4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Smart Home, Let's discuss

Drian
post Jun 8 2020, 05:52 PM

4,999 posts

Guys i just realise that all my wall switches usually has water heater/aircond switch beside it that has a neutral line . Am I able to tap the neutral line and use it for those aqara smart switches with neutral line?
Drian
post Jun 23 2020, 07:53 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(kelvin @ Jun 23 2020, 09:23 AM)
Just tested to tap the neutral line from water heater switch, the water heater ELCB will trip. I believe the water heater ELCB detected the current leakage as the wall switch use some current to operate. No problem when I connect the neutral line for the air-cond switch.
That makes sense cause ELCB detects imbalance in current.
Is it in the same phase? you can turn on your lights and water heater switch together and try turning off your main switch elcb. If both heater and lights turn off together it means they are in the same phase.

This post has been edited by Drian: Jun 23 2020, 07:55 PM
Drian
post May 20 2021, 04:40 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(nezumi57 @ May 6 2021, 06:05 PM)
Hi Adam, i am new to home automation, so far tried sonoff products but not really happy with the solution, and recently looking into Tuya, can you share what Tuya products you using and what is the good and bad, especially on this few products if you are using
- https://shopee.com.my/%E2%8C%82%E2%8C%82-Wi...1852.7758382807
- https://shopee.com.my/-Smart-Life-app-PIR-M...7179.6310362551
- https://shopee.com.my/-Smart-Life-App-Tuya-...7179.9347977881
- https://shopee.com.my/Tuya-Smart-Home-Unive...1560.2402432786
- https://shopee.com.my/Tuya-Wifi-Light-Senso...5739.9738188571
Why? Sonoff can use Home assistant without flashing to third party firmware . Tuya is still not supported in home assistant.
Drian
post May 20 2021, 05:41 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(zsaberstar @ May 12 2021, 12:07 PM)
Hi guys, would like to seek your guidance on setting up some smart lights.

I just received the keys to my Condo and now I am planning to have some smart lights.

My requirements for the smart lights is Brightness and Temperature control, and able to control with Apple Homekit (Because I have an iPhone and iPad)

I am still unsure whether I need Smart Switches. My understanding is Smart Switches can allow us to switch on/off non smart lights via automation. In my case, I am only using the Smart Lights for Brightness and Temperature control, and I can do this with a "dumb" light switch, correct?

Next are the lights themselves.

I plan to have 2 ceiling lights in the master bedroom, like this model: (Have to use protruding ceiling light because the ceiling is concrete)

https://shopee.com.my/Xiaomi-Yeelight-Mi-Mi...95082.382433784

4 to 6 downlights in the living room and kitchen, like this model: (Living room and Kitchen has plaster ceiling so I want to install downlights as it is aesthetically pleasing)

https://shopee.com.my/WiZ-LED-4-inch-Smart-...6980.4058155271

2 to 3 LED strips:

https://shopee.com.my/Yeelight-LED-Lightstr...7580.5176266568

And maybe 2 to 3 E27 bulbs:

https://shopee.com.my/Xiaomi-Yeelight-Mi-Mi...5082.1256595637

Now this is a total of 10 to 14 Smart lights, and my understanding is that this will be a huge load on my router, so a hub is recommended.

Also, there are two different brands here, Yeelight and WiZ, because I couldn't find a Yeelight downlight that looks like the WiZ.

Which hub should I get that is compatible with these lights, and Apple HomeKit? Can you guys recommend? I am unfamiliar on hub selection, from what I see all these lights are WiFI compatible, so I should get a WiFi compatible hub?

I am also open to other light brands, this are just the first few that I found that I think is suitable to my needs.

Thanks in advance!
Any above average router can handle it is a matter of coverage.

Drian
post May 21 2021, 12:35 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(hendry91 @ May 21 2021, 12:25 AM)
Didn't read this post for a long time. May I know what is the recommended brand to build a smart home nowadays?
1 year ago, I did tried xiaomi and sonoff, xiaomi I feel their server quite unstable, slow response when using app control. While sonoff quite good, and a lot of stuff can play and customize.

Any other recommended brand that have a lot of stuff that can be customized to build a fully smart home?
all this xiaomi , sonoff , tuya , technically all the controller and automation is done on cloud, that's why it's so slow.
Imagine you have a motion sensor, you send the data all the way to china or whatever server it is located, the server process the automation and then send the command all the way back to malaysia.
If you want lower latency, you have to do local like home assistant.

I would recommend brands that are supported by Home Assistant.

Drian
post May 21 2021, 12:38 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ May 20 2021, 08:27 PM)
There’s tuya addon/local tuya for home assistant
Probably some of the lesser known smart product not fully  supported yet like tuya’s robot lawnmower
I think it doesn't support tuya zigbee yet, that's why I chose sonoff.

Drian
post May 21 2021, 12:01 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ May 21 2021, 11:13 AM)
You are wrong, Xiaomi and sonoff automation are not really done in cloud, automation is run locally, just the setup and devices are managed from cloud.

My xiaomi and sonoff lights turn on in less than 1 second when motion/door sensor detected activity.
So you are saying that the automations are not done in cloud but locally.
I know the control can be locally through LAN mode but the automation engine is still in cloud.

So according to this thread. Scene automations will not work without internet.

https://www.reddit.com/r/homeautomation/com...scenes_offline/

And also this comment here, also says that the automation engine will not work without internet.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AuKgosza_vo

So these are conflicting statements here. So who's accurate.

Drian
post May 21 2021, 12:05 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ May 21 2021, 02:16 AM)
HA is good but not for everyone, you should try Zigbee before simply saying about the latency. Do you know in 2020 already you can turn off your internet and as long as the Zigbee gateway is on local lan the sensors/switches etc all still can work? Automations too. brows.gif
You mean my 2 xiaomi zigbee hub, 1 Sonoff zigbee hub, 8 Non neutral xiaomi switch , 4 xiaomi zigbee motion sensor, 2 sonoff zigbee motion sensor, 4 xiaomi zigbee temperature sensor, 3 sonoff zigbee temperature sensor., 1 xiaomi zigbee door sensor?

In your scenario you are limited to zigbee devices and they cannot mix and match zigbee brands and wifi non zigbee stuff.

And when people talk about latency, they don't refer to local LAN latency which is insignificant, they refer to the whole automation engine that reside in the cloud server latency which includes ping time/packet loss/retry/internet congestion/server processing latency.

Drian
post May 21 2021, 06:42 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ May 21 2021, 05:57 PM)
You are complicating matters here for the layman. We are talking about Zigbee from a single brand. No need internet/cloud for automations once you have it up & running initially with internet/cloud. You still want to argue about cloud and latency for what?
The original poster was talking about slow unstable server in which I brought up that automation latency. Also is it possible, say automation scene sonoff zigbee motion control sonoff wifi switch without internet?
You know what since I have the app I can try it out.

Didn't read this post for a long time. May I know what is the recommended brand to build a smart home nowadays?
1 year ago, I did tried xiaomi and sonoff, xiaomi I feel their server quite unstable, slow response when using app control. While sonoff quite good, and a lot of stuff can play and customize.

Any other recommended brand that have a lot of stuff that can be customized to build a fully smart home?
This post has been edited by Drian: May 21 2021, 07:45 PM
Drian
post May 21 2021, 07:39 PM

4,999 posts

Confirmed sonoff zigbee motion is unable to control wifi switch automation scene without the internet. So the statement that the automation scene is done without the cloud is not accurate. However you can control all the switches as expected in LAN mode.
Drian
post May 21 2021, 07:42 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(Jty @ May 21 2021, 05:08 PM)
Hi Sifu.

I'm planning to renovate my house, so still planning stage. So what I'm looking for is probably 4"/6" LED downlight or eyeball downlight. but only need to be able to change the color tempreture throughout the day.

So something like 6500k in the morning and 4000k in the evening. Any ideas where I might start looking?
Tuya downlights but are you going to leave the power switch permanently on ?
Drian
post Nov 1 2021, 10:25 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(keit @ Oct 27 2021, 10:21 AM)
Hi All,

I will be renovating my new place soon and I'm planning to install some smart home devices.  The manufacturers I'm looking at are; Aqara, Tuya and Sonoff. From my understanding each manufacturer are independent and not compatible with the other manufacturer(s).

Unfortunately I'm not able to buy some devices and experiment with it first, unlike during my bachelor days. Therefore, I need advice and comments from sifus and users that has experience with the products.

To confirm my selection on the manufacturer, I've categorise it into 3 main categories.

1. Ecosystem:
Range of products and devices
Tuya and Sonoff seems to have have more products in their range.

2. Usability + Reliability:
Application UI and UX, devices working as intended (e.g. adding device, response rate), usability and durability after 1 year

Saw one review video, the user had to change the aqara smart plugs after 6 months due to issues

3. Security:
Is there any major security concerns for each manufacturer?
Aqara works with Apple Homekit (Apple has a certain standards when it comes to security)

Sonoff and Tuya
https://www.cnx-software.com/2021/05/20/son...pted-passwords/

Thank you all in advance.
If you're going homeassistant , ewelink has better support for LAN mode. (local control without cloud).

Also based on experience , wifi based switch is more reliable then zigbee.

If you're going wifi based all those cheap router shouldn't be used, now I'm using untangle, x86 router and 3 unifi access point to serve 58 clients in my house.

This post has been edited by Drian: Nov 1 2021, 10:27 AM
Drian
post Mar 14 2022, 11:11 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Mar 10 2022, 05:33 PM)
hi all, been testing Home Assistant automation for a week now. I realize the automation sometimes are not triggered, for example: turn on the lights & fan when the door sensor is open; turn off when motion sensor detected no motion for 5min; but a few times I noticed the devices doesn't get triggered. Is there a way for me to check what went wrong?

More info about my setup, using moes zigbee switches, tuya door sensor on second floor, zigbee gateway in ground floor
You can check automation last trigger. Also check whether your door sensor is sending the change to home assistant. You can click on the entity to view the history.

Drian
post Mar 26 2022, 02:00 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Mar 21 2022, 11:47 AM)
just ventured into HA.
tried running in VM (debian + HA) on my laptop.. just for venturing in HA 1st.. see how to use, programmed it, integrate smart switches.
manage to run it basically.

looking for Raspberry Pi 4 to run it.. minimal power usage for 24/7.
but problem is to get the Pi... if available, the price is also dem on high side..  doh.gif
Use x86 Windows server and run hyper-V to run home assistant.
Way way faster.

Drian
post Apr 21 2022, 11:51 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Apr 13 2022, 12:35 PM)
Pro tip, once restocked, buy extra.
I ordered 4 pcie version last year when in stock for free shipping and sold the other 2. Kinda regret now haha since i need to add frigate on more devices

Ridiculous how everything out of stock now, last year it was just the usb coral limited edition
Do you know if these coral would work with hyper -v ?
Running my HA in hyper-v but can’t figure out if i can pass usb or pcie to HA.
Drian
post Jan 4 2024, 03:23 PM

4,999 posts

Been using zigbee/wifi non-neutral switches for the past 3 years and i can say that they are less reliable than switches with neutral.

So far I've replaced 4 non-neutral switch, but I have not even replace 1 switch with neutral yet.
Drian
post Jan 4 2024, 03:26 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Jan 3 2024, 12:19 PM)
im very new to this smarthome set up

so far i have  bought random light bulbs and lights:

1. TP link Tapo Bulbs 530E x 6
2. Yeelight Arwen ceiling light x 1
3. some random tuya E14 bulb
4. some TP link wifi sockets

these devices specifically say 'no need hub/bridge' so it connects directly to wifi.

im afraid of wifi interference with my other devices like TV stick / laptop if there are too many devices connected to the 2.4GHz band.

question: is there a hub that i can use? if i use hub, meaning those smart stuff connects to the hub, then the hub (1 device) connect to wifi right?
I suggest you use business/small enterprise level AP system like Ubiquiti Unifi, Omada system etc.

Those AP were designed for more client connected in congested system, (office/company) where you have hundreds of employees accessing the wifi network at the same time.

Drian
post Jan 29 2024, 04:47 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(eagle7 @ Jan 29 2024, 01:14 PM)

To monitor the autogate's opening or closing status, I built a circuit and monitored the voltage sent to the motors.

The chip is then flashed using ESPhome to output gate status to HA so it can act accordingly.
Just use the normal zigbee door sensor, but 3d print out a cover to protect from rain.
All of these door sensor uses magnet so it's quite simple.

Drian
post Jan 30 2024, 12:40 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(eagle7 @ Jan 29 2024, 07:06 PM)
Before this, I thought of using contact sensors, but the gap between the two gate tips after closing is quite wide (e.g., 5 to 10mm). This, coupled with outdoor heat and humidity, may cause the sensor to randomly send out a false signal or not send it when we expect it to do so.

I think your suggestion will work for an indoor door or gate, but not for an outdoor gate that is subject to strong wind, thunder, and shocking waves.
Been using for 2 years. Just change to a stronger magnet as it needs to go through the plastic casing.
The gate faces rain, hot sun , humid no issues. Just need to make sure there is a powered zigbee router device to relay the signal.
Change battery every year.

Drian
post Jan 30 2024, 12:44 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Jan 30 2024, 10:47 AM)
I’m also using a contact sensor for my gate, also using larger magnets. The aqara sensor still ok, after 2 years usage, pretty remarkable power utilization from aqara.

I was also looking at AAA/LR03 battery zigbee sensors, but i read on reddit that those die out faster than button cell ones. The nice thing about the button cell ones is that they are way smaller in size
I change once a year so it is not too bad.
If you truly want long lasting like 3-4 years you could connect 2 D cell battery in series to get 3v and solder it to the terminals.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.3730sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:09 PM