Apple Macbook Pro Core 2 Duo Released!, 2 For The Road!

SUSMike3300
post Oct 24 2006, 09:25 PM, updated 20y ago

6,866 posts

Apple Macbook Pro Page

For those who have been waiting quite awhile, now your wish come true!
DeathWing
post Oct 24 2006, 09:32 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

So now, what is the next excuse for not/delay buying a MacBook Pro? Is it to wait for the new casing design? Or OSX Leopard? tongue.gif
miraged
post Oct 24 2006, 09:50 PM

405 posts

yeowzaaaa!
core 2duo!!
drooolllll
SUSMike3300
post Oct 24 2006, 09:56 PM

6,866 posts

You guys notice that it's abit squarish than the previous model which is rounder around the corner... new design, seatbelt sold separately.
yetieater
post Oct 24 2006, 10:18 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

You're sure the design has really been revamped? I like how the processors across the board have been bumped up. Even the bottom end is now a 2.16GHz C2D. 1GB memory standard? Hell yeah. SuperDrive, harddrive.. it's all been bumped up.

I'll buy in June 2007, right before college. tongue.gif
DeathWing
post Oct 24 2006, 10:27 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

Yea, I dont see any noticeable difference, so the design doesnt really blow me away.
hazz
post Oct 24 2006, 10:57 PM

160 posts

have a questions to ask:
what chipset is MBP using it now with Core 2 Duo? tongue.gif
ASAP
post Oct 24 2006, 11:01 PM

1,645 posts

I have a MBP 1.8Ghz Core Duo and would like to know what is the speed difference in real life. I guess not much of a difference compare Core Duo and Core 2 Duo. Any comment?
yetieater
post Oct 24 2006, 11:27 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(ASAP @ Oct 24 2006, 11:01 PM)
I have a MBP 1.8Ghz Core Duo and would like to know what is the speed difference in real life. I guess not much of a difference compare Core Duo and Core 2 Duo. Any comment?
The big change is that the Merom core allows for 64-bit instruction sets. Actual speed differences? If you're running synthetic benchmarks and SuperPi, you'll see that the Merom has better number-crunching performance. Nothing to work up a sweat about. The other upgrades, however, are more exciting smile.gif
vandetta
post Oct 24 2006, 11:40 PM

658 posts

Well I like those upgrade although it seems minor upgrade but worth it IMO. Many peoples demanding for new case design, but I really like the current design tongue.gif

If there will be new case design, I hope it'll be carbon fiber case, will be very nice one IMO biggrin.gif
hairol83
post Oct 24 2006, 11:43 PM

344 posts

damn MBP C2D coz so expensive! shakehead.gif shocking.gif mad.gif rclxub.gif
artyca
post Oct 25 2006, 06:17 AM

53 posts

can't even afford the single core duo processor one... sad.gif The 17" is already going for RM11k... Too much money to pay for a laptop lah...
SUSMike3300
post Oct 25 2006, 10:45 AM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(artyca @ Oct 25 2006, 06:17 AM)
can't even afford the single core duo processor one... sad.gif The 17" is already going for RM11k... Too much money to pay for a laptop lah...
Apple always offer the right and correct price for it's products, if you see there's one Sony VAIO with Blue Ray Disc cost RM15-16k respectively. rclxms.gif
MacDaNife
post Oct 25 2006, 11:00 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Oct 25 2006, 10:45 AM)
Apple always offer the right and correct price for it's products, if you see there's one Sony VAIO with Blue Ray Disc cost RM15-16k respectively. rclxms.gif
Gosh, Mike. You really are firmly in the grip of Cupertino's Reality Distortion Field now aren't you....

I'm miffed that they have STILL not updated the design. Where's the ultralight 12in business notebook? The present Aluminum case has been around for TWO YEARS! Computer years being 2.5 10 times faster than Dog years would indicate that this laptop case should have died ages ago... Has Jonathan Ive retired? Has the design team been dismissed?

FireWire 800? Where are the peripherals that support this?
Core2Duo? 39% faster... I'll believe that when I see the non-Apple benchies...
Faster burner? Be still my beating heart...

The design team should get off thier collective butts and do some work soon. Praps since nobody made a fuss about the G5-MacPro case non-revision; they figured the PowerBook line could be similarly bummed.

The difference is that a LIGHTER notebook is sorely needed...
azxel
post Oct 25 2006, 11:12 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

sigh.. only X1600?

I doubt they will release a 12"... more likely a 13" if they ever do release one. Also, at least it comes with single So-Dimm 1GB ram now.
evilhomura89
post Oct 25 2006, 11:20 AM

5,886 posts

How long will it takes to reach our shore??

BTW, any C2D update for the MB non-Pro lineup??
yetieater
post Oct 25 2006, 11:53 AM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Oct 25 2006, 11:00 AM)
FireWire 800? Where are the peripherals that support this?
Core2Duo? 39% faster... I'll believe that when I see the non-Apple benchies...
Faster burner? Be still my beating heart...

The design team should get off thier collective butts and do some work soon. Praps since nobody made a fuss about the G5-MacPro case non-revision; they figured the PowerBook line could be similarly bummed.

The difference is that a LIGHTER notebook is sorely needed...
I have to agree with a couple of points that you raised. The FireWire 800 port serves little use beyond higher bandwidth for external harddrives and its practical application in video editing. Add onto that the MacBook Pro 15.4" is now down to 2 USB 2.0 ports from 3. Fair tradeoff?

The Core2Duo speed increases as reported by Apple are just marketing fluff. The C2D is more capable of number-crunching in comparison to the old CD. Nothing extraordinary, but many of us have been waiting for this upgrade.

The faster SuperDrive is always welcome. Bumped up to 6x for the 15" models. Sweet.

Other changes: Maximum internal memory has been bumped up from 2GB to 3GB.

Where's the magnetic latch that the MacBook has? Where's the new graphics card? When are we going to be seeing higher output resolutions? Adding in the option to get a screen with higher resolution would be great.

evilhomura, nothing for the MB yet. This was expected, though. The MacBook will probably be updated mid-November at the latest.

This post has been edited by yetieater: Oct 25 2006, 11:54 AM
xaw5126
post Oct 25 2006, 12:58 PM

3,488 posts

just wanna address some points here.

1. Please get your facts straight. No MBP 15" has ever had 3 USB ports. The addition of FW800 is due to Pro users asking for it. If you dudes don't use FW800, don't knock it. The guys in the USA *do* need it.
2. Ever heard of the phrase "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" ? the AlBook (Aluminium PowerBook) is actually the best selling design for many years. No other manufacturer is able to copy the design. Why should it be changed? Also, the reason Apple is using aluminium is because it helps dissipate the heat from the G4 and now from the Core Duo and Core2 Duo. Carbon Fiber on the other hand, is bloody expensive and doesn't look as professional. Seriously, the design for Pro stuff by Apple is mostly metallic and all that. Even Nokia uses a similar aesthetic for their Communicator and 88xx series phones.
3. The magnetic latch. Hmm... no thoughts there. I don't mind either one.
4. Maximum memory is up by 1GB. That's a good thing, but 2GB chips are still very very expensive. Anyway, there's no real point in using a C2D now because the damn chipset is still 32-bit... and there's no way to get past 4GB RAM in a laptop anyway smile.gif I mean, whats the point of 32-bit when none of the users actually use more than 2GB of memory anyhow smile.gif
5. The DL SuperDrive... well, when Uncle Steve announced the MB Pro in January, he did say he's waiting on the optical drive industry to build a slimmer drive to put in the MB Pro... so here it is ! smile.gif

To all the dudes who think there'll be a 13" MacBook Pro soon... I sincerely doubt it. Don't hold your breath waiting for it... some people have been waiting since January... and still nothing.
civic98
post Oct 25 2006, 04:40 PM

1,255 posts

I wonder Apple's claim of up to 39% faster factors in the fact that the whole range of processors are upgraded to a higher clock speed, comparing the lowest spec of 2.0 with the new 2.16, and thats 8% increase. AND the 1GB RAM compared to the previous 512MB. With all this in I dont think the C2D contributed much to the speed increase.
sukun
post Oct 25 2006, 05:15 PM

471 posts

I'm consider on buying Macbook... Will the old Intel Core Duo change to Core2 Duo like the Macbook releases recently? If Core2 Duo won't be release on Macbook, sure i will get myself a Macbook asap...

This post has been edited by sukun: Oct 25 2006, 05:44 PM
gmail
post Oct 25 2006, 05:46 PM

Trolling Level
2,597 posts

i think there will be a macbook core 2 duo soon.
yetieater
post Oct 25 2006, 06:25 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Oct 25 2006, 12:58 PM)
just wanna address some points here.

1. Please get your facts straight. No MBP 15" has ever had 3 USB ports. The addition of FW800 is due to Pro users asking for it. If you dudes don't use FW800, don't knock it. The guys in the USA *do* need it.
Whoops! Confusion between the 17" and the 15". :\

Waiting for someone to get their hands on the C2D MBP and benchmark it against the old MBP.
artyca
post Oct 25 2006, 06:54 PM

53 posts

any excuses to hike prices up lah smile.gif
UnUsUaL
post Oct 25 2006, 07:06 PM

ah jek
2,064 posts

Thread Merged.
MacDaNife
post Oct 25 2006, 07:10 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Oct 25 2006, 12:58 PM)

Ever heard of the phrase "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" ? the AlBook (Aluminium PowerBook) is actually the best selling design for many years. No other manufacturer is able to copy the design. Why should it be changed? Also, the reason Apple is using aluminium is because it helps dissipate the heat from the G4 and now from the Core Duo and Core2 Duo. Carbon Fiber on the other hand, is bloody expensive and doesn't look as professional.
Yes I've heard that phrase. Usually it's used as an excuse for a lack of progress. Unfortunately, the computer industry has no place for sentimentality. Failing to update a product line by releasing only incremental updates goes against what Apple has consistently been noted for:

Innovation.

Why should it be changed? Because the Aluminum chasis was meant to cool a completely different processor: The hot and power-hungry G4. The CoreDuo and Core2Duo processors do not need the same large and heavy heatsink. Hence why competitors like Sony have been able to produce the ultralight carbon fiber Core2Duo notebooks. Why can't Apple Innovate?

Yes I am aware Carbon Fibre is expensive (so is Titanium). If I'm going to pay top dollar for the MacBookPro it better be made of expensive materials.... And by what strange fashion sense does it "look less professional"?

Please excuse this rant but I'm disappointed by this incremental upgrade. It means we won't be seeing any new PowerBooks in the pro line for at least another 3 months. And that means I'll have more waiting to do.
xaw5126
post Oct 25 2006, 07:50 PM

3,488 posts

Hmm...

why do you think the Sony costs more?

addressing the CF issue... mostly, CF is used for strength and rigidity. Somehow... it seems out of place within an Apple line-up. And seriously, Apple's innovation is often because they can ignore the 'latest and greatest' trend that rules the PC market.

The strength of Apple is Mac OS X and the Pro apps. I'm still unable to find a PC market machine that can match up to the MacBook Pro.
yetieater
post Oct 25 2006, 08:15 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Oct 25 2006, 07:50 PM)
Woah - Apple makes pretty damn expensive products. Which Sony VAIO has the carbon fiber case? The SZ series?

http://www.sony.com.my/sonystyle/product/p...bcategoryid=

Apple prides itself on being able to "Think Different". I'm going to have to side with MacDaNife - innovation is synonymous with being able to Think Different.
MacDaNife
post Oct 25 2006, 08:25 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Oct 25 2006, 07:50 PM)
Hmm...

addressing the CF issue... mostly, CF is used for strength and rigidity. Somehow... it seems out of place within an Apple line-up. And seriously, Apple's innovation is often because they can ignore the 'latest and greatest' trend that rules the PC market.

The strength of Apple is Mac OS X and the Pro apps. I'm still unable to find a PC market machine that can match up to the MacBook Pro.
Frankly I was hoping they'ed suprise me. Knock my socks off the way the first and second generation iMacs did. Going further back; I remember the adulation for which the first generation PowerBooks were recieved. I bought a PowerBook 165c and still have it now: the very first color Mac portable. I also owned two of the PowerBook Duos: one of which I sold to Shah of Apple Malaysia. But I digress....

I don't really care if they make it of Carbon Fibre or not. I just want it thin, light and built with the usual Apple-inspired innovation. Get rid of the heavy AluBook chasiss already. In terms of PowerBook design, its probably among the blandest anyway.

And I was hoping Apple would release it in THIS quarter. Tough luck I guess...
blacktrix
post Oct 25 2006, 09:42 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Does anybody know when it's going to come to OUR shores? Have been waiting for this for a LOOOOONG time.
SUSMike3300
post Oct 25 2006, 09:45 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 25 2006, 09:42 PM)
Does anybody know when it's going to come to OUR shores? Have been waiting for this for a LOOOOONG time.
Few weeks time. rclxms.gif
wjie20
post Oct 25 2006, 10:24 PM

6 Star-Dude
1,582 posts

cool i cant wait rclxms.gif .. i nearly wanted to buy the MBP with core duo.. laugh.gif
wei
post Oct 25 2006, 10:38 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

no big surprise. just another speed bump in the same old casing.
blacktrix
post Oct 25 2006, 10:38 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Few weeks time??
*gasp*!!!

My pocket is burning already!!!!!!

I went to the macshop in Ikano Power Center..... The guy told me.....
"Dunno.... could be 2 weeks..... could be a month..... could be 3 months...... no idea"

N0eL
post Oct 25 2006, 11:50 PM

1,479 posts

I read articles from apple insider & mac rumors and both suggested that Macbook C2D might be launching during the end of Nov. Lets hope it can make it on time for the coming PCfair~!
hazz
post Oct 25 2006, 11:54 PM

160 posts

will the mac mini upgrade to core 2 duo that time?
n20nine
post Oct 26 2006, 09:42 AM

909 posts

sooooo disappointed. anyway, why did they kill the 12" model? I liked it so much. Frankly, i might have to consider it out again because i do not like any laptops that are bigger than 12-13.3". Portability is very important to me. Specs are....sad. only c2d added. was hopping something better. looking at the mbp, i think the only change that is coming to the macbook is the processor.

"Yes I've heard that phrase. Usually it's used as an excuse for a lack of progress. Unfortunately, the computer industry has no place for sentimentality. Failing to update a product line by releasing only incremental updates goes against what Apple has consistently been noted for:

Innovation." - Very WELL said

civic98
post Oct 26 2006, 10:56 AM

1,255 posts

Apple should take into considerations the weight of the Macbook when upgrading it too, by the way its going, if they put in a C2D and some other stuff, it'll only be heavier. It is already so heavy now.
azxel
post Oct 26 2006, 11:21 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

best bet is to wait for Leopard and the new Adamantium Macbook Pro. thumbup.gif
hairol83
post Oct 26 2006, 11:48 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Oct 26 2006, 11:21 AM)
best bet is to wait for Leopard and the new Adamantium Macbook Pro.  thumbup.gif
adamantium huh??? rolleyes.gif
i think apple should release a Wolverine MBP version. thumbup.gif

SUSMike3300
post Oct 26 2006, 12:11 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(hairol83 @ Oct 26 2006, 11:48 AM)
adamantium huh??? rolleyes.gif
i think apple should release a Wolverine MBP version. thumbup.gif
Why not Carbon fibre or Titanium? rclxms.gif
wei
post Oct 26 2006, 12:15 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Oct 26 2006, 12:11 PM)
duh... because it's been done before? icon_idea.gif
Austin
post Oct 26 2006, 12:19 PM

Sole Loser
1,476 posts

well the 12" powerbook g4 is 2.1kg, while the 15.4" one is 2.54kg.
The difference only 440g.

If more than 700g difference like IBM Sony or Fujitsu, then only worth to get the 12", otherwise for another 440g, I will choose the bigger one.

I think that's the reason Apple cancelled the 12" model for core / core2 duo.
azxel
post Oct 26 2006, 01:16 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Oct 26 2006, 12:11 PM)
yea... it's been done before...
my 4 year old Powerbook G4 is Titanium. flex.gif
n20nine
post Oct 26 2006, 01:36 PM

909 posts

QUOTE(Austin @ Oct 26 2006, 12:19 PM)
well the 12" powerbook g4 is 2.1kg, while the 15.4" one is 2.54kg.
The difference only 440g.

If more than 700g difference like IBM Sony or Fujitsu, then only worth to get the 12", otherwise for another 440g, I will choose the bigger one.

I think that's the reason Apple cancelled the 12" model for core / core2 duo.
yea the weight difference is not much, however i still like something small to carry around. in fact, the 15" does not feel that really heavy, have played with it and i like the weight, just not the dimensions. besides, i like putting my lappie on my lap, surfing on my bed, so i really like something small, but then again, some people may prefer bigger screens.

evilhomura89
post Oct 27 2006, 09:55 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(N0eL @ Oct 25 2006, 11:50 PM)
I read articles from apple insider & mac rumors and both suggested that Macbook C2D might be launching during the end of Nov. Lets hope it can make it on time for the coming PCfair~!
Good news!!
If the price is nice, I'll get it for my college study next yr...... rclxm9.gif
n20nine
post Oct 27 2006, 11:33 PM

909 posts

just checked out the price of the new mbp at apple store aus, it is more expensive than the ones we get here, even with education discount, it is still more expensive, guess we fellas are indeed lucky, in fact the price here is just 2-300 more than the price in US. i think one of our forumer, yetieater, i guess will be going to us next year right, am sure the educational discount will bring down the price even more.
lswang
post Oct 31 2006, 09:52 PM

627 posts

CG Computer got the price

MacBook Pro
Widescreen 15- & 17-inch models featuring:
Intel Core 2 Dual processor up to 2.33GHz
Built-in iSight camera
Front Row and Apple Remote
Up to 39% faster
Power Adapter with MagSafe Connector
Firewire 800, DVI, Digital Audio
Mac OS X Tiger and iLife '06

15 inch : 2.16GHz
. 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
. 1440 x 900 pixels
. 1GB memory
. 120GB hard drive1
. 6x double-layer SuperDrive
. ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 graphics with 128MB SDRAM
RM7,799

15 inch : 2.33GHz
. 2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
. 1440 x 900 pixels
. 2GB memory
. 120GB hard drive1
. 6x double-layer SuperDrive
. ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 graphics with 256MB SDRAM
RM9,699

17 inch : 2.33GHz
. 2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
. 1680 x 1050 pixels
. 2GB memory
. 160GB hard drive1
. 8x double-layer SuperDrive
. ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 graphics with 256MB SDRAM
RM10,799

Click here fore more information
prasys
post Oct 31 2006, 09:54 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

let us see if the old macbook pro price drops or not

RM 5k , and i will take it
yetieater
post Oct 31 2006, 09:58 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(n20nine @ Oct 27 2006, 11:33 PM)
i think one of our forumer, yetieater, i guess will be going to us next year right, am sure the educational discount will bring down the price even more.
Yup, that's right. I'll get it ordered in so my sister can bring it to Malaysia for me immediately after she finishes her school year. Another eight months to go - enough time for a third revision of the MBP.

All of Malaysia is unified under a single price for Apple products, right? The MBP is looking mighty attractive. RM200 off of the old price and upgrades across the board.
greenfrogz
post Oct 31 2006, 11:00 PM

69 posts

waiting for a cheaper macbook with c2d. macbook pro is out of my budjet d.. T.T
MacDaNife
post Nov 1 2006, 06:14 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 31 2006, 09:54 PM)

Reality check: The reason why you almost NEVER can buy an off-the-shelf MacBookPro is that they almost never keep inventory in this country. You place an order and they get the machine in from Singapore (who in turn get it from the factory in Taiwan).

Hence, there is almost ZERO stock to clear.

So if you're hoping for big price-drops on older models: you're being overly optimistic. whistling.gif
SEP910
post Nov 1 2006, 08:01 AM

Desire!!!
1,153 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 31 2006, 09:54 PM)

take mine... hahaha...
wait it come out. I sell my macbook pro
SUSMike3300
post Nov 1 2006, 08:39 AM

6,866 posts

so many user's now still waiting for Macbook with C2D doh.gif
n20nine
post Nov 1 2006, 01:38 PM

909 posts

well, RM7799 is a great price. The MBP C2D with Educational Discount for U of Adelaide which I most probably will go to next year is RM 7921.10, and in US, with educational discount is only RM 6534.15. So looks like I will get my cousin in US to get it for me. So much cheaper...

hairol83
post Nov 1 2006, 04:25 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(SEP910 @ Nov 1 2006, 08:01 AM)
take mine... hahaha...
wait it come out. I sell my macbook pro
how much do you want to sale it? rolleyes.gif
wjie20
post Nov 2 2006, 09:22 PM

6 Star-Dude
1,582 posts

Is there a confirm week that they are open to be sold in shops?
(the reason week is because u cant confirm a date...they will say tommorow and so on..)
lol
MacDaNife
post Nov 2 2006, 09:27 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

already available in KL.... check with your dealer...
Cyberfriq
post Nov 4 2006, 10:09 AM

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Nov 2 2006, 09:27 PM)
already available in KL.... check with your dealer...
can u plz tell me where in KL???
MacDaNife
post Nov 4 2006, 11:26 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(Cyberfriq @ Nov 4 2006, 10:09 AM)
can u plz tell me where in KL???
The guys at VR Tech apparently already have it in stock.
Cyberfriq
post Nov 4 2006, 03:52 PM

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Nov 4 2006, 11:26 AM)
The guys at VR Tech apparently already have it in stock.
I just called them.. they said it will be out in couple of weeks.
Cyberfriq
post Nov 4 2006, 03:59 PM

The shop in Sunway Pyramid Confirmed that they can get MBP for me Yesterday, but called back again to say their stock got delayed so, have to wait till Monday.
KTay
post Nov 5 2006, 09:32 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(Cyberfriq @ Nov 4 2006, 03:59 PM)
The shop in Sunway Pyramid Confirmed that they can get MBP for me Yesterday, but called back again to say their stock got delayed so, have to wait till Monday.
wawa, reaching this monday drool.gif ? i go pester my dad to buy me one of these rclxm9.gif
Cyberfriq
post Nov 5 2006, 11:27 AM

hehe.. i've been pestering my dad for 3 years
KTay
post Nov 5 2006, 02:26 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(Cyberfriq @ Nov 5 2006, 11:27 AM)
hehe.. i've been pestering my dad for 3 years
Haha, wad did he say each time you ask? smile.gif
crash
post Nov 5 2006, 04:29 PM

240 posts

I think the Core2 Duo has 2 distinct advantages over the Core Duo.

1. It offers faster and better performance (20-30% quicker on some tasks)
2. Uses less power and runs cooler.

I am awaiting for the processor market to be flooded with Merom chips for me to upgrade my iMac Intel 1.83Ghz Core Duo. Pure plug and play with the current board.
Cyberfriq
post Nov 6 2006, 09:13 AM

QUOTE(KTay @ Nov 5 2006, 02:26 PM)
Haha, wad did he say each time you ask?  smile.gif
hehe.. he doesnt have that much money.. 'maybe later, when you relly need it' thats what he said.

I called VR tech, and they said they have already ordered the stock, but its not available yet!

So now waiting for Sunway Macasia to open (probably they won't have it either, but they said they will refund my booking money rclxms.gif )

SUSMike3300
post Nov 6 2006, 09:18 AM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(Cyberfriq @ Nov 6 2006, 09:13 AM)
hehe.. he doesnt have that much money.. 'maybe later, when you relly need it' thats what he said.
I called VR tech, and they said they have already ordered the stock, but its not available yet!

So now waiting for  Sunway Macasia to open (probably they won't have it either, but they said they will refund my booking money  rclxms.gif )
You can always direct order from Apple Store Singapore or USA if you can't wait. icon_rolleyes.gif
R-K-F
post Nov 6 2006, 04:55 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Nov 6 2006, 09:18 AM)
You can always direct order from Apple Store Singapore or USA if you can't wait. icon_rolleyes.gif
They don't ship internationally.

I emailed CG, they said their C2D MPB stock will arrive in 2 weeks. I wanna get one ASAP though, so if you guys know any place that has stock please post..
yetieater
post Nov 6 2006, 05:11 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(R-K-F @ Nov 6 2006, 04:55 PM)
They don't ship internationally.
If I'm not mistaken, Mike got his iPod Shuffle 2nd Generation through Apple Singapore. Perhaps the policy on computers is different ?
wei
post Nov 6 2006, 05:15 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(yetieater @ Nov 6 2006, 05:11 PM)
If I'm not mistaken, Mike got his iPod Shuffle 2nd Generation through Apple Singapore.  Perhaps the policy on computers is different ?
really? hmm hmm....

I've call them on this before, their reply is:
- For shipping, you have to have a valid Singapore address.
- To buy online, your CC must be addressed in Singapore.
- They don't ship oversea, not even to Johor.
cywings
post Nov 6 2006, 05:25 PM

415 posts

u guys are so rich..can get MBP...alwiz wanted to get one but it's really out of budget... sigh.. just can drool over it...
R-K-F
post Nov 6 2006, 06:04 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(yetieater @ Nov 6 2006, 05:11 PM)
If I'm not mistaken, Mike got his iPod Shuffle 2nd Generation through Apple Singapore.  Perhaps the policy on computers is different ?

After what happened here I pretty much doubt "Mike"'s credibility.

QUOTE(cywings @ Nov 6 2006, 05:25 PM)
u guys are so rich..can get MBP...alwiz wanted to get one but it's really out of budget... sigh.. just can drool over it...

Saved up a long time lar.
yetieater
post Nov 6 2006, 08:03 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Nov 6 2006, 05:15 PM)
really? hmm hmm....

I've call them on this before, their reply is:
- For shipping, you have to have a valid Singapore address.
- To buy online, your CC must be addressed in Singapore.
- They don't ship oversea, not even to Johor.
I was unaware of Apple's shipping policy. Hmm!

Thanks for linking me, R-K-F. Amusing. Going to look through the rest of his uploaded photos? :|
lokgotz
post Nov 6 2006, 08:51 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(yetieater @ Nov 6 2006, 08:03 PM)
I was unaware of Apple's shipping policy.  Hmm!

Thanks for linking me, R-K-F.  Amusing.  Going to look through the rest of his uploaded photos? :|
i know i am...... whistling.gif

anyway, i called apple sg when i wanted to buy a shuffle 2g.....and they say cannot be shipped outside of sg.....

and in their online store....only sg address accepted.....

going to sg this december for holidays.....hope to get a shuffle 2g if $$$ permits...

and gonne get another ipod next year coz my friend going to japan! hahahaha....
lswang
post Nov 6 2006, 09:02 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Nov 6 2006, 08:51 PM)
i know i am...... whistling.gif

anyway, i called apple sg when i wanted to buy a shuffle 2g.....and they say cannot be shipped outside of sg.....

and in their online store....only sg address accepted.....

going to sg this december for holidays.....hope to get a shuffle 2g if $$$ permits...

and gonne get another ipod next year coz my friend going to japan! hahahaha....
So, can you buy shuffle in sg and bring it back to malaysia? blink.gif
yetieater
post Nov 6 2006, 09:04 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(lswang @ Nov 6 2006, 09:02 PM)
So, can you buy shuffle in sg and bring it back to malaysia? blink.gif
You can physically set foot in Singapore and bring the goods back to Malaysia, yes. Provided you aren't coming back to Malaysia with your suitcases filled to the brim with unopened iPods, no flags will be raised with Customs.
lswang
post Nov 6 2006, 09:13 PM

627 posts

Thanks yetieater for your information

Well, i am not sure whether you all have know this or not, but i would like to share with you all.

Now, you can buy a mac by instalments rclxm9.gif

Here is the article.

This post has been edited by lswang: Nov 6 2006, 09:14 PM
Asparagine
post Nov 7 2006, 10:21 AM

QUOTE(sukun @ Oct 25 2006, 05:15 PM)
I'm consider on buying Macbook... Will the old Intel Core Duo change to Core2 Duo like the Macbook releases recently? If Core2 Duo won't be release on Macbook, sure i will get myself a Macbook asap...
Yes, interested in buying macbook too. Hope they will release the core 2 duo version.
N0eL
post Nov 7 2006, 02:39 PM

1,479 posts

Source : http://www.appleinsider.com/article.php?id=2207

Apple Computer may be ready to update its MacBook line of consumer notebooks with Intel Corp.'s Core 2 Duo processors as early as this week, tipsters tell AppleInsider.

Rumors relating to specific release dates for the enhanced 13-inch notebooks have swirled in recent weeks, fueled in part by European resellers who continue to report little success in obtaining new stock of existing Core Duo-based models.

Those rumors were stoked further last week when web surfers stumbled upon some unusual listings at Play.com, a European Apple reseller which abruptly began accepting pre-orders for several unannounced Core 2 Duo-based MacBook models through its online store.

Now tipsters tell AppleInsider that three new Apple hardware products are en-route the U.S. this week, carrying previously unoccupied manufacturers part numbers MA699LL/A, MA700LL/A and MA701LL/A.

Apple's existing line of MacBooks are similarly available in three standard retail configurations: two white-colored models (1.83GHz and 2.0GHz) and a single black model (also 2.0GHz). They range in price from (U.S.) $1099 to (U.S.) $1499.

While AppleInsider has been unable to positively confirm the latest product rumblings pertain specifically to MacBooks, the reports are similar to those that appeared in the days and hours leading up to Apple's announcement of Core 2 Duo-based MacBook Pro models late last month.

In September, AppleInsider reported that Mac maker had wrapped up development of revised MacBook and MacBook Pro models, each of which would sport Core 2 Duo chips from Intel. People familiar with the company's plans said both lines were tracking for a release prior to the holiday shopping season, which has historically seen its initial surge the day after Thanksgiving.

On Oct. 24, Apple introduced 15- and 17-inch MacBook Pro models with Core 2 Duo processors, leaving only its 13-inch MacBook offerings with Core Duo chips.
wjie20
post Nov 7 2006, 11:59 PM

6 Star-Dude
1,582 posts

Erm, if buying from sg...is the warranty applied to other countries? or u have to go back to sg?
KTay
post Nov 8 2006, 12:38 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Nov 7 2006, 11:59 PM)
Erm, if buying from sg...is the warranty applied to other countries? or u have to go back to sg?
Apple's warranty whole world wan i think ... just bring to apple store.
SUSMike3300
post Nov 8 2006, 12:50 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(N0eL @ Nov 7 2006, 02:39 PM)
Source : http://www.appleinsider.com/article.php?id=2207

Apple Computer may be ready to update its MacBook line of consumer notebooks with Intel Corp.'s Core 2 Duo processors as early as this week, tipsters tell AppleInsider.

Rumors relating to specific release dates for the enhanced 13-inch notebooks have swirled in recent weeks, fueled in part by European resellers who continue to report little success in obtaining new stock of existing Core Duo-based models.

Those rumors were stoked further last week when web surfers stumbled upon some unusual listings at Play.com, a European Apple reseller which abruptly began accepting pre-orders for several unannounced Core 2 Duo-based MacBook models through its online store.

Now tipsters tell AppleInsider that three new Apple hardware products are en-route the U.S. this week, carrying previously unoccupied manufacturers part numbers MA699LL/A, MA700LL/A and MA701LL/A.

Apple's existing line of MacBooks are similarly available in three standard retail configurations: two white-colored models (1.83GHz and 2.0GHz) and a single black model (also 2.0GHz). They range in price from (U.S.) $1099 to (U.S.) $1499.

While AppleInsider has been unable to positively confirm the latest product rumblings pertain specifically to MacBooks, the reports are similar to those that appeared in the days and hours leading up to Apple's announcement of Core 2 Duo-based MacBook Pro models late last month.

In September, AppleInsider reported that Mac maker had wrapped up development of revised MacBook and MacBook Pro models, each of which would sport Core 2 Duo chips from Intel. People familiar with the company's plans said both lines were tracking for a release prior to the holiday shopping season, which has historically seen its initial surge the day after Thanksgiving.

On Oct. 24, Apple introduced 15- and 17-inch MacBook Pro models with Core 2 Duo processors, leaving only its 13-inch MacBook offerings with Core Duo chips.
I'm sure they'll do something to the Macbook, can't just left em behind smile.gif
R-K-F
post Nov 8 2006, 11:48 PM

94 posts

Out already.

http://www.apple.com/macbook/macbook.html
minde
post Nov 12 2006, 06:41 PM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

got mine 15inch 2.33ghz...rm96xx.Super chun . 1st time use mac but din know can boot to windows xp...super cool

This post has been edited by minde: Nov 12 2006, 06:41 PM
vandetta
post Nov 13 2006, 02:09 AM

658 posts

minde, in the other thread you mentioned your MBP is 2.16 Ghz, and here you said it's 2.33 Ghz.. Which one is actually true?

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=276594&st=1040

Go back there and look at post #1076

Cheers.
ifer
post Nov 14 2006, 04:01 PM

4,637 posts

i wonder is there an installment plan for this purchase?
wei
post Nov 14 2006, 04:26 PM

6,496 posts

Yes, just walk in to any apple center and ask for their installment plan. different apple store offer different bank.

0.0298sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:22 PM