[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V9!
ikhwan1
May 19 2015, 12:17 PM

Hye sifu, I have a budget of 3.5k. I would only want a 960 but if u think its appropriate to have a 970, then why not. So two suggestions, one with 960 and one with 970 is more than welcome. Btw, im not a heavy gamer guy. I would like to have a very smooth pc. I do not need any peripherals. I am also hoping to have a theme for the pc. Maybe black and red or any other combo. I am using it for autocad and other enginering software. Not looking to OC. Thank you
ikhwan1
May 19 2015, 11:43 PM

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 19 2015, 04:00 PM) Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 954 Asrock H97 Pro4 - RM 348.74 Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 222.60 Palit GTX970 4GB GDDR5 reference - RM 1376.94 WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 189.74 Seasonic M12II Evo 520W - RM 299 Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 145 Total: RM 3536.02 (PSU and Chassis are from Viewnet, other parts from Jayacom inclusive of GST) What changes can I make to make it below 3.5k. Bc I have to claim the money from my company. so i have to show the reciept that it is below 3.5k. and do you know which shop sell the reference 970, i really like the original design with the green geforce logo.
ikhwan1
May 20 2015, 07:55 AM

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 19 2015, 11:55 PM) Does it require all items to be in a single receipt? If yes, then I have to tune the build a bit, if not necessary, you can get a cheaper case like Aerocool V3X RM105 so the total will become < 3.5k, downgrading PSU is not recommended. And all the GTX970 reference models sold on Malaysia do not come with Titan design cooler, all are cheap plastic cover with the blower cooler only, if you really want to buy Titan style blower of GTX970, you might require extra efforts such as ordering from overseas but that would jack up the budget. Thanks about the infomation on the 970. I just check with my HR that they will only accept one reciept for the claim. So what kind of changes would u recommend from the suggestions? This post has been edited by ikhwan1: May 20 2015, 07:58 AM
ikhwan1
May 20 2015, 09:50 PM

QUOTE(Human10 @ May 20 2015, 01:13 PM) Contact those in garage sale with internal connection with Dell, they can land their hand on it, but it not going to be cheap, might as well get MSI tiger or other non-reference which is cheaper. About the msi tiger 970, why is it cheaper than the other msi 970. Is it just bc it has downgrade cooler? Edit: and what do you think about the 4gb 960? This post has been edited by ikhwan1: May 20 2015, 09:55 PM
ikhwan1
May 21 2015, 11:09 AM

QUOTE(Human10 @ May 20 2015, 10:23 PM) If you see Zotac/EVGA, they have even more models of a same card (970 in this case). https://www.evga.com/Products/ProductList.a...chipset=GTX+970http://www.zotac.com/products/graphics-car...ct/gtx-970.htmlMost of the time they just tweak the clockrate/cooler. Only for some special high end models they may tweak with the voltage, VRM and so on to make it more overclockable. As long as it is still a GTX970, it not going to bother you much as a typical consumer. Honestly speaking, GTX960 is somehow a "weak" card. Previously, Nvidia's new card is better/on par than the "a tier higher" old card. For example, GTX770 about GTX680, GTX760 about GTX670. But Nvidia decide to make the GTX960 "just a better maxwell GTX760", which is still some gaps to GTX770. Also, for it's performance and bus width, there aren't going to be much occasion of you to utilize its 4GB RAM. You are better off stick with 3.5+0.5GB GTX970, which offer reasonably more power. Thanks for the infomation. Even if i only do light gaming and most of the time doing autocad. I still should go for 970? Or i should increase the ram, processor or bigger SSD maybe?
ikhwan1
Jun 1 2015, 11:52 AM

Sifu, have anyone tried buying graphic card from amazon. This is the amazon link http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-Super-C...eywords=gtx+970They provide free shipping to malaysia. And if I convert the US dollar to Malaysian dollar using current citibank conversion rate, I can still safe a bout 250 ringgit. Have anyone tried to do this before? And will there be any gst charge at the kastam? This post has been edited by ikhwan1: Jun 1 2015, 11:52 AM
ikhwan1
Jun 4 2015, 05:23 PM

is the $50 price cut for 980 will be enforce in malaysia too? because EU wont get the price cut.
ikhwan1
Jun 11 2015, 05:28 PM

QUOTE(realblackfox @ Jun 11 2015, 03:51 PM) Hey thx for the suggestion. I already bought my rig from Jayacom and monitor from viewnet I think. Total loss was around 3.7k including GST. My rig: Intel Core i% 4690K Asus H81M-D Kingston hyperx 8gb DDR3 1600MHZ RAM MSI OC Tiger GTX970 GDDR5 Aerocool 600W WD Blue 1TB HDD Thermal take Versa H25 casing AOC monitor 23" Happy with the rig!  I'm not expert in pc stuff, but i'm pretty sure the sifu suggest you a better mobo and psu. You just waste the capability of your cpu with that mobo tho.
ikhwan1
Jun 13 2015, 12:52 PM

Hey sifus,
I've bought my pc rig based on the suggestions given here except i choose my one pc case. I've been using my brother monitor. So ive decided to by my own monitor. My budget will be 1k max. Any suggestions?
Graphic card is gtx 970. I play fifa,bf4 and cod.
ikhwan1
Jun 14 2015, 01:00 AM

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jun 13 2015, 02:15 PM) If you want to max out the 1k budget, I would go for Dell U2414H 60Hz 8ms IPS - RM 949 OR if you want high frame rate monitor AOC G2460PQU 144Hz 1ms TN - RM 969 which shop do u get the AOC monitor from? thanks in advance This post has been edited by ikhwan1: Jun 14 2015, 01:02 AM