Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

jhleo1
post May 10 2023, 04:56 PM

4,379 posts

Bought new Daikin non-inverter 1HP to replace old York aircond age almost 20 years. Noticed vibration/rattling noice from panel cover. My installer lodge complant for me. Daikin just came to my house fixed it just now (within 3 working days). 2 technicians came. 1 of them is Senior. Found it's due to fan motor positioning. The senior fixed the issue less than 30 minutes. Felt they quite pro to explain the issue to me.
jhleo1
post May 10 2023, 11:17 PM

4,379 posts

Under warranty. Why charge if it's due Daikin product own issue. Same like to other electrical items eg fan issues, I never been charged.

QUOTE(ToniV @ May 10 2023, 08:23 PM)
Did they charge u anything?
jhleo1
post May 11 2023, 03:27 PM

4,379 posts

Why new unit want to fill up gas? Foreseen leaking?

QUOTE(Exeunt @ May 11 2023, 03:22 PM)
Hi guys, just want some feedback on installation price,

Plan getting midea all easy pro 2hp install in my condo

Independent contractor:
To install 2HP AC c/w max 10ft copper piping, insulflex, wiring control indoor to outdoor, drainage piping, complete with gas filled up and test running . RM580 (price after he visit my condo)

Shoppe seller install: RM350 (havent incur additional cost hacking etc)

Contemplating about the cost actually
jhleo1
post May 27 2023, 07:30 PM

4,379 posts

Do you switch on fan as well? If so, 1HP not enough cool? 1.5hp maybe sufficient n can use normal wiring. If 2Hp, rewiring may be required.

QUOTE(lansi_raju @ May 27 2023, 07:02 PM)
Hi folks planning to change my old 1hp hesstar ac to a 2hp on my masterbed room.

Price quoted in klang below:
Midea - 2399
Acson - 2599
Daikin - 2799
Panasonic - 2799
Samsung - 2399
Hisense - 2199
Haier - 2299

** Standard Installation Package Including **
- FREE 8FT COPPER PIPING & 3 CORE WIRE (Without Casing)
- FREE 10FT Drain Pipe (PVC)
- FREE  Outdoor Bracket
- FREE 3 PIN PLUG
- FREE WIRE 10FT

Due to budget constrain, i only can go for midea, hisense, haier. Among these 3 which is ideal, and reckon

I also have idea for used 2hp but they’re available in r22 and r410.
About 1500 can get panasonic incld installation.
Is the cooling performance is comparable r22 and r410? What i know is r32 has the best cooling performance

What ur guys input? What which would you go for
jhleo1
post May 27 2023, 08:45 PM

4,379 posts

Then that explained why you need 2HP. No wonder many said the top of 2.5 storey don't make it as bedroom.

QUOTE(lansi_raju @ May 27 2023, 07:49 PM)
Im staying in a 2.5story top floor, afternoon is the most hottest. Switch ceiling fan doesn’t help, had to use a standing fan to face myself. My ac has been 10-15 years, time for change.

Technician advised(after seeing my room condition)that 1.5hp is the bare minimum, ideal is 2
jhleo1
post May 29 2023, 11:02 AM

4,379 posts

Not me. Anyway even if put reflective sheet won't much help too when under extremely hot weather.

QUOTE(pigduck @ May 29 2023, 10:50 AM)
IT's hot because you didn't put reflective sheet in the roof?
jhleo1
post Aug 24 2023, 08:34 AM

4,379 posts

What you meant no display? Or just the screen turn black or burn out? You can search DIY in youtube to fix it.

QUOTE(miumiu1234 @ Aug 24 2023, 12:16 AM)
Hi all, just curious is it common to have a air con remote no display prob but working when pressing button? its like a year only.. j tech sharp
jhleo1
post Sep 19 2023, 08:36 AM

4,379 posts

Usually if blow hot air and compressor not working is due to capacitor spoil. Do check.

QUOTE(Liew.Andrew @ Sep 18 2023, 10:37 PM)
Hi Friends,

Looking for advice ~

I did some wiring work and i think i accidentally blew up my outdoor unit Main Board when some of the wiring shorted. Indoor unit still working. Blows air but not cold, the outdoor unit compressor doesn't turn anymore. Confirm power does go to the outdoor unit, have checked with multimeter everything, it just doesn't seem to want to turn/on together with the indoor unit.

It was working completely fine before i did some re-wiring to my switches.

Is it most likely outdoor unit mainboard is kaput? I've inspected it but don't see any physical damage/burn/blown caps or anything.

I've been looking for spare part for Outdoor Unit Mainboard to no avail.

What is the best step moving forward?

Or can anyone suggest me any sharp spare part seller etc etc. The unit is not covered anymore under warranty (2020)
Model (Outdoor Unit) : Sharp J-Tech AU-X9UED

jhleo1
post Nov 10 2023, 02:15 PM

4,379 posts

Just bought few 1HP & 1.5HP Midea non-inverter units for my rent units in KL recently. Price wise definitely cheapest compare to Japanese brands. Was recommended by friends even few aircond installers.

Latest price for Midea with installation for 1HP (<RM1.1K) & 1.5HP (<1.4K) based on number of units you want to buy.

QUOTE(borgyang @ Nov 10 2023, 09:21 AM)
I guess you didn’t read this sentence from my previous post.

FYI, I'm renting the unit to the tenant, not for self-use.

The average cost difference between an inverter and a non-inverter aircon is about RM500. Why would I pay more to get an inverter aircon for my tenant? Furthermore, the cost of repair (spare parts) is higher as compared to a non-inverter aircon. Correct me if I’m wrong.

Personally, I have been using Panasonic, Daikin and Mitsubishi inverter aircon at my home for more than 10 years. They are very reliable and seldom give me problems, but the price is on the high side for these well-known brands.

I’m looking at the China aircon brands since they are cheaper, but I wouldn't know if they are reliable as I have never used them before, so I need some feedback from existing users.

I'm open to any brands or models that are cheap and reliable. You may also PM me if you know of any shops or contractors who are selling aircon in the KL area. Thanks!
This post has been edited by jhleo1: Nov 10 2023, 02:20 PM
jhleo1
post Nov 10 2023, 03:17 PM

4,379 posts

Well if landlord no need to pay single cent then ok lah.... Tenant won't care much of it.

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 10 2023, 03:12 PM)
Believe me, go for inverter units.
Either you lets the tenant install by them.
jhleo1
post Aug 1 2024, 12:31 PM

4,379 posts

Installer fault, just get him done at his cost.

QUOTE(KingRyan @ Jul 31 2024, 06:35 PM)
Sifus, got a question - currently using Daikin R32 split unit 1HP. Installer installed wrongly and just realised it's 1HP instead of 1.5HP. Can I just 1 to 1 replace the 1HP daikin AC with an equivalent 1.5HP/2HP daikin split unit? Or the pipes all also need to pull again? It's concealed within the walls already
jhleo1
post Sep 15 2024, 11:29 PM

4,379 posts

Just install by stick on the filter.

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Sep 8 2024, 04:31 PM)

Am i installing daiso filter properly?
jhleo1
post Oct 5 2024, 11:32 AM

4,379 posts

daikin need to pay for the wifi apps? MY own Daikin non-inverter 1HP which bought somewhere May 2023 and now still can use app to control the aircond. The app itself show Fee+ 2 years extension. As per website https://www.daikin.com.my/smart-control/ normal features can be used forever only those PRO need to pay which I think not important.

QUOTE(Bombgen @ Oct 5 2024, 10:25 AM)
Hi guys,

looking for 1hp interver aircond for my son room, budget not more than 2k with installation..any recommendations? Leaning towards ftku and reino+ now, but not very sure. I read somewhere daikin need to pay for the wifi apps is it true?
This post has been edited by jhleo1: Oct 5 2024, 11:37 AM
jhleo1
post Feb 18 2025, 05:51 PM

4,379 posts

Dunno about Hisense. For Midea all easy pro got active clean/ self clean. Kind of manual press but good enough.

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 17 2025, 08:18 PM)
Can I check if the Hisense TUGS model has self cleaning? It is NOT mentioned in the website but only in this article:
https://www.businesstoday.com.my/2021/02/01...r-conditioners/
jhleo1
post Feb 18 2025, 11:53 PM

4,379 posts

No idea I seldom use this feature. I still manually clean filter myself. I like this model easy to clean up internal part.

QUOTE(biatche @ Feb 18 2025, 09:46 PM)
i see this 'active clean/self clean' ... i feel its all marketing stuff, has it  been proven /shown to be effective? and if effective, how much less effective than thorough cleaning.
jhleo1
post Jun 5 2025, 04:42 PM

4,379 posts

I'm using Midea All Easy Pro 1.5hp. Previously Daikin 1HP in master room. Am not sure how consumption because other rooms got Daikin 1HP (non-inverter type). Frankly speaking this Midea inverter not as fast cold as those Midea non-inverter type 26C (installed at apartment which I rent out). Could be due to the inverter setting that slow cold up the room. These few days very hot and only set at 24C.

One thing I noticed is that Midea All Easy Pro blower wheel yet any visible dust as compare to Daikin non-inverter type despite almost 1 year usage. I switch on Midea All Easy Pro auto clean almost every one or two week. Clean up filter quite frequent which same as other brands (every one or two months). Therefore yet any chance to me to try up their user friendly function to remove out the blower wheel to wash. biggrin.gif

I use Midea All Easy Pro SmartHome app most of the time vs controller. Only use controller to turn off the aircond LED displace (app can't turn off).

QUOTE(Tokik Siwok @ Jun 4 2025, 11:49 PM)
Need opinion on Xiaomi Mijia AC vs Midea All Easy Pro (1hp and 1.5hp).

Overall Mijia is about RM100 cheaper if include installation (Xiaomi on Lazada offers free installation)
Midea easier to clean

Not sure about electric consumption, apps, reliability. What do you guys think?
jhleo1
post Jun 5 2025, 11:15 PM

4,379 posts

And can access when you not at home thru mobile data.

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jun 5 2025, 10:17 PM)
Any network is fine. App is fine so far.
jhleo1
post Jun 17 2025, 11:41 AM

4,379 posts

What pre filter?

QUOTE(vl319 @ Jun 15 2025, 12:58 AM)
Used to be service aircond every 6-8 months bcoz my house is next to main road. After install those pre filter i never service aircond anymore for 3 years. and the coil is still very clean and cold until now. Not sure it will spoil my aircon or not. But really save lot of money for whole house aircond.
jhleo1
post Jun 18 2025, 02:05 PM

4,379 posts

I'm using one in my living hall since 2007. I think Easy Clean Design one. So far only capacitor changed twice.

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Jun 18 2025, 01:00 PM)
I was told that Mitsubishi Electric are premium and good quality air conditioners. Anyone has good experience with Mitsubishi air-conds?

0.3076sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:20 AM