Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

Human Nature
post Aug 25 2015, 07:26 PM

- student of human nature -
26,521 posts

Guys, what is the sentiment out there? With the turbulence in the share market, will the Fed increase or decrease the interest rate? And with the bank negara meeting in September, will it follow suit? Am wondering whether I should go for short term or long term FD placement.
Human Nature
post Aug 25 2015, 08:15 PM

26,521 posts

So meaning when everyone is taking out money to buy shares, there is a chance for banks to increase the FD rate to attract more fund?
Human Nature
post Aug 25 2015, 10:02 PM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 25 2015, 09:57 PM)
Fed is expected to raise rate in September.
But with the turbulence and wild drop in the stock market, it basically may handicap Fed to raise rate for near term.

10 years treasuries plunged below 2% last night basically signal that rate hike chance is becoming minimal.
QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 25 2015, 10:00 PM)
Liquidity still ample, banks do not need to raise FD rate to attract more fund.

Klibor is the best indicator for liquidity situation, not stock market.
I see. So will just stick to my normal FD chair routine for the time being. Thanks.
Human Nature
post Aug 26 2015, 10:10 AM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 26 2015, 01:44 AM)
Money supply in the market is determined by the BNM monetary policy. The tool to manipulate money supply is the interest rate. Generally, interest rate will be lowered if there is a gloomy sendiment in the market. If inflatiion is going up due to demand pull, BNM will then increase the interest rate to tighten the money supply.

With GST and decrepciatiin of RM, we will be seeing a cost push inflation, general price level going up, economic growth GDP is slowing down as reported recently. unemployment rate will be going up, hence lower consumption. This will reduce the agregate demand  Theoretically BNM will need to lower the interest rate to increase the money supply in the market to boost the economy. In view of the uncertainty on FED action to increase the interest rate, my guess is BNM will still hold onto the interest rate in Sept month to monitor the effect of RM depreciation, the Chinese Yuan devaluation effect...in the next 3-6 months, my guess is the rate will be going down.
Thank you for the reply. Maybe this is the reason why there is no more 12mths above 4% rate by banks (apart from BR and affin).
Human Nature
post Aug 26 2015, 10:41 AM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 26 2015, 10:18 AM)
Still have:
PBB 4.17% & OCBC 13 mth 4.2%.

PBB is the effective rate one right..i will search back this thread for the OCBC one.
Human Nature
post Aug 26 2015, 11:03 AM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 26 2015, 11:01 AM)
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 26 2015, 11:01 AM)
Yes, PBB is step up rate. Check first page.  biggrin.gif
Thanks, will go for OCBC. Direct and no need headache biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Aug 26 2015, 11:40 AM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 26 2015, 11:28 AM)
For me, I will take a plunge into MBSB (similar to BR as no PIDM) for their 18 mth 4.5%.  biggrin.gif
MBSB do look like a good option (even better than BR i might say), but the branch in melaka is located at a stress inducing area haha
Human Nature
post Aug 26 2015, 12:10 PM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 26 2015, 12:07 PM)
Oh Malacca stress inducing area, not "pleasure" inducing area ?  hmm.gif  brows.gif
haha you also know laugh.gif

Affin and MBSB all located there. SCB too but easier for get parking for it.
Human Nature
post Aug 26 2015, 08:57 PM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 26 2015, 07:52 PM)
Finally, log into SCB account. The belated 6 month FD interest (for 15 mth 4.5%) appeared. Shown as "Value Date 5/8/2015".  biggrin.gif

Done IBFT at zero cost again. This is the part that I am happy with SCB.  rclxms.gif

But the problem with their system is still a cause of dissatisfaction with them.  shakehead.gif

Ah Boom, @Human Nature, you guys are lucky. My next one is on 2/9. Still earlier than you two. Hopefully it will appear without me calling my RM one more time !  biggrin.gif
Good to know that it is finally in. Hopefully with your case as guinea pig, hopefully SCB is proactive to sort out for the rest of customers biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Aug 27 2015, 05:44 PM

26,521 posts

New ocbc promo. 4.3% 9 months. 1 week only. Starts today.
Human Nature
post Aug 27 2015, 05:58 PM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 27 2015, 05:46 PM)
Good deal, pure FD ? I was thinking of going for MBSB tomorrow. Min 10k ?  biggrin.gif
Oppss i didnt ask further as i went for the 13mths. Paiseh
Human Nature
post Aug 27 2015, 06:14 PM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Aug 27 2015, 06:11 PM)
why take 13 months for 4.2%pa instead of 9 months 4.3%pa? blink.gif
scared if end early, rate might be lower than 4 sweat.gif better tie longer period

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Aug 27 2015, 06:15 PM
Human Nature
post Aug 27 2015, 08:10 PM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Aug 27 2015, 07:57 PM)
which OCBC bro? my Kepong girl no idea bout this, again
OCBC Dataran Pahlawan Melaka, just started today according to the staff
Human Nature
post Aug 27 2015, 09:48 PM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 27 2015, 09:41 PM)
Any T&C?
I forget to ask any further details bro blush.gif
Human Nature
post Aug 27 2015, 10:05 PM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Aug 27 2015, 09:58 PM)
Didn't get call from their lenglui RM , tomoro may pay a visit , btw , what's the minimum fund require?less bullet right now
Hehe better you call your lenglui RM and update us all tomorrow. Sorry for the half baked info. Was rushing to meet 4pm dateline for my own placement but still end up effective tomorrow's date.
Human Nature
post Aug 28 2015, 10:24 AM

26,521 posts

Wah, the staff very sneaky. She just told me 4.3% rupanya got tier one.
Human Nature
post Sep 2 2015, 09:09 PM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 2 2015, 10:35 AM)
My 3rd SCB 15 mth 4.5% FD received 6th month interest today, good !  rclxms.gif Free IBFT again !  thumbup.gif

Funny thing is 1st one automatically goes to JustOne CA.  Second one after asking RM goes to JustOne SA. Third one auto goes to SA also.

@Human Nature, yours coming up on 5/9. Let us know. Ah Boom's one is next.  biggrin.gif
Thanks for the update. Good to know. No more hassle. Will update mine on the 5th biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Sep 3 2015, 01:46 PM

26,521 posts

Will be placing some fund for the new UOB promo later today. Any idea what is the cut of time for UOB (counter close)? Thanks
Human Nature
post Sep 3 2015, 04:36 PM

26,521 posts

UOB

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 3 2015, 04:52 PM

Human Nature
post Sep 3 2015, 06:10 PM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(solarwing @ Sep 3 2015, 06:01 PM)
Got offer from UOB after negotiate 4.25% p.a for 12 month.
wah can nego one ar. You are PB customer?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:32 AM