CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund, is this good fund to invest?

TSknight
post Apr 15 2015, 11:26 AM, updated 11y ago

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

The banker introduce to me this fund saying and showing me the performance of the fund which is 8% per years average for some time now. She mentioned that this fund has risk but very good fund to invest. What do you think?

I have few thousand sleeping in FD, should I use that for this fund or just get a bond instead??

CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund

Investment Sifus, I'm very new in such stuff. Need your guidance.

notworthy.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 15 2015, 11:29 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

We at FSM thread call this fund...Ponzi 2.0 brows.gif

And 8% p.a. is its TARGET

Recent performance has been well in excess of 10% p.a. wink.gif

See here:
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...umber=MYCIMB007

and here:
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...etMYCIMB007.pdf

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Apr 15 2015, 11:32 AM
Kaka23
post Apr 15 2015, 11:37 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Apr 15 2015, 12:26 PM)
The banker introduce to me this fund saying and showing me the performance of the fund which is 8% per years average for some time now. She mentioned that this fund has risk but very good fund to invest. What do you think?

I have few thousand sleeping in FD, should I use that for this fund or just get a bond instead??
CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund

Investment Sifus, I'm very new in such stuff. Need your guidance.

notworthy.gif
I am invested in it!
SUSyklooi
post Apr 15 2015, 11:41 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 15 2015, 11:37 AM)
I am invested in it!
you invested thru the bank also?
how much is the Sales charges be? tongue.gif
Kaka23
post Apr 15 2015, 11:44 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 15 2015, 12:41 PM)
you invested thru the bank also?
how much is the Sales charges be?  tongue.gif
no la.. I invested through FSM!
SUSyklooi
post Apr 15 2015, 11:46 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 15 2015, 11:44 AM)
no la.. I invested through FSM!
why FSM and NOT through the Bank?
FSM safer than the Bank?
FSM Cheaper to buy?
Kaka23
post Apr 15 2015, 11:56 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 15 2015, 12:46 PM)
why FSM and NOT through the Bank?
FSM safer than the Bank?
FSM Cheaper to buy?
haha...

FSM cheaper ma. Also got good customer service. Also can do online. And most important I follow you ma!
TSknight
post Apr 15 2015, 11:56 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 15 2015, 11:29 AM)
We at FSM thread call this fund...Ponzi 2.0 brows.gif

And 8% p.a. is its TARGET

Recent performance has been well in excess of 10% p.a. wink.gif

See here:
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...umber=MYCIMB007

and here:
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...etMYCIMB007.pdf
So 8% is target only? But she show me the performance really got 8% like that for 3 years. And why Ponzi yah? and also 2.0??? Like second fraud scheme??? huh??

rclxub.gif
TSknight
post Apr 15 2015, 11:58 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 15 2015, 11:56 AM)
haha...

FSM cheaper ma. Also got good customer service. Also can do online. And most important I follow you ma!
FSM Cheaper but open account abit fussy right? I saw my friend buy PRS like so many document need to send to FSM.

But bank will tell u before the market turn sour and u can sell before it drops right? That's what I know.
SUSyklooi
post Apr 15 2015, 12:00 PM

8,188 posts

Investment involves risk.
The price of securities may go down as well as up, and under certain circumstances an investor may sustain a total or substantial loss of investment.
Past performance is not necessarily indicative of the future or likely performance of the fund.
Investors should read the relevant fund's prospectus for details before making any investment decision.
An Investor should make an appraisal of the risks involved in investing in these products and should consult their own independent and professional advisors, to ensure that any decision made is suitable with regards to their circumstances and financial position.

TSknight
post Apr 15 2015, 12:10 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

Management Fee Up to 1.80% p.a. of the NAV
Trustee Fee 0.08% p.a. of the NAV

Looks like I have to see this 1 also. Coz every year will lost this amount too.

Just realize 8% is bench mark and the performance is like 20% like that? Not bad.

Should I buy?
Kaka23
post Apr 15 2015, 12:12 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Apr 15 2015, 12:58 PM)
FSM Cheaper but open account abit fussy right? I saw my friend buy PRS like so many document need to send to FSM.

But bank will tell u before the market turn sour and u can sell before it drops right? That's what I know.
Bro.. only first time open account ma. After that do it online, very easy. If you want tips and market update go to FSM website and read, also come to LYN forum also can.

As for Bank.. when u buy and sell, everytime need to go bank. Think of getting out drive car, find packing, take number and queue also not worth it la. If you are not so flexible in work, lagi teruk.. only lunch time can go bank. Bank sales people wont update you anything la, unless u are investing big amount. But after update u few times by phone, they also lazy and forgot to do it already. Unless u think it is worth doing all that just to go see the pretty and sexy sales person, then different cerita. Bear in mind, the sales person also high turn over rate.
TSknight
post Apr 15 2015, 12:20 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 15 2015, 12:12 PM)
Bro.. only first time open account ma. After that do it online, very easy. If you want tips and market update go to FSM website and read, also come to LYN forum also can.

As for Bank.. when u buy and sell, everytime need to go bank. Think of getting out drive car, find packing, take number and queue also not worth it la. If you are not so flexible in work, lagi teruk.. only lunch time can go bank. Bank sales people wont update you anything la, unless u are investing big amount. But after update u few times by phone, they also lazy and forgot to do it already. Unless u think it is worth doing all that just to go see the pretty and sexy sales person, then different cerita. Bear in mind, the sales person also high turn over rate.
If you want to buy new fund how yah? Have to transfer from your bank account to FSM then only can buy or what? I know I should not be asking this question. But just ask la. Haha. Hope can get some answer here.
Kaka23
post Apr 15 2015, 12:27 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Apr 15 2015, 01:20 PM)
If you want to buy new fund how yah? Have to transfer from your bank account to FSM then only can buy or what? I know I should not be asking this question. But just ask la. Haha. Hope can get some answer here.
Just do fpx transfer lo if you dont want to transfer your money into FSM CMF2. When u buy the find, the webpage will guide you step by step la.. dont worry
SUSyklooi
post Apr 15 2015, 12:29 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 15 2015, 12:27 PM)
Just do fpx transfer lo if you dont want to transfer your money into FSM CMF2. When u buy the find, the webpage will guide you step by step la.. dont worry
or read this 1st for more info....
Popular FAQs
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/introduction.tpl
SUSDavid83
post Apr 15 2015, 12:36 PM

52,874 posts

Can close this thread?
TSknight
post Apr 15 2015, 12:38 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 15 2015, 12:36 PM)
Can close this thread?
Why? It's not FSM also. Its about this fund and I want to see what people think about this fund and advise also. Can I?? notworthy.gif
river.sand
post Apr 15 2015, 01:32 PM

3,816 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 15 2015, 12:36 PM)
Can close this thread?
buy from FSM and buy from lenglui banker different experience laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 15 2015, 02:04 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Apr 15 2015, 11:58 AM)

QUOTE(river.sand @ Apr 15 2015, 01:32 PM)
buy from FSM and buy from lenglui banker different experience  laugh.gif
Unless u are priority banking customer, I doubt your banker will pay close attention to your account whistling.gif
Kaka23
post Apr 15 2015, 08:42 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Apr 15 2015, 02:32 PM)
buy from FSM and buy from lenglui banker different experience  laugh.gif
I notice ocbc personal banker looks better than other banks.. Haha

night
post Apr 15 2015, 08:56 PM

What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.
1,469 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 15 2015, 08:42 PM)
I notice ocbc personal banker looks better than other banks..  Haha
Which branch?
Kaka23
post Apr 15 2015, 08:58 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(night @ Apr 15 2015, 09:56 PM)
Which branch?
Damansara Utama

nexona88
post Apr 15 2015, 09:58 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 15 2015, 08:58 PM)
Damansara Utama
u know the name brows.gif
SUSDavid83
post Apr 15 2015, 10:20 PM

52,874 posts

Warning: OT
Kaka23
post Apr 16 2015, 06:52 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 15 2015, 10:58 PM)
u know the name  brows.gif
Already forgot

eternity4life
post Apr 16 2015, 01:51 PM

113 posts

You should, it's a highly recommended fund in multiple investment seminars I've been through even from independent investment advisors. Not to mention that most fund managers are quite positive with China this year which is one of the main focus market for APDI.

Because of the funds capability of changing from equities, fixed income or money market, it's has better hedging than most funds due to it's flexibility.

Although the target return is 8%, it has outperform the target and consistently provide high returns in the past years. Not to mention that the funds have low volatility relative to it's performance and return. Lower volatility translates to lower risk in investment terms. Hence the reason why it is called Ponzi 2.0.

Nevertheless it is still an equity focused fund which still makes it risky. Don't put all your eggs in one basket.
xuzen
post Apr 16 2015, 02:08 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 15 2015, 08:42 PM)
I notice ocbc personal banker looks better than other banks..  Haha
Good looking person who manages your money are a bad bad combo... too much emo involved. That is why Lee Sook Yee is just an ideal candidate. Matronly, your 40 something average look...

Xuzen
Kaka23
post Apr 16 2015, 03:21 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Apr 16 2015, 03:08 PM)
Good looking person who manages your money are a bad bad combo... too much emo involved. That is why Lee Sook Yee is just an ideal candidate. Matronly, your 40 something average look...

Xuzen
shocking.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 16 2015, 03:24 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Apr 16 2015, 02:08 PM)

Xuzen
MILF brows.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 16 2015, 03:25 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(eternity4life @ Apr 16 2015, 01:51 PM)
You should, it's a highly recommended fund in multiple investment seminars I've been through even from independent investment advisors. Not to mention that most fund managers are quite positive with China this year which is one of the main focus market for APDI.

Because of the funds capability of changing from equities, fixed income or money market, it's has better hedging than most funds due to it's flexibility.

Although the target return is 8%, it has outperform the target and consistently provide high returns in the past years. Not to mention that the funds have low volatility relative to it's performance and return. Lower volatility translates to lower risk in investment terms. Hence the reason why it is called Ponzi 2.0.

Nevertheless it is still an equity focused fund which still makes it risky. Don't put all your eggs in one basket.
Just a nickname tongue.gif
xuzen
post Apr 16 2015, 03:30 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(eternity4life @ Apr 16 2015, 01:51 PM)

Ponzi 1.0 is easier to type compared to Affin Hwang Select Asia Pacific ex Japan Quantum Fund

Ponzi 2.0 is easier to type compared to CIMB-Principle Asia Pacific ex Japan Dynamic Income Fund.

Those fund manager need to be more marketing savvy. Dull boring fund name. Compare that to Vanguard, Spyder, or Spartan. Uber Gen-Y'esque cool name.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Apr 16 2015, 03:36 PM
wil-i-am
post Apr 16 2015, 09:14 PM

10,001 posts

Wat is d approved fund size for Ponzi-2?
TSknight
post Apr 18 2015, 01:10 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

So, now they have good positive return for 3 years. What do you think in future? Will it be same growth?

I don't mind if the NAV does not grow in my case, I just thinking of dividend. Hmm. wonder should I go for it or not.
nexona88
post Apr 18 2015, 12:50 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

there's a reason why it's called Ponzi 2.0 whistling.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 18 2015, 01:09 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Apr 18 2015, 01:10 AM)
So, now they have good positive return for 3 years. What do you think in future? Will it be same growth?

I don't mind if the NAV does not grow in my case, I just thinking of dividend. Hmm. wonder should I go for it or not.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3509481
Please read Post #1 thoroughly to understand dividend in the context of unit trust
billytong
post Apr 18 2015, 01:53 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

what is the worst performance they get? How many years they running already?
SUSDavid83
post Apr 18 2015, 02:01 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Apr 18 2015, 01:53 PM)
Details: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...umber=MYCIMB007
nexona88
post Apr 18 2015, 07:57 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Apr 18 2015, 01:53 PM)
https://my.morningstar.com/ap/quicktake/ove...ceId=0P0000SVIH

icon_rolleyes.gif
Kaka23
post Apr 18 2015, 08:16 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Apr 18 2015, 02:53 PM)
So far cannot complain about the performance... their benchmark is 8%pa, but may not be helpful
billytong
post Apr 19 2015, 05:29 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 18 2015, 08:16 PM)
So far cannot complain about the performance... their benchmark is 8%pa, but may not be helpful

not very if u are looking for consistency, a few years alone is not enough. Not to mention the economy was going up during 2012-2014.
Kaka23
post Apr 19 2015, 05:40 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Apr 19 2015, 06:29 PM)
not very if u are looking for consistency, a few years alone is not enough. Not to mention the economy was going up during 2012-2014.
What are you looking for in UT?
Kaka23
post Apr 19 2015, 05:40 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Apr 19 2015, 06:29 PM)
billytong
post Apr 19 2015, 05:45 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 19 2015, 05:40 PM)

a safer return that is better than FD?. laugh.gif

Kaka23
post Apr 19 2015, 05:48 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Apr 19 2015, 06:45 PM)
a safer return that is better than FD?.  laugh.gif
Balance Fund ok? But invested time horizon should be > 3 years the best la
billytong
post Apr 19 2015, 05:56 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 19 2015, 05:48 PM)
Balance Fund ok? But invested time horizon should be > 3 years the best la

basically I am looking to park my money better than FD ROI. Housing isnt doing very good now(I ride the entire housing bull run since 2006), liquid 2 of my house, so I am looking for something to hold on my money first and see what happen to housing in 2016-2017.
Kaka23
post Apr 19 2015, 05:59 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Apr 19 2015, 06:56 PM)
basically I am looking to park my money better than FD ROI. Housing isnt doing very good now(I ride the entire housing bull run since 2006), liquid 2 of my house, so I am looking for something to hold on my money first and see what happen to housing in 2016-2017.
Money Market fund.. but wont be higher than FD.
wil-i-am
post Apr 19 2015, 06:34 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 19 2015, 05:59 PM)
Money Market fund.. but wont be higher than FD.
Some MMF delivers higher return than 12 mths FD of 3.30% pa
Kaka23
post Apr 19 2015, 06:39 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Apr 19 2015, 07:34 PM)
Some MMF delivers higher return than 12 mths FD of 3.30% pa
Haha... I am refering to those promo FD. I see highest is 4.5%pa.. tongue.gif
SUSDavid83
post Apr 19 2015, 06:42 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 19 2015, 06:39 PM)
Haha... I am refering to those promo FD. I see highest is 4.5%pa..  tongue.gif
What is the tenure?

What is the min amount for placement?
Kaka23
post Apr 19 2015, 07:47 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 19 2015, 07:42 PM)
What is the tenure?

What is the min amount for placement?
15 months.. I think min is 5K or 10K

For 12 months, can get 4.2%pa
cybermaster98
post Apr 20 2015, 02:00 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Apr 19 2015, 05:56 PM)
Don't just park your money. Grow it. Property is just 1 avenue of investment. Property is going to remain sluggish for some time.

Go for UT. Take on more risks. Its ok to be a little aggressive. Ull find that returns from UT can be more than property itself.

TSknight
post Apr 20 2015, 03:48 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 20 2015, 02:00 PM)
Don't just park your money. Grow it. Property is just 1 avenue of investment. Property is going to remain sluggish for some time.

Go for UT. Take on more risks. Its ok to be a little aggressive. Ull find that returns from UT can be more than property itself.
Which UT is good now? It's paid dividend per share right? So right now is the dividend good??
Kaka23
post Apr 20 2015, 07:30 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Apr 20 2015, 04:48 PM)
Which UT is good now? It's paid dividend per share right? So right now is the dividend good??
Distribution in UT is different with Dividend in stocks...

In UT, distribution is meaning less...
billytong
post Apr 22 2015, 06:33 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 20 2015, 02:00 PM)

risk is not something I can take that easy especially the amount is huge. This is not 50K or 100K

nexona88
post Apr 22 2015, 09:57 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

Ponzi 2.0 Fund Factsheets as 31 March 2015
http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/fund_pdf/...und_MYR_FFS.pdf

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by nexona88: Apr 24 2015, 11:58 AM
SUSDavid83
post Apr 23 2015, 08:49 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 22 2015, 09:57 PM)
Bro, put some comment? God knows what does the URL is about ... doh.gif
infinityplayaz
post Apr 23 2015, 05:53 PM

227 posts

Just got new info from the fund manager himself, expected date for this year distribution will be on May 7th.
SUSDavid83
post Apr 23 2015, 07:04 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(infinityplayaz @ Apr 23 2015, 05:53 PM)
Just got new info from the fund manager himself, expected date for this year distribution will be on May 7th.
It is already announced. doh.gif

URL: http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/News-@-CI...ncome_Fund.aspx
infinityplayaz
post Apr 24 2015, 09:50 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 23 2015, 07:04 PM)
Lol. biggrin.gif thx for your info bro

This post has been edited by infinityplayaz: Apr 24 2015, 09:53 AM
nexona88
post Apr 24 2015, 11:58 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 23 2015, 08:49 AM)
Bro, put some comment? God knows what does the URL is about ... doh.gif
okay.. already edited blush.gif
cassian948
post Oct 23 2021, 12:16 PM

931 posts

6 years later, so any review?
MUM
post Oct 23 2021, 12:34 PM

14,948 posts

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Oct 23 2021, 12:16 PM)
looking at the performance since 6 years ago, what do you think?

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 23 2021, 12:37 PM

SUSxander83
post Oct 23 2021, 05:03 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Oct 23 2021, 12:16 PM)
QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 23 2021, 12:34 PM)
looking at the performance since 6 years ago, what do you think?
One of the most consistent income fund in the market rclxms.gif

0.7113sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:40 AM