4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

> JUST GOT A J41 JOB OFFER IN GOMEN., WORK - SCOPE?

TSprocontavia
post May 10 2015, 02:57 PM, updated 11y ago

398 posts

[USING MY FRIEND'S ACCOUNT TO POST THIS]

Got a J41 job! I'm grateful that I'm to get a gov job offer.

Just got a call from the HR department of Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysia (not JKR sad.gif ) : Told me I'd get a posting letter soon, but when I asked the HR officer of the kind of work i would be doing, he said: "bro, kerja u ialah maintenance of elevators and lifts in hospitals.."

I'm not so worried about the salary as I am about the kind of work I'd actually be doing. So I think the HR officer was just giving a textbook answer and not properly explaining to me what I'd be doing.. With my current job in a Consultant firm, I'm actually over-loaded with all kinds of work - from detailed design, to management, to business development- all sorts of stuff- but the downside is that this Consultant does not pay for my PDP (professional development program) training, and really doesn't pay well either.

Factors which will influence my decision to move to Public / stay in Private :
1) Will I actually be doing "maintenance" or would I be able to be involved in actual design engineering, yada yada? (Note: I'm not going to be assigned to JKR but KKM) Personally, I get satisfaction from learning stuffand I heard that in the government you get to go for training- in fact they'd be more than willing to send you places for training. Is this true?

2) Job security- private sector can kick you out anytime, but everyone seems to assume the government will keep you in service.

3) Pension security - How can you even be sure your pension is secure, let alone your KWSP money. We're just presuming that in about 20 plus yrs when we retire, government will faithfully give money to you?

4) I'm a non-bumi, so I'm worried about the whole "you-aint-us-so-you-wont-go-high". Myth or Reality?

I appreciate all helpful comments/advice,

And can someone give a simple breakdown of the salary & benefits scheme of working for the government?

I heard gaji now will be 2360 +
Elaun Perumahan - 250
Elaun Tetap Perkhidmatan Awam - 300
Elaun Kritikal - 750
Elaun COLA (mengikut lokaliti - 300

This post has been edited by procontavia: May 10 2015, 04:24 PM
SUS+ Blind Target +
post May 10 2015, 03:00 PM

133 posts

your job is to maintain proper working elevators, act fast and save lives sad.gif

frostfox
post May 10 2015, 03:01 PM

the end is near
1,601 posts

QUOTE(procontavia @ May 10 2015, 02:57 PM)

Just got a call from the HR department of Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysia (not JKR  sad.gif ) : Told me I'd get a posting letter soon, but when I asked the HR officer of the kind of work i would be doing, he said: "bro, kerja u ialah maintenance of elevators and lifts in hospitals.."

I'm not so worried about the salary as I am about the kind of work I'd actually be doing. So I think the HR officer was just giving a textbook answer and not properly explaining to me what I'd be doing.. With my current job in a Consultant firm, I'm actually over-loaded with all kinds of work - from detailed design, to management, to business development- all sorts of stuff- but the downside is that this Consultant does not pay for my PDP (professional development program) training, and really doesn't pay well either.

1) Will I actually be doing "maintenance" or would I be able to be involved in actual design engineering, yada yada? (Note: I'm not going to be assigned to JKR but KKM) Personally, I get satisfaction from learning stuffand I heard that in the government you get to go for training- in fact they'd be more than willing to send you places for training. Is this true?

2) Job security- private sector can kick you out anytime, but everyone seems to assume the government will keep you in service.

3) Pension security - sigh. this can be a real FML - How can you even be sure your pension is secure, let alone your KWSP money. We're just presuming that in about 20 plus yrs when we retire, government will faithfully give money to you?

4) I'm a non-bumi, so I'm worried about the whole "you-aint-us-so-you-wont-go-high". Myth or Reality?
And can someone give a simple breakdown of the salary & benefits scheme of working for the government?

Elaun Perumahan - 250
Elaun Kritikal - 750
1. don't know
2.yes
3.yes
4.reality

xxx475475
post May 10 2015, 03:08 PM

142 posts

tou will not going to fix and maintaining the elevator/lift by yourself. they got seperate contractor or subs for that. ur job mostly supervise and plan the maintenance process.
SUSSuper Saiya
post May 10 2015, 03:12 PM

280 posts

tahniah
imsushi92
post May 10 2015, 03:15 PM

248 posts

how you apply?
imranzero

238 posts

untung la, u can take out all your epf moneyh...
neokyo

248 posts

41, u do paper work more than sweat work..
azarimy

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(procontavia @ May 10 2015, 06:57 AM)

Just got a call from the HR department of Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysia (not JKR  sad.gif ) : Told me I'd get a posting letter soon, but when I asked the HR officer of the kind of work i would be doing, he said: "bro, kerja u ialah maintenance of elevators and lifts in hospitals.."

3) Pension security - sigh. this can be a real FML - How can you even be sure your pension is secure, let alone your KWSP money. We're just presuming that in about 20 plus yrs when we retire, government will faithfully give money to you?

Elaun Perumahan - 250
Elaun Kritikal - 750
first of all, i'm not familiar with the nature of ur work. are u a qualified mech. engineer?

1. the real job scope is very specific to that dept. even with the same post, ur job scope can vary between different government departments. so only ur immediate supervisor/superior can clearly inform u about this.

but on the training part, it's very true. in fact, for me, we're required to fulfill 40 hours of training/improvement programmes per year. that's why u often see government officers going for workshops and talks and training or what not all the time - to fulfill the quota. of course, the amount differs between positions. the depth of the training also differs.

for me, i came to the point where i instruct my HR the stuffs i wanna learn this year and they'll sort the budgets and stuffs. at one time i was pissed with them listing me in programmes that's not even useful to me.

2. yes, it's very, very hard to get fired from government. u can get potong gaji, demoted or transferred (or combinations of those), but unless u commit serious crime, u're safe.

3. u choose between pension or KWSP. i switched to pension long ago. about the security of pensions, well for now our labor union is pretty strong. u touch the pension, we change the government. simple as that.

4. this highly depends on ur boss and the environment u're in. in academia or civil service, u can climb up as high as u want. but in other places, probably not so much. but dont let it deter u. nowadays people are more open, unlike 20-30 years ago.

poooky
post May 10 2015, 03:17 PM

844 posts

Not bad gomen job stable n many perks. Basically d taxpayers r paying for u. But since u non bumi u will get d crumbs n b considered last in promotion or wtv.
pr0pofol
post May 10 2015, 03:21 PM

149 posts

J41 is jurutera awam
u won't do maintenance work la
more towards management work
maybe also involved in tender and building of new hospitals
metaled
post May 10 2015, 03:32 PM

273 posts

1. no, spanar and screw driver are only handle by person below u. u just make sure they repair it, and attend meeting here and there, management work mostly.

2. the biggest fear of all is kena transfer to other places out of state, that will disrupt your life.

3. very secure.

4. connection, and hard work at the correct places/point of course.

tahniah, J41 is quite an ok position.

If u have a good say in a project and the kind of product that will be used, prepare to be on a pay roll and frequent factory acceptance test at oversea, when u reach the higher level one day.

Remember to keep changing location and as remote as possible when the exchange of "power" in an envelope is going to happen. Yes in an envelope only and thick one, where there will be no sight of the "paper" inside. You dont want jealous people CCTV record you receiving them.
Robin Hood
post May 10 2015, 03:33 PM

289 posts

No keneksyun no naik tangga
SUSapj8188
post May 10 2015, 03:39 PM

198 posts

syukur boleh masuk kerja lambat balik awal dan kuih time teh time kuih time teh time kuih time teh time
SUSlaoahpek
post May 10 2015, 03:41 PM

40 posts

i apply so much...non success

syukor dapat gomen work
abcde90
post May 10 2015, 03:44 PM

183 posts

Jurutera operasi hospital?

Gudlak when dealing with syarikat konsesi

Kui kui kui
ihatemynahs
post May 10 2015, 03:51 PM

48 posts

Not to pour cold water, but I wonder whether u'd have the same level of enthusiasm a year or two from now. It does sound like a terribly boring and repetitive job. Anyways, good luck to you.
four_add
post May 10 2015, 03:51 PM

Senior Lurker
842 posts

u got offer for permanent or contact post (J41) ?
AFAIK, all those under J scheme is under JKR, 'gunasama' which means later can change agency if not satifsied with MOH.

u got call from MOH,so contract basis is it ?

also J41 do lots of paperwork, presenation, etc. also can make sebutharga/tender when buying stuf/service...
Zaryl
post May 10 2015, 03:59 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

J41 but still contract bro.

Nowadays gomen job also got contract, 1 year, 2 years.

If the management wants to fire you, they can do so without any valid reasons pun.

Try check balik your agreement.

Other than this, congrats on your new job and good luck!

Selamat menjadi pencacai Jay Ampat Puluh Satu huehuehue
Avex
post May 10 2015, 04:01 PM

570 posts

Ada chance to songlap, good to be rich.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » 

0.0170sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:02 PM