Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

Ramjade
post Jun 28 2015, 10:26 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 28 2015, 10:17 PM)
Wah.. eat raw garlic everyday..  sweat.gif

KFC & Bak Kut Teh seldom eat..
Alcohol I do not drink..
I quit smoking more than 30 years ago...

Exercise..  biggrin.gif  Ah Goat is a sport man..

This e-smartsaver cannot open account inside OCBC branch..?
From what I gather is online.

Who ask to eat garlic alone. Eat with food. You want to spend so much for heart operation or you want to spend little for garlic? Also add 1tbsp of extra Virgin olive oil and drink green tea.

Exercise = walk up stairs, walk fast around housing estate also can. No need to run like crazy.
Ramjade
post Jun 28 2015, 10:28 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 28 2015, 10:24 PM)
One more drawback of e-Smartsaver is we cannot open joint account... sad.gif
This is quite inconvenience for senior citizen.... Unless if we take the 6-month risk lah...
Give username and password to wife. So she can withdraw anytime if something happen tobyou. Touch wood.
Ramjade
post Jun 29 2015, 08:34 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 29 2015, 08:27 AM)
Watchout on advice from dr quack.  tongue.gif

Ah Goat eats grass, healthy natural food to supplement the CD food.  laugh.gif

Stopped smoking >30 years ago ?  sweat.gif  hmm.gif We always think Ah Boom is sooooo younggg.   tongue.gif
What Ah Boom, a senior citizen ?????  tongue.gif
Aiyoo. Just go google up garlic la. Garlic will thin blood and decrease blood pressure. Just side effect is garlic smell.

Everyone knows fish oil and olive oil good heart. Google Mediterranean diet for cardiovascular health. Mediterranean diet is high in olive oil and garlic. Don't ask you to eat eat like them. Just incorporate some of what they eat into your diet.

I rather smell of garlic rather than when I am old, go for heart operation. Pay little for fish oil, olive oil and garlic than pay very high price for heart operation. Even heart operation cannot return your body back to 100% before disease.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 29 2015, 08:36 AM
Ramjade
post Jun 29 2015, 10:04 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 29 2015, 09:58 AM)
You sure Ah Boom married ? Still single ! He would hesitate to give to CD, gf, aunties and maybe uncle.  laugh.gif
laugh.gif Quack quack .................... tongue.gif

What you say is common knowledge. Ah Boom anyway supplement it with few medical checkup PER YEAR !!!  biggrin.gif
I think he is married.

Yup. Couldn't agree more. If you above 50, better check up every year
Ramjade
post Jun 29 2015, 06:33 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Jun 29 2015, 04:49 PM)
Hi.. I new to FD.. just a fresh grad worker.. planning to place 5k to FD..

by looking at the 1st post, i found out that below 2 FD quite suit my need. Is there other FD out there are suitable for me??

HSBC 5% for 3 Months FD has extended to 30 June 2015
Minimum RM 5K, maximum RM 30K
Min RM 5 to open a current account (Advance)
Free Umbrella while stock last

OCBC updated their Start Saving Deals again - Updated by cybpsych on 21 April 2015
valid until 31 July 2015
(2) Fresh Deal: 6-month @ 4.00% p.a., 12-month @ 4.20% p.a., min RM5k fresh fund

Since im new to FD, i would like to ask.. lets say deposit 5k to a FD and the interest is 5%

which mean i will get 5k+ (5k x 5%) after the FD period?

Do I need an account in that bank in order for me to FD? or i just can walk into the bank and say i wan to place a FD? Thanks.
If you want to put HSBC, recommend you put rm30k as you can only do it once. Why bother going for rm5k when you can maximise benifits at rm30k
Ramjade
post Jun 30 2015, 10:50 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(peterchua5717 @ Jun 30 2015, 10:32 AM)
HI uncle Boom,

Currently i just have basic saving account for HSBC? any requirement to upgrade my saving account to HSBC advance in order
to place the FD account.
If I am not mistaken, only valid for new HSBC customer
Ramjade
post Jun 30 2015, 11:00 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(celicaizpower @ Jun 30 2015, 10:57 AM)
what is UT bro? I dont quite understand.
Unit trust. But you need to pay 5% as fees. Better get up from fsm. Fsm only 1-2%
Ramjade
post Jun 30 2015, 11:22 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Jun 30 2015, 11:04 AM)
uncle can buy asnb from fsm?
No. What I meant is other ut
Ramjade
post Jul 1 2015, 08:12 AM

24,333 posts

Promo if you open account with them until Sept. 4% valid until Dec 2015. To get 4%, minimum rm1k must be inside there. Every month deposit min rm50.

After promo period, need to deposit rm1000/month to get interest of 3.05%.

No withdrawal or else it will drop to 0.5%
Ramjade
post Jul 3 2015, 08:05 PM

24,333 posts

What happen to mbsb? I wasn't on lowyat forum then. Mind sharing?
Ramjade
post Jul 3 2015, 08:45 PM

24,333 posts

Gen-X, have a question for you. You said cash is king during recession. How can it be?. Look at Greece. Cash is not king for them now.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 3 2015, 08:46 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 4 2015, 10:31 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Jul 4 2015, 09:55 PM)
Nice, the 4% interest rate for OCBC e-SmartSavers account is on par with that of fixed deposit account, without the need to hold the deposit for more than 6 months (a requirement for fixed deposit).

1) I have OCBC Easisave Saving Account and access to OCBC Internet Banking. If I have opened and activated OCBC e-SmartSavers account, can I access this account via Internet Banking, and can perform deposit and withdraw money to and from e-SmartSavers account; and transfer between my two OCBC saving account?

2) Is it possible that OCBC may revise 4% interest rate, should there be any change to OPR?

3) Is there an annual fee for this account?
The 4% is until 31st December 2015. After that it will go do to 3.05%. Any withdrawal of any amount from this account will drop the interest down to 0.5%. Need to deposit min RM1k to get the 3.05% although now all one need is maintain RM1000 and deposit minimum RM50/month to get 4%. More trouble than it is worth.

Better take the ambank true savers. 2.8% interest. Withdrawal will not have any effect Even with no deposit, one still earn 2.8%
Ramjade
post Jul 7 2015, 12:02 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(PsychoHDxMachine @ Jul 6 2015, 11:37 PM)
Hi, im confused. let's say i deposit RM100k into FD (Maybank Promo now) which 12 (6 +6) Months Step Up - 4.04% and 4.3% . Effective  Interest Rate 4.165%. Means i calculate interest based on 100K x 4.165% = RM4165? Or? Quite new on FD promo. If compared with OCBC, which it gives 4.2%? Means OCBC is better in term of FD rate?
Yes. If got effective rates, you multiply with the effective rates. Depends on distance of bank, petrol, parking and bank staff. Is it worth your trip? For me I always go for the bank with highest effecive rates with PIDM protection. Cause all the banks are located next to each other. tongue.gif

If you are asking which bank I put, I tell you it is affin bank. 4.33% for 15months. No stupid deposit x% into CASA. Pure FD. rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif Just open an account with them so that upon maturity, principle + interest is credited into the account you opened. Not sure if it is still available.
Ramjade
post Jul 7 2015, 12:08 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(PsychoHDxMachine @ Jul 7 2015, 11:58 AM)
hi, so currently which banks offer better rate? OCBC (4.2% pa)? RHB? (4.21% pa)?
MBB (4.17%), im looking for promo FD. If normal FD rate definitely is Affin Bank? (3.7% pa)? Im confused with CMGIA-i Promos? 6-month Commodity Murabahah General Investment Account-i? Is it same as normal FD? Only different in term? Islamic vs Con?
You can check and see whether affin still have 4.33% for 15 months or not
Ramjade
post Jul 7 2015, 01:11 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(PsychoHDxMachine @ Jul 7 2015, 12:23 PM)
sure. but if OCBC and RHB,both also okay? if looking for 12 mths*

Sure why not. Me, personally, I go for the best rates.
Ramjade
post Jul 8 2015, 10:29 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Jul 8 2015, 10:15 PM)
I'm thinking between OCBC or AFFIN now.

Which one you guys took? smile.gif
Up to you. You want convenience (nearby, easy to find parking, no queue) or you want maximum profit? Me like I said in previous post I go for maximum profit as convenience doesn't come into play for me as all banks are near to each other except the parking. Parking near affin bank is easy to get. Some more no queue at affin.

So I get best of both world. High interest rates, easy parking and no queue. biggrin.gif tongue.gif rclxms.gif icon_idea.gif
Ramjade
post Jul 9 2015, 08:02 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 9 2015, 07:55 PM)
bbgoat
Affin bank also in trouble... tongue.gif
Where?
Ramjade
post Jul 9 2015, 08:14 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 9 2015, 08:07 PM)
Read Sarawak Report, Malaysian Insider.. tongue.gif
Oh, you meant that.
Ramjade
post Jul 14 2015, 05:30 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jul 14 2015, 05:25 PM)
I have opened OCBC e-smartsaver account.

so now have to deposit money every month to the account in order to enjoy 4% rate?
Min RM1000. For promo period RM50 will do.
Ramjade
post Jul 14 2015, 05:36 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jul 14 2015, 05:33 PM)
so that means after first deposit, have to deposit min RM 50 to the account every month until December, right?

I'm just worried that I might get it wrong, and then in December they tell me, oops.... T&C not fulfilled. then jialak!
From what I know is like that. Don't know how for January 2016. If you want , can always put more. tongue.gif But RM1000 must always be in there.

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:19 AM