Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

chess_gal
post Jun 3 2007, 02:04 PM

1,006 posts

deadgalaxy,

U have a room in singapore? Which area? Am looking for accommodation right now...

pm me ur details n rate

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Jun 3 2007, 02:05 PM
chess_gal
post Jun 3 2007, 05:27 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(joblessnoob @ Jun 3 2007, 04:19 PM)
Why issit so hard to get a job in SG?
Ive applied for tons of them in Jobstreet and not a single interview.
What's ur qualification? Any field that you preferred? Job street SG hardly reply to Msian candidate unless u have extensive experience. Or unless you are from Engineering back ground then ur chances are pretty much higher. Singapore is in need of technical people..

Work in Msia for few years to add value to ur resume then try again. Good luck

Added on June 3, 2007, 5:30 pm
QUOTE(young_soul @ Jun 3 2007, 03:21 PM)
I forgot what its called...maybe its what you guys call SPR. Do we need a permanent S'pore citizen identity if we work there?
You just need a working permit or employment pass. Ur singapore firm will do all the application for you. After a year or so, you can opt to apply to be their PR and be eligible to the CPF contribution (Msia-EPF). To non-PR, the singapore company has the right not to reimburse your portion of CPF, in that case, it would be advisable to apply as a PR so u get your CPF (13%, heard its going 17% soon.. not sure though)

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Jun 3 2007, 05:30 PM
chess_gal
post Jun 3 2007, 11:19 PM

1,006 posts

Yes the SIngapore CPF is Much higher than Msia. The Singapore government believes in retiring rich but surprisingly, u can still see a lot of retired people working part-time in fast-food outlet.. a very contrasting sight as compared to Msian retired ppl! You don't see them working in Msia.

SPeaking of CPF, the employees contribution is a whooping 20%. That really kills...
chess_gal
post Jun 4 2007, 12:17 AM

1,006 posts

Employee- 20%
Employer-13%
chess_gal
post Jun 4 2007, 12:23 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(cristiano7mu @ Jun 4 2007, 11:51 AM)
hey juz wanna ask around,
if i only got a foundation cert is it very very hard to get a job in sg?

i think i'm gonna stuck in my degree now. haih.
With a degree it is already very hard to get you a job in Singapore because small firms usually won't bother to go thru the hassle of getting you an EP(EMPLOYMENT PASS).
To secure better opportunity, get a degree and try again.
chess_gal
post Jun 4 2007, 10:05 PM

1,006 posts

Yes, and you even get discount if u transit within a certain time limit. It so cheap travelling in Singapore. Not like KTM in Msia, one trip already RM3. There, with SGD 4, U can go a lot of places and not just one station.. multiple trips! Sometimes just 65 cent for bus n mrt!
chess_gal
post Jun 5 2007, 06:01 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(joblessnoob @ Jun 5 2007, 04:44 PM)
I have degree in electronic engineering, but my cgpa is less than 3.0
work experience is half year in electronic factory.
I now in Australia.
Will try my luck again after 2 years
If you have a degree in E&E chances are pretty high. Singapore is in need of Engineer. For some reason, SIngaporean don't like to work in SIngapore and rather opt to countries like US. SO more opportunities to us!
chess_gal
post Jun 5 2007, 06:58 PM

1,006 posts

Hmm, below 3 is a bit hard but still there is a glimpse of hope. Depends on which university you graduated from. Then again, a bit experience will definitely boost your chances. Try nevertheless, you never try, you'll never know. I have sent multiple application to singapore too. I thought small firms will be easier BUT i was wrong, none of the medium and small firms reply me. Then I try my luck with the International ones, I hit the jackpot.

They told me, small firms won't go through the hassle of getting you an EP. SO you have to apply to Big ones, cause they will be applying in bulk!
chess_gal
post Jun 5 2007, 09:43 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(young_soul @ Jun 5 2007, 07:43 PM)
I only have 1 year experience. Not sure if that will help...
What if we apply an EP ourselves? Will that increase the chances of getting a job in small/medium firm?
You can't apply EP for yourself. You need to get a sponsor (firm) to apply a EP for you. If everyone applies for a EP themselves then everyone will be coming to Singapore. I think you stand pretty good chance, so try your luck.

chess_gal
post Jun 5 2007, 11:40 PM

1,006 posts

Yes, and company will apply for you so rest assure!
chess_gal
post Jun 9 2007, 01:38 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(young_soul @ Jun 9 2007, 01:13 AM)
isn't it the same here? Eat, work, sleep, eat, work, sleep...online...sleep tongue.gif
I just want a change in environment and last I went to SG for holiday...I absolutely loved the place. biggrin.gif I know a lot of people saying that its not a good place to stay, but I really want to give it a shot myself.
Before I went there, a lot of ppl told me how kiasu Singaporeans are but those that I've met along the way are pretty nice people. Thankfully haven't met any nasty ones.

So I think, if you have the opportunity why not try something different? The reason I choose Singapore is the exchange rate. Save up some money then maybe open my own business and qualify to be one of the forummer in 'Earning >RM5K before 28yrs old thread!' (Achievable if I convert my SGD to MYR but not an apple to apple comparison)
chess_gal
post Feb 27 2008, 10:29 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Feb 27 2008, 10:15 PM)
I agree with that statement too.  There are easily many PRC people working as low wage wrokers like vegetable sorters and packing, retail outlet like teller at supermart counter. Their salary isn't high, but they can get by.  So I presum like I said before, many here in this blog are fortunate enough to demand higher wages.  However, there are equally many Singaporeans earning similar wages like these PRC people and are coping well.. So I guess the level of comfort counts alot here.

What's essential in SG might not be essential item in MY.  Just quote from a parliment session last year or the year before, it was said, SG basic essential due to the country build up was no longer what it used to be.. even having a PC is an essential in SG context as many are wire up and email seems inevitable, and essence of daily routine. Even HP could be counted as one.  But some 10-15 yrs ago, these had never been a way of life.

I still believe, despite SG cost of living, its far better for now as compared to MY.
I agree. Things here are relatively cheaper and salary is quite competitive. I worked in KL for a year with a salary of 2.1k as a professional (fresh graduate 2 yrs ago). The cost of travelling already took up almost 30% of my salary (Car Installment & petrol, toll), plus, the terrible jam and expensive meals around KL, in the end, I really have nothing in my savings.

Being in Singapore, I can now afford to remit back RM2K back home every month and indulgence myself in branded items and not worry over my expenses.

Demanding SGD3.5k is quite unreasonable if you have less than 2 years experience.

Just my 2 cents.
chess_gal
post Feb 27 2008, 11:23 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Feb 27 2008, 10:52 PM)
wei we're in the same firm now smile.gif
Hey Ct,

which level are you in?

Maybe we can meet for a lunch someday, I am at One Raffles Quay. But wont be long... got to go Tuas next week.. sad.gif...

Where are you staying?

Add me in msn. chess_gal@hotmail.com

Missfroggy: Would be a bit unrealistic, (unless HSBC Management Trainee or some high flyers in Investment Bank or Sales) to demand 3.5k in the first 2 years of working (unless, a model or freelancer) But in corporate, not so often you can demand so higher.

Of course I miss my family too as I am super close with my family but Singapore is still not too far as compare to Aus or US.

Once I get used being away from family, then I shall venture further.

chess_gal
post Feb 28 2008, 12:18 AM

1,006 posts

Yup Yup,

If I don't have a car and house installment to pay in Msia, I think I can afford an LV every 3 months! hahaha..

welcome to Singapore, the land of opportunities, the last year national tagline was 'Singapore, where dreams really come true' or something along that line.
chess_gal
post Feb 29 2008, 02:45 PM

1,006 posts

The CPF deduction is no doubt very high but it all boils down to your intention to stay long or short.

Despite the fact you can use th CPF to buy house, but being a PR you can only buy from the open market. Means, you cant ballot for a new HDB flat, but to buy from an existing owner.

Flats here are very expensive, minimum SGD300k for a decent 3 rooms flat. 3 rooms mean 2 bedroom and one living room (Yes, a living room is consider a room ).

For myself, I am still considering whether or not to get a PR. Perhaps will consider that after a year.

CPF or EPF, for me, those money best invest in unit trust, at least the return is higher.

chess_gal
post Feb 29 2008, 05:46 PM

1,006 posts

The property market in SIngapore is booming now. Not a wise choice to buy house.

Yishun and Woodlands areas are quite old and far-off from the city.

Of course, in Singapore, no where is too far but not having a car is quite a distance to travel.

My friend is staying in Yishun, very near MRT, but he bought the place for SGD200k, 10 years back. Are you sure it still priced around 200-300k, now?

3+1 rooms flat.
chess_gal
post Mar 18 2008, 06:34 PM

1,006 posts

Singapore firms love to hire malaysian, for we are well-known to be hardworking. Some singaporean said foreigners (Msian n PRC) 'spoilt' market for working too hard. Hey, cant blame us right? we don't have so much of subsidy from the government.

Singaporean, (the younger generation) are generally not so hardworking and prefer less responsibility but expects high pay.

So, if the firm try to incorporate 2 job but only pay one, maybe you can ask for higher pay, I think they will readjust your pay provided you really know ur stuff.

chess_gal
post May 4 2008, 09:37 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ May 3 2008, 11:21 PM)
@smartalec:

May I know if you get charged by bank for transfering SG money back to Malaysia? How about taxation?

Usually ppl change money in singapore and go over to JB to bank in. Tax rate is at 18%.
chess_gal
post May 17 2008, 12:28 AM

1,006 posts

Larger companies in Singapore, usually welcome foreign talents as they have higher resources to pay for EP (Q1) or Working Permit (P1)passes. Such levy are renewable on an annual basis and smaller companies think such expenses are unnecessary, plus, there will be a lot of paper work to be done to hire a foreign talent, hence some resorted to only hire the locals.

The requirements set as such is pretty clear, so better not waste your time to apply.

Singapore is very transparent in its governance, priviledge no doubt always goes to the locals, just common sense, your father as the government and yourself as the local, your dad will surely give in to your demand rather than your neighbour's child right? So, same concept here, but one thing different from Msia is that, the Singapore Father is FAIR to all children. If you get what i mean.
chess_gal
post May 17 2008, 12:52 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Dyong @ May 17 2008, 12:36 AM)

So serving 2.5 years in National Service is a privilege?

Singapore worships capitalism.
Capitalism goes for efficiency, not protectionism.

Again, PR is not equal to Citizen.
Well, apart from NS that is. Anyways, NS is a good training ground for the guys, most of guys around 18-24 are well-built and fit.

After a couple of years of being a PR, you can opt to apply to be a citizen. Just a matter of time and whether you want it or not.

0.0276sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:45 PM