Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

mini orchard
post Aug 31 2021, 08:45 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 31 2021, 08:07 PM)
My master bedroom is similarly sized, I was targeting for 2.5HP (based on the showroom unit installed, its the cassette unit placed center of the room) then after I read your comment, 2HP is sufficient? I usually set to 23-25C, the yellow portion are balcony windows. Facing North East (sunset problem is minimal on this room).

My bedroom is sligjhtly bigger in dimension and my AC is a 2hp for more than 10 years ..... a terrace unit facing north. Temperature is set 25/26.

If possible, avoid placing the ac directly above or facing the bed ....a cool room is more comfortable than a cold room.
mini orchard
post Sep 1 2021, 09:34 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 1 2021, 08:35 AM)
Now can do renOvation already? My air cond also needs replacements.
Any good 1HP air cond to recommend? Im leaning towards Panasonic as all the panasonic air conds that i use at my house can last about 10 years easy, granted with good maintenance. Should i get inverted air cond, does it really save so much energy?
Difficult to advise as any savings is more about a user's habit and maintenance.

If you are not changing other appliances except one AC, then pay extra few hundreds to find out. Check the next few months bill whether there is any reduction if your usage is similar or higher to previous.
mini orchard
post Sep 3 2021, 01:26 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(atyy88 @ Sep 3 2021, 10:15 AM)
Hi guys, need some some advice here.
I'm thinking what kind of aircond to get for my kitchen + dining area.
Currently aiming Daikin cassette 2.0hp (FCF50C). Is it necessary to install a cassette or just a wall mounted will do?

Install a wall mounted so that you can position the vent to blow towards the dinning table and kitchen area.

mini orchard
post Sep 5 2021, 10:17 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Cigar @ Sep 5 2021, 08:30 PM)
Anyone extends warranty for air cond? Am going to install Daikin inverter series in condo, is it worthy to extend another 3 years (RM205 for 1.0HP; RM219 for 1.5HP) as advised by salesperson? According to him, Daikin has 35% of becoming faulty zzz.
Generally, better known brands will less likely to fail and that is one reason why it cost more than lesser known brands unless one is unlucky to receive a lemon unit.

Extended warranty by retailers are normally insurance based coverage and all claims are subject to waiting period pending approval similar to a vehicle claim.

If you are looking for extended warranty I suggest you buy a brand that is directly provided by the manufacturer. If at all there is a fault, repairs or replacement will be provided with no questions.

Is not feasible to buy extended warranty for a product which is of low value where repair cost is 30 to 50% of a new set.

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Sep 5 2021, 09:34 PM)
Guys, for 1.0 non inverter air cond, between pana and daikin, which is recommended if the price is the same? I am being offered the same price for this 2 brands, so wondering which to take.
I have been using Pana non invertor for many many years and have a total of 15 units. Is a good choice for me. No major issues other than 1 lemon unit received.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Sep 5 2021, 10:34 PM
mini orchard
post Sep 6 2021, 08:41 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Sep 6 2021, 06:28 AM)
Thanks for the feedback. If in term of reliability, will a inverter or a non inverter will last longer in the long run?
Reliability of any appliances mainly depends on the user.

For my current place, the non invertor ACs are used daily and 80% are more than 10 years.

Temperature are set between 23 to 25 depending on weather. Filters are cleaned every 3 months. General diy cleaning yearly and major every 2 years.

Finally, you need the correct hp, otherwise, the best brand or tech will also fail.
mini orchard
post Sep 6 2021, 10:03 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Sep 6 2021, 09:10 AM)
Ya, totally understand it. What i mean is assuming all other factors are constant, wondering which is more reliable. By right should be non inverter right since it has less parts and is a old tech.
Yes, if there is more or different parts, generally there will be more to replace if things goes wrong and is not always necessary that 'extra' parts in invertor.

Invertor and non operate differently and hence the need for 'extra' or different parts, otherwise it wont work.

Each have different end result albeilt both are air cond.

Why would a manufacturer makes an invertor less reliable than a non if is providing the same warranty period for both ?

I have experienced and also known few pana non invertor users kaput within 5 years. I maintained it like all other ACs in my house and yet it kaput.

Unless there are available data, is difficult to confirm your doubt.

mini orchard
post Sep 8 2021, 08:19 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(elmohack @ Sep 8 2021, 07:12 PM)
Looking for some AC advice.

I went to two different ac shop first shop tell me panasonic no good and have many issue, they only recommend daikin.

Second shop tell me they have both but panasonic better for house vs daikin.

Both shop giving conflicting information so what are you guys opinion on this ?

2nd shop also advised me not to get inverter for living room as they claim no power savings for living room. Only recommend inverter for bedroom.
Am a Pana non invertor user for many many years. A reliable brand with minimum problem .....provided there is regular maintenance.

Normally, it quite difficult for an AC to achieve set temp in a big space like a living room cum dinning cum kitchen compared to an enclosed room.. Having an invertor is no different from non as it gonna operate the same.
mini orchard
post Sep 13 2021, 06:25 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(edwedw @ Sep 12 2021, 08:21 PM)
Hi all sifus, I plan to get a 2HP AC for my condo living+dining area (around 500++ sqft), 1HP AC each for 2 bedrooms. Not a everyday AC type of person. Was planning to get all Panasonic then come across Haier which can save me more than 1.2k. Is it worth?

Any suggestion for the brand/model (non inverter)?
If comparing money, there is savings.

Whether the money saved will translate to reliability is subjective. A good or expensive brand doesnt mean it wont fail .... the chances are less.

Buying a cheaper or used product doesnt mean is wrong. It depends on budget and one expectation on its performance.
mini orchard
post Sep 28 2021, 08:25 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 28 2021, 06:37 PM)
Hey all, wanna ask you all ah, usually how much is the price for installing a new air conditioner in KV area? Cause the air conditioner repair guy came and checked my air cond and recommended me to change new air cond. the model he recommended he quoted me RM1.4K, I did a quick search on Lazada, that Panasonic model is only about RM1K, even SenHeng is selling at Rm1.2K. That’s why I’m thinking to get someone else to just install instead if that’s the case.
What is the problem with the current AC ?

Normally for new installation, is about 150 to 180. Some installers will also charge to dismantle the old unit.
mini orchard
post Oct 10 2021, 08:46 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 10 2021, 07:59 AM)
i know inverter need thicker copper maybe thats why? wat is Hak Foh if translated?
I think it is refering to non local manufactured unit.
mini orchard
post Oct 18 2021, 09:44 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Jerrylum88 @ Oct 18 2021, 08:37 PM)
I need some help picking the right model, im looking for air-conditioner for 2 small rooms, around 140 square feet with 12 feet height ceiling, windows facing north west.

Currently have 3 models in mind, either Daikin FTKU, Panasonic X-Deluxe and Mitsubishi JS series, which one should i get in terms of reliability and clean air? and how many horsepower should i need while the temperature will be setting in between 23 to 25" Celsius .
Generally Pana is a reliable brand. No comments about others.

As for clean air, is user's responsibility to do regular servicing.
mini orchard
post Oct 21 2021, 06:42 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Oct 21 2021, 12:35 AM)
I am using Panasonic ac now.  Have been repairing the same problem for more than 8 times and still fail to get it fixed.
Mitsubishi ac is more expensive and some models come with easy cleaning feature.

I heard Mitsubishi ac is quieter than most of the other brands.
What is the 'big' fault that cant resolve after 8 times ?
mini orchard
post Oct 24 2021, 10:09 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Oct 24 2021, 09:18 AM)
looking on panasonic 2.0 below, looks like the XKH have higher BTU number, other than that, any difference?

CS-PN18WKH-1 (2.0HP)
CS-PN18XKH-1 (2.0HP)

Plan to get 3 unit CS-XPU10XKH-1 (1.0HP) for 3 small room and one 2.0hp non inverter as above for living + dining (condo), is this a good choice? seem they have a good review in this thread.

btw, hearsay daikin can be cheaper, is daikin good compared to Panasonic? if so, any recommandation?
CS-PN18XKH-1 is facelift

Generally, Pana a reliable brand.
mini orchard
post Oct 26 2021, 04:41 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Jerrylum88 @ Oct 24 2021, 08:29 PM)
Is an 1.5hp aircond oversize for a 130 square feet room with 12 feet ceiling?

Window facing north west (11am direction) with 2 pax in the room. will be operating at normal temperature 25 degree

was thinking either 1hp or 1.5hp, whichever save more electricity.
A 1hp may takes 1 hour and a 1.5hp may take under 1 hour to cool to desired temperature. The longer the compressor works, the more electricity it needs.

mini orchard
post Oct 27 2021, 06:01 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(dixonleong @ Oct 27 2021, 02:13 AM)
Want to ask process of warranty claim with panasonic, been usng few weeks cs-xpu18wkh, suddenly noticed there is clicking sound for the up down flap, when i set it to static no sound.
Does warranty cover onsite or how does it works? Also need register pana club before can warranty?
The wkh pana ac series seems to have the problem with flap. No issue with xkh series. Apparently the flap holder doesnt engage properly into the flap motor which causes the clicking sound.

My others xkh series dont have the problem.

If you know diy, open the casing and align the flap and motor. If you do annual servicing, ensure the technician align and test, otherwise the same problem reappear.

Warranty covers onsite and not necessary to register woth pana club.
mini orchard
post Oct 27 2021, 12:04 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(dixonleong @ Oct 27 2021, 11:16 AM)
Am trying to reproduce the sound to record video but not occuring now.  Do you know if the double flap (up down) is connected to single motor or separate motor? Maybe the gears sound if 2 flap to 1 motor..... would open casing and check myslef if my ladder isnt broken
So far apart from the sound, loving this unit long air flow, constant comfort and big flap opening, can see easily if fan is dirty or clean.
Also more comfort than my previous pana cs-kc24qkh that was either too cold or stuffy when set to 26c
One
mini orchard
post Oct 27 2021, 03:17 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(razerlxz @ Oct 27 2021, 02:55 PM)
Want to ask dunno if it’s the right place. Is aircon servicing rm150 reasonable? They say they will dismantle the unit to wash. (Include gas)
Normal full ac service is between 150 to 180 per unit. There will be no gas refill if there is no leak.
mini orchard
post Oct 29 2021, 06:37 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Germ2501 @ Oct 28 2021, 07:35 PM)
I currently have a ME MS-GH10VC in the master bedroom, and it's been behaving weird lately.
The aircon was working perfectly, but a few weeks ago, it would just completely stop in the middle of the night, and the LED indicator blinks 14 times. It would happen like once every few days.
Then this week, the compressor started short cycling. But just last night it was working fine again.

What could be wrong here? Kinda disappointing that the aircon is acting up, and we only have it for 6 years. Always thought that these ME aircons are known for their reliability.

My mom suggested to replace the aircon, which could be a good chance to get an inverter. Worth it?
If you want to wait for the ac to completely stop working, then it will be more costly to repair. Sometimes an early warning sign could just be a small problem but because of prolong using it can lead to other damages.

No brands are perfect even with regular maintenance and after 6 years of daily using and if is the 1st fault, I say is normal.

mini orchard
post Oct 29 2021, 12:19 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Freya.ch @ Oct 29 2021, 11:30 AM)
One of my air cond (Panasonic) the red light also keep blinking and will automatically stop after a while (maybe 30min or so) . Last the aircond service personnel told me because of the gas leakage. That day they test it, the aircond did not off itself after some time and I don't see any blinking (so far). The room is a room that I hardly use nowadays, so I dare not say is completely solve , but at least on that day itself, is working fine. The personnel told me that air-conditioning blinking can be caused by different issue, better check first
QUOTE(Germ2501 @ Oct 29 2021, 11:52 AM)
There's a label inside the unit's cover going into detail about the error lights. It states that 14 blinking lights means there's something wrong with the outdoor unit.
The user manual doesn't really say anything about error codes (If I remembered correctly. I need to find it to be sure).

We had the aircon serviced right after the first or second time we started having errors. I asked the technician to check the gas, and there's still sufficient gas in the system, and now the aircon is cooling fine, so that shouldn't be the problem.
No abnormal sounds coming from the outdoor unit either.
When ac show signs of blinking light, ALWAYS call brand manufacturer for their authorised service agent.

Calling any technicians in the market without thorough knowledge of the brand troubleshooting will normally be trial and error work.
mini orchard
post Oct 30 2021, 11:57 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Oct 30 2021, 10:29 AM)
anyone tried use aircond with 25 or 26 degree + ceiling fan? will it save more on electric bill compared to aircond run with 22 degree?
Use stand fan and face the direction you want. It can be static or rotating, depending. My ac is 26 with stand fan rotating.

Place the fan with the ac blower facing towards the back of the fan blade.

I am not sure it saves electricity but I can feel the room cool faster

21 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0391sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:26 PM