It is expensive bro.. Sc i mean
TSj.passing.by
post Jan 16 2016, 02:09 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 15 2016, 07:29 AM)
Wow....  Same fm as public series?
Don't know, don't care. biggrin.gif

All I know is that PM is a big organisation, and should operated like one with the CEO, board of directors, CFO, CIO and other CxO that I'm not aware of, setting the tone of the investment policy aside from the fund prospectus.

QUOTE(heaven.33 @ Jan 15 2016, 10:28 PM)
I was also introduced to this fund...Do you think it is worth investing?
Yes, as it is the only small-cap fund in the PB series and if it suits your investment objective.

Please also note that we cannot switch to and fro from Public funds to PB funds. I would appreciate this new PB fund as I now have a small-cap to switch from PB Islamic Equity.

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 16 2016, 09:45 AM)
It is expensive bro..  Sc i mean
Still hang up on the SC? There's more in a long term investment than chasing low SC...

BTW you were replying to a spam post who was self advertising himself; who could get into trouble when rival UTCs snitched on him...

And no, it is not me who reported the post... I don't own this thread/forum and not its moderator.

heaven.33
post Jan 16 2016, 05:30 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jan 16 2016, 02:09 PM)

Please also note that we cannot switch to and fro from Public funds to PB funds. I would appreciate this new PB fund as I now have a small-cap to switch from PB Islamic Equity.

How much have you allocated for this fund? The diversified portfolio seems interesting to me, this is my first time investing in such fund.
TSj.passing.by
post Jan 17 2016, 11:51 AM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(heaven.33 @ Jan 16 2016, 05:30 PM)
How much have you allocated for this fund? The diversified portfolio seems interesting to me, this is my first time investing in such fund.
hmm.gif Hmmm... a simple question, and a common one that deserves a long answer.

First of all, the funds I'm holding changes over time, and I don't think my portfolio is up to the task of being a good guide or benchmark to be followed.

Everyone here in this thread and forum is of different ages, financial means, objectives, needs and also different understanding on even the most common terms. For example, my understanding of 'diversified portfolio' might be different from yours, hence I may end up being muddle and confusing to you.

Broadly speaking, I don't believed that a 'diversified' portfolio is a must to all investors.

Foremost importance to every investor is the returns on his investment; so the number one objective is getting a fund that will:
a) gives the best/highest returns,
b) that will meets his expected gains for the amount of risk he is willing to take.

The amount of risk I'm willing to take, and my expected gains I'm seeking to have is most likely different from yours as we are all inviduals with differences, as stated above.

Once you understand what I'm trying to convey here, you should have the confidence to set out on your own path and determine what fund or funds to begin with, and how much to allocate in each fund; as you are best person to truly understand yourself on what are your expectations, objectives, amount of risk willing to take, etc. etc.

It is perfectly fine to have only one fund with 100% allocated to it, if it meets your expectations. Don't simply 'diversified' for the sake of having many funds, just because you have heard or read about "diversified portfoliio".

Cheers. Think first. Invest later.

TSj.passing.by
post Jan 17 2016, 02:06 PM

1,639 posts

Start Your Regular Investment Plan with Public Regular Savings Sequel Fund

• Distribution policy: Annual.
• Invests 70% to 98% in a diversified portfolio of stocks.
• Initial issue price of RM0.25 per unit during Offer Period (15 January to 4 February 2016).

===================

Fund name: Public Regular Savings Sequel Fund
Category of Fund: Equity
Type of Fund: Capital growth
Launch date: 15 January 2016
Financial year end: 28 February

Fund objective: To achieve capital growth and provide income* over the medium to long-term period.

Investment strategy: PRSSQF seeks to meet its objective by investing 70% to 98% of its NAV in a diversified portfolio of blue chip stocks, index stocks, growth stocks and stocks that offer or have the potential to offer attractive dividend yields that are listed on Bursa Securities. The balance of the Fund’s NAV will be invested in fixed income securities and liquid assets which include money market instruments and deposits.

Benchmark: 90% FTSE Bursa Malaysia Top 100 Index (FBM 100); and 10% 3-Month Kuala Lumpur Interbank Offered Rate (KLIBOR).

===================

Initial Offer Period Promotion (15 January 2016 to 4 February 2016):
Service charge: 5%
Direct Debit Instruction (DDI): promotional sales charge of 5.25% of NAV per unit for as long as the Direct Debit is active.
Terms and conditions apply.

===================

Another new local fund in the Public series. Another fund with the same benchmark is Public Dividend Select, and its distribution policy is semi-annual.

There are other funds but with 100% FBM100 benchmark - Public Optimal Growth and Public Regular Savings.
Public Index and Public Sector Select have FBM100 benchmark too, but with incidental distribution policy.

Generally speaking, funds with incidental distribution policy are slight more aggresive than those with annual distribution policy, and with an investment eye towards growth.

If the investment strategy is a regular monthly purchase - DCA strategy, the DDI option can be considered.

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Jan 17 2016, 02:10 PM
heaven.33
post Jan 17 2016, 10:54 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jan 17 2016, 11:51 AM)
hmm.gif Hmmm... a simple question, and a common one that deserves a long answer.

First of all, the funds I'm holding changes over time, and I don't think my portfolio is up to the task of being a good guide or benchmark to be followed.

Everyone here in this thread and forum is of different ages, financial means, objectives, needs and also different understanding on even the most common terms. For example, my understanding of 'diversified portfolio' might be different from yours, hence I may end up being muddle and confusing to you.

Broadly speaking, I don't believed that a 'diversified' portfolio is a must to all investors.

Foremost importance to every investor is the returns on his investment; so the number one objective is getting a fund that will:
b) that will meets his expected gains for the amount of risk he is willing to take.

The amount of risk I'm willing to take, and my expected gains I'm seeking to have is most likely different from yours as we are all inviduals with differences, as stated above.

Once you understand what I'm trying to convey here, you should have the confidence to set out on your own path and determine what fund or funds to begin with, and how much to allocate in each fund; as you are best person to truly understand yourself on what are your expectations, objectives, amount of risk willing to take, etc. etc.

It is perfectly fine to have only one fund with 100% allocated to it, if it meets your expectations. Don't simply 'diversified' for the sake of having many funds, just because you have heard or read about "diversified portfoliio".

I see...Thank you for you insights... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by heaven.33: Jan 17 2016, 10:54 PM
heaven.33
post Jan 20 2016, 08:44 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jan 17 2016, 11:51 AM)

Do you know a way that we can monitor the performance of our fund?
TSj.passing.by
post Jan 20 2016, 09:01 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(heaven.33 @ Jan 20 2016, 08:44 PM)
Do you know a way that we can monitor the performance of our fund?
hmmm, it was mentioned several times in this thread; anyway...

1. Using the performance chart.
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/application...formancenw.aspx
Select the 3rd option in the chart, and fill in the start date and end date...
Please note it shows the actual growth performance of the fund, excluding the service charge.

(Service charge has an immediate impact on the net return of your purchases, and hence its ROI and growth. It should be 'amortized' gradually each year to lessen its impact; had also written about this in a previous post.)

2. Register and use PMO (Public Mutual Online).
This online service shows the number of units of your fund, the present NAV/unit price of the fund, the present value (in ringgit) of the fund, and some related info. From here, you can calculate the ROI...

3. Use a Excel spreadsheet, and track all the purchases.
This has been written extensively in a previous post too.

Cheers.

PS. Maybe will write about Excel function XIRR this weekend...

debbieyss
post Jan 21 2016, 10:55 AM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

Hi all, I know that public mutual website used to display announcement of which fund is closed to new investment or one lump sum top up.

Recently I dont see that announcement anymore.

Can anyone advise me please?

Who has the latest fund listing that are closed for investment?
lifeless_creature
post Jan 21 2016, 02:01 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 21 2016, 10:55 AM)
Hi all, I know that public mutual website used to display announcement of which fund is closed to new investment or one lump sum top up.

Recently I dont see that announcement anymore.

Can anyone advise me please?

Who has the latest fund listing that are closed for investment?
Quick msg to my agent gave me the following list, with PSA30F,PNREF,PFSF closing on 2-Feb, and PRSF closing on 2-Feb too (cash, epf remains open as of today).

Fund Name Fund Abbreviation Fund Open for Cash Investment Fund Open for EPF Investment
PUBLIC ADVANTAGE GROWTH EQUITY FUND PAVGEF Yes N/A

PUBLIC AGGRESSIVE GROWTH FUND PAGF Yes N/A

PUBLIC ASIA ITTIKAL FUND PAIF Yes N/A

PUBLIC AUSTRALIA EQUITY FUND PAUEF Yes N/A

PUBLIC BALANCED FUND PBF Yes N/A

PUBLIC CASH DEPOSIT FUND PCDEPF Yes N/A

PUBLIC CHINA ITTIKAL FUND PCIF Yes N/A

PUBLIC CHINA SELECT FUND PCSF Yes N/A

PUBLIC CHINA TITANS FUND PCTF Yes N/A

PUBLIC DIVIDEND SELECT FUND PDSF Yes Yes

PUBLIC EHSAN MIXED ASSET CONSERVATIVE FUND PESMACF Yes N/A

PUBLIC EHSAN MIXED ASSET GROWTH FUND PESMAGF Yes N/A

PUBLIC ENHANCED BOND FUND PEBF Yes Yes

PUBLIC ENTERPRISES BOND FUND PENTBF Yes N/A

PUBLIC EQUITY FUND PEF Yes N/A

PUBLIC FAR-EAST ALPHA-30 FUND PFA30F Yes N/A

PUBLIC FAR-EAST BALANCED FUND PFEBF Yes N/A

PUBLIC FAR-EAST CONSUMER THEMES FUND PFECTF Yes N/A

PUBLIC FAR-EAST DIVIDEND FUND PFEDF Yes N/A

PUBLIC FAR-EAST PROPERTY & RESORTS FUND PFEPRF Yes N/A

PUBLIC FAR-EAST SELECT FUND PFES Yes N/A

PUBLIC FAR-EAST TELCO & INFRASTRUCTURE FUND PFETIF Yes N/A

PUBLIC FOCUS SELECT FUND PFSF Yes Yes

PUBLIC GLOBAL SELECT FUND PGSF Yes N/A

PUBLIC GROWTH BALANCED FUND PGRBF Yes N/A

PUBLIC GROWTH FUND PGF Yes N/A

PUBLIC INDEX FUND PIX Yes Yes

PUBLIC INDONESIA SELECT FUND PINDOSF Yes N/A

PUBLIC INDUSTRY GROWTH FUND PINDGF Yes Yes

PUBLIC INSTITUTIONAL BOND FUND PIN BOND Yes N/A

PUBLIC ISLAMIC ADVANTAGE GROWTH EQUITY FUND PIAVGEF Yes N/A

PUBLIC ISLAMIC ALPHA-40 GROWTH FUND PIA40GF Yes Yes

PUBLIC ISLAMIC ASIA DIVIDEND FUND PIADF Yes N/A

PUBLIC ISLAMIC ASIA LEADERS EQUITY FUND PIALEF Yes N/A

PUBLIC ISLAMIC ASIA TACTICAL ALLOCATION FUND PIATAF Yes N/A

PUBLIC ISLAMIC CASH DEPOSIT FUND PICDEPF Yes N/A

PUBLIC ISLAMIC DIVIDEND FUND PIDF Yes Yes

PUBLIC ISLAMIC ENHANCED BOND FUND PIEBF Yes Yes

PUBLIC ISLAMIC ENTERPRISES EQUITY FUND PIENTEF Yes N/A

PUBLIC ISLAMIC EQUITY FUND PIEF Yes Yes

PUBLIC ISLAMIC GROWTH & INCOME FUND PISGIF Yes N/A

PUBLIC ISLAMIC GROWTH BALANCED FUND PIGRBF Yes N/A

PUBLIC ISLAMIC INCOME FUND PI INCOME Yes N/A

PUBLIC ISLAMIC INFRASTRUCTURE BOND FUND PIINFBF Yes Yes

PUBLIC ISLAMIC MIXED ASSET FUND PIMXAF Yes Yes

PUBLIC ISLAMIC MONEY MARKET FUND PIMMF Yes Yes

PUBLIC ISLAMIC OPTIMAL GROWTH FUND PIOGF Yes Yes

PUBLIC ISLAMIC SAVINGS FUND PISVF Yes Yes

PUBLIC ISLAMIC SECTOR SELECT FUND PISSF Yes Yes

PUBLIC ISLAMIC SELECT BOND FUND PISBF Yes Yes

PUBLIC ISLAMIC SELECT ENTERPRISES FUND PISEF N/A Yes

PUBLIC ISLAMIC STRATEGIC BOND FUND PISTBF Yes Yes

PUBLIC ISLAMIC TREASURES GROWTH FUND PITGF Yes Yes

PUBLIC ITTIKAL FUND P ITTIKAL N/A Yes

PUBLIC ITTIKAL SEQUEL FUND PITSEQ Yes Yes

PUBLIC MONEY MARKET FUND PMMF Yes N/A

PUBLIC NATURAL RESOURCES EQUITY FUND PNREF Yes N/A

PUBLIC OPTIMAL GROWTH FUND POGF Yes Yes

PUBLIC REGIONAL SECTOR FUND PRSEC Yes N/A

PUBLIC REGULAR SAVINGS FUND PRSF Yes Yes

PUBLIC REGULAR SAVINGS SEQUEL FUND PRSSQF Yes N/A

PUBLIC SAVINGS FUND PSF Yes N/A

PUBLIC SECTOR SELECT FUND PSSF Yes Yes

PUBLIC SELECT ALPHA-30 FUND PSA30F Yes Yes

PUBLIC SELECT MIXED ASSET CONSERVATIVE FUND PSMACF Yes N/A

PUBLIC SELECT MIXED ASSET GROWTH FUND PSMAGF Yes N/A

PUBLIC SELECT TREASURES EQUITY FUND PSTEF Yes N/A

PUBLIC SINGAPORE EQUITY FUND PSGEF Yes N/A

PUBLIC SOUTH-EAST ASIA SELECT FUND PSEASF Yes N/A

PUBLIC STRATEGIC BOND FUND PSTBF Yes Yes

PUBLIC STRATEGIC GROWTH FUND PSTGF Yes N/A

PUBLIC STRATEGIC SMALLCAP FUND PSSCF Yes N/A

PUBLIC SUKUK FUND PSKF Yes Yes

PUBLIC TACTICAL ALLOCATION FUND PTAF Yes N/A

debbieyss
post Jan 21 2016, 10:02 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

lifeless_creature, thanks for replying.

Today my agent said PUBLIC ISLAMIC OPTIMAL GROWTH FUND PIOGF has also closed for new investment.

May I know your fund list is updated as at when?
lifeless_creature
post Jan 22 2016, 12:39 AM

The Kid
1,219 posts

hmm...this he did not mention...from the list it is still available for both epf & cash la...
kaifahalas
post Jan 22 2016, 09:52 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 16 2016, 09:45 AM)
It is expensive bro..  Sc i mean
very very expensive indeed.
rapple
post Jan 22 2016, 10:01 AM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 21 2016, 10:02 PM)
lifeless_creature, thanks for replying.

Today my agent said PUBLIC ISLAMIC OPTIMAL GROWTH FUND PIOGF has also closed for new investment.

May I know your fund list is updated as at when?
I check from the system is open to cash and epf.
Kaka23
post Jan 22 2016, 10:13 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(kaifahalas @ Jan 22 2016, 09:52 AM)
very very expensive indeed.
Yeap.. above 5%, need some time to gain them back!
melz84
post Jan 22 2016, 05:02 PM

1,603 posts

just sharing.. maybe this might come handy

p/s :ignore the blue and green highlight

TSj.passing.by
post Jan 23 2016, 02:07 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(lifeless_creature @ Jan 21 2016, 02:01 PM)
Quick msg to my agent gave me the following list, with PSA30F,PNREF,PFSF closing on 2-Feb, and PRSF closing on 2-Feb too (cash, epf remains open as of today).
okay... 3 local funds are about to closed; PNREF (Natural Resources Equity) is a surprise.

Was poking within PMO, and found that one fund I had before is now closed - PB Asean Dividend.

QUOTE(melz84 @ Jan 22 2016, 05:02 PM)
just sharing.. maybe this might come handy

p/s :ignore the blue and green highlight

I had a similar spreadsheet, but instead of ticks, the columns are with remarks such as, 'EPF', 'Closed', 'Open', 'Moderate', 'Local', 'Foreign', etc...

I keep track of the nav changes too, on daily basis because it is easy to copy and paste from the Fund Prices page. Then add them up into weekly, monthly, quarterly and yearly changes; though this will be off a bit from the actual growth because of the daily additions to built up the total growth... but for doing comparisons btw funds, and knowing which are top performing funds at an instant, the figures are good enough.

Another tip is using 'conditional formatting' - color scales will shade the NAV percentage changes and rank the changes from bottom to top. Better than knowing the top 10 only as what is showing in the new PM homepage.

TSj.passing.by
post Jan 24 2016, 02:00 PM

1,639 posts

Back to Basics.

Understanding Internal Rate of Return (IRR)

Continuing from a previous post on keeping track of our UT funds using Excel...

Aside from the ROI and the Annualised Returns (which is also known as CAGR – Compound Annual Growth Rate), we could add into the spreadsheet the IRR (Internal Rate of Return).

The IRR shows the ‘average’ returns of the total investment. I’m using the word ‘average’ loosely, as it is not a mathematic average – where the sum is divided by a denominator.

Why IRR is needed?
In each purchase, we can easily calculate its returns or profit – which is the ROI, and also the CAGR. If there are 5 purchases (whether it is the same fund or 5 different funds, it does not matter), we will have 5 CAGRs. So what’s the CAGR of these 5 purchases?

In other words, we want to know the common CAGR of these 5 purchases, the annualised rate of return of the total investment in these 5 purchases – which is the Internal Rate of Return (IRR).

And we cannot simply total up the CAGRs and divide it by 5, as this will be completely inaccurate.

The calculation of the IRR is too complicated to fully explain in this post. You can read more of it here: http://www.investopedia.com/terms/i/irr.asp

But in Excel, it has a very handy function (XIRR) to calculate the IRR. This XIRR function is a recursive function – meaning it goes around in a loop repeatedly until it comes to a figure that meets the 'set condition' before stopping & exiting the loop.

What is the ‘set condition’ in this case of finding the IRR?
This is the same CAGR, say X%, for all the 5 purchases; where if we plug in X% into the CAGR and calculating backwards to have a new ROI from each of the 5 purchases, the total of these 5 new ROI will be the same as the total of the original ROIs.

Get it?

Here’s an example to further clarify:
Purchased Date, Current Date, Purchase Cost, Current Value, ROI, CAGR
01/09/2014 21/01/2016 RM1,000.00 RM1,200.00 RM200.00 14.03%
01/10/2014 21/01/2016 RM1,500.00 RM1,600.00 RM100.00 5.06%
01/11/2014 21/01/2016 RM1,000.00 RM1,150.00 RM150.00 12.12%
01/12/2014 21/01/2016 RM1,500.00 RM1,550.00 RM50.00 2.92%
01/01/2015 21/01/2016 RM1,000.00 RM1,100.00 RM100.00 9.46%

Total ROI = RM600.

(Please note the 5 different CAGR figures, which ranges from 2.92% to 14.03%.)

We can either manually calculate backwards on a trial & error basis to find the common CAGR or we can use the XIRR function... and we found out that the common CAGR or IRR is 8.10%.

Now, if we plug in 8.10% as the CAGR for all the 5 purchases , and calculate (backwards) to find their ROI, the figures would be as below:

Purchased Date, Current Date, Purchase Cost, Current Value, ROI, CAGR
01/09/2014 21/01/2016 RM1,000.00 RM1,114.32 RM114.32 8.10%
01/10/2014 21/01/2016 RM1,500.00 RM1,660.80 RM160.80 8.10%
01/11/2014 21/01/2016 RM1,000.00 RM1,099.90 RM99.90 8.10%
01/12/2014 21/01/2016 RM1,500.00 RM1,639.31 RM139.31 8.10%
01/01/2015 21/01/2016 RM1,000.00 RM1,085.67 RM85.67 8.10%

Total ROI = RM600.

Summary: The IRR is the effective rate of the total investment of several or more purchases. In the above example, when looking at the 5 different purchases as a whole investment, each ringgit invested is giving an effective rate of 8.10%.

TSj.passing.by
post Jan 24 2016, 02:16 PM

1,639 posts

Please note that the value of the purchase cost in the XIRR function is a negative figure.

01/09/2014 21/01/2016 -RM1,000.00 RM1,200.00
01/10/2014 21/01/2016 -RM1,500.00 RM1,600.00
01/11/2014 21/01/2016 -RM1,000.00 RM1,150.00
01/12/2014 21/01/2016 -RM1,500.00 RM1,550.00
01/01/2015 21/01/2016 -RM1,000.00 RM1,100.00

IRR = 8.10%

formula of the function: =XIRR(C1:D5,A1:B5,1%)

Where C1:D5 is purchase cost, and current value.
Where A1:B5 is the purchased dates, and the current dates.

The last figure in the formula, 1% is just a seed number to start the calculation... as it is a recursive function.

Amatiel
post Jan 29 2016, 09:25 AM

62 posts

Is there anywhere to check the historical fund price? i only found 'the latest'

148 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:57 PM