QUOTE(Created On 21/1/2021 @ Jul 30 2021, 05:52 PM)
Myself, the 1st AC was a York. That was long long time ago. Thereeafter it is Pana all the way. Wouldnt know much about other brands.Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance
Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance
Jul 30 2021, 07:16 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
14,511 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
Jul 30 2021, 07:18 PM
Jul 31 2021, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(IrIwish @ Jul 31 2021, 02:23 PM) I just found out the outdoor unit of my Hitachi aircond is not turning on. The unit is about 3 years+ old. If not mistaken the outdoor u lnit has 10years warranty. My experience .....Anybody have experience on the warranty claim? Just call any aircond service and pay the service fee to get them to help claim warranty? Thanks in advance. The cost to claim warranty can buy a new outdoor unit. You can only engage their authorised service technician. Call customer service for the lists. The warranty covers only the faulty compressor. Labour charges chargeable for replacement. Other minor parts like capillary tube etc are chargeable including refrigerant by the manufacturer. The authorised technician labour is a separate charge to dismantle and reinstall the unit plus transport. If the compressor is not faulty, checking fee is payable to manufacturer plus the technician labour charges. Call the authorised technician and NOT any technician. If is other problem, he can repair at site. This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jul 31 2021, 04:40 PM |
Aug 1 2021, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(IrIwish @ Aug 1 2021, 08:16 AM) Thanks for the responses. The service center hotline is not open on weekends. If you can get hold of an authorised technician during mco, is better. Otherwise find a good technician and request him to check. If indeed compressor issue, then you decide whether you want to claim or buy a new one.I checked again and heard some whirring sound from the outdoor unit but the fan didn't turn on. Initially the air felt cool but after a few mins it was blowing warm air. Anyway, best to get a qualified technician to check it out. Any idea how much a new outdoor unit + installation would cost? If the difference is not huge, might consider getting a new one instead. It is a 2HP R32 non-inverter unit If it is other problem he can solve then get it done. A 2hp outdoor non invertor average should cost around 1.5k+ . This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 1 2021, 11:11 AM Jerrylum88 liked this post
Aug 2 2021, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(ivzh @ Aug 2 2021, 07:13 PM) Hi, all sifu.. looking for recommendation for AC, currently using daikin inverter with R410a for my condo. all around 6 years old. Pana is a reliable brand. Been using for many many years with minimal problem except for 1 lemon unit. All my current units are more than 10 years and non invertor.my aircond had previously ? leaking gas problem since 2 years .. require frequent top up past 2 years, check by multiple technician, they say the gas pipe no problem, today the other technician mention the indoor foil is not good (spoilt? - may lead to leak), with some mold. any recommendation of model? most importantly energy saving as the usage of AC in my home is very heavy.. as usage is 24/7.. looking for something reliable.. prefer standard / slightly higher tier.. but not the most premium range. any brand should do. looking for 1HP and 2HP ac.. i may need to change phase by phase usually the technician will charge for dismantle the existing unit too and installation ? For installation and dismantle, some will charge extra if is just a single job. This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 2 2021, 08:32 PM |
Aug 4 2021, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(free2d @ Aug 3 2021, 05:31 PM) Hi guys, Invertor technology is supposed to reduce electricity consumption as stated in the brochures. How it actually does, it depends on user applications. Info on brochures are tested in manufacturer environment and it differs from actual site.Can enlighten me about inverter? It been mentioned but still dont really get. Sorry... I have 2 rooms, 1 for TV 4x4m 1pk and 1 for work 4x5m 1.5pk. Both standard AC now. AC will only On when are occupied. Usually will blast and set lowest temperature. In this case, does inverter have it usage? Thank you very much. AC hp must match room space volume, maintenance, usage duration, other electrical appliances in the room, number of people using the room and location..whether condo, landed or west facing unit. So if any of the few variables are not satisfied, then it wont work. |
Aug 4 2021, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Aug 4 2021, 04:36 PM) Hi guys sorry if this question has been asked before. Just buy the standard non invertor. You wont know whether you will save tnb bill with invertor cos there is no comparison in actual situation.I'm planning to get a Daikin 1HP aircond for my computer room. The room dimension is quite small around 9x9 feet. Do I need to get an inverter one or the non-inverter will do just fine. Do I save a lot more with an inverter for the 1hp? normally using aircond around 3-6 hours continuously a day. |
Aug 8 2021, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(turbopips @ Aug 8 2021, 05:55 PM) Dear all, The complete drain pan is slimy which prevent the flow of water to outside.My master bedroom aircon keeps leaking after operated >20mins. Every time technician come repair, it can only last for 1 month, and the leaking comes back. If i operate less than 20mins then no issue. So one day i could only use for around 20mins. I also have another aircon in study room which is running out of gas (that one confirm by my technician due to leaking somewhere) Can somebody recommend an EXPERIENCE aircon repair technician pls? Thanks very much. What did the technician does when he came to rectify. Just pump the gas at mouth of the drain pan ? This problem is a simple to solve if you are a diy person. I did for all my AC. Otherwise, pay for a complete take down normal service. A dirty filter can accelerate the problem. Clean it every month if necessary. Sometime AC need to be service every 6 months depending on usage and room condition. |
Aug 8 2021, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(turbopips @ Aug 8 2021, 10:25 PM) Two different technician serviced before. They did not take down the aircon. They just use some gas to push out the water trapped (airlock) . The second technician say it could the inner piping "gradient" by developer. The problem with technicians nowadays .... they wont go the extra steps to solve your problem.Are you suggesting to take down completely the aircon for full chemical washing? Thanks Since when you started having the problem. How far is the water discharge pipe from the AC to outside where you can see the water ? If you cannot DIY, then have to call for service. Buy a bottle of those pipe cleaner solution on standby and ask him to clear the pipe. You need a standyby water pressure hose to flush it out. |
Aug 9 2021, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(dixonleong @ Aug 9 2021, 01:08 PM) hi, may i ask bedroom around 19ftx 17ft, ceiling slightly below 9ft, how many hp aircon needed? Currently i running a 2.5hp non inverter but always set 26-27c cause too cold, my compressor is dead hence looking for a replacement. Any suggestion model wit long air flow and easy maintenance /access to blower? Mine is also similar to your size and currently using a Pana 2hp std AC. Temp set at 25c with door half open, otherwise it can be too cold early morning. Current AC above 10 years. |
Aug 10 2021, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ Aug 9 2021, 09:47 PM) ![]() Hi Sifus, My living room only has one Aircond point circles in red for living and dining. Any recommendation on how the Aircond can blow both living and dining? 1 AC is not sufficient to cool that large space. Depending on brands, some dont have split vents. If the diining is place next or near to the wall, more likely one cant feel the cold air. This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 10 2021, 08:55 AM |
Aug 10 2021, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(free2d @ Aug 10 2021, 10:03 AM) Thanks for the input. When it rains, the cooling efficiency actually increases because the rainwater and the drop in outside tempetature helps to cool the ODU which make this heat transfer as efficient as possible. I got 2units of 9000btu Daikin standard this time. Will consider inverter if bedroom ac die next time. Another separate question. Is it normal for AC not so cool when it rains? I need to lower the temperature n fan up when raining. A few of AC units even the new ones. Got to do with the humidity level? Should set AC on Dry instead? Thanks again guys. Cheers...! On a hot day, the reverse happens, the heat transfer becomes less efficient, hence it takes a longer time to cool the room. That the reason why the room is colder in the early morning even on a hot day. You can test by having a digital thermometer in the room. On both occasion, you can record how long it takes to cool down the room at determine temperature. On the side note, your AC may be under power to your room size. Or is it mind over matter ? This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 11 2021, 08:38 AM |
Aug 12 2021, 07:54 AM
Aug 12 2021, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(oks911 @ Aug 12 2021, 10:10 AM) My 1hp York compressor making a lot noise .. is that repairable? I am thinking to replace a second hand compressor.. the ac technician offer RM350 siap pasang.. is that worth ?? What type of noise ? Vibration or rattling ? If is still cold, why change ? Try to solve diy if you can access it. It could be one of the loosen screw or try place a rubber padding between the compressor and the bracket holder. oks911 liked this post
Aug 12 2021, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(oks911 @ Aug 12 2021, 10:37 AM) Thanks for your feedback! I also gave up on those technicians. Most of my AC I diy including normal sevicing as I can also access all outdoor units. The last I called a good technician was fews years ago and went mia when wanted to consult him.It's rattling out from the fan area... yes it still cooling.. Probably you are right, loose screw or something.. AC technician usually never identify the root cause and push you to change the whole unit .. i am very sien cannot get a good ac technican.. if you have any good technician in klang valley, kindly intro me ya.... thanks much! The 2nd unit was probably an foc from previous owner. He did some minor repair and then sell it. Some give 1 week, 1 month or max 3 months warranty. If it dont breakdown during warranty period, then he makes more money or he never pick up your call again. Sori, cant help. Hope other forumers can recommend. This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 12 2021, 11:22 AM |
Aug 14 2021, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(ry8128 @ Aug 14 2021, 02:12 PM) Guys, any feedback on sharp aircond? Looking for a cheap non-inverter unit. Most important for me is less maintenance and reliable. Reliable AC is about regular maintenance. The best AC will eventually breakdown if owner stinge on it.Currently looking at model aha9xcd - https://my.sharp/products/air-care/10hp-r32...-aha9xcd?v=1448 Experience technicians / installer plays an important role. Sharp is ok as I know few users being using for a long time. Like any brands, if you received a lemon unit, too bad. |
Aug 16 2021, 09:24 AM
Aug 16 2021, 09:45 AM
Aug 27 2021, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(tamealphonse @ Aug 27 2021, 07:33 PM) Hi all, my room's acson air cond has not been cold and I called technician to check he said the compressor is faulty and will need to be replaced. We got the new parts via warranty but my technician has charged me RM 380 for the compressor installation and gas pumping. For normal servicing, labour is between 150 to 180 for 1hp. The extra 200 is fair for his service to claim warranty on you behalf and to make good the unit in running condition ....transport, labour and gas refill.Is that the standard price for such installation job? Seems abit high in my opinion. Just wanna make sure this is the market price. Thanks |
Aug 30 2021, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(sparktzm @ Aug 30 2021, 07:16 PM) hi would like to ask opinion for hp selection for master bedroom with size of 17 x 15 ft. will 1 hp inverter ac is sufficient or better to go with 1.5 hp? is any major change in electrical consumption for 1.5 hp compared to the 1 hp aircond Minimum a 1 5hp.A 1hp if undersized to room size will consume more electricity. The ac will run non stop to cool the room and to reach the set tempetature This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 30 2021, 07:49 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0391sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:18 PM |