Home Dumbbell workout routine for novice, Exercise check

TShelven
post May 20 2015, 03:14 PM, updated 11y ago

Doko Online
919 posts

Hi all. I am designing a workout routine for my wife to workout at home. I did this base on DL's Beginner workout program but since I am very lack of equipment, I have only 2 x 10kg dumbbell and a yoga mat, so the exercises I can pick are very limited. Going to a gym is not an option and I can't afford a powerack.

Workout A
Dumbbell Squat 3 x 5
Dumbbell Bench Press 3 x 5
Stiff Leg Deadlift 1 x 5
Dip (with chair) 2 x 8

Workout B
Goblet Squat 3 x 5
Arnold Press 3 x 5
Dumbbell Bend Over Row 3 x 5
Dumbbell Biceps Curl 2 x 8

Daily workout
Mountain climber 3 x 30sec
Plank 3x30sec

I don't really want to put a biceps curl in the routine to replace the chin up but I got no idea what to substitute.
Is the daily workout ok? Or better if subsitute with Leg Raise
Any comment?
icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Manlet
post May 20 2015, 06:22 PM

ᕦ (ò_óˇ) ᕤ
762 posts

if going to the gym not an option, and cannot afford a squat rack

then go buy a dip belt

all you need is lots of weighted push ups, weighted pull ups, and weighted dips, you can get a very nice upper body

well lower body is really hard to train without heavy weights

This post has been edited by Manlet: May 20 2015, 06:23 PM
Armesh
post May 20 2015, 06:49 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(Manlet @ May 20 2015, 06:22 PM)
if going to the gym not an option, and cannot afford a squat rack

then go buy a dip belt

all you need is lots of weighted push ups, weighted pull ups, and weighted dips, you can get a very nice upper body

well lower body is really hard to train without heavy weights
Mike Chang to the rescue

Srs. Not Serious.

Manlet
post May 20 2015, 06:54 PM

ᕦ (ò_óˇ) ᕤ
762 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ May 20 2015, 06:49 PM)
Mike Chang to the rescue

Srs. Not Serious.
bart kwan to the rescue

ah_suknat
post May 20 2015, 08:41 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

is your wife a total beginner?

have she work with weight before?
degraw1993
post May 20 2015, 08:58 PM

1,892 posts

TShelven
post May 21 2015, 12:03 AM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ May 20 2015, 08:41 PM)
is your wife a total beginner?

have she work with weight before?
Can assume she's a total beginner, she jogs twice a week and some cardio exercise from youtube, did very light weight lifting before (cant bench with empty bar, squats with empty bar) but has stopped for a year. Goal is to fat loss so I wanna increase her muscle mass.
While squating, her knees tend to have lots of tak tak tak sound, only able to do half squat. Thinking if I should let her do box squat hmm.gif

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ May 20 2015, 08:58 PM)

Thanks bro but these are abit too tough for her fitness level.

This post has been edited by helven: May 21 2015, 12:19 AM
degraw1993
post May 21 2015, 07:41 AM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(helven @ May 21 2015, 12:03 AM)
Can assume she's a total beginner, she jogs twice a week and some cardio exercise from youtube, did very light weight lifting before (cant  bench with empty bar, squats with empty bar) but has stopped for a year. Goal is to fat loss so I wanna increase her muscle mass.
While squating, her knees tend to have lots of tak tak tak sound, only able to do half squat. Thinking if I should let her do box squat  hmm.gif
Lol didn't read at your wife there.
ah_suknat
post May 21 2015, 07:48 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(helven @ May 20 2015, 04:03 PM)
Can assume she's a total beginner, she jogs twice a week and some cardio exercise from youtube, did very light weight lifting before (cant  bench with empty bar, squats with empty bar) but has stopped for a year. Goal is to fat loss so I wanna increase her muscle mass.
While squating, her knees tend to have lots of tak tak tak sound, only able to do half squat. Thinking if I should let her do box squat  hmm.gif
its the knee painful or just the sound without pain?

if just sound its normal

if its pain go see doctor.

0.0176sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:52 AM