4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Smart Home, Let's discuss

eagle7
post Jan 24 2024, 03:26 PM

88 posts

I wonder how you guys have fully made use of your smart home system.

Do you program your smart home to do all the automation for you?

Can you share your most satisfying upgrade, and what is your next project or wish list?
eagle7
post Jan 26 2024, 12:50 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Jan 25 2024, 10:58 AM)
Just need to go down the Home Assistant rabbit hole and you will see the light.

Most satisfying probably doorbell sensor with old dumb doorbell, was using Aqara contact sensor modified to detect

Also dummy HomeKit TV with input list to change channels, basically anything that is non official is pretty satisfying when it works LOL
I recently installed Home Assistant [HA] after coming across many reviews and recommendations from YouTube channels.

Yesterday, I managed to fix the issue of retrieving the required data from the Tuya Bidirectional meter that needed to appear in the Energy Dashboard.

Later I will share what I have improvised my autogate in the HA

eagle7
post Jan 27 2024, 11:25 AM

88 posts

I just want to share here my autogate in the dashboard with the HA owner, where my CCTV is running on the RTSP/ONVIF protocol and facing my autogate. The picture will refresh every 10 seconds, and when you click on it, it will load another window for the live stream. There are two auto-gate buttons below it. One comes with an alarm arm function, while the other has a disarm function. The icon within the button reflects the current gate status, such as gate open or closed and autogate motor running or stopped.

To open or close the autogate, users need to double-click instead of single-clicking these buttons to prevent any accidental opening or closing of the gate when scrolling the screen.

When the autogate is opened, it will trigger one of the hall lights to turn on until the autogate is closed. This is a great alert both day and night when all the curtains are closed and people inside the house can see who is returning home and offer a helping hand to carry shopping bags, etc. Also to alert people inside the house that the autogate was opened and not closed for prolonged time.

When the gate is opened at night, it will trigger all the car porch lights and fan to turn ON and remind ON until the motion sensor does not detect any movement in the car porch area.

When the autogate is opened at night for more than a preset time (e.g., 15 minutes), it will automatically close the gate, and a WhatsApp message will be sent to the owner.

The CCTV picture helps the owner see anyone in front of the autogate, like a food or parcel delivery rider, before opening the gate from a distance and allowing them to drive straight into the car porch without waiting for the slow-moving autogate to fully open after reaching the front gate.

All the programming is on Node-RED.

This post has been edited by eagle7: Jan 27 2024, 11:29 AM
eagle7
post Jan 29 2024, 01:14 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(maxiscool @ Jan 27 2024, 06:36 PM)
How do you determine the autogate motor running or stop?

To monitor the autogate's opening or closing status, I built a circuit and monitored the voltage sent to the motors.

The chip is then flashed using ESPhome to output gate status to HA so it can act accordingly.

eagle7
post Jan 29 2024, 01:22 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Jan 27 2024, 03:00 PM)
How you sending to Whatsapp? I have been using Telegram bot all this while
I am using the Node-RED add-on from https://flows.nodered.org/node/node-red-contrib-whatsapp-cmb

Yearly subscription of USD4/year.
eagle7
post Jan 29 2024, 01:36 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Jan 27 2024, 07:37 PM)
One thing i wish that would be fast is HA live viewing cameras while using Nabu Casa remotely.
You mean you are using Nabu Casa services, but you cannot view your camera remotely? but locally is fine?

I just want to check how the other HA owner views or controls their HA remotely.
eagle7
post Jan 29 2024, 06:39 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Jan 29 2024, 04:20 PM)
I can view them remotely, its just not like fast. Because i was using a Hikvision NVR and remotely viewing it was pretty quick (port forwarded) through IVMS app, Nabu Casa through generic RTSP or Frigate is slower, not quick enough for me to let my other family members use it. I do have that feed from Frigate (go2rtc) to Homekit through Scrypted, and that is fine but theirs is a 10s snapshot refresh if you dont click on the camera.

Right now i am using this not so perfect but decent unifi cam proxy which allows me to use non unifi cameras with unifi protect, all the detection and what not is done by frigate. Scrypted has an NVR solution which has adaptive bitrate but if i want to pay for something, i rather a big one time lifetime fee than subscription based.
You seem to have very sophisticated remote NVR systems in place to protect your property. thumbsup.gif
eagle7
post Jan 29 2024, 07:06 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jan 29 2024, 04:47 PM)
Just use the normal zigbee door sensor, but 3d print out a cover to protect from rain.
All of these door sensor uses magnet so it's quite simple.
Before this, I thought of using contact sensors, but the gap between the two gate tips after closing is quite wide (e.g., 5 to 10mm). This, coupled with outdoor heat and humidity, may cause the sensor to randomly send out a false signal or not send it when we expect it to do so.

I think your suggestion will work for an indoor door or gate, but not for an outdoor gate that is subject to strong wind, thunder, and shocking waves.

eagle7
post Jan 29 2024, 07:24 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(maxiscool @ Jan 29 2024, 07:03 PM)
Oh cool, where do you tap in the autogate panel to monitor the voltage send to the motors?
Yes, I think eagle7 done one step ahead as not just monitor the open/close..
It tap directly into the Autogate's control panel board like in the picture.

eagle7
post Jan 31 2024, 02:11 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 29 2024, 09:41 PM)
i m currently researching this...
the motor1 and 2, is the power flow thru it running on 12V?

coz i know esp's gpio is only 3.3v...
can i switch it for 1second to activate the gate?
without resistor or buck converter.
On the power flow, it will be bidirectional, and the voltage can either be 12 to 24 volts or higher, depending on how the installer sets it up for you (e.g., slow or fast gate closing or opening).
You will need a resistor of about 1K ohm in series with a Ziner diode of 3.3V for each channel.
The D1 mini's GPIO can handle up to 5V without issue; just not exceeding 5V will do.
The D1 mini must be powered by a 5V power supply; anything higher will not be good.
I feel the older version of D1 Mini is more lasting than the newer version (e.g., the one without the metal shield).

QUOTE(Drian @ Jan 30 2024, 12:44 PM)
I change once a year so it is not too bad.
If you truly want long lasting like 3-4 years you could connect 2 D cell battery in series to get 3v and solder it to the terminals.
You may consider install a mini solar panel like this one (link). I believe you will never running out of power.
It is not necessary for the solar panel to be facing up as there is not much surface area on the top part of your casing, but the side will do as your sensor consumes very little power, and a little top-up each day from the solar panel is good enough.
eagle7
post Jan 31 2024, 03:09 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(eagle7 @ Jan 31 2024, 02:11 PM)
On the power flow, it will be bidirectional, and the voltage can either be 12 to 24 volts or higher, depending on how the installer sets it up for you (e.g., slow or fast gate closing or opening).
You will need a resistor of about 1K ohm in series with a Ziner diode of 3.3V for each channel.
The D1 mini's GPIO can handle up to 5V without issue; just not exceeding 5V will do.
The D1 mini must be powered by a 5V power supply; anything higher will not be good.
I feel the older version of D1 Mini is more lasting than the newer version (e.g., the one without the metal shield).
You may consider install a mini solar panel like this one (link).  I believe you will never running out of power.
It is not necessary for the solar panel to be facing up as there is not much surface area on the top part of your casing, but the side will do as your sensor consumes very little power, and a little top-up each day from the solar panel is good enough.
Correction: the panel needs to face directly to the sun; otherwise, it will not generate enough voltage to top up the battery.

Alternatively, a more complicated method involves two panels connected in series and a voltage regulator. 
eagle7
post Feb 5 2024, 02:46 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Feb 3 2024, 12:38 PM)
- home alarm. with keychain remote and also mobile app.

- fertigation system that fires on time, 5-minutes, thrice every daylight.

- timer for border lighting.

- flood sensor (because it happened in the kitchen).
- i'm also thinking of gas sensor.

- light sensor, to make sure i don't unnecessarily turn on light where i put body heat sensor inside house and at front lawn. i want the light to be available not only when it's naturally dark at night but also whenever sky is dark, e.g. storm during daytime.

- i have 2 home automation network. one is fibre-internet based network for the usual wall sockets and home alarm and presence detection. another network is 4G-internet based just to control the Zigbee sockets of the fibre internet and cctv. if i want to reset fibre internet or cctv, i don't have to worry about losing control of their restart because it's done through 4G. and if i need to reset the 4G modem, its socket is on the fibre internet.

basically i repurposed the 4G router that is otherwise retired when fibre came in.
On rebooting the WiFi router due to a router hang or service disruption by the service provider, I installed the add-on watchcat and configured my OpenWRT router to monitor any disconnection between the router, service provider, and connected device (e.g., CCTV, etc.). If there is any disconnection detected (no ping reply), it will then perform a self-reboot or restarting certain Access Point interfaces.

I think, you are one level up compared to my solution. thumbsup.gif

Any HA users experiencing Tuya cloud disconnection, and how did you solve it? Does it work like a charm, or does it greatly reduce your headache? I am currently using Local Tuya with some twists on the router to make it more stable instead of being unavailable from time to time.
eagle7
post Feb 5 2024, 07:38 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 5 2024, 03:45 PM)
That unavailable issue was annoying, i did try setting automation to reload localtuya if that happens but sometimes it doesn’t work.

So i just change all the tuya switch & lights to esphome/tasmota firmware and that solved it.
All of my SMATRUL Tuya Smart WIFI switch already flashed to Tasmota and I am very happy with their performance.

Similarly, for unbranded Smart Plug also flashed to Tasmota. Thumb up to the Tasmota developer.

However, I have this "branded" smart plug named CrabTek using different chip than ESP-02S (ESP8285) and their daughter board is totally different from ESP-02S and I cannot change the chip to ESP-02S. I have no choice but to stick on the Tuya ecosystem.

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Feb 5 2024, 03:50 PM)
Isnt there some new Tuya thing in HA that doesnt need the developer API thing
If you happened to come across this new Tuya thing other than Tuya Local or Local Tuya, do share with me the link, and I will then explore it.

For time being, I am satisfied with the Local Tuya with some twist on the router. These smart devices connected to the Local Tuya is stable and I am still monitoring its performance.
eagle7
post Feb 6 2024, 04:02 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 5 2024, 08:42 PM)
That’s realtek, thanks for sharing that one,
Was it easy to open up the plug?
You can flash to esphome with libretiny
Similar steps with tasmota except you need to connect to tx2, rx2, then ground tx2 for a second to start flashing

https://docs.libretiny.eu/docs/platform/rea...-ambz/#flashing
Cannot find much information about this controller board (TY_i06_V1.0) from the internet on how to flash them. Perhaps stick to my Local Tuya setup for time being. Compared to my other non-branded smart plug, this Crabtek smart plug is very easy to open with minimal damage to the casing.

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Feb 5 2024, 09:17 PM)
https://community.home-assistant.io/t/tuya-...-2024/683368/41

last post, in the coming HA update there is Tuya update to the integration
Will wait and see any improvement then.

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Feb 6 2024, 10:51 AM)
I also have 2 smart plug from crabtek lol, others is smartrul. BTW the unavailable issue was solved when I changed my stock unifi router to a better tenda router. I found that the tuya device keep randomly disconnect and was removed from the dchp list when check inside the router. Stock unifi router sucks anyways, now I have 50+ devices connected without project
In my case, I can still ping all my Tuya devices, but the Tuya Integration service in the HA is interrupted and requires a restart. All my IOT devices are given a static IP address. You have more than 50+ devices? more extreme than me. thumbsup.gif
eagle7
post Feb 7 2024, 12:33 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 6 2024, 05:24 PM)
What was your method? i know some people used hot air around the plug to loosen the seal on the edges

W302 is rtl8710bn, you can trace the pin from here

I see gnd, 30(tx2) labeled there. Any pin labeled on the back?
I don't have any hot air guns or similar tools, but using Stainless steel spudger pry blade opening tool Ultra-thin, and it is superior compared to test-pen or any tools to open any type of sealed casing, like a remote control, a power adapter, etc. Don't buy the wide body type, they are too soft for the jobs.

Here the looks after successfully opened the smart plug case.

I found the necessary information on how to flash the W302 chipset and am in the middle of compiling the firmware using ESPHome.
eagle7
post Feb 8 2024, 07:42 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 7 2024, 03:29 PM)
I see, less risky then using heat gun
As for the realtek chip, it’s mostly on Kasa & Govee products from what I’ve seen.
Something to consider if you’re getting those brands
Tried many methods to trigger the board into download mode without success which include.
1. Momentary ground TX
2. Momentary ground CEN and TX
3. Having separate 3.3V regulator from USB-TTL programmer.
4. Tried two unit of smart plug

I can ready the smart plug logs but without success to trigger it into the download mode.

Each time clicking the start button from the itchiptool, it immediately returns message like: -

SerialException: Cannot configure port, something went wrong. Original message: OSError(22, 'The parameter is incorrect.', None, 87)

or maybe my USB-TTL (CP2102) programmer is incompatible. How did you program yours?

eagle7
post Feb 8 2024, 11:35 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 8 2024, 09:09 PM)
I power up the module first, check serial output at com port
Then ground tx2 briefly, never did connect CEN.
Should start changing to gibberish codes and ready to flash
I’m using the golden ch340g + separate 3.3v MB105
I did try using raspbery pi directly to flash but never successful to get it to download mode
Got some picture how you set it up?
Here my latest wiring which included 5V to 3.3V switching regulator and CEN grounding switch.

Here the wiring diagram

eagle7
post Feb 15 2024, 02:17 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 8 2024, 11:58 PM)
Have you tried connecting directly to the desoldered chip?
I had an issue with govee bulb when I had to desolder vcc and gnd from the main chip.

For some reason with those connection attached it just wasn’t letting me get to download mode. I only figured it out after i get annoyed having to desolder the chip just to flash it.
No luck triggering the chip into the download mode. Prior to this, I tried on the 1st chip, which was off-board, then the 2nd chip was on-board, and then the same 2nd chip was off-board. 

BTW, the "SerialException: Cannot configure port, something went wrong. Original message: OSError(22, 'The parameter is incorrect.', None, 87)" was resolved after installing the driver for USB-TTL driver
eagle7
post Feb 27 2024, 01:24 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Feb 25 2024, 04:38 PM)
Anyone using any DIN power meter? If its Tuya ones have you flashed it with something else? Wanna monitor all the ACs in the house.
Never used DIN Power meter but ct clamp energy monitor running on Tuya app. The one that I used need to use Local Tuya to expose all the reading such as show in the below picture.

To all the HA owner, I wonder did you notice your HA consume a lot of CPU resources? At first, I thought it was due to one of the integrations causing high CPU usage until I setup 2nd HA without any integration and the consumption remain high on this 2nd HA. After further check, it seems that the HA keep sending and receiving high volume of network traffic between the HA and 1.1.1.1 dns. Problem solved after I block the HA from reaching out to the 1.1.1.1 IP address.

eagle7
post Mar 1 2024, 11:49 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 28 2024, 02:33 PM)
Heh, guess I still need to install homeassistant in the end for the power  monitoring display/graphs.
Need this setup to avoid the cloud as much as possible.
Sure, there are unused or old laptops around you. Set up a home assistant for the job. The good thing about using a laptop is that the built-in battery can act as a UPS in case lightning trips your whole house's power. After restored the power trip from the DB box, your Home Assistant is ready to act instead of waiting to boot up, etc.

QUOTE(TongCN @ Feb 28 2024, 02:51 PM)
Last night all of sudden, one of my Tapo P100 v1.2 (forgot bought 2020 or 2021) suddenly has this symptom of "on and off" click sounds non-stop.
It is also appears to be offline under Tapo App and Router's client list.

The power current still can go tru though when i test plug something in and unable to press the button to turn it off (the clicking sounds continue)
Unable to factory reset (press and hold 10 seconds above) - meaning the clicking sounds won't stop.

Guess it's .. "dead" or rosak?
Wanna know anyone has this symptom here?
Most likely, this is due to one of the Capacitor bloated.  If you know how to handle soldering iron and electronic stuff, the capacitor costs less than a ringgit; otherwise, better buy a new replacement.

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Feb 29 2024, 03:27 PM)
hemmm... i tot zigbee protocol aldy define all zigbee IoT capable of mesh.
This video about Zigbee Router/End Point appeared on mine YouTube a few days ago, and I hope you may find it interesting too.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0407sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:36 PM