7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

VeeJay
post Jul 13 2015, 03:40 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jul 13 2015, 03:10 PM)
How long you want the AC to last now days... if it lasted 5 years good already... if it lasted 10 years wow!!! like National Brand hahaha

if it last 20 years.... er.........
lol...I have 2 unbranded been running for 15yrs + and a Pana compressor for the same amount of time, but had changed for a used head unit, recently, due to internal noise
VeeJay
post Jul 13 2015, 03:53 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(MrToper @ Jul 12 2015, 01:48 PM)
This is the Panasonic unit I mentioned in my other posts.
Installed it in my other bedroom on 2008 if I'm not wrong. Before this unit there was the Acson unit which came from the master bedroom and that unit was installed for a few months and then the Acson was replaced by this Panasonic. Like the Mr Slim at the master bedroom, the left side is so close to the wall.

This unit has Patrol Sensor and e ion thing and all those. Not inverter though

It's used everyday with 25c on High speed fan.
This unit still works nicely. Cooling is very cold even on 25. Fan noise is loud but got used to it anyway.

The only problem I have with it is the swing motor is broken. The swing motor got damaged while servicing it last year for some reason. Everytime the swing tried to move it makes a  loud clack clack clack noise and swing is jammed (How to fix that)

[attachmentid=4586455]
That should be pretty easy to fix.

Most likely the hole that the motor shaft joint the swing blade is broken, hence loose. You could use super glue to clamp the crack (assuming a crack) or use something (like newspaper) to hold the shaft in the widened hole
VeeJay
post May 19 2016, 08:27 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(weng-aircon @ May 19 2016, 07:49 PM)
if i not mistaken York still carry windows unit... but why window unit? such a old skool type air conditioner.
]

many other countries still has high demand for it as well.

smaller, require smaller space, easy to move, less drainage issue, cheaper installation.

Both has its plus and minus
VeeJay
post Jun 23 2016, 11:11 AM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(Mad Matt @ Jun 23 2016, 01:07 AM)
Hello everyone,my dad just bought an inverter Hisense air-conditioning unit for his maid for her loyalty. He was playing around with the mode and suddenly the LED on the AC unit shows "--" symbol and it turns off,he kept on trying to turn it on but it's not turning on. Anyone know why it's weird like that?
Better to contact the SC, since its under warranty, right?

Meanwhile, you could try to use the reset button. Its inside the blower panel.
VeeJay
post Jul 27 2016, 04:53 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(TXSim @ Jul 27 2016, 04:37 PM)
Ya
Low speed and auto speed not recommended.
The best is high speed fan.
PCB problem cause temperature not accurate.
Why would low or auto causes a problem?

Is it only related to daikin or in general?
VeeJay
post Jul 27 2016, 05:31 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(TXSim @ Jul 27 2016, 04:57 PM)
Don't know. Even Panasonic and all same too

Low fan speed is like blowing air very slow
but whats the problem it will cause.

i have not experienced such a thing, been using york and pana for more than 10yrs.

mine is darn cold, so always set to slow fan and temp at 27
VeeJay
post Jul 29 2016, 01:37 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(Iylia @ Jul 29 2016, 12:07 PM)
Hi Guys,

I am looking to install new air conditioning units for an apartment that I will be renting out.
I need to install 6 units in total for the following areas and are looking for recommendations on HP and brand / model of units for installation.

Bedroom 1 (220 sqft) - 1 x 1.5HP
Bedroom 2 (180 sqft) - 1 x 1HP
Bedroom 3 (120 sqft) - 1 x 1HP
Bedroom 4 (120 sqft) - 1 x 1HP
Living / Dining (520 sqft) - 2 x 1.5HP

Do you think above HP is sufficient or can reduce / need to increase?

Appreciate the help, thanks!
Looks fine...but if budget is a constrain, you could look at used AC as well.

So far, Daikin, York and Pana seem to be the favorite.

Look out for BTU when you buy an AC
VeeJay
post Aug 2 2016, 02:48 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(IceBikers @ Aug 2 2016, 11:33 AM)
what's are the probably causes where at night aircond set at 25 used to be just enough cold and comfortable for sleeping, but recently 25C become warm and i have to lowered to 24C to get the same environment as previously?

I have washed the mesh filter, air cond age 1 year+, only on at night 11pm++ till 6am ++ a day
There are couple of ways to clean it, if you dont want to dismantle the blower unit.

- as described by Decapix, you can use tooth brush.
- you could also buy cooling cleaner, available at most of DIY shop. It acts like a degreaser. Just spray, and let it sit for a while, and turn on the aircon with fan speed in high.

better still, if you could use vaccum cleaner to blow after the spray, it helps to push the sticky dust thru the fins.

you could also use, some water to spray after using the cleaner or could pour slowly some water using a pail scoop. Depending in your blower location and convenience.

- also do clean the blower roller as well, using toothbrush.

Perform the above every 3 months for heavy usage.

cheers
VeeJay
post Aug 4 2016, 08:50 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ Aug 4 2016, 05:39 PM)
If you want to ensure comfortable temperature when you get onto the bed, another alternative would be to switch on your air con 30 minutes earlier.

That turbo mode is for those who really needs extremely fast cooling. I tried once, the fan noise was unbearable.
My York Turbo mode is not noisy at all...use it all the time, during the start when my hall is hot
VeeJay
post Aug 9 2016, 03:33 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(titanic_crash @ Aug 8 2016, 08:55 PM)
i just install a new aircond at my new house...after a few minutes, it stop and the timer blinking..any idea why it happen that way?

its panasonic 1.5 and 1.0 inverter
you can also try to press the reset button inside the blower unit. ELse call the tech.
VeeJay
post Aug 22 2016, 02:24 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(kheng wei @ Aug 22 2016, 09:35 AM)
I come across some shops selling York aircon now (apparently they selling direct into Malaysia market). Price wise cheaper than Daikin GA it seems.

Anyone bought York recently?
WHy did you said "now"? Werent it being sold, previously?

I bought 2 last year (non-inverter)
VeeJay
post Aug 22 2016, 05:06 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(kheng wei @ Aug 22 2016, 03:38 PM)
oh really...I just noticed it this year. All the while thought York is called Daikin already.

How is the York aircon u using?
Nope, York been York smile.gif

http://www.yorkmy.com/Residential_Wall-mounted_deluxe.html

Been good, no issues (touch wood), quieter than my older pana model.
Cleaning is similar to pana, easy.

Any specific question?
VeeJay
post Aug 27 2016, 11:08 AM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 24 2016, 10:48 AM)
which model, hp, you use?
As below
1.0 (YWM3F10CAS) and 2.0 (YWM3F20CAS)
VeeJay
post Aug 27 2016, 07:58 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 27 2016, 11:42 AM)
nice smile.gif
Its pretty quiet as well...my room decibel is 26.....with fan speed at 1 it goes up to 28dB, speed2 at 28 and speed 3 at 30dB in average
VeeJay
post Aug 28 2016, 08:19 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 28 2016, 04:26 PM)
appreciate ur update smile.gif

can Share the price and location that u bought from?
I think most of the AC about the same pricing, unless its on promotion. Its been a while so cant really remember the price, 2HP = rm2k and 1HP=1k, plus minus 100 bucks, I guess.

I purchased it at Subang, Taipan
VeeJay
post Aug 29 2016, 10:56 AM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 29 2016, 10:16 AM)
Can get as cheap as 1hP - RM750. Daikin.
True, for the lower end model, where its BTU would be lower, around 8000.

VeeJay
post Sep 2 2016, 09:21 AM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Sep 2 2016, 12:21 AM)
Hi guys, is it safe to use aircon cooling coil cleaner?
Planned to clean off the dust away from aircon...
Yeah its safe...anyways its meant for aircon cleaning anyways biggrin.gif
VeeJay
post Oct 6 2016, 10:59 AM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(aboo @ Oct 6 2016, 09:05 AM)

Is plasma/ionizer in a/c really effective or is it better to just get a standalone ionizer? Appreciate any comments /experiences.

A few arguments:
1. Just buy basic a/c & use the savings to buy proper ionizer
2. Standalone ionizer got do maintenance, but a/c just do regular clean/service (no specific maintenance for ionizer) so effectiveness is questionable
3. Ionizer only required for people with allergy
Thanks!
My personal opinion is ionizer would not be effective hence I would neglect it...its just for a show case.

Why?, bcoz the coverage area is big hence it makes it insufficient
VeeJay
post Oct 13 2016, 03:03 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Oct 13 2016, 12:55 PM)
how often do you guys clean/service ur room aircon? i got mine cleaned like 5 months ago and now its not that cold anymore. full blast everynight and yes i cleaned the net from the unit but doesnt help

do you guys get someone to clean it every 6 months? room unit.

usage per day usually 15 hrs ?
I DIY mine every 2 months, and chemical cleaning (call technician) every 2 yrs or so
VeeJay
post Oct 14 2016, 08:26 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 14 2016, 08:12 PM)
usually what temp you guys always set ? me 20
mine is 2HP, 19200BTU/h; generally at 25-26C with 4 pax

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2946sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:58 PM