New Unifi IPTV Box - Huawei EC6108V8, Need some help on configuration and tips

keewah
post Feb 2 2017, 02:19 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 1 2017, 09:04 PM)
The latest update removes Google Play Store. Well, if you want to install apps, just download ES File Explorer. Try to search for it using browser and download it. Install from Download folder. With File Explorer, you don't need Play Store anymore. Anyway, I only used once Play Store to install ES File Explorer and after that all my apps are sideloaded.
already 6 months i never turn on this box ... only last week, on CNY eve,i try to turn on the box and notice it require me to do the update.

i try to cancel the update , but without the update the HyypTV app will not run

is there a way to stop the update ?
keewah
post Feb 2 2017, 03:10 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 2 2017, 02:41 PM)
Oh, I don't use HyppTV, just use it as pure Android box. biggrin.gif
Just started few months ago, TM started charging users if they go to your house to fix it and it's actually user's fault. tongue.gif
haha , i see... but as long as you connected to the port4 (vlan 600) it will trigger auto update

oh !!
i know why...
your box does not trigger auto update cause it is not connect to their vlan600 network, i guess ?

yup, now days ifTM come onsite for support and the fault at user end, need to pay RM53 sad.gif
last time i report need to change my hyppTV box [silver color, 1st gen i think] they said come on site need to charge ... and now my dlink model D612 antenna broken , but still cant change cause still working properly cry.gif
keewah
post Feb 2 2017, 03:28 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 2 2017, 03:13 PM)
I supposed so. Never plug to any router, just use WiFi and I have removed the auto update link.
aiks .. no wonder ... guess too late for me now

already applied the update T_T
keewah
post Feb 3 2017, 10:15 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(Ahmad Fikri Bin Mahmood @ Feb 2 2017, 03:35 PM)
auto update?.... i have this box for over 1 year and never receive it. maybe because i use different router?

weird...  confused.gif

properly also TM guy remove the autoupdate link during day of installation (possible since i cannot find the update link mention on previous post)

btw... anybody having same issue of iflix request username/password after update in playstore? dem sakit kepala already to make it work since before this working find without any issue
no wonder ... i think the box still virgin ... many default TM setting still intact
so it get updated >_<
keewah
post Jun 7 2017, 09:22 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(myron649 @ Jun 7 2017, 05:53 PM)
anyone can help to connect hytv box to wifi?

I checked the setting > wirelss > it showed connected... but somehow can't stream...

when i plug in LAN cable, then it works...
To put on layman term ,

When u connect to LAN, it is actually connected to a seperate VLAN that will stream all the movie from HyppTV server.
while assume u connected to WIFI , u just connected to public internet which do not have the connection to HyppTV server
keewah
post Jun 14 2017, 08:29 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(myron649 @ Jun 12 2017, 02:28 PM)
i actually want to stream those movie/drama from apps....i dont think those apps from hypptv server right?

i wan place my hypptv box at downstair living hall...while my router on upstairs...
I believe when you stream from your apps, it it utilizing the same bandwidth with internet as it is not dedicated from VLAN 600
keewah
post Jun 14 2017, 09:58 AM

427 posts

By the way, want to ask Sifu here,

I just 'downgrade' my white huawei box from the mandatory update last few months .

Still with the old firmware, I install a few Apps such as Kodi and Astro_On_The_Go.

I would like to ask , if I now enable the update , can my apps still works after the firmware upgrade ..

The reason i wanted to upgrade is that, i would like to use build-in app [iflix] within the Hypptv app.

thanks.
keewah
post Jun 14 2017, 04:23 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Jun 14 2017, 03:56 PM)
hello! im just upgrade to unifi yesterday.. and the hypptv box i got i suppose it to be the latest firmware(without play store).. do you mind share me the old firmware that having the play store?? thanks!
there are guide posted few pages back ... maybe u can try to have a look ..

Later when i back i will find again for u

Edit - oh , got the link posted ,thanks @OCMAX

This post has been edited by keewah: Jun 14 2017, 04:23 PM
keewah
post Nov 6 2017, 12:16 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(caesarx @ Nov 6 2017, 12:14 PM)
You cannot directly use others Hypptv box, as the username and box Mac address are link together.

what you need to do is call TM customer service, ask for your hypptv ID and password, and give the box Mac address, say you changing other hypptv box.

after you have done that, you own hypptv box cannot use to watch hypptv channel until you redo above step again.
and also , u need to connected to a dedicated vlan .
keewah
post Nov 28 2017, 10:47 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Nov 25 2017, 08:18 PM)
Hi guys, thinking want to buy this Switch

TL-SG1005D

for my setup like this, is this correct setup? this switch you think got problem with HyypTV STB?

I'm using TP-Link AC1200 and Huawei EC6108V8,
I am afraid you cant do this with normal switch as TM Router have its own dedicated port [they assign vlan tagging] for HyypTV STB Box.
Rest of the device you can connect to your switch, no issue.
keewah
post Nov 28 2017, 10:47 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 26 2017, 10:31 AM)
Yeah, yours more worth than mine.. I'm paying RM179 for 30Mbps instead of RM189 for 100Mbps..  ranting.gif
Mana dapat RM189 for 100Mbps ?
keewah
post Nov 28 2017, 12:44 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 28 2017, 11:22 AM)
Got.. Basically, those who signed up for the 30Mbps for 179 during the last promo got free upgrade to 50Mbps later this year. Then now, there's a "secret" package going around, that with just extra RM10, can get upgraded to 100Mbps + Jumbo pack and free phone calls package.. So all in, RM189 for 100Mbps plus the extras.. TM give some, don't want to give others.. So.. ranting.gif  vmad.gif

This is the wrong place to discuss such.. Can find out from the the dedicated TM Unifi thread under "Networks and Broadband". It's a heavy discussion there. Continue there.. Sorry..  notworthy.gif
Roger bro, thanks for sharing appeciated it.
In fact, yesterday get a SMS also , extra RM10 for upgrade Unifi but do not mention in details .
It also mention about Webe too but not interested that at the moment tongue.gif

0.0285sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:43 PM