THE SCHNAUZER THREAD, all you need to know about schnauzers..

jootat
post May 18 2007, 05:22 PM

1,994 posts

Finally i finished reading all the mesg posted by all of u. Syrian seems having a lot of problem with Hepy with his pee and poo .. hahaa ..

* my opinion is, just imagine, you have a baby, can u expect ur baby to tell u that he/she already pee/poo? I think Hepy is still very young and u should feel proud that he is so intelligent ... hahaa

Hi Syrian,
Mind to upload the latest picture of Hepy? hehee ...

Hi Digitral,
Same goes to u ... hope to see some updates from ur Lui Lui ....

p/s: To others, perhaps u all can just simply post ur MS photos here lo ... everyday post 1 time also good idea rite? hahaa ...

Conclusion of my thought, I am going for Silver Black MS in future ... smile.gif ... Confirmed on color already. And Sex will be male ... hahaha ...

This post has been edited by jootat: May 18 2007, 05:24 PM
jootat
post May 21 2007, 03:31 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ May 18 2007, 10:02 PM)
Jootat: I'll only post pictures after my exam (next wednesdaY).  Now busy wtih finals .. no time to take pictures tongue.gif.
Okok ... Good luck for ur exams yea ... smile.gif

QUOTE(Digitral @ May 18 2007, 11:35 PM)
hahahaha. sure thing if i reli free , then will post more my furkid pics here.
Hey, he like very manja covered with ur blanklet ... hahahaa .... cute !! ...
Last nite i went to makan with my gf, went into the pet shop and a guy bring his MS pup there. So small and so cute lar. The size of the pup is less than 25cm only leh ...

QUOTE(Syrian @ May 21 2007, 12:19 PM)
Sigh.  I kenak complained by housemate liao.  Don't know why Hepy's timidness is getting worse.  This morning I left for exam and my housemate YM my bf said the dog barked so terribly.  Then whine all the way until I came home  ohmy.gif.  Why???  Last time he is not like this one.  He's like sked to be left alone.  I got on music and put one of shirt for him to keep him accompany with all his toys and bones, etc with him in my room.  I didn't even lock him in cage or put in playpen.  I let him roam free in my room when I'm not around.  But still, he whined and barked loud loud.  Now is my housemate complain only.  So sked neighbour complain.  *Sigh*.  Then i tried jz now - leave him alone in room and close the door again.  I went to living room ... he din bark or whine coz i think he noes im' at home and if he barks when I'm around, he'll kenak!!
Okie, even though i don have any experience in dogs yet. But i do watch some dogs training tv show one. I remember once the tv show teach us how to keep the dog inside the cage without making any noise while we are away.

He said, keep all the toys and 1 of ur cloths inside the cage for him. Then, 30 mins or 1 hour before u go out, straight place him into the cage and start ignoring him already. Go do ur own things and just ignored him. Then when u go out, don say good bye, just quietly go out and don let him know.

Then he will not noticed that u r away and will not making any noise lo. So, when u come back, if u see him sit quietly in the cage, faster give him treat and sayang him and start let him out from the cage and play again.

And another thing i noticed about ur problem is also u too pampered and spent too much time on him leow. He is not independent if u too pampered him and stay with him too often.

Just my point of view lar ... hope it will help u ... hehe

This post has been edited by jootat: May 21 2007, 03:35 PM
jootat
post May 21 2007, 05:55 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ May 21 2007, 04:36 PM)
is a SHE , not He ='D
hahaha , anyway yes , my furkid like to sleep and cover with blanket  laugh.gif

arhh ... okok ... i always forgot ur lui lui is a pretty girl .... hahahaa ... sorry yea .... smile.gif
jootat
post May 23 2007, 10:13 AM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ May 21 2007, 06:23 PM)
LOL , Nvm ='DDDD
grrr .... ur lui lui very "hang fook" you always bring her to nice nice restaurant eat yea ... haha ... so rich lar u ....
But the another picture where u take together with a doll is even more cute. I noticed u like to put her on ur bed ... hehe ...

Syrian,
Don't force urself too much. The more u get frustrated, the harder u gonna train ur dog. And also don so fast think for 2nd dog. If u go for 2nd dog, both of them will bark and u will get a surround sounds effects ... haha ... that will give u even more headache. Learn how to teach 1 dog first and let the older dog to lead the smaller dog lo ...

And did u ever share ur point of view with ur housemate? You even can share ur plans on how u wanna train Hepy with ur housemate and they also can play their parts in training Hepy. Don just grap all the responsibility to urself. Since u r staying with ur friends and u need to talk to them nicely, what is the proper method to train Hepy. Don't just get angry with ur friends. They can be a very good helping hand when u r not around especially now u r going back to ur hometown.

But overall, i do see u gather all the problems in ur head and try to solve them out at once. Why don't u plan ahead like what are the things that u need to focus on training Hepy first? Do it one by one lo ... Since Hepy is just a little pup still ... don force him too much. If u keep scolding him har ... later he will get depression pulak .... doh.gif
jootat
post May 23 2007, 02:42 PM

1,994 posts

hahaa ... not rich but still go out every day with ur lui lui har .... hehee ...
actually that's good lar ... at least u know how to enjoy ur life ....
btw, any nice website to get me burn my time now? I wanna do research more on MS ... especially silver & black MS ....
hehehe ....
Doing research earlier is better than getting into trouble later on ...
jootat
post May 23 2007, 04:05 PM

1,994 posts

Syrian,
Hope this will help u ... smile.gif
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

House Training:

The key to successful house training, more than anything else, is supervision. Constant supervision of a puppy's free play time is critical to have successful house training. If at any time you cannot fully supervise the puppy (100% of your attention - this doesn't mean watching TV while puppy is playing, it means CONSTANT supervision while puppy is out) , it should be in a kennel or another confined, safe enclosed area. It only takes about ten seconds for you to turn away and for your puppy to eliminate on the floor. Every elimination error on the floor is one elimination that you did not get to reward outdoors. So keep accidents to a minimum, and supervise your puppy during the entire time puppy is active.

Having a puppy confined does not always have to be in a kennel. A very useful tool to teach puppies and older dogs is to have them lie on a mat quietly. Some people call these "play stations". It consists of a mat, with some of the puppy's favourite toys that the puppy only ever gets while on the mat. If the puppy is not on the mat, it doesn't have access to those toys (things like Stuffed Kongs, or a favourite chew bone) Because puppies have short attention spans, you can create these play stations by using a tie-down. A tie-down is a short leash (approximately 3 feet long) that is attached to a bolt securely fastened to a wall (or a strong piece of furniture), that allows the puppy to play quietly on the mat, but prevents the puppy from roaming the room unwatched. This way you can keep an eye on the puppy's actions, and the puppy is not confined to a kennel even though it can't have access to the whole room. This is intended for occasional use for short periods of time only. It is not intended to be over used in place of proper supervision and play time. As the puppy matures and ages, you can teach the puppy to stay on the mat without the tie-down.

Puppies will always need to eliminate at the following times: after sleeping, after eating, after playtime, before bedtime. However this is not the only time they need to eliminate. Small puppies may go every half hour when awake, as their bladders are very small. At a very young age they are not physically able to hold their bladders for long periods of time. As they age, the time they can hold it increases. You can figure that a puppy can hold its bladder for a length of time of its age in months plus one hour. So if you have a three month old puppy, it should be able to hold it in its kennel for four hours. However, don't take this as the golden rule, as puppies are all individuals, and some will mature at different rates than others! Also remember that holding it in the kennel for four hours and holding it while out playing for four hours are two completely different scenarios! Don't count on a puppy roaming the house to hold it for four hours.

So, your first rule is supervision. Now that we have that down, you also now know when the main times a puppy will eliminate are. Now you can deal with the times in between. During "free time", the puppy may begin to show signs of needing to eliminate. Some of these signs are sniffing the ground, circling quickly, and finally, squatting. If you see any of these signs, pick up puppy and get her outside before she goes on the floor. If the puppy starts to go before you reach it, or if you "catch the puppy in that act", say a word such as "Ah ah" or "Outside!" in a neutral voice (do not yell), pick the puppy up and take it outside immediately. Even if you don't see those signs, it's a good idea to take the puppy out regularly, at least for the first while, to allow the puppy the chance to make her own decision.

When outside, pick one location that the puppy will always eliminate in. If you have a fenced backyard, pick a section of it to use as housetraining area. The reason for this is that it will smell familiar to the puppy (it's own elimination scents will cause it to go there again in future), and it will set up a routine for the puppy to know where to go. Even if as an adult you plan to allow the dog to go anywhere in the yard (such as a fenced backyard), it is easier on the pup to have a smaller area to learn from in the beginning. When the puppy begins to eliminate, say a cue word, such as "Hurry up" or "Go Potty". When the puppy finished, give the puppy a treat, praise, or play a game with the pup. This will allow the puppy to begin to learn a cue to eliminate, as well rewarding the experience will leave a lasting impression on the puppy. Dogs do what works. Behaviours that are rewarded will be repeated. So, by rewarding proper elimination in the proper place, proper elimination behaviour will be repeated. If you clicker train your puppy, this is a fabulous thing to use the clicker to teach!

At some point in time, you may come across a puddle or a small pile that you did not see the puppy perform. If you do this, simply quietly clean up the mess, with no fuss at the puppy. Most importantly, contrary to the old style of housetraining, do NOT rub the puppy's face in it! The puppy will not make the association between your fuming in anger and it's behaviour of three minutes before. The only thing you will cause the puppy to learn in this case is that in the presence of pee or poop, you are a "dangerous, scary person", and that will be the beginning of teaching the puppy to learn to eliminate in out-of-the-way areas, or to eliminate when you aren't around. That is a bad habit to create, so don't create it at all. The best thing to take away from a situation like this - take it as a learning lesson to watch the puppy more closely. If the puppy does go on the floor, it is not the puppy's fault, but an error on the caregiver's part. Remember, the puppy is not big enough or mature enough to hold it yet, and doesn't yet know where to go, so it's up to you to help your puppy make the right decisions, and that happens through prevention, supervision, and reward.

One important thing to take note of is how you clean up an area in the house if an accident occurs. Proper cleaning of the area is important so that the puppy is not inclined to use that spot to eliminate in the future. If the puppy smells signs of its past actions, it may be tempted to make a repeat attempt at eliminating. If you are cleaning it up from carpet, use an enzymatic cleaner to do the job. Soap and water, most times, doesn't work. An old way to clean carpet was to use vinegar to repel dogs from going back to old spots, however vinegar gives off the smell similar to ammonia, a component of urine, and may attract the puppy to the spot rather than repel it. There are many great enzyme cleaners you can find from your vet or pet stores that will do the job.

A great way to control the success of housetraining is to feed scheduled meals. What goes in must come back out, so they say, and this works to your advantage for house training. Getting your pup on a meal schedule will greatly increase your chances of success for housetraining because you will know those times the puppy will have to eliminate after eating. Free feeding can wreak havoc on house training attempts (as well as cause other problems), so for your own benefit, schedule mealtimes for your puppy.

If you fully supervise your puppy, and properly clean up all areas of messes indoors that the puppy makes and you are still having problems, or the puppy is eliminating in its kennel even though it doesn't ask to go out, you should make an appointment to see your veterinarian to ensure there is not an existing health problem such as urinary tract infection or urinary incontinence. If you do have a medical problem, you cannot begin to have successful house training until you get the pup back to proper health.

Also keep in mind there are other issues that can accompany house training problems for puppies. Puppies have a natural, in-born tendency to leave their sleeping area to eliminate. This occurs in litters from a very young age. Puppies that are raised in pet stores, or raised in very small, enclosed, kennel-style environments may have lost the natural tendency to leave their sleeping area to eliminate, and may have learned to eliminate in its kennel or sleeping area. This can create additional problems for the new puppy caregiver, and you have to become extra vigilant about house training as well as teaching the puppy that the kennel is a sleeping area and not a bathroom. However, if you get your puppy from a responsible breeder, you should have no problems with this issue because the puppies will have had ample space to live and grow in, as well as distinctly separate sleeping and bathroom areas.

If you can just remember the three main tips - prevention, supervision, and reward, you'll be on a great path to a successfully housetrained puppy!

jootat
post May 23 2007, 04:19 PM

1,994 posts

GROOMING

http://miniatureschnauzer.ca/grooming.htm

Very nice website to read ... so sharing with everyone here ... smile.gif
jootat
post May 24 2007, 02:59 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ May 23 2007, 10:42 PM)
lol...hahha jus me and my gf love to enjoy life with our furkid mar ^^
hahahaha.black and silver Ms ar ? so far i think this website will guide u to see the black and silver ms colour : http://minischnauzers4u.com/images/newfront.gif
yeah , before buy a puppy , have to research 1st ...reli many ppl let ppl cheat ...

Added on May 23, 2007, 10:44 pm

yeah my gf got see this website before , and she do learn grooming her own through website and research herself. that's reli a good website for grooming . anyway thanks for sharing oso ='D
ohh ... Great ... Exactly this is the color of MS that my gf love the most .... smile.gif ... thanks for the picture.

And about the website. I m a bit confused because i never had a dog before. So, what i can do is just read and try to understand. I don't have a real dog to test out the grooming methods yet ... But it is a good reading i would say to gain more knowledge.

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ May 23 2007, 10:52 PM)
Hahah... black and silver, my favourite MS colour.... I like contrasting colours.... but I also like salt and pepper but somehow prefer black and silver.

Ai, if I didn't meet my Chelsea, then I would be having a MS now... but somehow faith brought us together.... now I really sayang my Chelsea hehehe... sleeping on my bed now.
Any type of dog will do ... Not necessary MS, as long as u love ur dog, then that's very good already ... smile.gif ... And also ur Chelsea is very cute ....

QUOTE(Syrian @ May 24 2007, 02:00 PM)
jootat, I came across this website too - last time  before I bought the puppy.  Not working for me coz hepy's timing is not accurate.  He can jz pee poo whenever he feels like it.  Three days ago, he pooped 3 times at different time after his dinner - weird.  Why so many poops one sweat.gif.
Hmm ... if not mistaken, the website also did mentioned. Puppies is a bit difficult to train, but still we can train them well. But may b u have to face the fact that u need to put ur Hepy in the crate already .. if not it is quite difficult to train ur pup ... But anyway, best practise doesn't mean it will be suitable for everyone, i believe with ur patience and well care, u will be able to come out with a very good solutions .... smile.gif
jootat
post May 29 2007, 11:37 PM

1,994 posts

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
My office now so strict ..... NO MSN NO SUFRING NO WEBMAIL !!! .... So cannot login so frequent jor ....

Ok ... just to answer Digitral.... Yea ... the earliest also need to wait 2 years jor .... But is it good if i start to look for breeder 1 year in advanced?
jootat
post May 31 2007, 12:20 AM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ May 30 2007, 12:01 AM)
hahahaha...hmm why suddenly office so strict ya
anyway u can do research 1st , is good to prepare 1st oso  rclxms.gif  no worries  thumbup.gif
suddenly change job?? haihz ... i just got the job offer 2-3 weeks ago one ... then they bought me out mar ... so mar very fast join them leow lo ... but really sienz .... whole day is work only ... can't even online and surf and chat one ...

btw, i noted what u said ... i will keep researching and i need ur help for breeder info k?? i just wondering when should i start contacting them??
jootat
post Jun 3 2007, 01:24 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ Jun 2 2007, 12:05 PM)
jootat ,
i think u can call MKA for those breeder contact .
which mean i ask them for Ms's breeder contact and etc.
http://www.mka.org.my/contact.htm
ohhh ... okok ... thanks ... means they will provide me all the breeder's contact rite? but how am i going to know which breeder is betteR?
jootat
post Jun 10 2007, 10:05 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ Jun 3 2007, 02:41 PM)
hmmm , u have to visit the breeder's pups and espiecially the pups's parent. see the quality of the pup's parents. this is important  biggrin.gif  and one more thing , see the breeder kennel , make sure the breeder not a person which is not concentrate it kennel and quality . some breeder is bad and just treat their dog like a breeding machine . usually a good breeder is concentrate it quality and breed it dog just like 2-3 breeds. more than the breed, i dun think those breeder can concentrate it quality after all.
okok ... let me do it myself then ... means i have to call them to get a list of breeders contact first .... then check with the breeder's dog see their parents is nice or not rite?? seems like pretty much of things to do though.... hehe brows.gif
jootat
post Jun 11 2007, 11:24 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ Jun 10 2007, 10:30 PM)
Yeah , is better to see the parent of the pups...better than sorry lor...
cuz nowadays lots of ppl cheat mah , espiecially PET SHOP.
but then there still lots of ppl went pet shop buy pet too... some ppl love in 1st sight with those puppy and just bought it back ...and some puppy buy back then found out got lots of problem. unless u can ask the pet shop ppl that the puppies's parents? but those pet shop ppl get those puppy from dog supplier .... biggrin.gif
hahaa ..... thanks ... i sure believe what u say one ... coz i knew u r dog lover ... smile.gif

QUOTE(jtl @ Jun 10 2007, 11:07 PM)
Hahaha....I not very expert but can help where I am able to. Can ask anything but if I don't know, I will say I don't know la. Don't want to simply answer for the sake of answering.  biggrin.gif
and of course ... i believe u jtl ... hehee ....

QUOTE(Digitral @ Jun 11 2007, 02:45 PM)
sad thing to announce here T__T
syrian decide to selling her Hepy to good home now due to her Hepy got separate anxiety problem and cant manage to keep in apartment now ...sad thing to hear...

jootat : u wan to buy now mah ? buy for ur gf ='P
what ??? why she is selling away?? i m very very intrested indeed ... but now if i buy ... i got no place to keep hepy lar .... how old is hepy already yea? and he is black and silver rite? how much she is selling?
jootat
post Jun 12 2007, 10:07 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ Jun 11 2007, 11:47 PM)
jootat..syrian selling her Hepy rm 650 i guess...no very sure or u can call her ?
syrian selling away her hepy cuz of she worry now her neighbour which is malay know they got a dog at condo edi , so worry the malay girl will go complain to management there...so avoid bad things happend , syrain decide to sell her hepy away lor...no choice.
Hepy now is 4 month old edi...hmm u staying landed property or apartment/condo ?
ouchh ... so cham .... my house is landed property lar but is rented house lar ... so got housemate also geh ... but i don think they will complain lar ... just that if Hepy already got seperate anxiety then how to recover him? i scared he will really bark the whole day while i m not around also ....

syrian mind to send Hepy latest photo ma?
jootat
post Jun 13 2007, 10:44 PM

1,994 posts

hahaaa .... actually i really wanted to buy now ... but the problem is ... my mind is very the messed up now ... i plan to move away from this house and also feel like continue staying here ... is kind of delima .... and this house is 3 storey one ... so, i m taking the 3rd storey and if i need to keep Hepy, i need to put him in living room which is 1st floor lo ... so, is very difficult for me to take care of him ... it might end up sitting inside cage for the whole nite and whole day when i go out to work.

I need to go out from my house 8:30 AM and only will be home around 8 PM. That is a bout 11 and half hours per day leh ....

so my mind is playing tricks with me now .... And recently i just change job rite? This company really quite pressure ... So, after work i felt like i just came out from hell and the worse is ... at nite i can't sleep ... the mind keep running and i donno how to shut it down .... lol ....

Syrian ... let me consider ok? I will let u know if i m interested. But hope to see u post some photos ... (it might boost me and give me a chance to bypass my normal considerations and go buy from u straight) lolz .... but it won't happen so frequent lar ... normally i plan things well before i simply made any decisions will make me regrets in future one ... lol

This post has been edited by jootat: Jun 13 2007, 10:45 PM
jootat
post Jun 14 2007, 09:45 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ Jun 13 2007, 10:59 PM)
Hmm Jootat , no need rush to buy oso de..but if u really interested i think Syrian woudn't mind let u go and pay a visit Hepy . anyway ...since u stress of ur work , i think is better let ur GF take care ? how do u think ? worry u might be busy after get Hepy also
lol ... okok ... i don wan to rush ... smile.gif ... thanks for all the supports ... actually i m still aware that my current situations is not suitable for a pet yet ...

QUOTE(Mr. Z @ Jun 14 2007, 04:06 PM)
Plz dun rush into buying.. dun buy on spurs just because u thought u wanna help a dog into a good home as u might only make matters worse when u are forced into giving the dog away again..

imagine ur parents threw u out to a new home.. and this parent again threw u out to another home..

If u arent SETTLED down, doesnt stays at ur OWN home, and not willing to make SACRIFICES, then by all means buy another low maintenance pet like hamsters or gerbils..

Jootat, no point adding another unnecessary problem into ur long list of dilema rite now... and i dun believe in buying for gf's on spurs, if i am to do tht, i m always prepared to take over the role of care taker when things dun turn out the way they do...
yea ... i understand ... i also agree that we buy for gf is because she love it and we have to play equal role and taking care of the furkid lar ... just like we having a baby lar ... both mother and father should play the equal role to take care of the baby mar ... smile.gif thumbup.gif

Like today ... i just reached home and just had my dinner .... now my eye also closing 1 side jor ... so damn tired ... lolz
jootat
post Jun 17 2007, 06:27 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ Jun 14 2007, 11:13 PM)
jootat , it seem u are so stress and tired ...with ur job now ..
so i think maybe future only buy a pup then ^^
should rest more ...yea if taking care of pets should helping each other to take care lor .. even though i bought Lui Lui for my gf , bu then sumtimes i must help her take care oso ...if not feel not that right if all let my gf take care right  tongue.gif
lol ... this is something extra that couples can do it together ... because sometimes it is so hard to find a topic or same interest or activity that a couple can do it together ...

so if u love pup and ur gf love pup ... at least both can go jalan jalan together with the pup and share the nice nice moment walking together mar ... lol ...

but my current company .... all the staff there like robot ... work nonstop and so hardworking .... like yesterday .... afternoon i have to work from home and at nite still need to go office to work till almost 12 midnite .... haihz .... if this is my future life .... i don think i will have time for pup jor .... soooo sad ..... shakehead.gif
jootat
post Jun 19 2007, 09:58 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jun 17 2007, 07:54 PM)
I've decided not to sell Hepy.  Will continue to keep him.  Will just try and solve problems that arised or will arise in the future.  Don't have the "heart" to sell him away.  Jz brought him for full grooming today at Pets Buddy - the cutting at the face isn't nice coz they trimmed his eyebrow SHORT and they cut his moustache off cry.gif.  I didn't tell them i want to keep the moustache and i thot a standard MS should have long moustache neh.  Dunno why they go trim it super short - Hepy looks a bit weird now.  But his the cutting on his body is nice.  They cut the top part botak and the side part super short and neat.  He looks like a monster when I got home just now sweat.gif.

Going to bring him for his 3rd jab this weekend and asked about the neutering thingy.  Plan to neuter him before he starts marking .. hehe.  Hopefully he won't mark lar sweat.gif.
nice to hear that syrian ... smile.gif
eh btw, ur hepy grown up jor ... didn look like the old hepy anymore ... so fast already got big changes .... and why it is pepper and grey? i thought he is black n silver?

Digitral ur furkid all so cute ... hahaha
jootat
post Jun 25 2007, 07:34 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jun 19 2007, 10:31 PM)
Jootat ..
Hahahaha .. . Hepy was never black and silver.  Actually, I'm also not so sure wud colour is he.  Seems like mixed btwn his daddy (black & silver) and his mommy (grey & pepper).  After grooming, then he looks greyish.  Before grooming, he looks like black .. laugh.gif

ic ic ... is okie ... still looks very cute ... i got no time to read through all the post u guys posted anymore ... lol ... but pls keep this thread alive ok? coz i might drop by agian in future ... recently very the busy ... haha ...

All the best everyone ... And pls don forget about me ok? I will be bugging everyone in future again ... smile.gif thumbup.gif

0.0478sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:21 AM