Oil & Gas Careers V8, Upstream and Downstream, Crude Oil (WTI): USD 45.22/bbl

mohdyakup
post Jan 3 2016, 01:22 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Dec 8 2015, 05:33 AM)
Hi guys, I would like to ask some of you sifus about my job prospects here. I'm currently in my 3rd year at a US university and on the path to graduate with a B.S. in Environmental Sciences. I understand that it is NOT an engineering degree, but it matches up with Geology/Geosciences/Earth Sciences and some outlooks on the job scope would be: Environmental remediation, natural resource management, etc.

I would like to know if there are positions available for somebody in my profession in the oil and gas field? Or do you guys have any other suggestions as to what fields are available?

I have my asked my dad, who is working with Schlumberger as a Directional Driller. He himself has a Geology degree, but never used it himself - but that was in the late 80s/early 90s, so I'm not sure if it still holds true nowadays. So I was not able to get a clear answer from him. :/

Thanks in advance guys!
C.c HSE guru Noyze

This post has been edited by mohdyakup: Jan 3 2016, 05:21 PM
mohdyakup
post Jan 3 2016, 03:01 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(Eidilfitrix @ Jan 3 2016, 02:56 PM)
Hi I've been looking for this from all the sifus here. Hope it can be answered.

Let say you're not working for the Malaysian NOC (Petronas), you're working for any international producer, for this case study sake (Shell, KPOC, etc), what happens if their PSC ends? Will most of the employees be out of jobs or will they be relocated?

Thanks in advance!
C.c to speedfamgirl
mohdyakup
post Jan 4 2016, 07:53 AM

4,351 posts

Similar things when EnQuest bought over Seligi PM8 from EMEPMI.
mohdyakup
post Jan 4 2016, 09:30 AM

4,351 posts

Good read.

http://www.malaysiangas.com/portal/documen..._Annual_Rev.pdf
mohdyakup
post Jan 5 2016, 10:37 AM

4,351 posts

Looks like the operator of KBM cluster field in the verge to retrenched its staffs...

In other news, new petchem project soon at Kemaman.

Jacobs is actively recruiting.
mohdyakup
post Jan 5 2016, 05:30 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ Jan 5 2016, 12:00 PM)
PM contact for Jacobs recruiter. biggrin.gif
Check your Whatsapp
mohdyakup
post Jan 7 2016, 11:26 AM

4,351 posts

Anyone from Chiyoda here? Just receive a call from their recruiter for an interview next week.

Want to know beside MTBE & PDH project, what else Chiyoda project secure lately? (apart RAPID)

I dont want to work at Gebeng anymore... Sobs...
mohdyakup
post Jan 7 2016, 11:40 AM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(jamaluddin4 @ Jan 7 2016, 11:36 AM)
Abg Yakup,

Mind to share Chiyoda recruiter contact with me.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
His name is Mathieu Busca.

+65 6324 0080

mohdyakup
post Jan 7 2016, 12:59 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(gulagulahacks @ Jan 7 2016, 12:11 PM)
why? Gebeng no fun ka?
I hate bauxite. Gebeng is fun but not that red dust.
mohdyakup
post Jan 7 2016, 01:03 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(jamaluddin4 @ Jan 7 2016, 11:49 AM)
Thanks. Any email?

Oil Prices today

WTI : 33.21
Brent : 33.42
Phone number is all I have.

mohdyakup
post Jan 7 2016, 01:47 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Jan 6 2016, 09:03 PM)
Thanks for sharing. It's a very informative article.
No problem.
mohdyakup
post Jan 7 2016, 02:58 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Jan 7 2016, 02:39 PM)
Expected this year is reduce to USD20.  shakehead.gif No good.
Prepare for the worst...
mohdyakup
post Jan 7 2016, 03:15 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(jamaluddin4 @ Jan 7 2016, 03:14 PM)
Oil price keep falling since yesterday.

Will reach USD20+ as predicted by goldman sachs when iran oil coming to the market.
I don't mind if its fall until 5 dollar per barrel... Let the Saudi bleeds...
mohdyakup
post Jan 7 2016, 03:43 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jan 7 2016, 10:04 AM)
Helping a colleague out, he needs a job (previously from one of the big drilling companies). Well completions engineer with 2-3 years of field experience. Please PM me if you require his CV.
https://www.linkedin.com/jobs2/view/9483001...pany_other_jobs

In fact, I do have direct Hess email (recruiter) in charge. If you want, PM me.
mohdyakup
post Jan 7 2016, 03:57 PM

4,351 posts

Do you enjoy writing code to solve complex engineering problems? You will love working with us. We are looking for coding-enthusiastic engineers, fresh graduates to seniors with up to 10 years of industry experience, ideally with a petroleum engineering background, to join the innovative software division of an international consultancy. You will develop novel, patent-worthy algorithms solving fundamental upstream oil and gas challenges, and have the opportunity to apply these methods directly on concrete industry projects. Send your latest CV to mahadevan@leap-energy.com
mohdyakup
post Jan 7 2016, 06:46 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(thedarktraveller @ Jan 7 2016, 06:28 PM)
Hello fellow grease monkeys... Question: I'm currently doing sales (and holding other sub-processes like tenders, project) in a well-known German company. Been working for almost a year now. Thing is, I don't find this position as challenging and am looking to do something technical. Could you guys point me in the right direction where I can find technical positions like design, etc? I'm a Chemical Engineering graduate from a recognised UK university, if that helps in any way.
Siemens? ABB?
mohdyakup
post Jan 7 2016, 09:27 PM

4,351 posts

I didnt get the Hess job. Aiya. Haha. I guess either the chosen candidate nose dive his rate, but doubtful so because he is the experienced candidate so far I know, a Malaysian guy just return home and previously working at Erbil, Iraq (Taqa).

Dua kali sudah mencuba namun tak berjaya...

Tough job market...
mohdyakup
post Jan 7 2016, 09:33 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Jan 7 2016, 07:49 PM)
Abang yakup, pm me too please?
Thank you.
Mee kolok first as a bribe...
mohdyakup
post Jan 8 2016, 09:18 AM