Not sure what strategy UOB is doing now. Though they seems to have been "competing" with OCBC in the past. But now OCBC is still having 4.2% 12 mth promo with gifts some more.  hmm.gif
UOB is competing using different month of maturity ..5 months instead of 6, 8 months instead of 9 month. i made a july, 5 months placement so that it will mature in dec. usually most banks will give promotion end of year which i can compare

gsc
post Jul 18 2015, 02:14 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 17 2015, 02:31 PM)
Edit:
I checked my HL Bank statement, the HL Bank just indicate balance, but no individual FD maturity date. But the HL Islamic Bank did indicate the maturity date of FD.  Anyway I think the FD maturity date need to be tracked and cannot depends on the bank statements alone (every 3 mths in this case). But HNWI (or ultra HNWI ?  tongue.gif ) people may not be bothered with the tracking.  rclxms.gif  tongue.gif
used to track when only placing FD with1-2 banks. after playing too often musical chairs with too many banks, plus ringgitplus free gifts with FD, things started to get loose...must follow goat brother to monitor closely
gsc
post Jul 19 2015, 12:03 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(applylose @ Jul 18 2015, 04:34 PM)
hi,

1.let's say if i bankin 100k to other bank, after mature, it still consider fresh fund and re continue with the promo rate?

2.let's say we put in 100k to FD, income tax will mail u?
1) how could it be fresh fund after you have enjoyed for example 2 years of promo rate...it is considered as busuk fund
2) if it is cash, bank will ask you fill in a form to declare sources of fund as this is BNM requirement.IRB may be alerted by BNM if the amount is big.....a housewife can also invest till RM2 million deposited into account. Very common based on our minister thinking...

This post has been edited by gsc: Jul 19 2015, 12:15 PM
gsc
post Jul 19 2015, 12:12 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 18 2015, 10:35 PM)
Ha,  notworthy.gif me only go to bank. Not even near to financial institution. Know how to count eggs only.  tongue.gif
Your term is KYLL....using Excel to track..must have a lot of certs.... notworthy.gif, ...I little potato, use a small 555 book record da cukup.. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by gsc: Jul 19 2015, 12:12 PM
gsc
post Jul 19 2015, 12:59 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 19 2015, 12:29 PM)
Why everyone using terms which is difficult to crack ?? KYLL ??  hmm.gif

Cannot compare myself with people counting eggs into wee hours of the day.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

As to your previously talking about year end FD promo, I think difficult to say. OPR may go down by that time, you lose interest over the period of time ( 3 to 5 months lower FD rate ), .................  biggrin.gif
Exclusive term for you only....know your leng lui tongue.gif biggrin.gif

You have a point on year end rate.....with economic growth slowing down due to GST and low consumer confidence, BNM may lower the rate I think in the next 3 months provided US FED is not starting to increase the rate for the first time..

gsc
post Jul 20 2015, 12:31 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 19 2015, 01:43 PM)
Ha ha ha, DOM (or DYM) !  rclxms.gif  tongue.gif

Not that la. Let @gsc guess.  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif
Know your excel deposit...know your every deposit, know your eyetertainment deal, know your eyetertainment dude

This post has been edited by gsc: Jul 20 2015, 12:35 AM
gsc
post Jul 20 2015, 08:11 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(robert82 @ Jul 20 2015, 10:33 AM)
report back.
Spoke with leng lui manager face to face.
She confirmed CIMB can withdraw FD placed from another branch in a different branch.

IE: FD placed branch A, withdraw from branch B.
As a record Am Bank, UOB and CiMB can withdraw in any branch. This will sure give them the competitive edge
gsc
post Jul 26 2015, 01:16 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jul 25 2015, 07:57 PM)
cash can buy banker's cheque.siapa cakap mesti ada casa? doh.gif  tongue.gif

Cash cant buy banker cheque. Cash has to be deposited into saving or current account first then withdraw from either account. Basically BNM want to have a paper trail on sources of money. This was my exerience at Citi bank and Ocbc bank.
If some banks allowed, it is the bank teller own decision.

Just like depositing cash RM20k or bigger amount into UOB bank need to fill in the form to declare sources of fund. Even within the same bank, some tellers follow the rule and some dont. The ruling is there.

This post has been edited by gsc: Jul 26 2015, 01:20 AM
gsc
post Jul 27 2015, 02:50 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jul 26 2015, 03:41 PM)
my fren put 200k++ also no need to fill up any form in uob., few times alredy. 20k too low to fill up the form? hmm.gif
Good...may I know which UOB branch?

This post has been edited by gsc: Jul 27 2015, 02:52 AM
gsc
post Jul 29 2015, 12:00 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(jonathanchee315 @ Jul 28 2015, 02:14 PM)
Hey guys, I am a newbie in this section. Let's say I got around 400k, and I want to put in FD, which bank you all recommend should I put ?? Or I should split it into half and put 2 separate bank ?? TQ for your opinion and suggestion.
Ocbc has offer for new premium banking customer....I think 6 % for 3 months. I saw the ad but didnt read the detail. With that amount, I probably invest in property

This post has been edited by gsc: Jul 29 2015, 12:04 AM
gsc
post Aug 4 2015, 12:07 PM

1,624 posts

Any promotion from Am bank? Read the first page the board rate is only 3.35%.
gsc
post Aug 4 2015, 12:39 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Aug 4 2015, 12:21 PM)
Ringgit is the best! In Ringgit we trust! smile.gif
International trade is unavoidable in this globalization era. Traders and factories need to import finished goods, raw materials and components from overseas and the currency commonly used in the international market is US$.

A very simple example on infant milk. Say, it was previously imported at US$10, this cost the trader RM33 (at an exchange rate of US1 to RM3.3). Assume there is no change in price but for the same imported good now has to pay RM38. Additional RM5 or 15% increases in price. This is purely impact on good, what about freight and transport charges which are quoted in US$?

Unavoidably the inflation will go up. Assuming the inflation rate has gone up by 3.5% and bank is providing 3.5% interest rate. The real interest we get is 0%! The GST impact will make it worse as it is a general additional 6% across most goods.

This post has been edited by gsc: Aug 4 2015, 12:42 PM
gsc
post Aug 4 2015, 02:03 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 4 2015, 12:07 PM)
Any promotion from Am bank? Read the first page the board rate is only 3.35%.
Just saw BCC post. Thanks for the update. Anyway, I called up Am Bank, promo rate available for 9 months FD only. IBG is only 50sen plus GST
gsc
post Aug 5 2015, 01:26 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Aug 4 2015, 07:42 PM)
dude, ambank ibg 10 sen add gst, ibft 50 sen add gst.ibft best as it is instant.

in fact, most banks ibg/ibft charges now as above.
I am referring to the rate done at counter...not self performing on line rate ..
gsc
post Aug 8 2015, 12:50 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Aug 6 2015, 02:02 PM)
Ringgit is heading to RM4 to 1USD..
http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/r...ainst-us-dollar

palm oil and crude oil also trending lower..

Things do not look good in M'sia with the latest political development.

Seriously need to diversify to foreign assets especially if you plan for overseas education for your children.
Any recommendation on Australia properties...

That day went to Ambank renew FD, 9 month for 4.1%, interest credited monthly. one branch allowed top up some money to be considered as fresh fund, other branch insisted top up RM10k ...

This post has been edited by gsc: Aug 8 2015, 02:49 AM
gsc
post Aug 8 2015, 09:51 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 8 2015, 09:08 AM)
Wow, looking for Australian properties !  notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif

Ask our Captain !  rclxms.gif

Add: I have asked him before, he kind of saying a good trip for him to Penang. You and me can share that ?  hmm.gif
May be captain can write something on his blog to make it more attractive.....there are quite a number of talk on this investment in Aus property
gsc
post Aug 9 2015, 01:49 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 8 2015, 10:57 AM)

Now if you buy a new landed property and it is not rented out, are you going to fly there periodically to cut the grasses

Having said the above, if you think your grand children will be gong to Australia for their education, sure go buy an apartment in the city most likely where they will go else I think Penang Island Semi-D better bet to make you money (much more if your children and/or grandchildren inherit it) and life simple smile.gif Of course we know you got lots of money and got holding power, so one benefit of investing overseas is you then have a good reason to go holiday and check out your overseas investments periodically (and if got a landed property, go cut grass, hahahaha).
Thanks Carptain for the valuable advice....especially on the yield on rental return.....the capital gain tax...

rclxms.gif
gsc
post Aug 11 2015, 06:35 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 11 2015, 05:11 PM)
So many uncertainties now, better don't lock up cash too long. Crisis is opportunity, be very liquid and wait for bargain to come. Crisis/opportunity don't come very often, 17 looong years waiting man. Don't miss it. drool.gif
Please share if opportunity knocks...tq
gsc
post Aug 18 2015, 03:27 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 15 2015, 12:20 PM)
Updated Post#1. Not many new straight forward FD Promo except those reported by magika and cybpsych.
That's why I never promote FD that is bundled with UT, If one loose money, will curse me like hell, hahaha.
Better go burn your Ringgit fast before you get less for the same Ringgit now, e.g. Cordon Bleu and Rolex (with the weak Ringgit, best place to buy a Rolex now is Malaysia).

Bro, you bought your son ticket to US? If you following him - check out my article Visa Buy 1 Ticket and get the Second Ticket 50% Off for Malaysia Airlines, China Airlines, British Airways and Singapore Airlines. And if you are following your son to his Uni and then want to visit other US destination, go to United Airlines website and choose Multi-City option and you may save some money on US domestic flights. Example, You flying with him to LA and then to the city where his Uni is and then you want to go to Vegas and San Francisco before flying back to KL. Click here to learn more about United Airlines Multi-City where I gave step by step instructions. And another tip - go google for United Airlines Malaysia, they use to have an office in KL where I bought the Multi City ticket 6 years ago when my son went to US and maybe can be cheaper since paying in RM.
Thanks for all money saving tips......the 1 oz gold coin was RM44xx about 1.5 weeks ago and it has shot to RM48xx...with weaker RM, it will go up further...the price came down like tortoise rate but shot up like a rocket....there was a member mentioned earlier it will go down which I doubt so because weaker Rm
gsc
post Aug 20 2015, 11:14 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Aug 19 2015, 06:22 PM)
hello pearl_white, wake up!!

You are stupid or what?

People in here all laughing at your stupidity you showed in those calculations and you keep
flaunting more for them to  laugh at.....??

Ada kemaluan kah??
Kemaluan?.. Please look out in the dictionary to read what does it mean

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0257sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:53 PM