Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 6 2008, 12:23 AM

623 posts

started my sg working life at 23th of June. Still very new to this land and no friends to hang around.
Wish to join the meeting but no money. Sigh.
coming here oredi cost me alot of money, can put me in the waiting list and i shall join u guys next month(august).

And im also looking for badminton and basketball kaki..
anyone here interested?

This post has been edited by Guai Guai Zai: Jul 6 2008, 12:25 AM
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 6 2008, 04:14 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Jul 6 2008, 02:18 AM)
no need alot of $$ for a gathering jus have a few drinks can liao or jus plain old dinner any nice food spots to rtecommand?
getting tired of sg food all taste the same
Erm i think food in singapore are so so only, still havent found any nice food spots yet..
somemore im working in tampines, so most of the time i take my lunch and dinner nearby that areas and most of the time i go food court (budget)..

Maybe can try go china town find some nice food.
Anyway, where are u staying?

Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 7 2008, 07:17 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(wyy @ Jul 6 2008, 11:39 AM)
Guaiguaizai,

We started work on the exact day haha. Wht industry you're in btw? Homesickness strike me real hard in my first week, but i guess you can work somthin out eventually, count me in for the badminton if I could join I would =)

Cheers rclxm9.gif
I'm a IT guy and working in a bank. what about u?
badminton u have to wait until next month because i didn't bring my racket.

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Jul 6 2008, 06:17 PM)
i'm staying at the place where u r working haaha i found a place chick rice near by bugis u guys wanna go ry it out?
Those places not accessible by poor ppl wifout car
this u hav gotta b joking msia food anytime is better then sg. can give sum example of the so called "nice" food in sg?if can i also wanna give it a try
other then those restaurants eg. new york new york, hog's cafe, etc hawker food in sg basically is all the same.
dude im staying in tampines too, we can go bugis together.. haha

QUOTE(peng123 @ Jul 7 2008, 06:32 PM)
may i know is it enough to survive if i earned S$1500 in singapore as account assistant ?

any advise ? thank notworthy.gif s......
erm barely enough for u to survive, not really recommend..

Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 9 2008, 06:14 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Jul 9 2008, 12:15 AM)
Oh, that is interesting. May I know how your friends sourced their job from? Malaysia newspaper (TheStar, NST), Online or word-of-mouth?
register urself at monster.com. i got my sg job from there
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 10 2008, 09:41 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(Annie @ Jul 10 2008, 08:25 AM)
Opening position available in xilinx Asia Pacific, pls PM me to get contact:

Data Specialist, Dev Systems Customer Service

Looking for a self-motivated, customer service oriented person to be part of a dynamic, quality/performance oriented Data Management team within the Software Customer Service organization. 
The data Specialist will be required to maintain details of the customer master information, troubleshooting customer data issues, performing data clean up, and system/order testing.  The Data Specialist will also be expected to contribute to improving processes and driving system changes. 
Job responsibilities :
Processing customer information following set standards and procedures into Oracle database.
Processing information within set service level agreements.
Proactively troubleshooting customer data issues.
Proactively resolving discrepancies customer master information between source systems.
Actively contributing to the ongoing effort of improving and standardizing processes.
Working with IT to resolve data management issues. Also, assisting IT with system/processes testing.
Working with Source Systems Subject Matter Experts to ensure that best practices are being kept and to ensure a high level of quality.
Analyzing daily reports and dealing with any issue that arise. 

Job requirements :

Looking for 2–5 years experience in Customer Service, with specific experience in data management.
Associates degree, or equivalent related experience
Good focus and attention to detail is essential. 
Must show strong analytical skills demonstrating a continuous focus on process enhancement.
Must enjoy both working alone and in a collaborative environment
Must be able to identify, action and escalate issues which may not fall under standard processing.
Ability to manage multiple tasks while producing high quality work in a deadline driven environment.
Ability to identify errors, self monitor quality, and identify areas of self improvement.
Courage to ask questions and willing to take initiative to ensure good company citizenship practices.
Must embody Xilinx values which include but are not limited to: being customer focused, respectful of others, someone who strives for excellence, someone who drives accountability, promoter of teamwork, work with integrity, open with communication, and enjoys their job
Demonstrated ability to learn new technical and non-technical processes quickly.
Must have a positive, solution-oriented outlook.
Self motivated.
Knowledge of Oracle business application a plus
Experience in research via the internet is a plus
what is the salary range?
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 14 2008, 05:26 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 13 2008, 04:28 PM)
I think BT or whatever p2p download is illegal in SG and they can charge you for illegal download offense... That's what I heard from others.
Ya, have to be real careful.
I think u can still download, just don't download 24/7 and try limit ur upload speed.
and try avoid downloading anime because last time got a few ppl get caught.

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Jul 13 2008, 06:27 PM)
too bad, nope.  tongue.gif
well i do use BT here... juz not that frequent as my fren suggested.  tongue.gif
btw any basketball gang in SG here ? i wanna play but no kaki.  sad.gif

YES, count me in. Let's find a place to play. I suggest we play at tampines smile.gif

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Jul 14 2008, 11:39 AM)
POSB - more branch
OCBC - less queue for ATM

but u better check with ur company which bank they pay ur salary
Open an account at DBS/POSB - this 2 are the same, if u have DBS acc, u can withdraw money from DBS/POSB atm, same goes to POSB acc.
FYI, DBS is the largest bank in singapore, deposit $500
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 17 2008, 01:22 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Jul 17 2008, 08:54 AM)
Yeah man .. all talk no action haahhah

I'm going back Msia this weekend... when i come back I try to organise one...  laugh.gif
Edited:
On second thought lets just do it !
Title: LYN Malaysians in Singapore Gathering.

Date / Time: Sunday, 27 July 2008 at 6:00p.m.

Venue: Kenny Rogers Marina Square.

Notes:
Selected this place cause, nearest MRT is CIty Hall MRT. Also Marina Square easily accessible by buses. The other thing is usually there's not a lot of people at KEnny Rogers just in case a lot of people turn up the venue can accomodate for all of us.
can we change the venue, i got no money for kenny rogers

This post has been edited by Guai Guai Zai: Jul 17 2008, 01:22 PM
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 17 2008, 05:37 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Jul 17 2008, 04:33 PM)
SGD15-20, not much diff compare msia just you pay in SGD

I prefer top up more a bit to enjoy tony roma drool.gif
doh.gif dude, u making my life more difficult
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 18 2008, 03:51 PM

623 posts

Do singaporean buy car in Malaysia and drive in singapore?
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 18 2008, 04:32 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jul 18 2008, 04:06 PM)
Why bother, singaporean no need pay annual license fee.
buying a car in sg can be very expensive, you may need to pay double of a car original market value. in addition, u need to pay for the registration fee, bid for coe, taxes and etc..
tats y im wondering whether singaporean buy car in Malaysia n drive it in their homeland
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 22 2008, 12:23 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jul 22 2008, 11:00 AM)
Who can intro me a room (budget round SGD300 to 350; no nid air-cond or fan oso nvm)

Prefer area in woodlands, jurong east, redhill, queenstown, commonwealth, Chinese garden or choa chu kang… very very thank you…
i think u only can manage to find urself a share room with ur budget..
i can introduce u my real estate agent (very friendly and resourceful) if u urgently need a room, but u have to pay for the agent fees of course.
if interested then let me know, i can pm u his contact.
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 23 2008, 11:52 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(bluefox @ Jul 23 2008, 09:30 AM)
hmm...
Some of my ex-schoolmate working around here got their PR when their salary around SGD1500.
(Enginnering grad fr USM-one year back). I wonder anyone break this record?
As long as the company is willing to back you up, it shud be fine.

Current room pricing for common room shud be around sgd500-sgd700 (along the MRT green line)
Condominium around Balestier Rd > SGD1000 per room.
Approval of PR is not totally base on applicant's salary, but their qualification, expertise and how much they can contribute to Singapore growth.

Those on P1 and P2 EP stand a higher chance to become PR than those on the Q1 and Spass.
Semi-skilled and unskilled foreign workers on R category Work Permits are generally not eligible for PR

Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 24 2008, 09:47 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(hoongji @ Jul 24 2008, 08:15 AM)
lol, whats wrong with the females here dude? most of them from MY anyway.

you've been listening too much craps and bullshi- from your friends. all those figures are not correct.

those wishing a hectic metropolitan life with great entertainment and nightlife can definitely think SG. but yeah, those wishing on a more peaceful life with great food, MY is still the place to be.
Mos females are from MY? How true is this?
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 24 2008, 05:44 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(lighching @ Jul 24 2008, 05:27 PM)
so u stay near s'pore, johor right. get yourself all the newspaper, english and chinese newspaper

Added on July 24, 2008, 5:33 pmso what i do in m'sia?  i work in IT firm. salary damn low!!!!!!

Added on July 24, 2008, 5:35 pmsometime think about going back to work at s'pore...but
What you work as? IT support?
got how many years of working experience?
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 24 2008, 05:57 PM

623 posts

What is your expected salary ?
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 25 2008, 11:54 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(lighching @ Jul 25 2008, 09:50 AM)
damn right...the work pressure is damn high... shocking.gif but depend on where u work..

Added on July 25, 2008, 9:56 am

repair pc , notebook. do some vb.net programming. current workplace most of time doing gov. ict project

Added on July 25, 2008, 10:28 am
you can fill in the figure, if say staying at KL.
then i think u r underpaid, u know .net and yet they are paying u only $750?

Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 28 2008, 09:27 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(klauschang @ Jul 27 2008, 05:04 PM)
Can anybody here guide me on where & how should I apply for a broadband internet at sg? Do i need something like a fixed phone line to install the internet like Tmnet does or is there wireless kind of thing like maxis? I'm relocating to sg next week and will be staying at tampines.
rclxms.gif great, new mate in tampines..
btw i suggest u to go fo cable, wireless broadband is not stable.
Currently I'm using singtel BOM(broadband on mobile, 1MB line), the speed sometimes fast sometimes slow and sometimes will dc.
the pros is u only need to sign 1 year contract and if the promotion still on, you only pay half year bill, the other half is free.

Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 28 2008, 12:28 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 28 2008, 10:56 AM)
Basically there's cable, which is Starhub. That's available to all flats and condos built or refurbished after 1990 or something (I can't remember the exact year). Every home, no matter a Starhub customer or not, gets an active cable connection. Everyone connects their TV to this cable connection for the free-to-air TV channels.

Starhub has 2 types of cable broadband - monthly and pay-as-you-use. The monthly one is tied to a certain address etc. So when you move, you have to inform Starhub. It's about S$30-40 a month for the lowest bandwidth.

I was using the pay-as-you-use one previously. It's $2.50 a day and the account is linked to the modem MAC address only, which means you can just take the modem to any other flat, plug it in and start surfing. I usually only used it during weekends. Weekdays I go online at work. You pay by credit card / cash card.

Singtel also has ADSL broadband, just like Streamyx. But to use it, you must first have a telephone line. Since I already have a postpaid mobile phone with more than enough free call time, I find paying S$20 a month for a house phone which I will never use, simply unnecessary. So Singtel's broadband is out of the question for me. Plus tenants need to pay to reconnect the phone line (the previous tenant will always terminate the account or transfer the line to a new address).

I now use mainly mobile broadband on 3.5G / HSDPA. Just subscribe, get a simcard and Huawei or Samsung USB or PCMCIA modem (usually free when there's a promotion, like now!) from Singtel, Starhub or M1. My package is the lowest speed (1mbps) from Singtel, one year contract, S$22 a month but free 3 months.

Even at that speed, you can dl around 2-3GB a day using torrents (comparatively, you can dl 8-20GB a day using Starhub cable - sometimes cable is really, really fast - but that's only 10-20% of the time). But for some stupid reason, Singtel still comes with a 50GB cap (and they charge a ridiculous $0.002 for each kb beyond that ie. S$2,000 per GB... and they do sue you for payment... so think carefully). Starhub and M1 are unlimited. I will switch after my contract expires this Christmas. I chose Singtel initially because it had the shortest contract (12 mths), 3 months free, free modem, free simcard, no other registration, administration or connection charges - during its Xmas promotion.

I like mobile broadband the best. With a laptop, there are really no wires. You can of course wifi with cable bb, using a router... but that's an additional S$100-200 for a router (which can pay for 6-12mths of subscription). And you can also use mobile bb outdoors. And of course, you don't have to inform anyone that you've changed address if you move somewhere else.
50 GB is not really an issue, unless u doing heavy downlods, else for normal internet surfing and video streaming, is quite impossible to hit the 50GB quota

Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 28 2008, 02:20 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 28 2008, 01:10 PM)
That's of course, true. But then, I know many people who have become heavy downloaders due to the availability of torrents.

But the main point is the consumer's relationship with Singtel itself. Singtel can always send you a bill saying that you have exceeded 50gb and ask you to pay for the excess. How are you going to argue with them if their records show that you have used more than 50gb?

And don't think this doesn't happen. All you have to do is listen to the morning call-in talk shows on radio (eg. 93.8 fm) and hear what the callers have to say. Recently they had a show about Singapore power and how some consumers' electricity consumption had impossibly doubled, tripled and quadrupled - but they had to pay anyway as they can never keep an independent record of their electricity consumption which can stand up as evidence against the meter reading.

Not long ago, Singtel sued a customer for S$20+K for going over his 10GB limit (before it became 50GB late last year). IIAM, the guy proved that he was out of the country for most of the month (and the max bandwidth x remaining days < 10gb) - but that was no defense as Singtel said someone else (eg his kids, wife, friends etc) could have used his computer and/or simcard. Bottom line is that whatever the corp giant says you've used, you've used. No argument.

Now Singtel has an online usage monitor on a webpage. Key in your simcard phone number and it'll show your month to date usage. I always take screen shots of it, just in case.
ya, u can either use their online data usage or call to their customer service to check ur total data usage.

To play save, check it on weekly basis.
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 28 2008, 06:58 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(eggBoy @ Jul 28 2008, 04:13 PM)
can i know what is the webpage to check the usage
i tried this link. but it is not working for me.
http://www.ideas.singtel.com/BOM/HS_usage01.jsp
The link is correct. How long have you subscribed the line?
At first mine also cannot, but after i receive my 1st bill then now i can check the usage ..

0.0234sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:45 PM