Happiness!

TSinfested_ysy
post Oct 29 2006, 04:03 PM, updated 20y ago

4,061 posts

I only knew three things about this before I watched it: 1) it was based off a dating game with erotic content, 2) I knew the name and attributes of its most famous character, and 3) it was a school anime or something. But I'm going to assume we don't know the SECRETS!!!!1!oen! as I cover what looks to be a decent but not fantastic anime this season.

It starts with a young boy scaring off some children bullying a young girl...but he uses MAGIC! The girl, naturally, instantly hits TRUE LOVE for both him and magic, but she doesn't know his name or anything and never sees him again. OH NOES

Fast-forward a few years, where Our Heroine is a student of magic. She's a first-year named Kamisaka Haruhi (and if the quality of animes with characters named Haruhi the last few seasons is any indication this alone guarantees it will be at least average) who's the bestest mage in her year. Apparently the school she goes to has a "Regular Section" for the normal students and a "Magic Section" for the ones who come to learn magic. Her talking staff is named Saprano (yes, talking staff, similar to the Intelligent Devices of Nanoha but less cool).

This is Hiiraga Anri, who appears to be Haruhi's best friend as well as her ULTIMATE RIVAL, and she follows Haruhi around like her only goal in life is to do everything that Haruhi can do better than Haruhi can as well as steal every opportunity Haruhi gets. Unfortunately she's not competent enough for this. Her talking staff is named Paella. Also, fanservice ITT, but this is the only instance in this episode, which puts it at about averageish, maybe a little higher.

Meanwhile, male lead Yuuma (I'm fairly sure his full name is never mentioned in this episode) spends most of the episode hanging out with his friends Hachi and Jun. Hachi is a useless guy who is heavily disliked by all women and constantly b****es about it, all the moreso because Yuuma is a chick magnet, while Jun appears to be Yuuma's girlfriend and VERY attached to him (although Yuuma seems a bit put off by her attention and tends to shy away from her; Jun attributes that to shyness). As a side note, Jun is also the only girl who even notices that Hachi exists, no other female even bothers to acknowledge his existence. By now it's Valentine's Day and all the girls are in a fury, including the heroine and her rival (who for some retarded-ass reason is obsessed with the idea of giving chocolate to whichever boy Haruhi likes).

Yuuma and Haruhi both go outside to momentarily escape Jun and Anri (respectively) under the excuse of getting a breath of fresh air. They both stumble upon a little girl being bullied! Yuuma tries to talk them down, and after his terrible failure Haruhi uses magic to patch up his mistakes. As one might expect, she randomly decides he's GOT to be the boy from her childhood (despite his total lack of magic usage) and decides she's into him. Too bad he walks away to go hang with Jun again. Speaking of Jun, she's clingier than usual, doesn't want him hanging with other girls and all that, until Yuuma drops a couple of bombshells - he never agreed to go out with Jun, and it's partially because JUN IS A MAN, A MALE, A HE WITH A PENIS.

THIS EXPLAINS SO MUCH. Obviously, Jun is gay for boys (especially Yuuma) and took the Princess Princess route toward gay sex. Apparently it works well enough for his tastes because he ALWAYS wears female clothing and speaks in a feminine voice (I'm not talking girly-man, I'm talking teenage girl here). Jun is Lord of the Traps, the most blatantly homosexual trap I've ever seen. Not that he does stereotypical things or anything, but just because he likes men so much. At least Bridget and the Princesses (well, some of them) have excuses. Jun, though? Nope. Anyway, Valentine's Day comes and we get served up a nice fresh plate of Hachi b****ing because the only "girl" who ever gives him chocolate is Jun and he's not THAT desperate yet, along with...

Haruhi won't tell Anri who she plans to give chocolates to, so Anri decides it would be a reasonable course of action to use magic to cripple Haruhi and then search her body for any kind of lovey-dovey card addressed to a boy. As a side note, the animation seems kinda crappy during their brief "fight"; aside from the disk-thing looking odd, Haruhi's full-body dodges look like they're about four frames apiece. It's no Musashi but it's still pretty funny.

Until Anri's spell shoots out the window and lands RIGHT in front of Yuuma, pwning him hardcore in this HILARIOUS-looking explosion. Yuuma promptly gets two more pieces of chocolate for his troubles and the girls leave without remembering to ask his name. Welp, mages and normal students rarely mingle, so it looks like they'll not be able to pursue relationships, unless...

I dare you to guess what happens at the end of the episode. I DARE YOU! And thus a romance anime's plot is born! Doo doo doo do doo-doo! Oh, yeah, I forgot to mention that this is after several minutes of inner monologues and showing closeups of the faces of the relevant characters pondering the day. Looks like the first order of drama will be that Haruhi, unaware of Jun's endowments, mistook him for Yuuma's girlfriend (granted, the way Jun acts, that's an easy mistake to make).

All in all, while it is a basic romance anime and if you hate romance animes this isn't your cup of tea, it has a few interesting things that keep it from being generic (I'm fairly sure, for instance, I've never seen an anime where the female main mistakes a male crossdresser for the male lead's girlfriend, although admittedly I didn't finish Ouran) and might be worth a try if it's just the sameness of the genre that makes you hate it.

Either way, though, this gets a surprisingly tiny amount of attention considering it isn't half-bad; perhaps the widespread legend of Jun is scaring people away? As a side note, as is usual with dating game-to-anime conversions, the hentai stuff will not appear in the anime according to Wikipedia. In any case, only one group is subbing it, that group being Shiawase; but as they seem to be a one-time group of fans formed just to sub this one anime, you can expect high-quality perfectionist subs at a rather slow release speed. I've also seen torrents claiming to be RMVBs from KissSub, but they're probably fakes as KissSub's forum has no indication that they've picked this up and the files look suspicious as hell.

Hyde`fK
post Oct 29 2006, 06:47 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Another Haruhi.
Tsukasa
post Oct 29 2006, 06:54 PM

1,042 posts

This Haruhi is cute.. think this one is a promosing anime as they promise maho girl and maho guys also.. biggrin.gif
igor_is300
post Oct 29 2006, 07:09 PM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Oct 29 2006, 04:03 PM)
*snip*

Either way, though, this gets a surprisingly tiny amount of attention considering it isn't half-bad; perhaps the widespread legend of Jun is scaring people away? As a side note, as is usual with dating game-to-anime conversions, the hentai stuff will not appear in the anime according to Wikipedia. In any case, only one group is subbing it, that group being Shiawase; but as they seem to be a one-time group of fans formed just to sub this one anime, you can expect high-quality perfectionist subs at a rather slow release speed. I've also seen torrents claiming to be RMVBs from KissSub, but they're probably fakes as KissSub's forum has no indication that they've picked this up and the files look suspicious as hell.
Jaa, I was about to bring out this superior Hgame/Anime title in lowyat.net but the existance of Jun Watarase may shattered people's feelings whom thought him as a babe laugh.gif . Anyway the sequel of Happiness ! eroge is coming to our way with the debut of Jun's sexorz scene.

Some internets rumours

QUOTE(Anonymous)
Lets face it: Jun wouldn't be popular if he was a she. Jun has a rather generic eroge herione look to him. Other than his plumbing, he's looks and sound exactly like a girl. It makes me think that when they company was brainstorming ideas for a plot, they decided to pick one of the girls and say "Why don't we make this one a man?" Whether that was how it happened or not, it certainly paid off for them. Few people would know (or care) about Happiness if not for Jun's girlish manliness.

QUOTE(Anonymous)
T my understanding, there is a Jun route in Happiness 2. So you can see feast your eyes upon all the man-on-man action you desire.

Okay the youtube material somehow related. Eroge is a serious business, you can see how they put female seiyuu on Jun.

linkinstreet
post Oct 29 2006, 08:48 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

JUN~~~!!!!!!
The best trap ever created
Aoshi_88
post Oct 29 2006, 09:19 PM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

I could swear that the blond in the second pic looks like a character from Matantei Loki Ragnarok. Same artist?
Dark Steno
post Nov 4 2006, 10:58 PM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

user posted image user posted image

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image

user posted image user posted image

*runs*

naga_jahat
post Nov 5 2006, 12:24 AM

lol ..
in their CG ..
there is no TRAP ..
awyongcarl
post Nov 5 2006, 03:19 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(naga_jahat @ Nov 5 2006, 12:24 AM)
lol ..
in their CG ..
there is no TRAP ..
lol, maybe there is one in the picture posted by Steno..
ya know what I mean tongue.gif

What can I say?
It is 100% a girl if you ask anyone who didn't know anything about this anime.
Hell my bro argued that Jun is a girl..
And he just couldn't bear the impact after he watch the anime shocking.gif

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Nov 5 2006, 03:22 AM
SailorMercury
post Nov 5 2006, 11:07 PM

Touhou Master
776 posts

ITS A TRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
elfenrir
post Nov 6 2006, 02:42 PM

Sadly, my only drive to watch this anime is solely for Jun brief appearances in it. The story looks meh, the art looks meh, the Haruhi characters is a shame for the previous 2 Haruhis before it. Overall, not much attractions going for this anime, which make its rank slightly higher than GIFT & that Navel anime with 20 clone faces (yes, i don't bother to even remember the name of that anime).
awyongcarl
post Nov 6 2006, 02:53 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(elfenrir @ Nov 6 2006, 02:42 PM)
Sadly, my only drive to watch this anime is solely for Jun brief appearances in it. The story looks meh, the art looks meh, the Haruhi characters is a shame for the previous 2 Haruhis before it. Overall, not much attractions going for this anime, which make its rank slightly higher than GIFT & that Navel anime with 20 clone faces (yes, i don't bother to even remember the name of that anime).
Agreed.
Got the same feeling here.
I watch this is just becuz of Jun.
She..ahem..He is the most outstanding character in this anime.
Dark Steno
post Nov 6 2006, 03:24 PM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Nov 6 2006, 02:53 PM)
I watch this is just becuz of Jun.
She..ahem..He is the most outstanding character in this anime.
HE IS A MAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAN!

Jun says, "An awyongcarl is fine too."

awyongcarl
post Nov 6 2006, 03:35 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Nov 6 2006, 03:24 PM)
HE IS A MAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAN!

Jun says, "An awyongcarl is fine too."

You are creepyin me sweat.gif
Don misunderstood what I've said laugh.gif
I just mean this kind of idea are attracting.

And I hereby to clarify,
I'M NOT FKING GAY

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Nov 6 2006, 03:39 PM
Dark Steno
post Nov 6 2006, 03:40 PM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

Because you said that you watch this series because of Jun.
Iskandar Zulkarnain
post Nov 6 2006, 05:21 PM

The Enlightened One
5,096 posts

I sense great confusion within this thread.
awyongcarl
post Nov 6 2006, 05:26 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(Iskandar Zulkarnain @ Nov 6 2006, 05:21 PM)
I sense great confusion within this thread.
Yeah...a very great confusion..

Btw, this owned.

//Pic removed because it is a bit suggestive of 'something'
//HMMaster

I hope I don't get any warn after this...

This post has been edited by HMMaster: Nov 6 2006, 11:02 PM
Hangmen
post Nov 6 2006, 05:35 PM

EXAM System On!
2,343 posts

Gay Jun is an American.

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Nov 6 2006, 03:35 PM)
Don misunderstood what I've said
I just mean this kind of idea are attracting.

And I hereby to clarify,
I'M NOT FKING GAY
Yes, you are not gay. You're just... different, that's all.

This post has been edited by Hangmen: Nov 6 2006, 05:54 PM
Sichiri
post Nov 6 2006, 06:07 PM

1,191 posts

QUOTE(Hangmen @ Nov 6 2006, 05:35 PM)

Nah, Jun is not a shota, futanari is a better match.
igor_is300
post Nov 6 2006, 06:39 PM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ Nov 6 2006, 06:07 PM)
Nah, Jun is not a shota, futanari is a better match.
You mean both male and female reproduction system attached ?

That's a news !
Sichiri
post Nov 7 2006, 12:00 AM

1,191 posts

QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Nov 6 2006, 06:39 PM)
You mean both male and female reproduction system attached ?

That's a news !
I thought futanari just meant d!ckgirls?
ah wellz.
awyongcarl
post Nov 7 2006, 12:22 AM

1,870 posts

This thread is getting dirty and ridiculous sweat.gif
Better correct it before it cause any havoc.

My sincerest apology to HMMaster.

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Nov 7 2006, 12:23 AM
Dark Steno
post Nov 7 2006, 12:45 AM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ Nov 7 2006, 12:00 AM)
I thought futanari just meant d!ckgirls?
ah wellz.
Yes, futanari means just like you said. But Jun isn't a girl. What makes you think that he is a girl? Futanari applies for girl with such thing. So, what Hangmen said is quite match, a shota.
Sichiri
post Nov 7 2006, 01:12 AM

1,191 posts

QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Nov 7 2006, 12:45 AM)
Yes, futanari means just like you said. But Jun isn't a girl. What makes you think that he is a girl? Futanari applies for girl with such thing. So, what Hangmen said is quite match, a shota.
Well I'm just saying that Jun is prolly more of a treat for futanari lovers than shotacons.

This post has been edited by Sichiri: Nov 7 2006, 01:13 AM
miloy2k
post Nov 7 2006, 08:14 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Nov 7 2006, 12:22 AM)
This thread is getting dirty and ridiculous sweat.gif
Better correct it before it cause any havoc.

My sincerest apology to HMMaster.
may teh Emperor Light guide u tongue.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
SailorMercury
post Nov 10 2006, 11:04 PM

Touhou Master
776 posts

TRAPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

note : miloy2k LOVES trap
miloy2k
post Nov 14 2006, 04:56 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(SailorMercury @ Nov 10 2006, 11:04 PM)
TRAPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

note : miloy2k LOVES trap
.............. sleep.gif rclxub.gif
awyongcarl
post Nov 19 2006, 03:55 AM

1,870 posts

Eps4 by Shiawase just released!
Iskandar Zulkarnain
post Jan 19 2007, 10:22 AM

The Enlightened One
5,096 posts

And thus the universe imploded.
Sora
post Jan 19 2007, 10:25 AM

:D
2,574 posts

^Oh my dear lawd.

My eyes !!!
Tsukasa
post Jan 20 2007, 03:45 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Iskandar Zulkarnain @ Jan 19 2007, 11:22 AM)

Wow nice picture. Hope the mod dont think it as a porn picture as its a guy character for those who watch this anime..

My eyes.. shocking.gif
miloy2k
post Jan 21 2007, 06:44 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

//OT

Iskandar we may use "her" to crush teh rebel scum that still resist teh Empire rule through out teh universe brows.gif
Sichiri
post Jan 21 2007, 06:47 PM

1,191 posts

STICK IT IN HER POOPER
amacharu
post Jan 21 2007, 06:49 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(Iskandar Zulkarnain @ Jan 19 2007, 10:22 AM)

ummm.... is that a hug pillow (dakimakura)?
SailorMercury
post Jan 21 2007, 06:52 PM

Touhou Master
776 posts

i.....
must resist......
it...... is...... still...... a....... trap.....

This post has been edited by SailorMercury: Jan 21 2007, 06:52 PM
Dark Steno
post Jan 21 2007, 07:08 PM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

QUOTE(amacharu @ Jan 21 2007, 06:49 PM)
ummm.... is that a hug pillow (dakimakura)?
Tes.

QUOTE(SailorMercury @ Jan 21 2007, 06:52 PM)
fap fap fap fap fap fap
OMG SM!
Yam
post Jan 22 2007, 11:23 AM

3,540 posts

i was browsing through until i saw that pic up there and... ugh... mega_shok.gif (in library now, if u get what i mean)
miloy2k
post Apr 2 2007, 03:06 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

bump laugh.gif
j.k.

This anime movement kinda "not smooth" like other anime such as Kamichu tongue.gif

0.0207sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:17 PM