Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

J(o)y
post Feb 5 2008, 05:23 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(shawnlst @ Dec 8 2007, 09:18 AM)
No prob! I believe there is. Why does the company stop its employee to progress further by continue studying? As long your studies don't affect your work, it should be ok, right?

Perhaps, you can tell your interviewers that you will continue studying master and who knows, it will give them a better impression on you!! Anyway, mind to share which industry you are working in?
Yes, they have even 1-room flat. But these types of flat are usually for those poor ppl. You can refer here Types of HDB flat and median rental price per locations. Just one thing, some of the locations, the rental could be much higher than what is reported by HDB.

No, you better subscribe a new line in Singapore as their postpaid is considered cheaper if compare to M'sia 1-to-1 without conversion. I'm not sure about Singtel or M1, but I, myself use Starhub (line is not very good-like Digi). A lot of packages you can choose to suit yourself. I subscribe with free IDD 018. You can check on their respective service providers website for detailed charges Starhub, SingTel, M1. Just always remember to read carefully on their T & C as they have alot of charges, even free incoming call!! doh.gif  I never use Skype before (pardon for my ignorant...), so I can't tell you. IINM, u can call through MSN, right?
Hi Shawn, Does the HDB normally approves for rental of a whole flat to malaysian, let say a 1-room flat or 2-room flat??

J(o)y
post Feb 6 2008, 12:39 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 3 2008, 12:23 PM)
it is not hard to get jobs in singapore with high pay if your have the experience they wan. But sometimes they will marginalize malaysians by offering us lower pay because we are malaysian and some companies will calculate the pay after converting SGD to RM so it will make it look like we had a huge pay jump. Please dont accept this, if your current pay is RM5k, demand for 25% hike in SGD or something like that. This is because, we r living in their country and there are alot of additional cost to bear especially the RENTAL part. Eating bread just to survive in SG?? better not...come back and eat rice with your family better coz its really not that worth it to be so lonely, eating bread and getting low pay.
Is that the standard increment rate in spore? 25%? thumbup.gif
J(o)y
post Feb 6 2008, 12:59 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(nameless @ Feb 4 2008, 09:05 PM)
well, It's depend what kind of life style you prefer and might to tell what kind of life style you having now.
such as what is you hobby and what activities you normally do.

Singapore is some kind city life style, if you're city boy wouldn't  hard for you to get used the life there. But social wise, it will never be the same again, even you will have new friends. I think you will still miss you you old pals & family.
My life in sg is everyday eat, work  and go home sleep, not because of lack of dollars, but no enough of time since my job's work load is damn heavy. Time probaly the only thing that hold you from your life style.
Good things oso.. u can save more money, cos no time for u to spend it in sg... i heard most jobs in sg is like that, rite?

Added on February 6, 2008, 1:08 pm
QUOTE(shawnlst @ Feb 5 2008, 07:25 PM)
No, I don't think so. Technically, the owner will ask permission from HDB to rent out the whole unit (which the owner, himself does not occupy it) and this usually applies to 3-room flat and above. Or perhaps you try to rent from HDB? However, most owners do not want to go through the hassle but still rent out their units. But bear in mind, this is an offense and the owner may get fined or something...can't really remember.

I wouldn't think you wanna rent a 1- or 2-room flat. It's not really a decent place to stay (no offense to those who are living there unsure.gif ).
Not decent?? WHy?? Isit normally near Geylang ..hehehe....

u mean to rent the whole unit, normally only those 3R above is available? i think those cost nearly SGD1.5K leh. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by J(o)y: Feb 6 2008, 01:08 PM
J(o)y
post Feb 14 2008, 03:09 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(nicholas_1213 @ Feb 13 2008, 08:33 PM)
After reading thru this thread (of course not every pages, there's 62 pages lol), i guess i'm thinking to work in s'pore too. How about those who plan to rent a room at JB and travel everyday to s'pore? It is a better choice than staying in s'pore? or it's a worse one?
Good news for you i guess... the government is relooking a MRT from Singapore to IDR, Johor. Pray hard..
J(o)y
post Feb 26 2008, 10:33 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(tpk1031 @ Feb 26 2008, 10:28 AM)
That is voluntary CPF....
@ terencetoo
can u eloborate y u say S'pore OL got look only because they speaks Mandrin?

most of them too materialistic... tot they r miss universe... OL also speak english... some even speak with ang moh accent...wahaha.
well, that is quite common tho. ppl look good and get lots of money sure will have higher demand... singaporeans whether OL or OG will all be materialistc.

But i do strongly agree, those OL are dammm hot man!!! Their tailors are very efficient, they can use limited cloth material to do a very professional outfit, sometime with torn materials, which they cleverly disguise and term it "slits"

J(o)y
post Feb 27 2008, 10:19 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 26 2008, 07:36 PM)
haha i ever saw a pretty chick at MRT wearing darn short skirts!!!! do u get what im saying..the skirts u can see half her buttok gosh im with my boss for Expo at S'pore ..it was heaven haha

OL yes~ they are pretty too~ n i spotted them mostly their outfits looks pretty smooth seems like exp material u never know~ biggrin.gif

Ohh y OL looks good but speaks Mandrin is it..okie saw a OL tall long hair nice perfume smell but she open her mouth n the way she speaks soo "lala" i mean not high class kind of rude..

Well~ some successful business man looks quite well dress too ~ u can see at Rafles area ~ hehe with nice car
i wish to elaborate more on the details, etc, after all its my most discussed topics amongst my frens ( u know wat i mean) but realising this is a public thread, and i dun wana kena banned here......
J(o)y
post Mar 12 2008, 07:48 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(plankton @ Mar 12 2008, 01:57 PM)
a quick question. for the following scenario;

Year 1 : work in malaysia, salary 2k RM
Year 2 : work in Singapore, salary ~2.2k SD
Year 3 : work in malaysia again, salary ??

would my 3rd year salary be around my current 2.2kSD amount converted to RM, or it would be lower according to the malaysian rate. IT field.

thnx
Unless ur very luckky, then dream on... Dun think u can get RM4.4K (SGD2.2 x 2 (assuming rate is 2:1 for simplicity)). But probably u can ask for higher than RM2.2K x % of increment rate, say 30% in general.

J(o)y
post Mar 12 2008, 08:41 PM

250 posts

How come evryone is getting interview nowadays???
I din't get any, despite trying for one whole year.
Anyway, good luck guys.

J(o)y
post Mar 16 2008, 03:35 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(GeneJin @ Mar 16 2008, 03:25 PM)
Correct =) Exactly wat i'm trying to do.. but beware that if u turn PR big portion of ur salary goes to CPF.. and mind all of those who contribute to CPF, west malaysia are not permitted to withdraw ur CPF no matter if u give up ur PR status or ur age goes over the current maturity age of 65. So think twice before u make any choices =)
U sure?? if a malaysian turn into PR in Singapore, he cannot withdraw it after the retirement age?? Then what the use of CPF in the first place?? Why west malaysia only??

ANd the retirement age is 65?? not 55??
J(o)y
post Mar 18 2008, 07:38 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Mar 18 2008, 06:34 PM)
Singapore firms love to hire malaysian, for we are well-known to be hardworking. Some singaporean said foreigners (Msian n PRC) 'spoilt' market for working too hard. Hey, cant blame us right? we don't have so much of subsidy from the government.

Singaporean, (the younger generation) are generally not so hardworking and prefer less responsibility but expects high pay.

So, if the firm try to incorporate 2 job but only pay one, maybe you can ask for higher pay, I think they will readjust your pay provided you really know ur stuff.
Serious, Malaysian more hardworking than Singaporean?? I thot is the other way round. in fact, ithot is double double other way round.

Singaporean is known to be very competitive (kiasu). The students there started young to have high stresses, while malaysian student still at lepak culture.
J(o)y
post Mar 24 2008, 09:13 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(babeadeline @ Mar 23 2008, 11:23 PM)
Why not get broadband and just chat over the internet?
Singaporeans are becoming more "Knowledge Based", hence, they aren't exactly getting lazier, but they are choosing jobs which do not require them to do much "work".
Just like here in Malaysia. nobody want to work for DBKL, constructin workers, etc..thats why we have bangladesh, indons, etc...
J(o)y
post Mar 25 2008, 07:10 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(Fishsteak @ Mar 25 2008, 05:07 PM)
Hi everyone,

Im new to this thread. And never expected such long discussion.

Until 75 wei. Cant read 'em all. Sorry if i ask the same question b4.

Anywy, I am keen on working in S'pore. drool.gif

But I am a media kaki. Is the media industry there easy to get in ???

I was thinking of entering MediaCorp. What do you think of the chances?

My working exp are 2yrs.

Buthen is abit rojak. 1yr publishing + 1yr finance. laugh.gif

Think they layan ar ? sweat.gif

And do anyone know any good Recruitment Agency in Spore that can help ??? Other than this michaelyong@ebetterhelp.com

Appreciate your response. Tq smile.gif
Not sure bout the industry there. But i think generally are u willing to take pay cut. that's all. Malaysian developers hire foreign workers, because they are cheap labour.
Same theory in Singapore companies. If u ask the same amount or more than a singaporean ask, u guess which they will take??

yeah, i check out that ebetterhelp website oso. i dun nid any maid job.
J(o)y
post Mar 26 2008, 08:49 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(PoisonIvy82 @ Mar 25 2008, 07:54 PM)
It really depends tho.. if u're good, they dun mind paying the same amount they are paying sporeans or more..
the problem is their thinking is generally sporean isbetter and more competitive (kiasu) than malaysian.
unless u have a very good proven record to prove that u are good. one of out 20 i guess.
J(o)y
post Apr 7 2008, 08:32 PM

250 posts

anyone working in investment banking / corporate finance / project financing related sector in singapore??

ANy advice for a job seeker here??
J(o)y
post Apr 15 2008, 10:04 PM

250 posts

Anyone work in Deloitte Singapore before??
Whats the condition there??
Especially the Corporate Finance dept.
J(o)y
post Apr 21 2008, 08:00 PM

250 posts

IF u have a reasonable qualification, im sure u can get one soon, provided u not choosy in terms of money, size of company, etc.. the companies oso wan to save cost. But make sure ur salary can pay for ur living expenses..

Dun worry about extra savings, cos after u got the experiences, u can get better job and demand higher pay

Thats the advantage of being fresh grads.
J(o)y
post Apr 30 2008, 08:14 PM

250 posts

yeah i agree.after 100s+ applications in more than half year..

J(o)y
post May 13 2008, 10:46 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ May 12 2008, 11:50 AM)
Then they will say you are a job-hopper... not so nice lo. tongue.gif
Then again, the singapore employer oso not easy to cheat. They might ask u are u taking them as a steping stone. Too bad a lot of ppl have done that, so the employer learns. After all they are singaporeans, they learn from their mistakes fast, unlike malaysian firm..
J(o)y
post May 14 2008, 09:24 PM

250 posts

Guys, anybody knows bout this?

1. CPF retirement age: I was told the retirement age is at 80 yrs old!! Is it true? Meaning either PR/Citizen there either survive until 80 to enjoy their CPR or just leave it for next generation, If any.

2. Even if u use the CPF to pay house instalment you still need to replenish it??

kindly enlighten me.

J(o)y
post May 17 2008, 08:06 PM

250 posts

There is no such thing as 'automatic PR conversion'. PR is and will always be a choice in any country. Some people will choose not to have to pay CPF as it is known to be difficult to withdraw even after old age.

Care to elaborate on this??

0.0498sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:47 AM