Electric kettle

weikee
post May 28 2015, 08:31 AM

12,019 posts

Depend your socket load. IF its in dependent get the higher power like 2400 watt or higher, boiling sure faster. If you socket are shared with fridge or other appliances get lower load.

For me, I use gas to boil, is cheaper smile.gif
weikee
post May 28 2015, 10:32 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ May 28 2015, 10:24 AM)
Means we shouldn't share a power socket when we use it for kettle?
Yes if the socket are loop to appliances like Fridge, or oven.
weikee
post May 28 2015, 11:13 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ May 28 2015, 10:54 AM)
You mean the same row of the power point? Or each individual power point?
If all using the same copper wire to the fuse (same MCB), that mean is looping. Same row of powerpoint usually are loop. Not many will have direct. Some but I seldom see now uses Ring circuit.
weikee
post May 28 2015, 12:29 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ May 28 2015, 11:46 AM)
If that is the case, we should treat electric kettle as aircond huh. Pull a separate line for it.
No need lah, kettle only run 10-15mins a day. If using oven don't use kettle at the same line. Else my risk tripping, worse wires burned.
weikee
post May 28 2015, 02:24 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ May 28 2015, 01:14 PM)
Oven usually have a separate 15amp power socket, right?
Well, there are some shared, and owner don't know about it.
weikee
post May 28 2015, 03:57 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ May 28 2015, 03:38 PM)
Usually it won't really trip if using 13A fuse.
It will heat up the wire.
If oven is operate say at 2000watt, and kettle boiling at 2000 watt, 17 Amps. I hope the MCB will trip, else wires sure problem in long run.
weikee
post May 28 2015, 04:01 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(^Ware^wolf @ May 28 2015, 03:45 PM)
if all pull separate line , then i need a lot of MCB....
I have 3 rows of MCB just for first floor. And 2 1/2 rows of MCBs first Floor. Almost all my my socket are independent. It all depend willing to spend for installation.
weikee
post May 28 2015, 04:03 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ May 28 2015, 02:48 PM)
Isn't it the outlook of 15 amp power socket is different with the 13amp one?
They can install the 15amps socket for oven, but the underlining cables are shares with other socket. This is called looping/tapping.
weikee
post May 28 2015, 05:24 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(^Ware^wolf @ May 28 2015, 04:48 PM)
thats basically waste of money... it is like using Ron97 on a kapchai.... yawn.gif
Nope, is just having more air bags at the same cost. Since My contractor quote me looping or independent is only RM 10 difference. Why not?

And furthermore, it can easily convert to 3Phases and easier to split the load.

This post has been edited by weikee: May 28 2015, 05:24 PM
weikee
post May 28 2015, 11:49 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 28 2015, 10:31 PM)
I got it at the philips warehouse sale. I forgot how much but at a substantial discount
If you look at the link, the retail price is Rm289

Lazada selling now at 268
http://www.lazada.com.my/philips-stainless...603-442759.html
These are some appliances if not manage properly can easily increase house monthly utility bill. Imaging leaving it stay warm for 24x7 how much it take to keep in warm when the material it use are good thermal transfer (metal, stainless steel).

After I stop using the thermal pot, my tnb bill drop at lease 40+ units TNB, that only because I use termal pot for < 10 hours.
weikee
post May 29 2015, 12:10 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Career26 @ May 29 2015, 12:00 AM)
On what aspect?

From the spec, it will boil fast, but it sure will drain at least 11Amps from the socket. Because is using 2400 Watt heating element. If you want to keep hot water for longer period of time, get a Vacuum Thermal pot, after 24 hours the water still consider hot.

weikee
post May 29 2015, 09:24 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Career26 @ May 29 2015, 06:14 AM)
Thx weikee. But didn't you say that your TNB bill dropped after stop using the thermal pot? Is Thermal pot and vacum thermal pot are two different stuffs?
Maybe i use the wrong term, is should be called vacuum flask.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vacuum_flask
weikee
post May 29 2015, 09:26 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ May 29 2015, 08:34 AM)
If you want to have hot water in the morning, you can always try Panasonic's Thermo pot. Now am using NC-EH40P that can set to various temperature. Best is you can let it stand by for 6 hours before it starts boiling water. Meaning at night before sleep you pour in water, set it to stand by and it will start to boil the water after 6 hours. It can really lower down your power usage since it is 700W(but takes 35 minutes to boil full pot of water).
No need already, not switch to Vacuum pot, the hot water can last at least 24 hours. Enough for me to make milk for at night, and tea in the morning. Furthermore using Gas to boil are much cheaper smile.gif
weikee
post Jul 7 2015, 02:22 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(S'aimer @ Jul 7 2015, 01:56 PM)
No problem.

Getting a non electric kettle to boil water is more cost saving other than having a vacuum flask but it also means you need to watch the stove until the water is boiled.

Other than that, whether you have a electric kettle or using non electric kettle on a electric stove to boil water, there is absolutely no difference in saving cost regarding electricity unless you happen to be using gas hob to boil water. Just my personal opinion.

So I just say if you buy electric kettle to boil water then it should be fine as long as it is not thermal airport. A thermal airport can jack up your electric bill more than an electric kettle.
Depending on usage, with kids is we usually boil and put in vacuum flask, this can last more than 30 hours. For tea making, and own consumption boil what required are better, because we only consume what required, furthermore tea taste better when water are really hot.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jul 7 2015, 02:22 PM

0.0215sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:56 AM