New Unifi IPTV Box - Huawei EC6108V8, Need some help on configuration and tips

Max
post Oct 6 2016, 10:42 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 6 2016, 05:12 AM)
I don't think that's currently possible as TM made it such that it must be connected via Ethernet and only through a particular port.. Run a cable if you must..
if with streamyx can use wifi to watch hypptv.

i even bring the hypptv box to my unifi, use wifi can still watch hypptv. rolleyes.gif

my father house use streamyx 8mb+hypptv. my house use unifi. just testing the box with my unifi wifi, can watch.
Max
post Oct 6 2016, 02:11 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 6 2016, 01:30 PM)
Interesting.. Guess it's good news for Streamyx users.. Unless it's Hypptv Everywhere service that you speak about..? Cuz its generally known to function over wifi.
nope.
its the stock hypptv app in the box.
streamyx user doesnt have any dedicated port in router. just cucuk any rj45 port..

so i suka2 test at my unifi wifi and then at streamyx wifi. whistling.gif
Max
post Oct 6 2016, 03:47 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 6 2016, 03:42 PM)
Duly noted... Thanks for the info.. Will come in handy..  thumbup.gif
btw, the hypptv box is configured for streamyx.
as u can see in the system interface got option for streamyx and unifi.

for unifi, im not sure, coz i still use my old 4years old box (the 1st model) laugh.gif
Max
post Oct 7 2016, 08:54 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 6 2016, 04:04 PM)
Same here.. Using the 1st model too.. tongue.gif  TM's refused to change it for free cuz it's out of warranty.. Understandably so, however, me contract is almost up and they've been calling, trying to sell another 2 years lock-in .. Each time they call, I say I'll upgrade provided they come and replace all the equipment with newer ones and each time they respond with either "We'll get back to you" or "We can't, cuz something has to break first".. I'm like  bangwall.gif .. This is how they treat a longggg term customer... So been cajoling TIME (who's really close by) to move into the condo, it's been considered.. So if successful, easy to potong and jump ship..
yeah.. they also pushing me to upgrade.. ill ask same like u.. all item rplace or not, they say no.. but warranty extended like contract..
do still rejecting offer.. haha..

btw, i like more the old tv box, coz faster and less interface, direct to hypptv. the display on tv also more clear/sharp than the new box.
Max
post Oct 7 2016, 06:23 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 7 2016, 04:24 PM)
Ya.. That's what the SA told over the phone. Says, contract and warranty will be renewed and if any problems, they'll come replace. I refuse cuz I've been using the same equipment for far too long.. Want the fresh stuffs..  brows.gif
Oh, the latest box does not auto-launch the Hypptv channels upon power up? Well, that's a bummer... Ya, I'll keep declining till they offer a better price package and or agree to upgrade the equipment. Worst case scenario, after contract's up, will terminate and subscribe as new.  smile.gif
Yep.new box, Powering up need to wait like initializing..
And the picture quality to me like not very good compare to old box..
Its like depending on network bandwith.
Donno about others..
Max
post Jan 22 2017, 05:10 PM

1,705 posts

I did try my father's hppytv (streamyx) connected to my unifi.
Using wifi, can watch hypptv.
Max
post Jan 23 2017, 12:20 AM

1,705 posts

For unifi hypptv it uses Lan port 4.
But streamyx hpptv doesnt have dedicated port.
Cucuk any port or wifi also can watch... Seems like streamyx hypptv sharing bandwith with internet?
Max
post Jan 23 2017, 02:34 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 23 2017, 01:26 PM)
Excellent suggestion. I totally forgot about using such.

Cynox... Do confirm your house electrical wiring and hopefully both points are on the same phase.
Can help test speeds before, during and after hypptv usage?
QUOTE(Cynox @ Jan 23 2017, 01:34 PM)
Keatsan Thanks for the good suggestion.
Is the HyppTV box supposed to connect directly to the Unifi modem?  The Unifi installer connect the HypeTV box to the bundled wifi router (D-Link DIR-850L) LAN port and it still works.  It just doesn't work on wifi as i tested.  Wifi range is not a problem.

voncrane My tiny house is single phase only.  biggrin.gif
i will try later. my house unifi hypptv using the old silver box (1st model)
my father house using streamyx 8mbps (no fiber yet), but not using the hypptv coz use astro.

i will try later using my father's hypptv box connect to my unifi wifi.

if unifi hypptv, yes must connect port 4 on router.
but streamyx hypptv can use any port on router.. this is where im thinking does streamyx bandwidth share both hypptv n internet.

Max
post Jan 24 2017, 10:30 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Jan 23 2017, 04:41 PM)
This is interesting!
Streamyx HyppTv box is sharing the internet bandwidth.
What model is the box?
the small white box.

mine im still using the silver 1st version box.. more faster/responsive and the picture more clear than the new box.

Max
post Jan 24 2017, 11:22 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Jan 24 2017, 10:39 AM)
Like to know what is the model of the box.
If it is Huawei EC6108V8, then need to know how is it configured.
The Streamyx box is not bind to the MAC address. Moreover, it is not tag to VLAN600.
yes this model. EC6108V8.

Max
post Jan 24 2017, 11:42 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Jan 24 2017, 11:33 AM)
Is it possible to show me the configuration of this box that can work on normal internet via WiFi?
later if i go balik kampung, i will try snap.
however this box using streamyx line, not unifi.
if u notice inside conf. page, got streamyx and unifi selection.
Max
post Jan 24 2017, 03:13 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Jan 24 2017, 11:45 AM)
Someone mentioned that he used his father's Streamyx HyppTv  box on his Unifi line and it works.
thats me la..
Max
post Sep 5 2020, 03:30 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(amirul hafizz @ Sep 3 2020, 05:56 PM)
yeap..stb white calor got new update. i got it
Later can snap the software veraion?
Im interested in the solved lagging issue as mention previously.
Max
post Jan 21 2021, 01:24 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Jan 20 2021, 06:32 PM)
Not DC... kinda continuous hang after 2 weeks  doh.gif  and yes by asking them refresh port and I restart devices will be better... according to the Technician suspected due to new UniFiTV interface sort of heavy for White Box... maybe not happen if using new Black box  sweat.gif
This is like pushing subscriber to 'add-on' for the new black box.. this in BS...
If they provide 2 model box, they supposed to support it..
Max
post Jan 22 2021, 09:04 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Jan 21 2021, 05:37 PM)
Anybody know how to roll back to the old UI interface for the Unifi white box?

Thanks a lot..
I would like to do that also.. haha..
Possible to clone from un updated box? 🤔

0.1057sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:11 PM