Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

justapawn
post Apr 9 2021, 10:18 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Apr 8 2021, 11:28 AM)
just before i start paying for the sharp ones, any other fellow members have experience with the sharp air conditioners? hows the reliability?

i know reliability is much tied to how we in turn use the equipment, maintain the equipment etc. so what's the other user experience on it.
In my opinion, Sharp is a very uncommon brand.
If you want reliability, you can choose common brand like Daikin/Panasonic/Samsung....
If you want cheaper, go for China brand like Midea/Hisense/Gree.....
justapawn
post Apr 9 2021, 10:39 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(Musikl @ Apr 9 2021, 10:33 AM)
May I know what's your take on a good btu for a 2hp?
Also getting mixed recommendation from sites on what hp to use on the living room 3.3m(w) x 8m(l) x 2.7m(h). some say 1.5hp, some 2hp.
Thinking just to get a 2hp cause will only use when guests are around, so possibly 4-8ppl in the space.
Hi, Musikl, this is a very good calculator for cooling load estimation. Please find the link attached below:

https://www.daikin.com.my/heat-calculator/
justapawn
post Apr 10 2021, 11:53 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 9 2021, 11:54 AM)
Samseng for reliability? laugh.gif
You can judge from the shopee listings and reviews that Sharp isnt that uncommon. Or can survey around the neighbourhood if you are in a high rise.

Reliability wise also need to be taken with pinch of salt as shops will want to push whichever brand give them better rebate and commission.

There are also diff target market, some just buy for the badge but on paper spec the product is below par e.g. the D cheapest series 9000 btu only.. price like ferrari but not much diff from kancil 660.

Some product series also built for pricepoint only (extreme cost cutting for lowest possible cost); some series are better built with better spec will never win on pricepoint comparison.
I understand your point of view as you are only looking at residential market. For this reason, I agree with you that Sharp is quite common. However if you compare both websites, you will understand my point of view.

https://www.samsung.com/my/business/air-con...r-conditioners/

https://my.sharp/products/split

Samsung also provides VRV product and covers commercial market. I don't think Sharp provide VRV product for malaysia commercial market. Correct me if I am wrong. Thank you.

justapawn
post Apr 10 2021, 11:58 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Apr 9 2021, 02:55 PM)
I've used non inverter Sharp for almost 10 yrs and it gave no problem until I replaced them with inverter ALSO sharp last year. These are installed in bedrooms only which means daily driver. Units are serviced once annually and in between just make sure filters are cleaned every quarterly

Am staying in almost 2,900 sqf 2 storey house. Electricity bills has reduced by as much as 56%
I beg to differ, see my comments ab ve
Thanks for clarifying. You can check my reply above to understand my comment. And I agree with you that the performance after installation could be one of the parameter to measure its reliability.
justapawn
post Apr 17 2021, 08:53 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(syafiqdanial @ Apr 17 2021, 05:14 PM)
Wow thank you Sifu for replying to my stupid predicament  blush.gif

My roof type is the typical zinc but i made sure it was a thick one (the zinc factory asked me to specify the thickness from 1 - 5 and i selected 5). Ha!

I would categorise my room as a desert. Extremely hot during the day... extremely cold in the early hours of the morning. I think the gap between the roof and my ceiling is quite narrow since my room is an addition to the original house.

My room is facing east ultimately.. but even at 7 p.m. when checking my handy thermometer, it displays roughly 31 celcius ambient.. and turning on the air cond takes about 2 hours to get it down to at least 29.0 celcius.

So i have now decided to solve my problem once and for all by purchasing a big air cond (a 2.0hp inverter) and the choices are between a Panasonic X-Deluxe, Midea xtreme save, Gree Queen I and a Haier DC Inverter. I have heard great reviews about the products listed and my priorities are cooling capability > reliability & quality > electrical consumption.

I've avoided Sharp (i know that Sifu is quite fond of this brand) as my house is next to the coast and the aluminium heat exchanger that Sharp uses wont survive the brutal condition (aluminium fins cant easily be welded when fixing leaks compared to a copper tube & Al fin combo based on my research).

So once again thank you for the reply and i hope to finally solve my problem.  smile.gif
Your room could have "top floor effect" since the roof is made of zine. Is there a layer of ceiling under your zinc roof? If yes, you can put some insulation material at your ceiling board to reduce major heat transfer from the zine roof.

0.0361sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:09 AM