[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V9!

adrianccseng
post May 23 2015, 06:02 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

[Budget] RM2-2.5K (can add more if needed)

[Purpose] Gaming (main: DOTA2& TF2 + some latest games in the coming years)
Engineering programs - autoCAD, solidworks etc. (ME student, want a build that allows me to upgrade into workstation in the future but not necessary for now)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None.

[Monitor resolution] 1080p . Prefer wide screen ratio like 16:9 / 16:10

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
DOTA 2, TF2 and some latest games
Engineering programs
[Personal preferences]
-mATX rig (cheaper parts, compact, better cooling efficiency) ; ITX might be harder for maintenance & more exp
preferably support at least 2 ram sticks
including windows

[Location]KL

i think i'm expecting for a GT750 TI/non-TI build, but how much would it cost additionally for a R9 280/270 or even R7 26x build which needs a better PSU than GT750 TI build? and, is it worth the upgrade (higher game setting, more future proofing etc.)?
extra questions:
is SSHD worth the +100 cost over HDD?
should i add discrete sound card? i'm not sure if its necessary for gaming or not. if yes, can i fit GPU+wifi card+sound card in a mATX mobo?

thanks in advance !

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: May 25 2015, 06:24 PM
adrianccseng
post May 25 2015, 02:34 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ May 23 2015, 06:02 PM)
[Budget] RM2-2.5K (can add more if needed)

[Purpose] Gaming (main: DOTA2& TF2 + some latest games in the coming years)
Engineering programs - autoCAD, solidworks etc. (ME student, want a build that allows me to upgrade into workstation in the future but not necessary for now)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None.

[Monitor resolution] 1080p . Prefer wide screen ratio like 16:9 / 16:10

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
DOTA 2, TF2 and some latest games
Engineering programs
[Personal preferences]
-mATX rig (cheaper parts, compact, better cooling efficiency) ; ITX might be harder for maintenance & more exp
preferably support at least 2 ram sticks
including windows

[Location]KL
i think i'm expecting for a GT750 TI/non-TI build, but how much would it cost additionally for a R9 280/270 or even R7 26x build which needs a better PSU than GT750 TI build? and, is it worth the upgrade (higher game setting, more future proofing etc.)?
extra questions:
is SSHD worth the +100 cost over HDD?
should i add discrete sound card? i'm not sure if its necessary for gaming or not. if yes, can i fit GPU+wifi card+sound card in a mATX mobo?

thanks in advance !
Bump sad.gif Preferably silencio 352 . Does the case limit my choices of gpu much due to compatibility ?
If ATX build can get me better build, do suggest. I noticed some compact mid tower casing though

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: May 25 2015, 06:26 PM
adrianccseng
post May 26 2015, 02:18 AM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 25 2015, 11:11 PM)
Intel Core i5 4460 - RM 669
Asrock B85M-HDS - RM 264
Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 219
Leadtek GTX750 2GB GDDR5 - RM 499
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 159
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 194
CM Silencio 352 - RM 229
BenQ GL2450-B - RM 499
Windows 8.1 OEM - RM 439

Total: RM 3171 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)

RM2.5k budget is kinda hard to build a rig now which includes a monitor, 3k is recommended, sound card comes with the mobo is good enough for normal use, if on tight budget, normal HDD will do the job.
thanks so much! notworthy.gif
wow i never thought that Windows OEM could cost that much yawn.gif can OEMs upgrade to Windows 10 for free?
hmm... tbh, it even exceeded my max. 3k budget yawn.gif
which parts can tune down & don't hurt much? or, can i obtain cheaper priced parts from other outlets yet i still can get free assembly service @ viewnet?
i don't mind playing games at lower setting though (changing into AMD counterparts or move into lower tiers (GTX 740 etc.))
i3 4130/50/60 with hyperthreading essentially has the same number of threads as i5 4460. other than lower cache memory for weaker multitasking, does the performance differ much or bottleneck my GPU?
is BenQ GW2255 fine as a replacement? or even changing into 1600x900 setup. it won't differ much right?
edit: i just realized b85m-hds has only single dual memory lane, which is abit different from standard b85m. what it differs from its h81m counterparts other than PCI-e 3.0?

sorry for having too much doubts & questions sad.gif

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: May 26 2015, 04:46 AM
adrianccseng
post May 26 2015, 08:39 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 26 2015, 03:05 PM)
Oops, typo there, it's retail version, OEM version is around RM 100 cheaper than retail but OEM can only be activated once so getting a retail version is better.

Normally free assembly service only available if you purchase all parts from a single shop. If gaming is not your top priority and really wish to make it below 3k, either choose a smaller size/reso monitor or downgrade the CPU, i3 is sufficient for casual gaming but please be noted that some games like Far Cry 4 won't be able to run on dual core setup. If you want more RAM slots, get a normal ATX or Asus B85M at higher price, but I think 2 RAM slot is enough already since you are getting a single 8GB RAM stick now and you can add another 8GB later when needed, 16GB should be enough for the next couple of years unless you are a heavy CAD/rendering user.
I think 22"is good enough for me and still being FHD. Any recommendation? Im eyeing on BenQ GW2255HM (VA panel though) because it has better height and built in speaker. rm100 cheaper
Dota 2 is my main game as im amateurly active in competition. AAA games would be my occassion visits. Im okay to tune down the game reso n settings for better fps.
I'm not sure about that because im starting my ME degree next month, 8gb should be suffice for my study years i guess. But what's after that i'm not sure or even during intern
I guess i5 is a safer choice then.

Oh yea, is it advisable for me to install cpu cooler or any sort of cooling? Will case fans in positive pressure setup be just fine ?

Thanks sifu.
adrianccseng
post May 26 2015, 08:41 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ May 26 2015, 04:03 PM)
after 1 yr u still need to pay. wait they announce official status regarding the matter. now 2015 everything talk money. this world nothing is free.
Ya im doubtful of that. I've read about so much different stories about it. Some suggest OEM can port over. Some suggest otherwise. Wins10 is releasing this year right?
adrianccseng
post May 26 2015, 09:31 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ May 26 2015, 03:34 PM)
wait win 10 official release only u buy. no point buy win 8.1 oem now. u will get free upgrade win 10 but only 1 yr.

i3 still running dual core with HT & i5 is quad core w/o HT.

if u not OC any processor, just pick any B85 or H97 mobo.

the remaining money always spend on monitor that suit ur preferences. now u should pick mobo that come with PCI-e 3.0. http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/ >> go read it

PCI-e 2.0 is older version from H81 mobo. try to avoid using old generation.

important pick Tier 1 PSU & build ur own rig. no need ask those shops. youtube got a lot guideline how to build pc.
I read around and suggest that none of the current GPU able to be beneficial frm 3.0 and doesnt offet much different performance from 2.0 even if a pcie 3 card slotted into 2.0 slot

Does those shops build rig poorly? Maybe no cable management?
Is FSP hexa+ 450 good then?
adrianccseng
post May 27 2015, 09:37 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ May 26 2015, 09:39 PM)
all depend on u if u want pcie 2.0 nobody can stop u.

i personally don't trust lowyat ppl to build my rig. mostly all negative minded & working hours so long while take bit salary. i always heard they grumbled so imagine their mood is good will they build ur rig nicely??

if u playing games then buy better psu. FSP so-so only consider tier 3-4 psu!
mmm oh well, better not save that little money
i will stick with b85m
after reading around jonnyguru, hardwaresecrets & etc.
im considering Silverstone Strider Essential 500W (RM179) which is a tier3 PSU with better heat tolerance than FSP Hexa+ but still having Taiwanese caps (teapo though)
meanwhile, im also hesitating to put +rm100 more for [Tier 2] Seasonic S12II Bronze 620W @ 339 (too bad they seems to no longer be selling the cheaper but modular M12II 520W EVO as it disappeared from the pricelist)
QUOTE(McDBigMaC @ May 27 2015, 03:40 PM)
Hey Adrian, Idealtech near pandan indah build their rig pretty good, If got budget it's better to go for a better tier psu.
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/id-254...-tier-list.html

Are you Adrian Chong by any chance?
oh yup, you are dennis ong right? hi there
in terms of overall expenses for my build, idealtech is more costly than viewnet though

i just noticed Microsoft is offering student promo : Wins8.1 Pro @ 215 biggrin.gif great god
i will be getting my rig tomorrow. thanks you all icon_rolleyes.gif especially @terence_nwb
adrianccseng
post May 27 2015, 10:55 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(McDBigMaC @ May 27 2015, 10:34 PM)
Small world, try Dreamspark for getting free windows, not sure malaysia can get anot but they offer free windows for college students.
oh dayum, i just verified. i can obtain windows 8.1 embedded pro, more superior than windows 8.1 pro. thanks man notworthy.gif rclxms.gif
but embedded pro is for commercial thus i can't get the free Windows 10 upgrade right? mmm

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ May 27 2015, 09:57 PM)
get at least tier 2 psu. trust me. if can go tier 1!
perhaps im getting versa h25 instead of silencio 352 and get seasonic psu

assuming theres no M12II 520 EVO, im getting S12II 620
dear sifus, will it then be advisable to get Sapphire Radeon R7 260X ? it seems to offer more power in comparison to GTX750 right?

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: May 27 2015, 11:42 PM
adrianccseng
post May 28 2015, 03:54 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

I bought my build according to sifu suggestion
Asrock b85m-hds is out of stock. Swapped for msi b85m-e45(289) And my bro give me his seasonic 620 bronze modular not sure about model though
Picked aoc e2250swd because of the warranty @389 plus 2 shark fans n versa h25

Total damage 2462 biggrin.gif

0.0466sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:12 AM