Theory/Lessons Floyd-Rose Bridge Replacements

antonio
post Oct 30 2006, 04:58 PM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

Hehehe..its not about the breakage...its about the rough surface which 'tidak menselesakan' while playing...ouch! tongue.gif usually 1st to 3rd string...

This post has been edited by antonio: Oct 30 2006, 04:59 PM
noisetrigger
post Oct 30 2006, 05:30 PM

687 posts

I change my strings every month. I don't understand how some of you can actually tahan until 6 months. The strings will be migthy disgusting by then
TSchanghao
post Oct 30 2006, 05:47 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Oct 30 2006, 05:30 PM)
I change my strings every month. I don't understand how some of you can actually tahan until 6 months. The strings will be migthy disgusting by then
Agreed. It's happened to me twice so far where in the middle of a session with my buddies, the E-string just snapped on me mid-solo. doh.gif

Thankfully, electric guitar strings don't pack as much tension as the acoustics. Had one snap into my forearm, leaving a 5-inch long mark for a whole week! It hurts to say the least...

As for the D'Addario stainless steel strings, a friend of mine who works at Guitar Collections tried them before and tells me that within the first week or so of playing, the strings just go "dead" i.e. there won't be any sound coming from them. wink.gif So I'm not sure if they're such a good idea.

Oh oh. And if you guys want strings for cheap, do get them from Singapore. Swee Lee's sell D'Addarios @ 3 sets for SGD$15 or approx. MYR37! Saves you a good MYR20 at least!

This post has been edited by changhao: Oct 30 2006, 06:07 PM
asura_86
post Oct 30 2006, 07:25 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

QUOTE(changhao @ Oct 30 2006, 05:47 PM)
Agreed. It's happened to me twice so far where in the middle of a session with my buddies, the E-string just snapped on me mid-solo.  doh.gif

Thankfully, electric guitar strings don't pack as much tension as the acoustics. Had one snap into my forearm, leaving a 5-inch long mark for a whole week! It hurts to say the least...

As for the D'Addario stainless steel strings, a friend of mine who works at Guitar Collections tried them before and tells me that within the first week or so of playing, the strings just go "dead" i.e. there won't be any sound coming from them.  wink.gif So I'm not sure if they're such a good idea.

Oh oh. And if you guys want strings for cheap, do get them from Singapore. Swee Lee's sell D'Addarios @ 3 sets for SGD$15 or approx. MYR37! Saves you a good MYR20 at least!
wow, nice price...i saw bentley selling them for rm17 per set...i usually change my string once every 2-3months...depending on playing time and usage...
MetalZone
post Oct 30 2006, 07:49 PM

2,515 posts

wah then if anybody goes down to singapore... grab me a bunch of strings. i'm serious hehe.
TSchanghao
post Oct 30 2006, 10:09 PM

142 posts

Another thing abt the 3-set deal, you get 9 players' points for 3 sets instead of the usual 2 points for each set!
Everdying
post Oct 30 2006, 10:39 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

fine lesson in how to go OT.
wonder how much i can sell off my d'addario points for tongue.gif
sean392
post Oct 30 2006, 11:50 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Oct 30 2006, 05:30 PM)
6 months
honestly yeah they're disgusting but then dont have much cash to spring on strings so often u know

but thats with slinkys
2nd week n its alr black

using elixirs now

2nd month and going strong, still as shiny as when i bought it
plus its extra bright sound really goes with the lp low-middy tone
=D
Everdying
post Oct 30 2006, 11:54 PM

30,735 posts

thats what the EMGs are for in the LP tongue.gif
noisetrigger
post Oct 31 2006, 12:13 AM

687 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Oct 30 2006, 11:50 PM)
6 months
honestly yeah they're disgusting but then dont have much cash to spring on strings so often u know

but thats with slinkys
2nd week n its alr black

using elixirs now

2nd month and going strong, still as shiny as when i bought it
plus its extra bright sound really goes with the lp low-middy tone
=D
Come on, less than RM20 per month is not that terrible. Just less on non-life depending stuff like PC upgrades,handphones, mp3 players, digicams, or videogames.
MetalZone
post Oct 31 2006, 01:52 AM

2,515 posts

sean... i heard elixirs start peeling at the picking area if you are an agressive string whacker... has yours started peeling?
ian31
post Nov 3 2006, 02:04 AM

101 posts

since it's a floyd rose thread. Well i hope i can ask it here. Anybody knows where can i get a floyd rose saddle? I lost one of them and am not sure which shop sells them. Does bentley have them?
MetalZone
post Nov 3 2006, 03:59 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(ian31 @ Nov 3 2006, 02:04 AM)
since it's a floyd rose thread. Well i hope i can ask it here. Anybody knows where can i get a floyd rose saddle? I lost one of them and am not sure which shop sells them. Does bentley have them?
did u lose the whole saddle or just the string lock block? what trem is that?
Everdying
post Nov 3 2006, 04:47 AM

30,735 posts

he said while changing strings it got lost.
so i guess its the block.
bentley are also the distributors for floyd rose, can check if they have it.
ian31
post Nov 3 2006, 01:18 PM

101 posts

yeap it's the string lock block. Using an OFR. Guess i'll have to check from bentley. Do you guys think Guitar store or do re mi sells them too?
Everdying
post Nov 3 2006, 06:30 PM

30,735 posts

they might, but it wont be OFR parts.
only bentley carries OFR parts.
sean392
post Nov 3 2006, 09:18 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Oct 31 2006, 01:52 AM)
sean... i heard elixirs start peeling at the picking area if you are an agressive string whacker... has yours started peeling?
yeap
just alittle only
owh
on the 4th string only
the top 3 n bottom 2 din peel
the wounded strings are more likely to peel i guess

This post has been edited by sean392: Nov 3 2006, 09:20 PM
TSchanghao
post Nov 3 2006, 09:56 PM

142 posts

Funny... Bentley's carry OFR parts but not the OFR bridge itself...?
blacktrix
post Nov 3 2006, 10:01 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Oh oh..... Forgot....
How much are the Floyd Rose locks? Just the locks.......
Everdying
post Nov 3 2006, 10:40 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(changhao @ Nov 3 2006, 09:56 PM)
Funny... Bentley's carry OFR parts but not the OFR bridge itself...?
they did.
but seeing as how many cheapskates there are around who would rather prefer a RM200 made in china floyd copy, its not feasible to carry them.
even stores in SG doesnt carry them.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:06 AM