GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

stimix
post Nov 9 2007, 10:33 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Deluge @ Nov 9 2007, 09:51 PM)
I just brought myself a Holux M-1000 bluetooth gps receiver and try to get it work on my Dell Axim x51v. Currently i have MapKing installed into my pda but i dont seems to get the gps receiver connected  sad.gif could u guys help me out?

Many thanks in advance  blush.gif

p.s. i m still a baby when it comes to this kind of settings sweat.gif
I dun use BT GPSr so can't advise much..but for sure u need to pair (i.e sync) the GPSr to the PDA 1st. If u faileed this steps for sure u can't get the fix. (Probably just follow the instruction manual on how to sync.. hmm.gif )...In malsingmaps wiki..it just mentioned u need to pair the BT GPSr 1st.. hmm.gif

2ndly...u need to setup the comport in the mapking by going to tools>GPS/track>GPS setting tick "by User" & click on search gps...the unit should be able to search tha actual comport authomatically.. hmm.gif
stimix
post Nov 21 2007, 02:43 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

It's free and dun think the US govt has the capabilities to charge the world population on the usage of their system. hmm.gif

BTW, rite now US GPS system is working Others such as Russian, EU & Chian one not in operations yet.:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Naviga...atellite_System

For better idea, read this first:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Positioning_System
stimix
post Dec 15 2007, 08:40 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(foxx3001 @ Dec 15 2007, 08:25 PM)
Do all standalone GPS and ppc got voice instruction (left, right, easy left, stop...etc) something like rally co-pilot.???
YES & no...depending on the type of standalone GPSr u are buying,,,the older & rugged standalone type dun hv the Test to speech function (TTS) but most ppc type have.

stimix
post Dec 16 2007, 11:43 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Comment/response in blue:

QUOTE(foxx3001 @ Dec 15 2007, 11:36 PM)
Q:can i use any software to Holux device or Garmin device.
A: If u mean any GPS navigation softwares written for PPC? then YES. However for standalone GPSr such as Garmin 60CSX..The unit comes wth Garmin software..no way of installing others.

Q: is it every software using the same map format.
A: NO. Each softwares have their own maps format..so for software using Mapking, only mapking format, for those using Garmin only Garmin. For those interested to use Malsingmaps, there are only two compartible maps i.e Garmin & Mapking. If u buy other format such as those commercial Navimaps, ..The so called powered by TM navi..No way u can use malsingmaps.

Q:i'm planning to buy Touch+M-1000+Mapking or Malsing ...
is it a good combo...????
A: OK- good buy as Touch support both Mapking & Garmin Que...so u can use Malsingmaps. But Touch processor is abit slow...so calculation & etc will be abit slow-lah..Try to buy those wth >400mhx processor

stimix
post Jan 17 2008, 05:14 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

THT I missed ur posting...Actually frankly speaking if u hv done better research in Malsingmaps, Nuvi200 is a better choice & cheaper too!! doh.gif

Why..Nuvi 200 capable of tracking & replay traccklogs but Nuvi310 can't!!!

Once u getting better wth Nuvi, u will be asking: How come I cannot see my tracklogs? Or How can I contribute tracklogs! Or anyway I can replay the remote area tracklog that I have been to doh.gif biggrin.gif

Anyway..just hope Garmin release an update soon to activate the Tracking function on other Nuvi models as well... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 13 2008, 11:30 PM)
Well, i've officially joined the GPS Club with the purchase of the Nuvi 310 yesterday... Its very user-friendly and the response time is accurate... Helps a lot in my travels, whether around town or outstatin...

Btw, what do u guys think of the 310, from experience? I was initially considering the 200 but after testing both units (200 and 310) together with the seller while driving, the 200 was unable to detect the satellites (due to vCool in the car)... However, the 310 could receive the signals clearly, mainly due to the external antenna...

Thats y i ended up going for the slightly higher=end version... biggrin.gif

Added on January 17, 2008, 5:18 pmU probably wanted to start from page 1..all the anwers are there....anyway a quick summary in blue:

QUOTE(maxzilly @ Jan 17 2008, 04:15 PM)
Hey planning on buying a pda that has gps functinality...any good ideas?  Yes it's good idea...no regret..but choose those wth faster spped >400mhz

and do we have to pay for this gps service? sori newbie here
GPS signal from NASA USA is FOC. but the certain mapping software are not free such as Mapking....For totally free software...visit the link in my siggy

This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 17 2008, 05:18 PM
stimix
post Jan 17 2008, 09:40 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha..u really too long under the coconut hell biggrin.gif Sure GPS works well in Malaysia infact since early 2000 but the maps at the point of time really sxxks..Rigt now, the maps both commercial & hobbyist's malsingmaps site (as per my siggy) are very detail even if u are at remote areas or even up to Gunung Berinchang in Cameron Highland or navigating to a hotel in Pantai Cenang in Langkawi! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(QiQio @ Jan 17 2008, 09:22 PM)
Wow...nice thread...i wonder GPS can work well in M'sia?

Added on January 17, 2008, 9:22 pmWow...nice thread...i wonder GPS can work well in M'sia?

Added on January 17, 2008, 9:47 pmEh..nowadays most of PDAs come wth phone!! those PDA without phone are rare nowadays! biggrin.gif As mentioned earlier, get those wth high processor speed and dun get anything below 400mhz as the processing time will be very slow.

U can get either those inbuilt type such as Asus P535, HP6965, Dopod810 or the new HTCs, Eten & etc...or a PDA without GPS but u can pair wth an ext BT GPSr such as O2, more HTC without GPS, & etc...so many to choose..botto, line is ur budget...Avoid those wth slow processor <300mhz

QUOTE(maxzilly @ Jan 17 2008, 07:27 PM)
Owh hey oke some pda are just plain ol pdas rite they cant make calls like the dopod p100..so i wanna noe wats the best pda phone tht can make the usual hp functions and have built in gps rclxms.gif
This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 17 2008, 09:47 PM
stimix
post Jan 18 2008, 09:23 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ehh, Dopod P100 no longer in production since late 2006 if I'm not mistaken. Not many pure PDA without phone right now...To get P100, the only way is thru 2nd hand market. I was considering P100 way back in mid 2006 when they quoted price for new unit is ~RM990 too bad no phone.
Even those mega powerful PDA without phone such as Dell Axim.50V wth 624mhz has stopped production.

To get good 2nd hand u can check in lelong.com or LYN itself. Normally those guys in lelong.com hv outlets either in Subang Parade or Summit. Print the advertisement & goto the shop to check the quality,. I got my 1st GPS PDA phone (HP6515) via this way....
stimix
post Jan 18 2008, 03:05 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

If u are using Mapking - u can but only replay using mapking & u cannot submit to the mapper. Anyway, I hv not try to record track via mapking...fail to record dunno why.. doh.gif

But if u are using either GPS proxy & GPS gates, than these are the two good track recording tools. Most of us using PDA & members of MSM using gps procy to track & submit tracklogs for mapping purposes...and both software are the one that use to start Garmin Que. without these software, garmin Que won't work! (Except if u buy dedicated Garmin 10 GPSr)

Anyway is via Garmin Que itself (but u need GPS proxy/gates) to start-lah. But the tracklogs from Garmin que is no good compare to gps proxy.

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 18 2008, 01:24 PM)
is there any software to keep logs on the internal gps for pda?? so we cna share those logs for mappping purpose
stimix
post Jan 21 2008, 09:33 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Anything wth Sirf111 chipset can't be wrong..I'm using Asus P535. so far the accuracy is marvelous. Not so sure about HTC..heard also using Sirf111....if yes OK-lah...BTW, HTC will be a better choice interm of 2nd value, easy after sales service.

QUOTE(hOnGhOnG @ Jan 21 2008, 08:32 PM)
Hi guys, does the GPS chip for different PDA phones differs a lot in terms of connectivity?

I don't really mind the time needed to lock me. What i concern is lose track during driving.. Will it happen if the GPS chip is not sensitive enough? Cause i am considering between Asus P535 and HTC P3600i.. Really don't know which one to get.

Thanks!
stimix
post Mar 26 2008, 04:05 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The cheaper Holux (M-1000) is retailing at RM260 & M-1200 is about RM290. Both are using the MTK chipset & not SirfIII. The older SIRFIII versions (Either GPS 236 or GPSslim240 ) is more expensive >RM300) Not sure whether it is still available.. hmm.gif

On which chipset is good, I rather not comment....or else it will create another war as what happening in malsingmaps forum when ppl start commenting which one better especially SirfIII, MTK & Globallocate....or more.... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(SoloNg @ Mar 26 2008, 03:47 PM)
Agree with ajay67, holux is cheap but when i ask the seller they also cannot tell what firmware the gps is using.feel disappointed.
stimix
post Apr 15 2008, 08:54 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For Nokia maps, you need to be online all the time. i.e u must either on 3G or GPRS. The reason why it's need 3G is bcos this maps only available online & keep on downloaded once the satelite acquired. In addition to this, u need to subscribe for the Voice navigation which is about RM38/mth.

Therefore...Dun go for Nokia maps...go for Garmin MXT. In order for the Garmin to work, u need to buy the preloaded Garmin SD card which u can find from any Garmin retailer (try the Garmin shop at Digital Mall). If not, u need to buy a seperate GArmin BT GPSr (Garmin 10X) to pair wth the set..Thereafter tha maps are totally free for life.. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(shinozu @ Apr 14 2008, 04:48 PM)
I still can't get it setup properly. I am using Nokia N95 8GB. I dunno what is the software pre-installed but i think it is a standard one as I didn't install anything.

when i load the nokia map, it keeps telling me no Internet connection and i have to opt for the easy WLAN? if i am on a go, i can't connect via my modem, right?

please tell me how to connect to maxis? i tried all the options. 3G WAP, MMS, Internet or Wap2.0 or MMS 2.0.

it keeps giving me the yellow signal non-stop. (no internet connection detected of course).

please help... all those GPS sifu. PM me if you can. thanks.

Added on April 14, 2008, 4:49 pm

i think nokia maps. need to wait for 10 min?! it keeps telling me no internet connection, normal?
stimix
post Apr 16 2008, 04:23 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wrong thread to ask this question..here is only on GPS..nothing to do wth camera...anyway, it is a known fact that the older Dopod (Not sure about HTC)...camera fucntion sxxk big time... biggrin.gif
QUOTE(hazian75 @ Apr 16 2008, 03:28 PM)
hi just buy dopod 838 pro but my camera not sharp blur jor how aa?
stimix
post Jul 20 2009, 06:37 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Why u need the outdated mapking maps when malsingmaps having the latest as at 18/7/09?
http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=10746

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jul 17 2009, 02:18 PM)
Why on earth Mapking 2007 didnt update their freaking map anymore?? I am using GPS Bay 3033 and there is a lot of outdate map! Duke and Lekas is obvouisly not in Mapking 2007. Have they gone bankrup?
stimix
post Nov 26 2009, 07:35 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

uninstall & reinstall back

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0343sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:04 PM