QUOTE(Alan Chong @ Dec 15 2018, 12:41 AM)
Hi sifu here, do you guy know how to set 2 units pcie ssd for Alienware 15 ? My original setting was first pcie ssd as OS, normal HDD as data drive. Today I just bought another pcie ssd and thinking to set as gaming drive, but Windows won't book-up after I install 2nd SSD. System just stop at "ALIENWARE" word. Do you guys got any idea ?
Ok, I found the solution:
Alienware default BIOS setting for harddrive is RAID operation that allow user to install 2 units same 2280 SSD for running either RAID-0 or RAID-1. If we want to run 2 difference size SSD , we need to switch from RAID to AHCI that allow all SSDs to run separately. Following is step to switch from RAID to AHCI controller:
1. Click the Start Button and type cmd
2. Right-click the result and select Run as administrator
3. Type this command and press ENTER: bcdedit /set {current} safeboot minimal
4. Restart the computer and enter BIOS Setup
5. Go to Advance Setting, Change the SATA Operation mode to AHCI from either IDE or RAID
6. Save changes and exit Setup and Windows will automatically boot to Safe Mode.
7. Right-click the Windows Start Menu once more. Choose Command Prompt (Admin).
8. Type this command and press ENTER: bcdedit /deletevalue {current} safeboot
9. Reboot once more and Windows will automatically start with AHCI drivers enabled.
Hope this will help for anyone who thinking to add additional PCIE SSD into their AW.
Great to know. Ok, I found the solution:
Alienware default BIOS setting for harddrive is RAID operation that allow user to install 2 units same 2280 SSD for running either RAID-0 or RAID-1. If we want to run 2 difference size SSD , we need to switch from RAID to AHCI that allow all SSDs to run separately. Following is step to switch from RAID to AHCI controller:
1. Click the Start Button and type cmd
2. Right-click the result and select Run as administrator
3. Type this command and press ENTER: bcdedit /set {current} safeboot minimal
4. Restart the computer and enter BIOS Setup
5. Go to Advance Setting, Change the SATA Operation mode to AHCI from either IDE or RAID
6. Save changes and exit Setup and Windows will automatically boot to Safe Mode.
7. Right-click the Windows Start Menu once more. Choose Command Prompt (Admin).
8. Type this command and press ENTER: bcdedit /deletevalue {current} safeboot
9. Reboot once more and Windows will automatically start with AHCI drivers enabled.
Hope this will help for anyone who thinking to add additional PCIE SSD into their AW.
I am planning to fill up my M.2 slots. Currently running old school 5400 RPM HDD. Planning to get the WD Black 500 GB for PCIE Gen3x4 Speed & Intel Optane to accelerate the existing 1Tb storage. and maybe throw a 500 GB mini SSD in the mini-slot in the future. I'm wondering if the SSD + Optane cofig works. Will the Optane run at SATA3 speed or will it work at all? I've seen comments on Dell's forum that if you put one PCIE Gen3x4 SSD, the other SSD will run at SATA3 Speed. Wonder if it works the same way with Optane.
Edit:
WD Black 500 GB will be the boot drive + installed applications.
1TB + Optane will be the storage drive + steam games directory.
This post has been edited by Zelz92: Dec 17 2018, 03:56 PM
Dec 17 2018, 03:28 PM

0.0430sec