Electric kettle

TSCareer26
post May 28 2015, 06:22 AM, updated 11y ago

289 posts

Hi there,

Very basic question - How do you guys choose a good electric kettle? Any brands, features to recommend?
post May 28 2015, 07:06 AM

1,003 posts

I have used Sharp & Kenwood for 10 years, the same ones. But the Elbas.....2 per year.
idoblu
post May 28 2015, 07:39 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

1. Prefer stainless steel with no plastic parts inside
2. Bigger lid opening for easy cleaning
3. Flat heating element for easy cleaning

Bought a Philips model

This post has been edited by idoblu: May 29 2015, 06:15 AM
evechong25
post May 28 2015, 08:00 AM

131 posts

I think sharp, ken wood, Panasonic also good. Elba is cheaper also can!
SUSsupersound
post May 28 2015, 08:05 AM

11,554 posts

Just to boil water? The most basic type without electronics, sure last long.
If you need some extra functions, I'll get Panasonic, rm270 at least in Senheng while other electric appliance shop I got it for rm225.
weikee
post May 28 2015, 08:31 AM

12,019 posts

Depend your socket load. IF its in dependent get the higher power like 2400 watt or higher, boiling sure faster. If you socket are shared with fridge or other appliances get lower load.

For me, I use gas to boil, is cheaper smile.gif
iastate
post May 28 2015, 09:29 AM

599 posts

I have one Elba electric kettle that I have used for over two years. Slightly cheaper than other brands and no issues so far.
enriquelee
post May 28 2015, 10:24 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 28 2015, 08:31 AM)
Depend your socket load. IF its in dependent get the higher power like 2400 watt or higher, boiling sure faster. If you socket are shared with fridge or other appliances get lower load.

For me, I use gas to boil, is cheaper smile.gif
Means we shouldn't share a power socket when we use it for kettle?
weikee
post May 28 2015, 10:32 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ May 28 2015, 10:24 AM)
Means we shouldn't share a power socket when we use it for kettle?
Yes if the socket are loop to appliances like Fridge, or oven.
enriquelee
post May 28 2015, 10:54 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 28 2015, 10:32 AM)
Yes if the socket are loop to appliances like Fridge, or oven.
You mean the same row of the power point? Or each individual power point?
weikee
post May 28 2015, 11:13 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ May 28 2015, 10:54 AM)
You mean the same row of the power point? Or each individual power point?
If all using the same copper wire to the fuse (same MCB), that mean is looping. Same row of powerpoint usually are loop. Not many will have direct. Some but I seldom see now uses Ring circuit.
enriquelee
post May 28 2015, 11:46 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 28 2015, 11:13 AM)
If all using the same copper wire to the fuse (same MCB), that mean is looping. Same row of powerpoint usually are loop. Not many will have direct. Some but I seldom see now uses Ring circuit.
If that is the case, we should treat electric kettle as aircond huh. Pull a separate line for it.
weikee
post May 28 2015, 12:29 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ May 28 2015, 11:46 AM)
If that is the case, we should treat electric kettle as aircond huh. Pull a separate line for it.
No need lah, kettle only run 10-15mins a day. If using oven don't use kettle at the same line. Else my risk tripping, worse wires burned.
enriquelee
post May 28 2015, 01:14 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 28 2015, 12:29 PM)
No need lah, kettle only run 10-15mins a day. If using oven don't use kettle at the same line. Else my risk tripping, worse wires burned.
Oven usually have a separate 15amp power socket, right?
weikee
post May 28 2015, 02:24 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ May 28 2015, 01:14 PM)
Oven usually have a separate 15amp power socket, right?
Well, there are some shared, and owner don't know about it.
enriquelee
post May 28 2015, 02:48 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 28 2015, 02:24 PM)
Well, there are some shared, and owner don't know about it.
Isn't it the outlook of 15 amp power socket is different with the 13amp one?
S'aimer
post May 28 2015, 02:54 PM

637 posts

I'm using this Kettle + Teapot set. I usually use the kettle to boil water and sometimes when I want to make tea, I just pour the hot water from the kettle into the teapot and throw a teabag into the filter holder. Then I turn the warming function for the teapot to go. This was my partner's ideal of a kettle when we were looking for a kettle.

Saves me the trouble and keeps the tea warm when I want it.

Something like a coffee maker & it's teapot set though.
voonmingloo
post May 28 2015, 03:38 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(S'aimer @ May 28 2015, 02:54 PM)
I'm using this Kettle + Teapot set. I usually use the kettle to boil water and sometimes when I want to make tea, I just pour the hot water from the kettle into the teapot and throw a teabag into the filter holder. Then I turn the warming function for the teapot to go. This was my partner's ideal of a kettle when we were looking for a kettle.

Saves me the trouble and keeps the tea warm when I want it.

Something like a coffee maker & it's teapot set though.
Be careful of water being boil many times, heard that is not good for our body.

SUSsupersound
post May 28 2015, 03:38 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 28 2015, 12:29 PM)
Usually it won't really trip if using 13A fuse.
It will heat up the wire.
SUSsupersound
post May 28 2015, 03:39 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(voonmingloo @ May 28 2015, 03:38 PM)
Be careful of water being boil many times, heard that is not good for our body.
Not really, you will have a happy doctor to serve you whistling.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:00 AM