NO DotA, Warcraft DIE?!, Discuss

TScse2k
post Oct 22 2006, 09:17 AM, updated 20y ago

84 posts

Some say that if DotA didn'y exist, Warcraft will never being so popular, is it true?? Is Warcraft creator ----- Blizzard had alraedy made up a plan that they WILL not succes in their original gaming BUT gain the profit in the Warcraft MAP EDITOR.
BooMer86
post Oct 22 2006, 09:28 AM

Noobi
559 posts

LOLL
mayb.. quite true actually
juz like half-life will never be so popular without CS
J-Slade
post Oct 22 2006, 09:37 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(BooMer86 @ Oct 22 2006, 09:28 AM)
LOLL
mayb.. quite true actually
juz like half-life will never be so popular without CS
hey... what the? half life the game was popular lah... you just didnt get to enjoy the game storyline laugh.gif . Why do you think Half Life 2 is such a hit nowadays? Then with episode one summore...

*add on*

and btw, Half Life 1 was game of the year of 1999... 'nuff said sleep.gif

This post has been edited by J-Slade: Oct 22 2006, 09:40 AM
Fester
post Oct 22 2006, 09:40 AM

i dont think so cause warcraft 3 made it into the world cyber games official game list even though dota haven exist at that time....
Christopher_LKL
post Oct 22 2006, 10:09 AM

Kairi Kawaii ^^
1,399 posts

warcraft 3 existed looooooong ago b4 dota. dota is just a custom map games -.- and blizzard wont die becoz of not dota, no such thing and this is a joke, even though many players play dota, mostly eastern country and mostly play pirated though, blizzard still didnt earn any extra significant cash -.- dota is not that great. those who say this seriously never played through warcraft stories and never get to know warcraft b4 this dota whistling.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by Christopher_LKL: Oct 22 2006, 10:09 AM
J-Slade
post Oct 22 2006, 10:14 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(Christopher_LKL @ Oct 22 2006, 10:09 AM)
warcraft 3 existed looooooong ago b4 dota. dota is just a custom map games -.- and blizzard wont die becoz of not dota, no such thing and this is a joke, even though many players play dota, mostly eastern country and mostly play pirated though, blizzard still didnt earn any extra significant cash -.- dota is not that great. those who say this seriously never played through warcraft stories and never get to know warcraft b4 this dota  whistling.gif  doh.gif
yeap.. I couldnt agree more. warcraft has been around for ages before dota even came out man.. and for those old skool gamers, you would have played the earlier warcraft I & warcraft II? haha.... oh man.. i miss the footman.

Zeroize
post Oct 22 2006, 10:20 AM

Hardcock Gamer
895 posts

Warcraft 3 itself is a great RTS game, just that recently there are many so called "pro" players play dota very well and they thought they are good in warcraft normal game too, but it turned out to be other way round laugh.gif

So warcraft won't die without Dota because there's still many genuine warcraft players like myself who still support the classic RTS out there.
Sesshoumaru
post Oct 22 2006, 11:43 AM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(Christopher_LKL @ Oct 22 2006, 10:09 AM)
warcraft 3 existed looooooong ago b4 dota. dota is just a custom map games -.- and blizzard wont die becoz of not dota, no such thing and this is a joke, even though many players play dota, mostly eastern country and mostly play pirated though, blizzard still didnt earn any extra significant cash -.- dota is not that great. those who say this seriously never played through warcraft stories and never get to know warcraft b4 this dota  whistling.gif  doh.gif
Although the way you expressed it isn't really presentable, but I agree with whatever sense I can make out of it =D.

And whoever say that WCIII won't become popular if not for DotA is so naive I'd point and die of laughter.
Mr.Ginger
post Oct 22 2006, 11:49 AM

77 posts

Even if dota failed and thent here are alot of other decent war3 maps to play too y'know. And melee games are good too, just alot of people dun play anymore cause they wan dota.
Maybe if there wasn't dota then cs would still be more popular. I predict that some game has to come around soon and give dota a run for it's money. Like cs lah, when it was #1 eveyone thought it would go onn forever. Now some people still play but not as many. Same thing should happen to dota in the end
tan_pang
post Oct 22 2006, 11:50 AM

3,110 posts

agree with you all that say Warcraft won't die if dota vanish
becoz i also play war3 long history ago before dota
i love war3 melee game!!!

but my fren all juz play dota...
and when we say "play warcraft", he will say "play dota"... shakehead.gif
seen like he aledi forgot that dota is under war3
and dota not the all!!!
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Oct 22 2006, 12:21 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(cse2k @ Oct 22 2006, 09:17 AM)
Some say that if DotA didn'y exist, Warcraft will never being so popular, is it true?? Is Warcraft creator ----- Blizzard had alraedy made up a plan that they WILL not succes in their original gaming BUT gain the profit in the Warcraft MAP EDITOR.
true, but that only happen in malaysia or maybe even singapore. it really funny when some people thought dota is a game itself when it actually just a custom map in w3. question such as 'how to install dota' show how stupid people can be. i buy my ori w3 4 years ago not because of dota, but because of addiction in playing melee online as well as various custom maps. i now focus more on dota, but there might be a time when i get bored on dota and start playing melee back.

evilhomura89
post Oct 22 2006, 01:45 PM

5,886 posts

I used to play WC3 when it was 1st release without any mods. Didn't like it much.....so i quit it

Den, when there's DotA, I give it another try n found out dat DotA's concept was not bad......WC3 will not die, bt without DotA, there might ppl who doesn't knw wat is WC3 till now
AiRBooM
post Oct 22 2006, 03:08 PM

超低能,勁搞笑
1,562 posts

wtf? Warcraft 1,2,3 being so famous & popular in the world many years ago b4 dota even existed .... me myself am a hardcore melee game player last time.... tongue.gif

if u are a regular replays.net visitor... u will realised there are still many many ppl in the world playing melee game instead of Dota... sleep.gif sleep.gif

but after i started playing dota since 5.8x version .. then i stopped melee game already.. laugh.gif
H@H@
post Oct 22 2006, 03:31 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

To those of you who think that Warcraft 3 would be "dead" if there was no dota, let me present: EXHIBIT A...

Starcraft

Released more than 5 years before the original DotA was released (I'm talking about the one that was for Reign of Chaos), this game still has a large amount of players playing it everyday. Do they have anything like DotA? Did they NEED anything like DotA?

Anyway, to the threadstarter, what the hell do you mean by this:
QUOTE(cse2k @ Oct 22 2006, 09:17 AM)
Blizzard had alraedy made up a plan that they WILL not succes in their original gaming BUT gain the profit in the Warcraft MAP EDITOR.
Unless I missed something, since when did Blizzard charge for the map editor of all things? Or do you think that ppl would just buy Warcraft 3 for the map editor alone? Are there ppl really that bored and rich that they'd go "Hey, I feel like making a map for a game I don't own, let me go buy the map editor, then release it online for free"

Either way, you've just demonstrated how ignorant you are about Blizzard in general (Like most DotA players who claim to be Blizzard "fans"). Go look up "World of Warcraft"
mangoman
post Oct 22 2006, 03:41 PM

Retired Member
560 posts

QUOTE(Christopher_LKL @ Oct 22 2006, 01:09 PM)
Well, just for ur info, it is nearly impossible to get pirated warcraft III cd in western countries. To my amuse, i found it very hard to get an original one so I have to buy it in ebay. I think it's only m`sia or sg where ppl can buy pirated cd and dvd easily. In western countries, it doesnt exist at all. sad.gif Btw, back to the topic, warcraft III definitely wont die becoz of dota, warcraft III itself is already intriguing enough, the story line, the heroes and etc.
H@H@
post Oct 22 2006, 05:24 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

QUOTE(mangoman @ Oct 22 2006, 03:41 PM)
Well, just for ur info, it is nearly impossible to get pirated warcraft III cd in western countries. To my amuse, i found it very hard to get an original one so I have to buy it in ebay. I think it's only m`sia or sg where ppl can buy pirated cd and dvd easily. In western countries, it doesnt exist at all. sad.gif Btw, back to the topic, warcraft III definitely wont die becoz of dota, warcraft III itself is already intriguing enough, the story line, the heroes and etc.
That's because in Western counties, you have uber fast broadband... Oh yeah, and also because the ppl there place "value" in games as welll.
Darkmage12
post Oct 22 2006, 07:55 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

IIRC dota came out pretty soon after ROC was launch but then dota didnt pick off here until like 1 or 2 years ago and it started to become the hottest game and some claim that it's more popular than CS in it's heydays icon_rolleyes.gif
Sesshoumaru
post Oct 22 2006, 08:12 PM

1,190 posts

That DotA you are talking about is not the DotA everyone is crazy about. The latter was ripped from the former.
Darkmage12
post Oct 22 2006, 08:28 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

ya la laugh.gif
TScse2k
post Oct 22 2006, 09:06 PM

84 posts

Say, I could agree that W3 is a great game, coz i've played the game, and found storyline quite interesting, evenmore that it had it's own W3 History, something like Burning Legion.

>>> I could really agree that if DotA didn't born out, maybe there are still many gamers don't know W3, even the W1 & W2. Beyond myself is an example, if it's not DotA, I REALLY dont' know what is WARCRAFT III.

>>> As the above, even though Blizzard says that the MAP EDITOR is not under it's control. But BLIZZARD DID made a nice move that to present the editor along the game, this make it even MORE popular than be4.

>>> W3 gets the result:
* Best Expansion Pack - Gamespot
* Best Multiplayer Game - Gamespot
* Best PC Strategy Game (Readers' Choice) - GameSpot
* Game of the Month - IGN PC
* Editor's Choice (90 out of 100 rating) - Games Xtreme
* Editor's Choice (9 out of 10 rating) - Strategy Gaming Online
* PC Strategy Gamers' Choice - GameSpy
* 94 out of 100 rating - Next Level Gaming
* 94 out of 100 rating - Gamer Play Networks
* 94 out of 100 rating - Game Marshal
* 94 out of 100 rating - GameAxis
* 92 out of 100 rating - The Gamer's Temple
* 91 out of 100 rating - Action Trip
* 90 out of 100 rating - Gameguru Mania
* 88 out of 100 rating - GameSpy
* 10 out of 10 rating - Game Chronicles Magazine
* 9.4 out of 10 rating - GameZone
* 9.2 out of 10 rating - GameSpot
* 9 out of 10 rating - IGN PC
* 8.9 out of 10 rating - Worthplaying
* 8.8 out of 10 rating - Gamer's Hell
* 5 out of 5 rating - GamePro
* A- rating - UGO

>>> So lets say, Warcraft Won in TRIPLE sections:
>>>Graphics---W3 gave the look into one of the best graphic I've known in RTS gaming.
>>>Storyline---W3 design the best RTS stroyline I've known, you get the legends of it, you the history of it. AND HEROES!!!
>>>MAP EDITOR---W3 's map editor gave players to create more flexible game playing, so you won't be bored.

0.0175sec    1.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:19 AM