***LYN Official Kia Cerato K3 Owners Club V2***

Bassraptor
post Jun 29 2017, 08:47 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jun 29 2017, 08:34 AM)
Any reason you chose this over Mazda 3?
1. Some years ago, i walked into a Mazda showroom and the salesman behaved like a total dickhead. Left a lasting impression. So Mazda wasn't my choice. My friend had the older Mazda 3... he said getting it in for service required booking well ahead.

2. Problem-free Kia Forte and hassle-free after-sales service before this. Important for me. So went with the devil I know.

3. Kia offer for 2.0 was damn good. And I know how their system works. From service to parts.

I tested the Cerato, Hyundai Ionic and VW Jetta.

I'm in my 50s and with a hectic schedule. Don't want unscheduled visits to service centers.

So that's why.

When I'm retired, I may be more adventurous!

Bassraptor
post Jun 29 2017, 08:49 PM

386 posts

Just curious, any other owners of K3 2.0 here to share experiences...?

Just did Ecotint on my car today, went for the security film... next, probably coating... then time for 1st service...
Bassraptor
post Jun 30 2017, 10:10 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jun 30 2017, 09:15 AM)
Those are good reasons. Glad to hear KIA after sales is good. I wonder why so many complaints on Peugeot after sales service. Both are under Naza/Nasim isn't it?

I've heard so much about M3 handling being excellent. I suppose with dickheads at the showroom, you did not bother to drive M3. Would like to hear your view M3s handling.
I think earlier on, the services centres were not fully technically ready to handle Peugeot... the sales numbers at first were more than they expected. May have settled by now and things are probably smoother.

I did test the Mazda 2 back in 2010... was quite impressed with handling and drive... but a bit too small for me...
Bassraptor
post Jul 3 2017, 09:59 AM

386 posts

Wait till the red light on dash starts blinking after you lock car.
Bassraptor
post Jul 5 2017, 12:46 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jul 5 2017, 09:06 AM)
1.6sx for rm107k ??? Fuhhh...
Yeah, a bit worrying how the Kia prices have gone up.

My former Forte 1.6SX, back in 2010, carried a RM80k sticker price, and the range of features then was way better than the B segment cars, and price, way more competitive than the C segment cars which was its classification.

However, there's quite a bit of discount, plus there's guaranteed trade-in value (50% of sticker price) after 5 years (with conditions). I figure the Raya promotion price for the 1.6SX would have been about 93-95k... and if you were trading in a Kia for a Kia, another 3k...
Bassraptor
post Jul 8 2017, 02:36 PM

386 posts

FYI, new KIA owners
For those going to do first free service at 1k... they also do tyre alignment FOC....next service on you have to pay for that.
Bassraptor
post Jul 8 2017, 05:08 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Jul 8 2017, 04:52 PM)
Tyre alignment is included in the warranty and indicated as valid up to 1000 km in the service booklet. But all service centers will assist you to the alignment during the first service, if you highlight this problem, that is car pulling to one side while driving.
Didn't know that it was included... anyway, when I called SC for appointment, they said tyre service included, even though I had no issue... and FOC for first one.
Bassraptor
post Jul 10 2017, 12:12 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Luen @ Jul 10 2017, 11:58 AM)
Hi all,

Just want to check with all of 1.6 K3 drivers, do you have the problem of vibration when idle at traffic light or jam? (Gear in D and feet on brake) Felt that it is vibrating more and more over time (2014 car). However, mentioned everytime during scheduled service and just brushed off with its normal and resetted ECU. (KL/PJ area)

Just wanted any opinion or experience from any driver facing this issue and got it solved?

Thanks!
Never had this issue so far... possible culprits are engine mounting or dirty fuel sensor. Maybe you get an independent workshop to check the engine mounting.
Bassraptor
post Jul 12 2017, 07:57 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(squalluz @ Jul 10 2017, 06:19 PM)
Just collected my (wife's) Cerato 2.0, bought during the Raya promo period. I have to agree that the ride is very pliant, but in a good way. The ride is really comfy, much better than my Forte 1.6.
Welcome to the 2.0 club! What colour did you get? I agree with Forte comparisons... the Cerato seems to soak up bumps without letting you know much about it!

Bassraptor
post Jul 12 2017, 04:21 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(squalluz @ Jul 12 2017, 10:57 AM)
Thank you! My wife took the Glittering Metal color, the car looks really good with that shade of grey. According to her it's less tiring getting stuck in a jam in the Cerato compared to my Forte, as she was driving my Forte for the past few years. Maybe it's the new seat design, seat cushion, or the lumbar support. Whatever it is, it's really a big improvement from the Forte.
Damn, i got glittering metal too, that grey is very classy and, importantly, my wife's choice! I was going to go for golden beat coz my previous Forte was metal bronze... but the Forte's brown stands out better than the Cerato's shade of brown.

Lumbar support is where the Forte let me down... I always had to use a prop for better lower back support. But the moment I got into the Cerato, no worries about lumbar support.

This post has been edited by Bassraptor: Jul 12 2017, 04:22 PM
Bassraptor
post Jul 12 2017, 11:38 PM

386 posts

Yup... under certain lighting, both look alike. I wouldn't have minded blue or racing green...
Bassraptor
post Jul 13 2017, 01:39 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(squalluz @ Jul 13 2017, 01:02 PM)
We're really in the same boat bro, my Forte is the brown color as well, Metallic Bronze from 2010. We saw a unit with Golden Beat color in Kia Glenmarie, and it looks pretty good, but my wife don't want the car to look similar to my Forte. And I agree with the lumbar support, you don't know that you need it until you have actually used it.

And I really love the electronic memory seat, so me and my wife can have separate setting of the seat position, including the position of the lumbar support. We're really loving this car to bits.
My Forte was 2010 also! What a coincidence...and we went to Glenmarie to check out the colours as well, haha! My wife said 7 years looking at brown enough already, take grey...

I did the window tinting 2 weeks ago.

Going overseas for a 3-4 days today, so left car at coating shop for a no-rush coating job.

Yes, the Cerato is very comfy, ride over bumps is nicer than Forte. Also, the 2.0 engine does sing better when you push it...

I haven't worked out everything about the navigator... the sound system is pretty good for this level, and with bluetooth hands-free, taking and making the occasional call is a pleasure...
Bassraptor
post Jul 17 2017, 06:02 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(squalluz @ Jul 13 2017, 06:07 PM)
Hahaa.. such a co-incidence. Tinting and coating, wow.. you really take good care of your car. Which tint and coating are you installing? Did you get a good price for it?

We're still considering whether to tint or not, as the existing glass seems dark enough already. If my wife cannot tahan, we will consider to go for tinting.
Sorry for the late response, bro, was out of country for a few days. I did Ecotint... found it makes a difference. There is an inherent tint in the glass, yes, but that doesn't cut out the UV the way the tints do. My contacts got me a decent discount... under 2k, while the normal quote is 2.4-2.5k...

Bassraptor
post Jul 21 2017, 10:28 AM

386 posts

Best advice I can think of is to ask a Kia SC to sort out, at your own cost...get a quote
Bassraptor
post Jul 22 2017, 10:46 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(hsym @ Jul 21 2017, 08:21 PM)
What is the promo price for Kia Cerato now? I saw there is RM16k rebate.
A question for Buydirect to answer... 2.0 probably around 110k? 1.6 would be 93k... wonder if this includes Kia to Kia upgrade...
Bassraptor
post Jul 26 2017, 05:19 PM

386 posts

Anyone using a K3 2.0 has tried RON 97 in their car? Any benefits?
Bassraptor
post Aug 2 2017, 06:38 PM

386 posts

Any Cerato 2.0 owners who want to share their experience her?

I traded up from a Forte 1.6 to Cerato 2.0 and I'm having a tough time trying not to tekan pedal too much.... so much more power on tap, it's quite heady and always tempting to push it! Of course, it shows on my FC, display hovers around 8.9-9.1L per 100km... with the Forte, I used to fill up at 400+km... with the Cerato 2.0, about 350+... but if I wanted fuel economy, I would have stayed with a smaller engine...

This post has been edited by Bassraptor: Aug 3 2017, 05:00 PM
Bassraptor
post Aug 3 2017, 11:13 AM

386 posts

I know the 2.0 ... although I've always wondered at the need for running lights and sunroof!

Do a YouTube search, you can find some reviews, not local.

Bassraptor
post Aug 3 2017, 04:58 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(randoll @ Aug 3 2017, 04:40 PM)
9km/100L???  blink.gif  blink.gif

2 full tank just to run 9km...
Ooops, sorry, my bad... I meant 9l per 100km... corrected!
Bassraptor
post Aug 19 2017, 11:33 AM

386 posts

That's one damn cool grille!!!

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0523sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:10 AM