Business Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)
aaron1kee
Nov 29 2012, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(fino_abama @ Nov 29 2012, 12:08 AM) She started her L1 in Noesis. Are you worried about being new cos you join from L2? Don't worry, it's a very small and friendly batch. You'll fit in easily. =) QUOTE(euniceyew @ Nov 29 2012, 12:13 AM) alright..glad to know that  thanks... All CFA peeps are equal and friendly! =)
aaron1kee
Dec 5 2012, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(mcrayfc @ Dec 5 2012, 11:40 AM) Hi aaron1kee, I understand that Sunway L3 classes will only start in Jan 2013? Instead of Dec 2012? Can you confirm? Thanks. Yeah, apparently they couldn't garner enough people. Classes will start in Jan nonetheless AFAIK. Added on December 5, 2012, 11:10 pmQUOTE(Unnature @ Dec 2 2012, 12:36 PM) Hey all CFA peeps! I just finished my SPM, and planning to go for CFA in the future as I am very interested in finance and investment Any suggestions for me to take up CFA in a fastest way? My planning now is = going to TARC next year to take accounting and finance (ACCA) , after that I will pursue for CFA when Im working.. I think I would waste a lot of time. Sorry Newbie here, any opinion or suggestions please? Thanks all  Well, that's the exact route I took. CAT > ACCA > CFA. But honestly, why the rush? U just finished your SPM. Evaluate your options, explore other alternatives before committing. CFA is still too far-fetched for now. Who knows you might just discover another interest of yours. This post has been edited by aaron1kee: Dec 5 2012, 11:10 PM
aaron1kee
Dec 8 2012, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(mcrayfc @ Dec 7 2012, 05:27 PM) Hi aaron1kee, how likely will sunway-tes organise the level 3 cfa classes, given that the number of students thus far is low? Any possibility sunway-tes will cancel level 3 classes? The reason I am asking is I am sponsored by my company. If sunway-tes is not doing level 3, then i need to inform my company fast an enroll me somewhere else (kasturi or noesis). U have any info? Thanks. Hey mcrayfc, like I said earlier the class will start nonetheless, no matter how low the turnout it may be. If you have any specific questions, you can contact PIC liyeeny@sunway.edu.my. She is the admin for Sunway CFA. Added on December 8, 2012, 10:08 amQUOTE(fino_abama @ Dec 7 2012, 05:49 PM) Hi mcrayfc, Just to let you know (maybe you already have the schedule), we're done with SS3 (Behavioral Finance) and SS4 (Private Wealth Management) last week and this Sunday we will cover SS6 (Capital Market Expectation) and SS17 (Performance Evaluation & Attribution), then SS14 (Risk Mgmt) by end of the month. The classes won't be repeated (but it's recorded), so you might want to check out classes at Kasturi (which I suspect have started as well). I think Sunway will likely start the class, otherwise they will never get the ball rolling (just my take, wait for aaron to get back or perhaps call Sunway to ask). UPDATE: I've checked Kasturi's schedule. They've started since 17th Nov and to date have completed 4 study sessions (plus this coming weekend, that will be 6 study sessions). Source: Kasturi 2013 Jun CFA L3 TimetableI'm falling behind the schedule and along with classes delay. FINO This post has been edited by aaron1kee: Dec 8 2012, 10:08 AM
aaron1kee
Dec 16 2012, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(fino_abama @ Dec 13 2012, 01:25 PM) Aaron mentioned before that the hours at Sunway are lesser but the lecturers are always willing to help if students work hard as well (correct me if i'm wrong, aaron). They also give progressive test after every sub (?) i think, so you should be fine.
I do agree that Sunway hours are significantly lower than norm (maybe it's due to the low take up rate?). And yes we do have internal assessment (2 progress test, 1 mock). Then again, it all boils down to your commitment & dedication. Cheers. Added on December 16, 2012, 9:11 pmQUOTE(fino_abama @ Dec 13 2012, 08:53 PM)   Hi everyone, Noesis Ex Ed is organizing an Industry Overview Forum on 18th December (next Tuesday) from 7:00-9:30pm. For the CFA program, there will be speakers from various professions (i.e. Corporate Finance, Fund Management, Institutional Dealing and Treasury). The price is RM50 person (it is FREE if you bring a friend) for the forum and there will be a lok lok party after that. I'll be traveling during that week (I won't be going) so if you are interested, find a pair to get free entry for both. I'll go for the talk if only fino is there. This post has been edited by aaron1kee: Dec 16 2012, 09:11 PM
aaron1kee
Feb 18 2013, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(fino_abama @ Jan 24 2013, 03:46 PM) Agreed. Failure rate is also very high because most of the candidates never prepared well or are over-confident. Level 3 in 100 days.
aaron1kee
Feb 19 2013, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(fino_abama @ Feb 19 2013, 12:15 AM) 101 days left, and I'm going to start a new job next month. Lol LOL! Fund manager?
aaron1kee
Feb 21 2013, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(fino_abama @ Feb 19 2013, 01:49 PM) Risk manager  Congrats! How's the job scope like?
aaron1kee
Mar 30 2013, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(siew14 @ Mar 20 2013, 11:25 AM) Hello peeps, now is already march.... how is your studies going? Yes, books given by CFA after registration is the textbook.... However, you could order from them without register the exam - i asked them before- But the textbook is quite costly as well, is like might as well pay a little bit to register for the exam..  QUOTE(fino_abama @ Mar 22 2013, 09:37 PM) Doing 1st round revision. Have completed the mock exams. Wrapped up the fifth book last friday. Doing practice now.
aaron1kee
Mar 31 2013, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(siew14 @ Mar 31 2013, 05:56 PM) that is early awesome.. 2 months before exam... gambateh! need to pick up abit like fino... already in revision mode liao... gambeteh! 6 copies... they will ship it you for USD20 , under UPS i think... of course orignal version.... forget about the softcopy.... caues u will most likely get the schweser notes in soft copy... lol... fina manyzer d tak payah nak cfa.
aaron1kee
Apr 11 2013, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(reeve-826 @ Apr 6 2013, 08:44 PM) Both softcopy and original copy are the same study sources? Any different between softcpoy and original copy? Currently, im gonna complete in my degree. I'm still consider to take or not to take CFA. Any recommendation?  I chose both. Mainly to read it on my iPad and do exercise on the hardcopy.
aaron1kee
May 21 2013, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(T3N5AI @ May 13 2013, 09:47 AM) Textbook is kinda hard to understand to be honest. That was da reason why I'm actually searching for other alternatives. And 1 textbook is like more than 300 pages. 6 books total up to more than 1800 pages. Dats alot of reading. Lo I don't read textbooks as well. The syllabus is too wide to be covered in such a short amount of time. I do rely a lot of schweser, and practices as well. Now a lot people have different opinions about Schweser but they are the ones that got me through the test.
aaron1kee
May 29 2013, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(fino_abama @ May 29 2013, 09:38 PM) Ready, bro?  2 more days. Can't wait
aaron1kee
May 30 2013, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(fino_abama @ May 29 2013, 11:14 PM) Me too. Let's get this over with. Is Noesis providing lunch this time round? I rmb last time they booked paparich eh?
aaron1kee
May 30 2013, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(fino_abama @ May 30 2013, 11:43 AM) Going to Trader's Hotel for lunch Danggg. Premium suite services. Best of luck to both of us bro!
aaron1kee
Jun 2 2013, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(fino_abama @ May 30 2013, 01:14 PM) All the best to us both ;-) How's exam? Rmb not to discuss exam content else risk violating professional ethics conduct
aaron1kee
Jun 2 2013, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(fino_abama @ Jun 2 2013, 11:15 AM) Think I almost lost my wrist in the AM session. Yourself? As usual I'm gna fail my ethics part. The questions are quite tricky isn't it?
aaron1kee
Jun 3 2013, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(kinwing @ Jun 3 2013, 09:27 AM) Yeah 10% of the paper in fact.
aaron1kee
Aug 3 2013, 10:23 PM
best of luck for L3! let's get through this once & for all! @fino_abama
aaron1kee
Aug 6 2013, 11:37 PM
Congrats to all L3 passers!
aaron1kee
Aug 8 2013, 01:49 AM
QUOTE(fino_abama @ Aug 7 2013, 11:46 PM) How did you do bro?