Smart Home, Let's discuss

cdspins
post Dec 21 2018, 03:15 PM

2,714 posts

Where you guys buy the aqara switch and hub?
cdspins
post May 8 2019, 03:54 PM

2,714 posts

Dear sifu, can I know is aqara samrt wall switch plug must require aqara smart home hub gateway to work?

Is Aqara gateway G2 IP camera consider a gateway as well?
cdspins
post May 14 2019, 02:03 PM

2,714 posts

anybody here have the step by step registration process for xiomi aqara apps and to sign in on the china server?
cdspins
post May 22 2019, 10:02 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ May 22 2019, 01:53 AM)
Hi, aqara switches, with neutral and without neutral. What is the advantage of the 1 with neutral line over the 1 without?
Can check out this page
https://passionhome.sg/product/aqara-wall-s...-wire-required/
It is mentioned that there is a bit of reliability issue for non-neutral type, lower current pass through capability, also the flickering that occurs once in a while.
cdspins
post Jun 11 2019, 08:52 AM

2,714 posts

I'm using DLINK as well,, have 2 cctv. It is quite expensive compare to XiamMi but the apps is easy to use and stable
cdspins
post Jun 11 2019, 09:35 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Jun 11 2019, 09:03 AM)
nice ... yes the cheapest in lazada is rm229 ...  bangwall.gif  tempted to try ...
Just curious, what is your purpose of the CCTV? Just to Monitor house, do you need recording function, do you need pan and tilt funtion, do you need 2 ways audio?
cdspins
post Jun 13 2019, 10:43 AM

2,714 posts

How much is the panasonic network controller
cdspins
post Jun 13 2019, 11:51 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Jun 13 2019, 11:27 AM)
for this u keep ur aircond on standby mode? connect to 20A switch?

hopefully the aqara roller shade gonan be available very very soon in taobao...

https://homekitnews.com/2019/04/03/aqara-ro...ntroller-video/
Ya, have to keep it on standby mode, else no way to draw power. But I usually keep my aircond on standby mode as I use the timer function. If off switch will need to reset the timer again from the remote.
cdspins
post Jul 22 2019, 09:00 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 20 2019, 06:46 PM)
Typically there’s no neutral. Be doubly sure before relying on cable colors. Sometimes contractors just use whatever cable they have in front of them. You need to pull the switch out further so we can see how many live wires are going into that switch and whether any are tapped from adjacent switches.
I don't think there is neutral in there as all of this are just normal switch, the easier way to get neutral is through power socket... if you have 1 nearby the switches.
cdspins
post Jul 22 2019, 09:04 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(KyEap @ Jul 22 2019, 12:11 AM)
Hi all sifu here..

I'm planning to install xiaomi 2gang wall switch on my house as it is under renovation now.

Focusing on 3 area which is car porch(4button), living hall(7button), (6button and this 3 area already took 9 units 2 gang switch.

However, it would cost a lot if i replace it with all the traditional switch.
Can i know how you guys plan on this?
Yes, normally all these witches gather together on one side of the wall. You may have a few site with multiple switches but 1 neutral will do. So just ask electrician to prepare one for each site... when need to use it, then only you connect them up accordingly
cdspins
post Aug 28 2019, 02:25 PM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Aug 27 2019, 04:53 PM)

Just notice here got Smart Home thread ! Newbie join in !! Just managed to complete home assistant setup and next gona have to install more hardware at home.

Question,
is anyone notice after replaced the smart switch (https://www.aqara.com/en/smart_light_switch_no_neutral.html) even u switched it off if you test the L1 out put in your lamp it still carry some current like what Neutral wire does ? I might be wrong thought. Cos for smart switch usually require Neutral to stay power on the chip.

Yes... without neutral, the switch will have to pull its power from the live wire but with very little current to keep it chip connected to gateway.
That is why some of the light bulb may flicker once in a while when enough charge is built up
cdspins
post Aug 29 2019, 09:51 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Aug 28 2019, 04:47 PM)
The new aqara hub wont be compatible with xiaomi eco system anymore. So can only stick with it own i guess. anyway we can make everything works with homekit. Just need to add/build a homebridge.
Ic .. make senses. So which is more prefer ? with the Neutral model or without ? or probably just for the sake of safety which model we should use ? i'm current installed 2 switch without Neutral model. And put a stop there after notice there is some small current remain even after OFF.
The best is of course to use the one with neutral.
Those without neutral is more of a work around in order for older houses that does not have neutral but still required the smart home features cool2.gif
cdspins
post Jan 6 2021, 01:37 PM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(TheLegend27 @ Jan 5 2021, 02:38 PM)
guys, wanna ask about this. i use this sonoff rf. my arrangement is this, i use mk plug top, connect to sonoff rf, then connect to driver then connect to LED. so now the LED strip during off, it will still lit a little bit. very very little only. but noticeable. why ya????

Because there is no neutral line, so a small amount of current is still required to power the wifi system in sonoff... so this small current will light up your LED as well. This is a common problem for smart switch without neutral line
cdspins
post Jun 10 2021, 08:12 PM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(Imp Bron @ Jun 10 2021, 07:21 PM)
Used to choose tuya smart switch over sonoff because their switch is slightly cheaper. damn regret now, want to buy rf bridge, seems like tuya rf bridge is way more expensive than sonoff rf bridge

I already have tuya siren alarm. I want to make an outdoor doorbell that used existing alarm, thought on using outdoor battery rf switch with rf bridge to connect to existing alarm using wifi, but the cost of tuya rf hub/bridge seems not cheap enough compared to sonoff rf bridge. I noticed the same thing when buying autogate dc relay module, sonoff one is cheaper. Seems like I will save more if I bought daytech doorbell, tho I hate that solution need another wall plug for another alarm because I already have one.

If any of you still deciding between tuya and sonoff then choose sonoff
If you required a lot of smart switch, maybe the amount you save is equivalent when you buy the rf bridge or autogate relay?
In the end is just boil down to how many smart switch the house need to install... vs the saving from the rf bridge and autogate relay..

cool2.gif
cdspins
post Jun 21 2021, 07:58 PM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Jun 20 2021, 11:05 PM)
hi guys & all sifu here.
newbie question. i am currently running xiaomi mijia smarthome system.
i wish to convert my conventional aircond to smart.
any idea how to do that?
my current switch at home is this

Just curious, even turning the switch to smart. You still need to use remote control to turn on the aircond right?
Isn't it a better way to just always turn on the switch and use smart IR to control your aircond?
cdspins
post Jun 21 2021, 08:06 PM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Jun 21 2021, 08:02 PM)
will it consume electricity if I keep the AC switch keep turn on?

sad.gif
Smart switch also consume electricity connecting to your wifi and be on ready state to receive your command.
Any new aircond will have very low/minima stand by power nowadays. biggrin.gif
cdspins
post Jun 23 2021, 01:19 PM

2,714 posts

There is no rule that there must be a switch for the A/C. It is up to user/installer preference. With a switch it will be easier to switch off the aircond fully during service or replacement.
For @Jitty, the issue is more of control, with or without smart switch, a IR blaster is required... so it will be much simpler to forgo the smart switch totally.
cdspins
post Jun 25 2021, 01:08 PM

2,714 posts

If your appliance max current is below 20A, then there is no problem to use the 20A smart switch.

For the Earth, just tape it nicely and put a side
cdspins
post Jul 6 2021, 09:35 PM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(danielmckey @ Jul 5 2021, 01:31 PM)
Smart home is waste of energy. Nothing is forever. Manual way make you save more energy & cost. Don't lazy just switch on/off manually is troublesome. You can do those simple & not overall.
Smart device do consume some energy while it is on standby waiting for command and communicating with hub. But the objective of a smart device is not so much about energy conservation but making the hardware/device available on demand or automating the process to save time and provide comfort to user. And forummers here share information and knowledge about it.

Your way of saying don't be lazy if put to extreme can be like don't be lazy, just walk don't use cars. Or don't be lazy, please hand write your document instead of using computer/PC.

Just something to pounder on, technology advancement do push our society to consume more energy. But at the same time as the technology mature, the efficiency can be improve but there is no way that it can consume 0 energy.
cdspins
post Jul 7 2021, 11:27 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Jul 7 2021, 11:19 AM)
you dun like, then don't come here and said it is useless, simple  shakehead.gif
Laziness drives innovation ! so lazy is good! biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif
Good comment...
Haha.. lazy to switch on/off the light but OK to spend hours and days to study and setup the SmartHome system... hmm.gif Maybe the better term is interest... tongue.gif

0.0974sec    1.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:47 PM