Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

htennek
post Nov 25 2007, 04:55 PM

I've been working in Singapore for 4 years.

I'm been a PR for 2 years.

This country is a shithole.

Only a fool would want to live here long term

Its even worse now as living expenses are going through the roof.

Working here will be a joy short term, but dont ever think of settling down here.

Btw, 20% of your money goes to CPF, and its just as good as written off, cause realistically, you'll never see a cent of it, not even if you give up your PR until you are 55
htennek
post Nov 26 2007, 01:40 AM

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Nov 25 2007, 10:09 PM)
Could you please describe why you think the country is so bad? May be you can share your experience with us who just start working in singapore.
Hmm there are a lot of reasons.

One of them is probably the high stress work environment. But that one aint too bad once u are used to it.

Then there's this population problem. man it feels like u are boxed in. Damn HDB's everywhere u go.

Forget about driving a car as well, the maintenance, parking, ERP fees will kill you. Only option is MRT, and the price rises every year cause they have a monopoly.

Social life can be good in singapore, if u are willing to spend. but whats the point? If you start spending, theres no point to go singapore to work in the first place. You will end up with nothing.

Money's the only real reason for staying. So you will be slaving away for pennies, and the goverment will find new excuses to take your money every few months.

Also one last thing is that once you come here, you will be trapped. First, you say you wanna stay a few years just to get money. Then a few years later, you get tired of the bullshit here, and want to move back. But you realise there is nothing waiting back in msia. All your friends have moved on, and have their own lifes and friends . You have nothing left, all you have is your work in Singapore. Then you will be miserable like me. Stucked between a rock and a hard place

Added on November 26, 2007, 1:44 am
QUOTE(bbmars @ Nov 25 2007, 11:39 PM)

Whatever the withdrawal age, I believe you still can withdraw you CPF provided you do not wish to come back to SG to work... I think this is applicable to E. Malaysians... like Sabah and Sarawak... W. MY, I don't know.
I'm very sure it doesn't for West Malaysia

The Singaporean goverment wont allow it

This post has been edited by htennek: Nov 26 2007, 01:44 AM
htennek
post Dec 1 2007, 02:49 AM

You all have valid arguments on the issue, but it all boils down to what you consider to be a comfortable living.

The thing is, for most people who came from Malaysia, space is a very important criteria for comfort, and this is one thing that Singapore doesn't have much of.

However, if you can put aside the 'pressure cooker' crampiness feeling of Singapore and settle for a 'very' small living space, you may be able to have a slightly higher standard of living in Singapore for SGD 4500.

I do warn you guys coming over, that there is a great temptation to spend in Singapore. Technology is more advance here, everyone change phones and buy gadgets a lot. You might end up spending more than you want to if you get caught up. When the culture around you is like this, you will tend to follow it.

Btw, my annual income 2007 is about SGD50k. I can tell you that I will be living a much more comfortable life(in my opinion of comfort) in KL with RM50k than in Singapore.

This post has been edited by htennek: Dec 1 2007, 02:52 AM
htennek
post Dec 3 2007, 11:17 PM

QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Dec 3 2007, 08:16 PM)
I am wondering, how you guys manage to find a job in sg? Through agent? Or go to sg straight away and stay at relative's house then look for a job there?

Izzit going to work if apply through website like jobseek.com.sg? How the employer interview you? Phone? Or must purposely go all the way down to sg for interview? I am from kl...
I guess sometimes its being in the right place at the right time.

For my current company, I applied for their Malaysian subsidiary, but the HR handed my resume to the Singaporean headquarters, and they called me up for an interview.

Yes, I went down from KL to Singapore for the interview. Treat it like a short vacation if you are going down, and maybe you can look around and see if you like the lifestyle there.

htennek
post Dec 6 2007, 08:11 PM

QUOTE(bbmars @ Dec 6 2007, 04:43 PM)
Don't get what you mean.  the 13 month salary is not part of the salary you negotiate during interview, it does not constitute any component of you salary. Meaning, if your company agree to pay you 3K/mth, by yr end, you get extra at least 1 month which is part of SG Gov rules regardless of how the company perform. So you are expected to collect 2 months pay in Dec, any extra is bonus.  Its a compulsary by SG rules... just that I know some small companies might give you at different time of the yr... like CNY instead of year end, I have a friend who happened to work in one such company.  When economy is good, company may pay you more on top of the 13 month.  SG Gov is giving out 2 months bonus (inclusive of 13 month) for this year.... total bonus given out for the yr 2007 is 2.5 inclusive of 13 month. 

However, in prviate firm especially the big ones.. like Kep Corp, SPH, SGtel, they may give you much more than  what SG Gov recommended.... my friend told me, Kep Corp = 9mths, SPH ~5-6mths, SGTel ( i know because in brother in law works there), how much, I don't know.. but certainly those holding higher post will get more than ordinary folk....
But do not expect all companies to give out the same as Gov,  because they also need cash in bad times.. so its pros and cons... do watch out.. but I would say.. you never know,, at least you get your 13 months
If i recall correctly, you wont always get the 13th month.

I think if company not making money or something, then no need pay

0.0600sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:16 PM