Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

syafiqdanial P
post Apr 16 2021, 02:22 PM

Probation
17 posts

Hello Sifus..

I humbly need ya'll to shed light on my current situation.

I'm contemplating to buy another air-conditioner for my room.

My current Hitachi RAS-EH10CKM (a 9000btu/h air cond) provides insufficient cooling during daytime but adequate during night time.

So i need advise to get either of the following air conditioners:-

1. Panasonic X Deluxe CS-XPU13WKH (1.5hp) = RM1719.00
2. Daikin FTKH28AV (1.0hp) = RM1743.00
3. LG Dual Inverter Deluxe S3-Q12JA3WA (1.5hp) = RM1599.00
4. Gree Queen I GWC12ACC-K6DNA5A (1.5hp) = RM1490.00

Now, I am not replacing my current Hitachi Non-Inverter by getting a new Inverter unit as it could not be relocated to other rooms in the house due to it being too underpowered. My plan is to add another unit in my room and maybe i'll switch on Hitachi from time to time just to give it a run but i'll mostly be using the new Inverter air cond.

Is the Daikin (option no. 2) okay? As it's a 1hp unit but having a significantly higher nominal btu at 9700. As mentioned previously, my current 9000 btu/h Hitachi is only insufficient during daytime.

For context, my usage is setting the temp at 27 Celcius and circulate the air with a fan. I use it mostly during bedtime and naps on weekends.

The LG and Gree could drop down its btu to 2000btu and 1365btu respectively compared to the Panasonic and Daikin. The Panasonic on the other hand has a much higher btu to spare should the necessary situation arise, plus i am quite fond of the Panasonic brand as my brother's 2005 Panasonic was still blowing ice cold until it was replaced last month (March 2021) to item no. 1 above in an attempt to go green with R32 and save electricity.

I'm so confused but one thing for certain, i will not spend >RM2k for an aircond (for my room that is..).

Fun fact, i've even considered a Midea 2.0hp Inverter (Xtreme Save) as its around the same price but the minimum btu is roughly around 7k++ so its a no.

I'm all over the place.. please send help... most grateful to those who could give an input on the matter at hand.

syafiqdanial P
post Apr 16 2021, 04:18 PM

Probation
17 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Apr 16 2021, 03:16 PM)
You might also consider other stuff :

1. Gap below the door big? Consider the door seal(brush or rubber type)
2. Consider tint with high infrared rejection for window
3. Consider window seal for window gaps
4. Long time no service aircon? Consider service.
5. A lot of heat absorb by outside wall? Consider light color paint if the wall is dark colored or wall insulation.
6. Room on top floor? Might want to consider roof material or insulation.
Okay so...

1. Gap between door and floor is minute (about 3 cm)
2. I have 3 windows [since my room protrudes out, each window faces east, north and south (all 5ft by 5ft)].. no tint so far, but i like my room bright hehe
3. No window gap actually since i've just replaced the window framing / pane
4. Air cond was bought new in November 2020.. i clean the filter once every 2 weeks.. i think the dust is still okay as its not noticeable on the coils
5. Yes tonnes of heat since the window that faces North gets continuous sea breeze and its overlooking layers of zinc (as beneath it is our verandah)
6. Roof insulation is new as well.. one of those aluminium coils.. since i had changed the roofing on September 2020.

I honestly think i bought an underpowered Hitachi unit (1.0hp non-inverter)... my room measures 17ft by 14ft btw.. ceiling height is about 11ft.. but my ceiling is close to the roof since my room is an addition from the initial house, hence the sloping roof means my ceiling is about 2ft to 6ft of the
syafiqdanial P
post Apr 17 2021, 04:59 PM

Probation
17 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Apr 16 2021, 04:42 PM)
you have  3 big windows  5x5 , plus  a big  room on 1st floor  .. 
in hot afternoons  even a  1.5 hp  will struggle.  not sure what temp setting you  normally like .
you need to position the  indoor blower unit  as near to where you  want  it coolest .
i have the same issue with a big long room .

you need to install  window tint  with maximum  TSER  . with higher VLT .  more light pass and high IR block. or do a combination on the windows.

3cm gap on the door is excessive ...  there are some door seal product on shopee  that narrow this.

i like the new Midea  invertor AC.  cos you can  do localise cooling . cos the temp sensor in in the remote.
reason you cannot cool that big room,  plus your power cost  will be higher .  so localise cooling is better option .  just cool the area you want coldest.
Well its quite mafan to install a window tint since its an extra cost on top of my need to get another air conditioner.

Regarding your suggestion on door seals, i've just purchased a brush type seal..

https://shopee.com.my/2-Pcs-Seal-Gap-Wood-G...9086.5076346938

After surveying around my local shops just now.. i think i will step up and get a 2.0hp air conditioner to solve my problem once and for all.

Between a Panasonic X-Deluxe, a Midea Xtreme Save, a Gree Queen I and a Haier DC Inverter (all 2.0hp).. which one should splurge if i prioritise quality, cooling capability and reliability? My house is near a beach btw.. so the a toughened ODU is essential.

Thank you so very much for your suggestions all these while.. extremely grateful for it. notworthy.gif

syafiqdanial P
post Apr 17 2021, 05:14 PM

Probation
17 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 16 2021, 05:32 PM)
Aside from the AC sizing, the heat transfer into your room via the wall and zinc roof could be the problem. If you ventilate the veranda (experiment with table fan, stand fan, every portable fan u have) it should bring down the heat load from there I guess? Because 1.0hp is not able to cope with all the excessive heat. If ventilating the verenda (somehow) cools down the temp of the verenda area then you can consider wall fan or exhaust fan depending on shape and profile of verenda overhang, but since the verenda is below your room it should not be that.

Currently how is the heat profile in your room> is it using roof tiles? Is the room excessively hot (common top floor issue) due to poor roof ventilation?
Coz I have seen 1hp AC struggling to work in a small room because it was on top floor in a DSL, external wall seems to be heated from the evening sun as it was an end lot.
Wow thank you Sifu for replying to my stupid predicament blush.gif

My roof type is the typical zinc but i made sure it was a thick one (the zinc factory asked me to specify the thickness from 1 - 5 and i selected 5). Ha!

I would categorise my room as a desert. Extremely hot during the day... extremely cold in the early hours of the morning. I think the gap between the roof and my ceiling is quite narrow since my room is an addition to the original house.

My room is facing east ultimately.. but even at 7 p.m. when checking my handy thermometer, it displays roughly 31 celcius ambient.. and turning on the air cond takes about 2 hours to get it down to at least 29.0 celcius.

So i have now decided to solve my problem once and for all by purchasing a big air cond (a 2.0hp inverter) and the choices are between a Panasonic X-Deluxe, Midea xtreme save, Gree Queen I and a Haier DC Inverter. I have heard great reviews about the products listed and my priorities are cooling capability > reliability & quality > electrical consumption.

I've avoided Sharp (i know that Sifu is quite fond of this brand) as my house is next to the coast and the aluminium heat exchanger that Sharp uses wont survive the brutal condition (aluminium fins cant easily be welded when fixing leaks compared to a copper tube & Al fin combo based on my research).

So once again thank you for the reply and i hope to finally solve my problem. smile.gif

syafiqdanial P
post Aug 18 2021, 08:57 AM

Probation
17 posts

QUOTE(yakumo @ Aug 16 2021, 08:53 AM)
hi need advice on this 2 aircond

planning to replace my old Panasonic inverter 1hp (which needs its sensor replaced), is the newer one better?
i can see that it has a WIFI connection,
Hi there!

I have own both models that you have enquired. Both are 1.5hp models and both are located in my bedroom.

The X-Deluxe is located at my “living-room” area of my bedroom, basically a small area where i designated a sofa and a lazy chair whereas the X-Premium is near by bed area.

Now, i’ll give you a mini review as to why one model is better than the other.

X-Premium - I purchased this in June 2021 for RM2150. It replace a 1.0hp Hitachi non-inverter R32 CKM series.
X Deluxe - Purchased in January 2021 for RM1780. New install.

Now, X-Premium is a better buy on all fronts!

Why i say so?

- Better air volume, seriously there’s much more air coming out of the vanes than the x-deluxe, hence faster cool
- the louver design is better (aesthetically speaking hehe)
- the remote is more modern although its not backlit (i though i was getting the same remote as the previous sky series)
- the air filtration is better (my room is dusty, like always, i have 4 windows, 2 overlooks the south, 1 facing North and 1 facing east, all are open constantly except when i turn on the aircond or if its rainy. The X-deluxe has much more dust on its fins as the filter is smaller and flimsier compared to the x-premium which has a larger filter. So far after using for 2 months ++, theres not a single dust on the aluminium fins of my x-premium whereas the x-deluxe is chocked with dust ON ITS FINS!!)
- x-premium has wifi built in as well as a humidity sensor (the wifi module costs RM229.00 the cheapest on Shopee). Trust me the panasonic app is a godsend!!! I could easily monitor my energy usage and set all the features from that single app. None are left behind!
- has a left-right auto louver direction (i dont use it much so mehh)
- has an auto up-down louver (as in, once the temp is reached, it may remain fixed facing 90 degrees to give a shower effect cooling) not to be confused with “Auto” on X-Deluxe where it basically swings up and down constantly

cons for X-premium
- the remote is not ergonomically designed. Its hard to press the up/down louver position without accidentally hitting the off button (for someone with big thumbs like me) [refer pic below]
- its a bit expensive but factor in the in built wifi (RM229) + the pros above and its a darn good value for money product

X-Deluxe is okay

- its cheaper and has Nanoe-X (it legit works!)
- it gets the job done (cools your room and saves electricity)
- remote is better designed (no accidental presses) albeit boring looking
- if i have a restricted budget, i may just get this.

For the outdoor model:

both have the same appearance [pic below] although as i have monitored, both have different logic of operations (since its easily accessible by me, i legit monitored its operations hehe)

Lemme explain… (situation: powerful mode on X-Deluxe, I-Auto X on X-Premium, both set at 27 degrees celcius. Room temp should be around 31 degrees)

The x-deluxe starts by spinning the fan and slowly syncs the fan speed with the compressor speed.

The x-premium starts by spinning the fan fast (like 50% speed) even while the compressor its just starting up, then it maintains 100% speed even when the compressor is only at 70%.

both of the situation aforementioned only apply at startup.

For temperature consistency, i notice that the x-deluxe does a bad job as the room feel a bit stuffy as it will try hard to operate at the lowest frequency even if you did not turn on “Eco” whereas the X-Premium for some reason has a nicer cooling effect so as to not make the room stuffy, it aims for humidity (hence humidity sensor built in) rather than temp alone.

Regarding noise, both do excellent job. However, for the compressor on the x-deluxe, i notice that at 30% - 40% frequency, there will be noticeable vibrations emanating from the compressor, its like the compressor is touching the casing and its quite loud. The issue is less prominent on the x-premium (i think Panasonic fixed it?). But i attribute these observations due to the scroll compressor design.

As a comparison, my mum’s Daikin 2.0hp FTKG-T is much much quieter and softer while operating. The Hermetic swing compressor is a marvel piece of technology (although the aircond itself is barebones in terms of specification). Value for money still goes to Panasonic!

Its entirely up to you to choose now. Good luck!

syafiqdanial P
post Sep 7 2021, 09:58 PM

Probation
17 posts

QUOTE(sksportcar @ Aug 27 2021, 04:08 AM)
Interested for this X-Premium Inverter model for my master bedroom. Currently using 1.5hp LG Dual Inverter for my master bedroom but feel less cold perhaps due to underpower hp. My master bedroom is 225sqft and window face east.

My question is:
1. What is sqft of your room?
2. How much hp you use?
3. What is your total kw per month usage, is it this model save electricity?
4. If possible can you suggest optimum hp for my master bedroom 225sqft top floor window face east?

Thank you.
Legit just saw your post.. apologies for the late reply..

In regards to your questions aforementioned:

1. My room is about 400sq feet ;

2. 1.5hp x 2 units (as mentioned in my post, a 1.5hp x-deluxe and a 1.5hp x- premium.. i do have a door partition between my “living room” area of my bedroom and my actual “bed area”.. soo at one time, i only turn on 1 a.c. based on room occupancy..;

3. My usage for Hot season i.e. March till July is about 82kwh/month ( for my bed area unit) and about 20 kwh for my living area)… my preference temp is 26 degrees on high fan with auto swing)… take note that on average the unit is powered on for 7 hrs in my bed area and around 2 hrs for my living room area daily.. during rainy season, i sometimes do not turn on the a.c. Case in point: since 20/8, i’ve mostly used my ceiling fan as my room temp hovers around 26 degrees at night and around 24 in the early morning.. KK has been raining extensively lately ( i live next to a forest area and with the rainy season, u could really feel the fresh crisp air billowing through the windows which btw have mosquito netting laugh.gif )

Short answer: outstanding energy savings.. just ensure that your set temp is achievable and your a.c. Is at the right size / oversize.. never ever undersize, then you’ll see the savings smile.gif

4. I am not really good at suggesting… however, just get yourself a 2.0hp inverter unit, it can easily match / exceed your cooling requirements.. you may never know when you need the extra oomph.. and with inverter, it’ll continually adjust the speed of the compressor to match your set temperature.. you’ll never go wrong with inverter ( unless it breaks down, so choose wisely).. I’ll always go with Panasonic or Daikin since both are manufactured in Malaysia, hence an abundance of parts and top notch after sales (based on my own experience)… for Panasonic, hands down x-premium inverter if you have the budget or to save cost, x-deluxe inverter ( the 2.0 hp model even has a left right swing compared to the 1.0 n 1.5hp models)… for Daikin, Smarto series hands down as its the only one with a streamer technology ( equivalent to Nanoe-x) and has an added PM 2.5 filter built it… but its costly vis a vis with Panasonic, you’re not getting that “bang for your buck” purchase.. Gree is another option (my sister installed a 2.0hp Queen series inverter) and it does its job well.. except the indoor unit is quite noisy (at medium to high fan speed) and the remote is mehh, the wifi function only turns the a.c. On/off, nothing fancy unlike Panasonic’s iteration.. the outdoor unit is silent though, I’ll give them that.. oh and the Gree is only 4 stars rated but at RM2150, its s bargain!!! But I still cant say how it will fare long term vs heavyweights Panasonic and Daikin.. LG is a good option too, but its quite pricey compared to locally manufactured Panasonic and Daikin (when compared to LG’s 2.0hp dual inverter premium).. the advantages include ability to control your compressor speed (at 40%, 60%, 80% or 100%) and that it has a lower operating frequency (circa 3400 btu at its lowest vs 3750 btu for the Pana x-premium… the difference is negligible though)… the LG only has 4 star energy rating though ( cant confirm this, but seen it somewhere before)…

Anyways do research and good luck on your purchase! thumbsup.gif

0.0333sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:27 PM