If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ May 25 2015, 11:38 PM)
K2 is still be best tank
Later buy type10 mbt. tongue.gif

Japan, Malaysia agree to begin defence industry collaboration

Japan and Malaysia have agreed to co-operate on defence trade and related technologies as a reflection of deepening bilateral ties, a joint statement said on 25 May.

Following meetings in Tokyo between Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe and his visiting counterpart, Najib Razak, a statement said the two countries would "initiate negotiations on the framework for co-operation on the transfer of defence equipment and technology".

The statement said the move to collaborate in defence trade is part of a commitment by the two countries to raise their bilateral ties to a "strategic partnership".

The elevation in ties will also facilitate closer maritime security links, co-operation in Malaysia's infrastructure development programme, and collaboration in training and education.

sosej
TSyinchet
post May 27 2015, 02:09 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(ks1230 @ May 27 2015, 01:29 PM)
There is still no news on defense from RMK-11..are there really nothing for MAF this time around?
Rmk11 will see quite few project for maf.
but dun expect a big project like the av8 or sgpv.
sad but I can't get any news regarding mmrca though saab guys were seem optimistic on its. hmm.gif
TSyinchet
post Jun 2 2015, 11:12 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jun 2 2015, 10:42 PM)
sad to say but i have to disagree

those mega project is to stimulate our worsening economy in particular the construction

It keeping contractors, consultant and suppliers up and running. If no such mega projects, we would be in a worse economic slumps with rising unemployment. That time our armed forces will be worse off with no budget.

the only thing i would say our PM did was launching those transportation projects. It helps the city center transport and still keeping the economy running until for the next 10 years or so i would say.
Nothing wrong with putting more budget on mega project like mrt and so on.
but the government have to ensure they need to put effort into military spending as well.
if the government really pouring much more effort in esscom/esszone we wont have much terrible state in sabah and we can ensure our tourism industry hit that badly.
We got to have balance in managing our economy, security and so on.
too bad politician always underestimate the needs of investing in security and that goes for both camp.
There is also lots of issue I dun wan to bring into these thread especially on the mismanagement of public fund.
anyway let put a break on politics stuff here.
thanks.
TSyinchet
post Jun 2 2015, 11:25 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(ks1230 @ Jun 2 2015, 11:16 PM)
hmm..any comments in regards to the mig-29 rumour?
Nothing much.
Mig29 would put on limited usage.
I dun think tudm want to upgrade it either.
Well in the end it all depend on our political landscape changes which wind are blowing quite heavily.
Not going to touch too much on its.
TSyinchet
post Jun 4 2015, 08:27 PM

1,157 posts

It is a matter of budget and our current budget wont be enough for it.
if we wanted to operates it, the government must at least add usd1bil into the annual budget for operation cost.
TSyinchet
post Jun 13 2015, 11:33 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Jun 13 2015, 10:34 PM)

look inside so tidy and advance.....
i always dream we can get Fremm,, haha just dream....
pass time
I prefer type26.
TSyinchet
post Jun 14 2015, 01:08 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jun 14 2015, 12:15 AM)
we pull out coz no money  laugh.gif
We just stated that we are interested only.
not even enter into discussion. laugh.gif
Anyway I wont be surprise if it was chosen for tgpv. tongue.gif
TSyinchet
post Jun 14 2015, 01:37 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jun 14 2015, 01:23 AM)
i think it was uk who asked us if we are interested, and we were still evaluating the SGPV

in end, we decide to go for a ready design rather than the one that even builder canot finalized

Plus, it designed for gast tubine engine, I heard our navy swore nvr to go turbine anymore  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Nah, it was not even in the sgpv.
If we were to go in it will be in differ deal probably they would put under disguise of lekiu batch2.
There is no fixed design for engine and it still depend on customers requirements.

ready design? That is quite bs if you look at our sgpv project.
TSyinchet
post Jun 14 2015, 01:59 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jun 14 2015, 01:49 AM)
I know it not even on the sgpv project.

Tat time we already have in mind what we wanted

I think it more bullshit when builder can decide what to be on the ship rather than the client own request.

Anyway, the global ship was in design almost 20 years. Requirements change design also changed. Compared to our sgpv, it really fast already
Well to be fair global ship design from scratch while our sgpv based on gowind though they put up a major redesigning work based on our requirements.
it could be faster though if bns nodded on the initial request of the tldm.
TSyinchet
post Jun 20 2015, 09:57 AM

1,157 posts

Dcns certainly love to come out with crazy design and concept.

TSyinchet
post Jun 20 2015, 03:12 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Jun 20 2015, 02:20 PM)
Is it just me or shipbuilders are now building ships that seems to put emphasis on performance rather than fighting ability?
Well everyone get hold on lcs market which they seem to be very optimistic about it.
though the current price tag scaring off customers away.
About fire power lcs type are meant to be light frigate.

TSyinchet
post Jun 20 2015, 04:12 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Jun 20 2015, 03:20 PM)
This LCS trend is a fad created by US navy. There already warships existing, like OPV/corvettes or light frigates that are already doing the LCS's "job" of inshore naval operations with none of the high price tags or unproven tech.
I dun think it is unproven it was just a naming term.
perhaps sound more catching rather than using light frigates.
Let just put it as evolution of tech for light frigate toward speed, stealth design and smarter weapons system.
TSyinchet
post Jun 23 2015, 02:38 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(AxeFire @ Jun 23 2015, 01:51 PM)
there is a risk that the plane got too much stress that wing can fall off?
Possible.
but such structure fatigue on the wing can be easily notice during routine check.
the scary thing if such structure fatigue happens on hidden place and went unnoticed during routine check.
TSyinchet
post Jun 30 2015, 05:05 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Jun 30 2015, 04:29 PM)
Not a good year for military aviation
RIP and condolences.
A very bad year for indonesian military aviation.
Iinm they have suffer 3 incident. hmm.gif
TSyinchet
post Jun 30 2015, 06:09 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Jun 30 2015, 06:01 PM)
Yeah iinm 3 so far
But last week the f16 were dropping like moth.
It something contributed to all these accident
The numbers are quite scary.

Maybe the change of policy
Quality of the training or parts?

Cannot all be a coincidence
I think coincidence.
So far no news suggest they suffer from the same failures.

TSyinchet
post Jul 2 2015, 02:00 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Jul 2 2015, 01:09 PM)
I think medium-range UAVs with FLIR camera would probably do the best job of night-time maritime patrols in ESSCOM region. Drone controller at base can even put drone on autopilot and go drink coffee or eat some snacks if they got sleepy.

Predator drone?
That require huge amount of investment on satellite facilities, command and control hq, drone facilities and so on.
That cost billion of dollars.
TSyinchet
post Jul 2 2015, 02:07 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Jul 2 2015, 01:55 PM)
1. Actually before pompom island between malaysia/Philippine border have clear sea line, there place is best place to detect before indruder cross to our small island. also already have some quantity patrol boat at that area, at nigh should enough provide 2-3 patrol with radar to scan the sea.

2. correct the boat is small, but means it undetected, it small still can detected with in 5-6km from small marine radar. not mention biger patrol boat can detech it around 10-15km。 also coastal radar too far from border sure hard to detect intruders small boat, unless we built outpost near border.

3. base on my view patrol boat photo at ESSCOM, i found some already have small marine radar, some only have GPS, like CB90 full with marine radar. so i can see small not issue, is our patrol boat should include with small marine radar.

4. Nowdays even RHIB, small patrol boat also have shot range radar and GPS use for patrol use. ship will run navigation radar 24h, it will scan sea surface, also to avoid other ship or object, only air surveillance radar will run/off base on requirement. 

Furuno radar on top on some esscom patrol boat

new boat for esscom also got radar
sometimes it is not as easy as you think.
The underlining problem is on the number of boat and asset is not enough to cover the entire ccoastline.
thus you have huge time lags on response times.
those terrorist will always test our security coverage and if they find loophole on security they will strike.
Given our limited assets we will be very disadvantaged to secure our coastline.
TSyinchet
post Jul 2 2015, 02:16 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Jul 2 2015, 02:08 PM)
Agree.
other drone like cheaper from china also can。 
but it can do more simply one, means direct link to drone, but range limit to 80-250km depend drone model and antenna.
that range seem enough for esscom, if control hq set at pulau Bum-Bum。
I prefer we go for mpa with decent weapons.
TSyinchet
post Jul 2 2015, 02:30 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Jul 2 2015, 02:23 PM)
A rhib is a boat that have a lot of equipment.
But the pga patrol boat that encounter last night is a much smaller boat what can carry about 4 to 6 officer
Agree.
For drone a normal MALE type. Of drone witb better sensor ig good enough for coastal patrol
Haiz but unfortunately hisapputing did not put priority on mpa.
Seriously we should have go for it since 2013.
Atr72 with brimstone or hellfire and bae underbelly gatling would be my pick. laugh.gif

2 Pages  1 2 >
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0535sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:03 PM