Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

shawnlst
post Dec 7 2007, 06:54 PM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(dualshock @ Dec 7 2007, 01:41 PM)
i have one questions for you guys with EP...when you work in sg, do you still need to pay msia income tax? do we still need to declare anything?
Yes and no.

Yes, if you derived any other income from Msia i.e. Msia business income, dividend income, rental income, interest income and etc.

No, for your employment income as it is deemed foreign source income. Even if you brought/remitted back to Msia, it would be exempt from tax under Para 28, Schedule 6 of ITA 1967.

Hope this clears your Q.
shawnlst
post Dec 7 2007, 10:28 PM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(dualshock @ Dec 7 2007, 10:03 PM)
ohh...superb answers...thanks alot...now i don't have to worry about remitting money back to msia...but, do we still need to declare?
By right you have to declare all income received in Msia whether or not it is derived from Msia. But I have never bothered to declare as I don't have any income from Msia in the first place!

Remember that you have to declare your Singapore income to IRAS (Singapore tax authority) if you annual income is >S$20,000 (or S$22,000?...can't remember).
shawnlst
post Dec 8 2007, 02:50 AM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Dec 8 2007, 01:20 AM)
if i plan to study master at spore, izzit possible for me to study and work at spore?

wat kind of permit i need to take?

is there any study loan available for master?
Of course it is possible! I got client working and studying master at the same time. But she works 9 to 5 job, without OT. And she just got her master recently!

It depends on what kind of job you are applying. Work permit, S-Pass, EP (Employment Pass). After 6 months working, you can apply for PR, if you want to.

Err...I'm not sure about study loan but studying in Singapore can be a pain in the a$$, FYI sweat.gif
shawnlst
post Dec 8 2007, 09:18 AM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Dec 8 2007, 03:39 AM)
thanks for the feedback bro

1 question to ask is there any company willing to allow their employee to study n work at same time?

or izzit better to get a job a spore first then only think bout study master? or tell the interviewer i will study master n work for them at the same time?
No prob! I believe there is. Why does the company stop its employee to progress further by continue studying? As long your studies don't affect your work, it should be ok, right?

Perhaps, you can tell your interviewers that you will continue studying master and who knows, it will give them a better impression on you!! Anyway, mind to share which industry you are working in?

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Dec 8 2007, 08:45 AM)
1. In Singapore, got two-room flat or not, just like those low-cost flats in Malaysia? And how much would be the rental? I understd that HDB is 3-room flat, right?

2. If we work in Sgp, does it make sense to still use Maxis phone line? How much is the phone rate for Sgp phone operators such as Singtel or M1 (what's the other one called?) especially international phone roaming. Would using Skype-enabled phone be cheaper for calling Msia and Sgp?
Yes, they have even 1-room flat. But these types of flat are usually for those poor ppl. You can refer here Types of HDB flat and median rental price per locations. Just one thing, some of the locations, the rental could be much higher than what is reported by HDB.

No, you better subscribe a new line in Singapore as their postpaid is considered cheaper if compare to M'sia 1-to-1 without conversion. I'm not sure about Singtel or M1, but I, myself use Starhub (line is not very good-like Digi). A lot of packages you can choose to suit yourself. I subscribe with free IDD 018. You can check on their respective service providers website for detailed charges Starhub, SingTel, M1. Just always remember to read carefully on their T & C as they have alot of charges, even free incoming call!! doh.gif I never use Skype before (pardon for my ignorant...), so I can't tell you. IINM, u can call through MSN, right?
shawnlst
post Dec 10 2007, 10:33 AM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(dualshock @ Dec 10 2007, 09:41 AM)
thanks for the prompt reply...for the singapore side, i will only need to declare to the IRAS and not paying taxes since i'm not a PR yet...or i still have to pay taxes no matter i'm PR or not?
thanks for the reply
another questions for those of you who's working in sg and had to send money back to malaysia constantly...how do you do it in the cheapest manner? i know about TT but it's going to cost me since i'll be remitting money back often...anyone who's doing this, mind sharing your secrets?
Whether or not if you are a PR, you will still need to declare if your annual income exceeds S$20,000. And if you have chargeable income (net income after deducting reliefs), you will need to pay taxes, depending on your TAX RESIDENT status. if stay/work in Singapore >182 days (or 183 days?... approx. 6 months) per calender year, you are considered a tax resident and subject to tax scale rate. if <182 days but > 60 days, you will be taxed at 15% flat rate as you are considered as non-tax resident. if < 60 days, your income will be exempt from tax.

Cheapest manner? Go to money exchanger in Singapore (don't go to bank as they offer much lower exchange rate if compare to licensed money exchanger) and then go back to JB and bank-in to your M'sia bank a/c. Then, you don't have to incur any bank charges and receive lower conversion rate. Note that there is a risk of being robbed. If you think, it is not worth the risk, perhaps you go ahead with cktwai's suggestions.

FYI, money exchanger in raffles place (can't remember the name), bugis junction, mustafa at farrer park offer higher exchange rate than other money exchangers.

EDIT: Typo

This post has been edited by shawnlst: Dec 10 2007, 10:38 AM
shawnlst
post Dec 11 2007, 09:51 AM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Dec 11 2007, 08:25 AM)
About CPF contribution, does non-PR need to contribute ? Actually if contribute I feel better because the employer contribute too - so your remuneration/benefit is more, right?

WASHABUSHI/Jimmy - does your employer deduct CPF contribution? What about Socso? Mind if share normally how many % of your salary constitute the variable portion (I'm not talking abt the 13th month)?
If you are a non-PR, you don't have to contribute. Previously, whoever has work permit in Singapore is required to contribute CPF as well as his employer. Some companies have arrangement that even if you are not a PR/Singaporean, you will still get the portion of your employer CPF contribution (which is 14.5%) and yet you don't have to contribute to CPF. Thus, you get additional 'allowance' + your existing salaries. But still this will be considered your income and will be liable to income tax. Whereas the portion contributed by your employer to CPF is exempt from income tax. Just FYI.
shawnlst
post Dec 12 2007, 11:29 PM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Dec 12 2007, 10:59 PM)
ok, understd what you're getting at. But let's find out from bbmars or anyone how is the return like for CPF ? How many % are the contributors getting annually? If it is huge, then leaving it at Sgp till our retirement, may be alright too. It depends.

So, does anyone know how much returns for CPF in the past?
There are 3 accounts being allocated to; i.e. Ordinary Account (OA), Special Account (SA) and Medisave Account (MA) and their returns are 2.5%, 4% and 4%, respectively, IINM.

This post has been edited by shawnlst: Dec 12 2007, 11:31 PM
shawnlst
post Dec 13 2007, 10:45 AM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Dec 13 2007, 09:08 AM)
Between 2.5% and 4% only? That's about the rate of only fixed deposit. Outrageous. Even our EPF pays better.
pay back? You mean, instead of paying to CPF, the employer pays you direct?
Yes, for those non-PR or non-Singaporean. There are arrangements for that, for example those working in Big4 audit firms receive the employer's CPF portion of 14.5%. That's alot, man!!
shawnlst
post Dec 13 2007, 12:35 PM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Dec 13 2007, 11:52 AM)
well however there's a maximum the employer can pay back that CPF  cry.gif
Yea, cap at salary ceiling of S$4,500 per month. So max CPF you can get from employer is S$652.50 but still money is money whistling.gif
shawnlst
post Dec 13 2007, 02:59 PM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Dec 13 2007, 02:48 PM)
bbmars, I think the investment rate of CPF is disappointing. If that's the case, better invest back in EPF.

What about your office environment? are your colleagues helpful so far, Is there any politics or discrimation against Malaysians?

What about the working lifestyle there - is working hectic so far for Jimmy or Shawn or Washabushi?
I work in audit line and as you know, there are lots of deadlines... so kinda stressed most of the time when it's on peak period. But different industries may have different working lifestyle.

Working environment... well, so far so good as my team members are mostly M'sian + a few Singaporeans.
shawnlst
post Dec 14 2007, 06:37 PM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Dec 14 2007, 09:13 AM)
hey which firm you at ? We may be working in the same firm !
Err... just a local firm... not Big 4... now still building up my experience first before joining Big 4... I just came to Singapore to work about 1+ year ago. My office is in Orchard. Yours?
shawnlst
post Dec 15 2007, 04:15 PM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(MtV @ Dec 15 2007, 11:34 AM)
i see.

where did u guyz found vacancy on local audit firm in sg? thru where?
Through referral? Classified jobs on website?

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Dec 15 2007, 12:43 PM)
Also, What does COMMON ROOM mean in the clasifieds for room rental?
Normal sized room... not master bedroom.
shawnlst
post Dec 31 2007, 01:37 AM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(virginslayer @ Dec 30 2007, 06:25 PM)
oh,buti have a friend work at grandthonthern singapore. according to him,he need 1month to approve his wp.wierd.
btw,how much is the travelling from kl to singapore?and how long is the duration of transportation?
what is the fastest and cheapest? i heard can take train from kl sentral to singapore. can someone confirm this is a real news?
Depending on which company you are in. Some companies take shorter time to get WP/EP be approved. If you have worked in Singapore before, then your application will be approved much faster. Remember there are 2 types of work permit; i.e. normal Work Permit and Employment Pass. Usually the approval of application takes average about 1 month.

Travelling from KL to Singapore costs about RM30+, < RM40 depending on which type of coach you are boarding. Like I, myself usually take Konsortium, from KL to JB costs me about RM24 and approx. 4 to 5 hours to reach. Stopping at Larkin, then take SBS bus 169/170 or Causeway Link CW1/CW2 to Singapore Custom/Kranji MRT Station/Queen Street/Jurong East which costs around RM1.40 to RM2.50.

QUOTE(virginslayer @ Dec 30 2007, 11:41 PM)
yes yes..grant and thornton..the audit firm.
owh...wow...says i got sing 1.5k or 1.8k
after socso and cpf..how much will it be?
will the employer pay a 12% of cpf?`
QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 31 2007, 12:11 AM)
Already mentioned in my first post. CPF applies only if you are PR. So, if PR, you pay 20%, employer pays 14.5%.
1st year PR = employee 5%, employer 4%
2nd year PR = employee 15%, employer 9%
3rd year onwards PR = employee 20%, employer 14.5%

Some companies do offer remuneration package to pay you the employer's CPF portion, even if you are holding WP/EP, for example Big 4 audit firm. Please note that.

This post has been edited by shawnlst: Dec 31 2007, 01:37 AM
shawnlst
post Jan 25 2008, 07:55 AM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(bman @ Jan 24 2008, 09:19 PM)
Everytime you apply/renew EP you must go through the medical checkup.

This is so they can spot you HIV/AIDS people and tell you to get lost.

Your record stays in the database and forever blacklisted from Singapore.

They don't want you to have to subsidize your healthcare.

Care to explain why/what condition that you don't need medical checkup ?
If you already got your EP, fast fast apply for PR and then you no need anymore checkup.

EP application/renewal always must take medical checkup.
Good luck, hope the medical staff find your vein easily otherwise poke 3-4 times and blood shoot everywhere and you get bruises.

whistling.gif
It is not that everytime when you renew your EP you have to go through medical checkup. If you are a first-timer working in Sg or your existing medical checkup report is more than 2 years since your last application or renewal, then you have to go through a new medical checkup.

Usually applying PR need at least six months working in Sg, as part of the requirements is they need your last six months payslips. I don't know about people not working in Sg but still can apply for PR. I guess those are for dependant PR i.e. you have a Sg citizen or PR to sponsor you.
shawnlst
post Jan 25 2008, 01:52 PM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(sumitup @ Jan 25 2008, 11:59 AM)
wah lau, taki seems you are the only one that dont need to go for the medical check up. one lucky guy
Why not go for a free medical checkup once in a while? Since your company will pay for it tongue.gif No harm done, rite?
shawnlst
post Jan 25 2008, 04:50 PM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(bman @ Jan 25 2008, 02:00 PM)
Why are you guys so ignorant ?

If the company pays for it, don't you think they would know about your status and if it's not good, they will most likely discriminate against you ?

Don't you know your results are sent right to the employer if they're the ones paying for it ?

Don't you people have any sense of privacy at all ?

Why so many asians are such greedy people at the expense of their own dignity, spine and backbone ?
Don't you know about privacy and confidential? How would they know someone's medical status in the first place? hmm.gif Please lar... who said results will be sent to the employers, if they are paying for it? If that's really the case, people will go and sue the practitioners for doing such unetiquette practices. Common sense, common sense please... rclxub.gif
shawnlst
post Jan 25 2008, 06:09 PM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(bman @ Jan 25 2008, 05:27 PM)
Pre-employment checkups means your EMPLOYER wants to KNOW your medical results before deciding to hire you or not.

Sue ? Singapore has even less rights for workers lah. Same 3rd world mentality.
Hahaha... I think you have misinterpreted the whole issue. What we were discussing was that the medical checkup thing is part of the requirements for application of work permit to work in Singapore. It is applied from the MINISTRY OF MANPOWER OF SINGAPORE (MOM) i.e. a government body.

It is not required by your employer in the first place. And your employer has already employed you, subject to the approval of work permit... if not, why do they need to go through the hassle of applying work permit for you? If you are rejected by MOM due to your medical checkup results, it is too bad for you then.

Singapore has even less rights for workers?? Have you even compared to its neighboring country, i.e. Malaysia?
shawnlst
post Jan 26 2008, 01:02 PM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(pubee @ Jan 26 2008, 09:22 AM)
whats wrong with that?

Do u know u can actually get a PR if ur boss dont approved it. Not by marriage tho. I just heard my frz told me.

Added on January 26, 2008, 9:23 amneed to find accomodation kinda urgent la.

anyone can hook me up temporary. Will share the rent with u.
Yea, I got a friend who applied for PR without going through her employer's approval or so-called certification of employment. What she told me is that she explained to the ICA officials that her employer required her to fulfill certain terms and conditions (e.g. bond) if she wanna apply for PR. Somehow, she got her PR within 1+ months.

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jan 26 2008, 10:40 AM)
Nothing is wrong pubee..

Just some interesting jobs or field that u wish to work with "Only" required Singaporean /PR only. So whenever u send your resume i might get filter or rejected. (no harm of trying tough smile.gif )

If i haven get a job there how my "boss" wont approve my Workng Visa?

Accomodation.. i spend 1 day trip to s'pore n search for accomodation n meet up with agents and frens to see unit...guess what...$$$

Good luck to u mate~
I don't think we, Malaysians, need working visa, unlike UK. Yea, what we need is working permit and usually your employer will help you to apply after you managed to grab the job.

Nowadays, rental in Singapore is killing our wallet. Luckily, my landlord still rents me at lower rate. HDB 4-room flat, common room, SGD360 per month (for 2 persons), location Choa Chu Kang. Ain't that cheap? tongue.gif
shawnlst
post Jan 27 2008, 05:01 PM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jan 26 2008, 06:22 PM)
WoW CCK...SOOoooo Cheap? how long u been renting first? taxi fares/Electric/Water all rises but not your rental?
I just rented at CCK too 3 mins walk to MRT..guess what rm520 Common Room! where this is the cheapest among other places that i survey  wink.gif
Yea, I think since Sept 2006. At first, the landlord wanted to rent us at SGD450 but we negotiated until SGD360. Without AC obviously. But still, my place is kinda cool as it faces a big soccer field. BTW, from my place to Yew Tee MRT station is around 5-10 mins walk.

QUOTE(shirley123 @ Jan 26 2008, 09:00 PM)
We need any working permit to get a phone number at sg?
I havent get my working permit yet, but i need a phone number before i work there.
Yes, you need at least a Work Permit to apply for a postpaid mobile line and you need to pay deposit of SGD200, IINM. For EP holder, you don't have to pay any upfront deposit. You can try using prepaid line. That only requires to register using your passport.

QUOTE(phozen @ Jan 27 2008, 01:37 AM)
can anyone guide me on the monthly expenses in singapore? how much would it be for food & transport?

QUOTE(Fallen_D @ Jan 27 2008, 02:15 PM)
In my opinion, it depends. If u r working in s'pore, its cheaper compared to u bringing RM into S'pore.

A wantan noodles in Orchard road is $4, and in Petaling Street is Rm4 (i am not sure, haven't been to kl for 1 year). To me, for food its a dollar to a dollar. So, how much u spend in eating out a day (assuming u eat out 3 meals a day)?

For traveling, it depends where u are staying and where u need to travel. If u stay in one corner of the island and need to travel to the other side everyday, its expensive. Taxi fares are a bomb, especially in town area and during rush hours. A friend of my cousin stays in Punggol and took a taxi to NUS, the fare was $32.

Your question is kinda difficult to answer... shocking.gif
For myself, I'm working in Orchard and staying in CCK. So travelling is a waste of time. It takes me around 1 hour journey from my home to office. But still, my rent dirt cheap and worth it.

Anyway, my transport expenses per month around SGD100 (only include from home to office and fro) and food around SGD300 (usually 2 meals a day). And I go back to Johor almost every weekend.
shawnlst
post Jan 30 2008, 04:07 PM

Daydreamin'...
677 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Jan 30 2008, 03:17 PM)
if i work at singapore for long term (1 year) how will i get taxed? do i need to pay thing like EPF? no need to pay tax for malaysia?
Depending on when you commenced your first employment. There are a few different scenarios that will affect your taxability of income in Singapore. It has nothing to do with whether you are a PR or holding working permit.

Only Singapore citizens and PRs are required to contribute to CPF (i.e. EPF in Malaysia).

0.0198sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:07 PM