Anyway, mkv is not the same as rmvb. mkv is a GOOD CONTAINER format. more like AVI. in one MKV/AVI, you can store divx movies (not really sure about avi storing more than 1 movie), or mpeg movies, or mp2 m2v whatever format. as well as audio file(s), as well as subtitle file(s), as well as lots of other files in one container file.
if you have a good video player (try zoomplayer), you should know that some avis got mpeg codec, some using divx, xvid, etc. Encik Matroska created mkv container format because he tak suka the limitations of AVI.
RMVB is also a container, but has big limitations compared to MKV. normally people use rmvb to store MPEG-quality videos as it can achieve smaller size but minimal loss from MPEG.
files that use rmvb normally are from China or HK. RMVB is very famous for chinese dramas.
me personally HATE real. their players and codec are s****!! although the new ones are quite good, but why bother when there are so many good codecs around nowadays?
best quality n filesize would still be xvid. H.264 is good also. but if your movies has got seperate files for subtitles or you wanna include other things (like 2nd audio for commentary, ), if the movie uses weird codec for audio, like m2v or aac or whatever, then MKV is the way to go.
if the videos that you have are similar to chinese dramas, then i suppose u should go with rmvb if you like to follow the pack, so to speak
if you want smaller filesize, then reencode the video to h.264 la. that's the codec of the future that a lot of people will use. then go with rmvb lo as your 2nd option. but really, why bother to reencode when you can spend a few ringgit and get a dvd burner? or go buy harddisk to store the movies.
This post has been edited by C-Fu: Oct 20 2006, 11:05 AM
Oct 20 2006, 11:03 AM
0.0143sec