How fcuked up EA can be?, Spyware in BF 2142?
TSDark Steno
Oct 17 2006, 03:23 PM, updated 20y ago
baaaaaaa
Taken from here. "So. In the latest CGW podcast, they received retail boxed copies of BF 2142. When you open the box, a big slip of paper falls out first, preceeding any discs or manuals. The slip of paper says, essentially, that 2142 includes monitoring software which runs while your computer is online, and records "anonymous" information like your IP address, surfing habits (probably via cookie scans), and other "computing habits" in order to report this information back to ad companies and ad servers, which generates in-game ads. Now, I can live with certain in-game ads (though apparently there will be Dodge truck and Neon ads in the bleak, futuristic world of 2142), but including a lengthy description - outside of even the Eula - seems to indicate even EA knows that this is some shady borderline spyware shit. I don't support it and won't be buying 2142 (for a host of other reasons, too)."  EDIT: Erm... someone shows me the slip of paper that they're talking about. This post has been edited by Dark Steno: Oct 18 2006, 02:59 PM
DeFaeco
Oct 17 2006, 03:31 PM
Wait, does this mean that if you use the internet strictly and only for porn, that the in game ads would be for porn ads?
TSDark Steno
Oct 17 2006, 03:35 PM
baaaaaaa
"Enlarge your penis" or something like that. So, yeah.
vanguish
Oct 17 2006, 03:41 PM
Viagra pills for sales... lol...
i receive viagra spams daily now.. knn..
Zephro
Oct 17 2006, 03:59 PM

The ads are just as bad as the ads you see above here in LYN. You people are just overreacting. EA is not going to scan your PC for lolipr0n, lawl.
Aoshi_88
Oct 17 2006, 04:00 PM
Collected and installing. Blehhh...
Cereal
Oct 17 2006, 04:03 PM

Please la i have heard enough of this from totalbf2142 and totalbf2 everyone is so paranoid and hates bf2/Ea/Dice so much that they are willing to dig up dirt just to screw Ea/Dice Sales of bf2142
for the prople playing bf2. you know how much information is collected for the stats system? Collin the representetive from Dice has already explanined that it will only collect information about the advertisements ingame and nothing else
TSDark Steno
Oct 17 2006, 04:10 PM
baaaaaaa
Erm, do I need to bold this part of the sentence?
The slip of paper says, essentially, that 2142 includes monitoring software which runs while your computer is online, and records "anonymous" information like your IP address, surfing habits (probably via cookie scans), and other "computing habits" in order to report this information back to ad companies and ad servers, which generates in-game ads.
slickz
Oct 17 2006, 04:19 PM
funny, I didnt see that slip when I opened my box. But I saw pics of that slip before. What can we do? Just watch and see what happens? People are smart. I'm sure there's something we can patch to take care of it sooner or later.
chamelion
Oct 17 2006, 05:29 PM
loli and porn add on tank's or mech's hull... lol  then teamspeak will like " oi!! need repair, no!! not that one.. i am the one with viagra ad.."
squall_12
Oct 17 2006, 06:05 PM
try to scan for adware or spyware using program like spybot if it didnt find any then is safe to know there is not harm to us...
minizian
Oct 17 2006, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(chamelion @ Oct 17 2006, 05:29 PM) loli and porn add on tank's or mech's hull... lol  then teamspeak will like " oi!! need repair, no!! not that one.. i am the one with viagra ad.." those are future porn advertisment sexy robots porn
SUSRaikkonen
Oct 17 2006, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(chamelion @ Oct 17 2006, 05:29 PM) loli and porn add on tank's or mech's hull... lol  then teamspeak will like " oi!! need repair, no!! not that one.. i am the one with viagra ad.."  LMAO that "oii!!" really makes me laugh  "...who are you mannn!!..." the Raj Curry ad. on TV3 This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Oct 17 2006, 06:39 PM
XenoFr3ak
Oct 17 2006, 07:12 PM
QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Oct 17 2006, 06:38 PM)  LMAO that "oii!!" really makes me laugh  "...who are you mannn!!..." the Raj Curry ad. on TV3  This spyware thingy ... will the PC be in danger of Trojan virus ?
slickz
Oct 17 2006, 07:16 PM
hey the server is back on! I'll look see inside the game and look for the controversial ads now.
convicted_knight
Oct 17 2006, 07:18 PM
be ready with karpersky anti virus n cheap but good AVG antivirus and some anti-spyware software ad-aware SE and spybot search n destroy... i had all this installed.. my comp free of viruses... at least..
XenoFr3ak
Oct 17 2006, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(convicted_knight @ Oct 17 2006, 07:18 PM) be ready with karpersky anti virus n cheap but good AVG antivirus and some anti-spyware software ad-aware SE and spybot search n destroy... i had all this installed.. my comp free of viruses... at least.. Im not so worry abt the virus ... im just worry abt "key-logger".
convicted_knight
Oct 17 2006, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Oct 17 2006, 07:22 PM) Im not so worry abt the virus ... im just worry abt "key-logger". key logger.. fuiyo... hehehe..  all the ppl see is A A D D W W SPACE R ENTER ENTER ENTER(strafting left n right firing a enemy.. jumping to avoid sniper's shots and reload then die.. waiting in the spawn menu..) This post has been edited by convicted_knight: Oct 17 2006, 07:37 PM
slickz
Oct 17 2006, 07:44 PM