Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

mini orchard
post Sep 14 2020, 06:07 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(shebbycs @ Sep 14 2020, 05:47 PM)
so your point it is better with extended warranty or just used the existing warranty only?
Is up to individual. You want a peace of mind, then is better to buy.

Is also depends on brands and past experiences ... good brands like pana (my only experienced) seldom have major issues unless you have 1 lemon unit which is just bad luck. When I bought 7 units of pana ac 10 years ago, only 1 unit gave me problem and the rest are ok till today.
mini orchard
post Sep 30 2020, 09:06 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Sep 30 2020, 07:00 PM)
Any recommended shop for reasonable aircond price?
If you are not in hurry to buy one, wait till Dec for year end clearance sale. Otherwise, you can try HLK or Onking.
mini orchard
post Oct 12 2020, 10:10 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(sejukbai @ Oct 12 2020, 09:35 AM)
been following this thread for awhile and gone through the pages. but cant help wanting to ask sifus for clarification... grateful for any advice and thoughts..

basically, we are moving to another place.

the new place has been installed with conceal aircond piping.. i have been told by the contractor the piping would be suitable for 2.0 hp air conditioner and was installed to be utilized with r32 gas in mind.

i currently have a 1.5 hp panasonic non inverter (cs-pc12mkh) which is still working superbly using R22 refrigerant.

I intend to install this at the living room of the new place.

so the question is, would this be permissible and would my old compressor needs to work harder etc ?

bare in mind that the living room area will not be used regularly...

thank you sifuss
Yes. I have done it ... 1 5hp now using 1hp
mini orchard
post Oct 15 2020, 04:18 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(matty @ Oct 15 2020, 03:35 PM)
Calling all Sifu's here. My bedroom aircond constantly leak water. every time after service, not more than 6 mths the aircond leak out water again. I just want to know why, so that I can complain to my aircond contractor to fix it up properly. Thanks.
This normally happens when the water outlet is clogged with 'jelly' like dirt and when the filter is dirty.

This is a quick and simple diy, otherwise you need to call the air cond technician.

Remove the casing and use a mini bottle or a colouring brush to clear the outlet mouth area. Then use some hot water to wash it away. Test by pouring 500ml water slowly and it should drain away. Fix back the casing and is done.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 15 2020, 04:23 PM
mini orchard
post Oct 15 2020, 06:34 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(blazk @ Oct 15 2020, 06:27 PM)
anyone can comment on this Sharp ahxp10vxd aircond?
https://my.sharp/products/air-care/ahxp10vxd?v=1252
The EER rating of this AC(21) is too good but I kinda dont believe it cause I calculate the rating got 17.7(still good though).

I am searching for the most energy effiecient 1hp aircond.  if have suggestion can let me know
In reality, how do you measure ? .....just asking .
mini orchard
post Oct 16 2020, 01:08 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(z3alousn3ss @ Oct 16 2020, 01:01 PM)
looking for some advice, i want to add 2 airconds to my condo, but due to design one new unit will be roughly 60ft away from the compressors and the other will be 60ft away + 15ft above as it is on a mezzanine floor. is this advisable or is there any special requirements?
Buy a higher hp ac to compensate for the distant.
mini orchard
post Oct 16 2020, 04:49 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(z3alousn3ss @ Oct 16 2020, 04:43 PM)
does that mean if i wanted a 1.0hp originally, a 1.5hp would do? and 2 -> 2.5hp?
Double the hp.
mini orchard
post Oct 16 2020, 09:44 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 16 2020, 09:10 PM)
same goes with daikin , my daikin aircond need to be service every 6 month .. previously use panasonic only once per year nod.gif
If you want to prolong the service interval, you need to add another layer of finer filter. The normal filter are too coarse to trap dust with leads to quick accumulation of dirt in the coil and blower.

The slight downside of additional filter is the drop in air flow and cleaning every 2 to 3 months regularly is advisesble to maintain the air flow.
mini orchard
post Oct 17 2020, 03:29 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 17 2020, 01:42 PM)
roughly how much does it cost for the additional filter ?
I bought a meter from a filtration media factory for RM30 and can use for about 8 ac.

I cut to the original filter size and staple it together.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 17 2020, 03:35 PM
mini orchard
post Oct 19 2020, 06:55 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Jau @ Oct 19 2020, 03:11 AM)
Hi all sifu, any suggestion of aircorn location and hp recommend base on my bedroom layout? Another thing is I still struggling on inverter or non inverter aircorn.

The X on  top of my bed is a ceiling fan, between the 2 room can walk thru and have a beam on top.

My ceiling height is 8.6ft. The size of my bed room is 14.04m2+ 16.54m2(wardrobe room and computer room).

If you are a 'hot' person and always want the feel of cool air, have the ac face towards your bed, otherwise away.

Invertor and non ...
1. Budget
2. If you think invertor save tnb bill, then buy, otherwise non. In theory, invertor is and also depends on user pattern and maintenance.
mini orchard
post Oct 19 2020, 05:12 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Jau @ Oct 19 2020, 04:50 PM)
Actually I’m the person that don like aircorn blow facing, will make me feel dry n cold. But I heard some ppl say aircorn air flow go max like 3m?

1. Budjet wise I think abit tight also mayb max 2k
2. Since my room layout like this I duno whatever using inverter will help on electric bill since the area is quite open.
You place is an odd shape and I doubt placing only 1 ac will cool the room evenly.

With budget of 2k, buy 2 units of 1hp non invertor. If you feel is a hot day, on two ac, otherwise 1.

Place 1 each in the bedroom and study room. You can always interchange usage depending where you spend more time.

Having 2 ac is easier to decide on placement and I am sure you can decide on that.

Have a budget for monthly electricity bill and it saves you the headache of invertor and non.
mini orchard
post Oct 19 2020, 05:39 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Jau @ Oct 19 2020, 05:17 PM)
If I just plan to install only 1 aircorn at my bed area? Activity room I just think to install fan enough.
If that is my property, I will install 2 ac with a budget of 2k.

If you place the ac like the other forumer suggested, you wont feel the cool air at the bed area. That is why I suggest you have the ac face you. On low or medium if you dont want strong wind from the blower.

If you decide on 1 ac, follow the suggestion of the forumer on the placement. You cant have the best of both places having cool air.

When sleeping, why need to cool the work area with 1 ac ?

BTW, I think you need a 2hp ac for the whole open area with1 ac.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 19 2020, 05:51 PM
mini orchard
post Oct 20 2020, 07:18 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Jau @ Oct 19 2020, 10:46 PM)
What mean is on low or medium if I don want strong wind from blower? U mean the aircron height? If the aircron placement ( above windows) face my bed that height should be at least 7ft above.

Wah 2hp of that I tot 1.5hp can settle😩
AC blow air the same like fan.

If you want strong wind .... set to maximum, otherwise, low or medium.

Buy ac slightly above room size requirements as per recommemded specs .... for human heat, pc heat, change of weather heat during the year, property west facing direction, etc . Specs dont take into account for all those.

Eg .. if you have more people in an enclosed room, human generate heat and it takes longer for a lower hp ac to cool the room and vice versa.

2hp is a suggestion but if you know 1 5hp is sufficient, you know better.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 20 2020, 09:57 AM
mini orchard
post Oct 20 2020, 09:17 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Oct 20 2020, 06:30 PM)
your room is  big .  like  = to 2  small rooms  of 10' by 10' ,  plus you have  3 door s and  2 windows .  nod.gif

if you use/follow  the  dimension rule  sure you need  2 HP .  trust me !
on a hot day  1hp  is  not sufficient for sure.  with big area your AC need to work harder .    under dimension AC  increase power usage and shorten service  life.  Always best to overdimension by a bit.

you need to install near to your bed.
if you dont like direct Air ..there is always the flaps  that you can adjust to blow  parallel to floor.

the location you propose is too far away .  you lose air coolness  hence  more power needed.

you need to think too  about  easy access  of the outdoor unit for  service purpose.
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 20 2020, 08:22 PM)
Yes the dimension approx 30sq meter is like 5x6m (average out) needs at least 18000BTU size (2hp).

If dowan to point AC at the bed then there should have a ceiling fan to redistribute the air evenly.
Looking at the layout, I think is better to install 2 ac of 1hp for faster for even cooling of the rooms. Once the cooling effect is achieved, 1 ac can be off to reduce electricity cost.
mini orchard
post Oct 21 2020, 04:53 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Jau @ Oct 21 2020, 03:54 AM)
I scare of my electricity bill if I after open 2 aircorn and fall as sleep, after try to put my AC a side wall mayb in future I will cover up the middle part by curtain so that the coolest only gather in 1 room?
There is a off timer to set in ac remote. Preset once unless change remote battery.

Having a curtain is a good idea for 1 hp but if is a 2hp, then it will be too cool at night for 1 room even if you set at 25 or 26.

As we discuss further, you can have a clearer picture why I suggest 2 1hp ac.

1 hp ac is selling for average 1k and if you buy 2 is 2k. Installation is a 1 time cost ... average 200 x 2. You have cooling for 2 rooms evenly. Infact using your idea of a curtain, you may not use 2 ac at the same time if you are mostly in either 1 room thus some savings in tnb bill. You on 2 ac only when the need arises.

2 hp ac is selling for average 2 5k. Installation is about 300. The cooling section firstly depends where you place your indoor unit. A ceiling fan will helps in the distribution of cool air.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 21 2020, 05:17 AM
mini orchard
post Oct 25 2020, 06:28 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Oct 25 2020, 12:30 AM)
Hisense R32, 1hp priced at rm900 including installation. Good deal? I have no experience Hisense brand before
Go for brand you are currently using and have no major issue, otherwise go for trusted brands like pana or friends suggestion. Trial and error can be annoying esp if it frequently breakdown.
mini orchard
post Oct 25 2020, 12:28 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Oct 25 2020, 12:20 PM)
Currently having Acson and Sharp, so far satisfied with the performance.
Saw the Hisense and Midea price is attractive, plan for one upstair living hall installation.
Would like to hear the feedback from user who has experience with Hisense/Midea
Personally dont like the idea of different brands ac in a house. When the need to troubleshoot, there is always available units for comparison.
mini orchard
post Oct 25 2020, 06:03 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Oct 25 2020, 05:25 PM)
replace the PCB don't need to take down the compressor unit?
Depends whether the technician is able to access it. Normally he will not want to bring down the unit if there is no cleaning required.
mini orchard
post Oct 29 2020, 04:11 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(terryfu @ Oct 29 2020, 02:39 AM)
Hi. Looking for recommendation on cassette type air conditioner 2.5hp.

Any particular model I should look for. This is for living room.
Why ceiling and not wall ac ?
mini orchard
post Oct 29 2020, 01:10 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(terryfu @ Oct 29 2020, 11:42 AM)
Coz it doesn’t fit well with the tv cabinet design
I assume then you need to lower you plaster ceiling height to accomodate the ac for its aesthetic overall blending.

Am not using, so can recommend one.

21 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0368sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:48 PM