Technical I NEED HELP MY 360 KAPUT!

TSHitman190
post Oct 16 2006, 02:05 PM, updated 19y ago

589 posts

Guys Im in need of serious help here my 360 which had suffered from the three red lights of death was sent to the repair shops but the guy said there was no spare parts availble to them so they cannot repair the 360. They also said that I could wait for six months for spare parts but im not that patient. So anyone in this forum can point me in the direction of a place that can guarantee a good shot at repairing my 360 will greatly be appreciated..

Guys my parents spent nearly RM1500 on the 360 I really want it to be repaired.
I know i sound kinda crazy right now showing emotion for a piece of tech but that thing was a gift.

I really feel terrible and very hurt inside (no joke really). Guys help me please.

Thanx,,, notworthy.gif
liquid_ooze
post Oct 16 2006, 02:07 PM

My name is Iman, and I'm Malaysian
1,385 posts

i understand how u feel man.... 1.5K is a lot of money indeed sweat.gif

hopefully someone here (a 360 sifu) can help out... i myself dun even have one.

P/S: if ya dont mind me asking, how did the 3 blinking red lights happen in the first place?

This post has been edited by liquid_ooze: Oct 16 2006, 02:08 PM
Merdeka
post Oct 16 2006, 02:14 PM

169 posts

oh so sorry to hear that.. sad.gif
I had that a few nites before, unplugged and plug back everything and its fine now.

why donch u go to the place you bought it from..
calvin
post Oct 16 2006, 02:16 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

did u use the nyko intercooler with ur 360?
TSHitman190
post Oct 16 2006, 02:21 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Oct 16 2006, 02:07 PM)
i understand how u feel man.... 1.5K is a lot of money indeed sweat.gif

hopefully someone here (a 360 sifu) can help out... i myself dun even have one.

P/S: if ya dont mind me asking, how did the 3 blinking red lights happen in the first place?
There was some renovation going on in my room so I took a couple of blakets and covered it over my 360. Guess there were some sendiments of sand and dust got into the system. My fault, i assumed that all that stuff covering it would be enough,i guessed wrong.

QUOTE(Merdeka @ Oct 16 2006, 02:14 PM)
oh so sorry to hear that.. sad.gif
I had that a few nites before, unplugged and plug back everything and its fine now.

why donch u go to the place you bought it from..
Well theres a story to that...You know COD2 right? Well I bought a copy from there and it was the US version which could not work on Asian consoles but the guy persisted that it could and claims that I was cheating him. We had a real bad falling out and well my mom who was there vowed never to return to that store again even though I got a refund. Each time I pass that store i have to calook awy so the guy doesnt see me. Well funny how things like this can bite you back hard.

TSHitman190
post Oct 16 2006, 02:22 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Oct 16 2006, 02:16 PM)
did u use the nyko intercooler with ur 360?
No no after the things I heard on this forum i didnt buy it.
marauderz
post Oct 16 2006, 02:40 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

err.. one question.. you covered your 360.. did you cover your power brick?
edoras81
post Oct 16 2006, 02:44 PM

I really feel sorry for you man....really do but

be patient and relay everything that happened and go into detail....tell us as much as possible...the guys here can definitely help you if they have as much info as possible. I on the other hand am a newbie but one thing I know you aint going to get more friendly help then the guys here on the forum......just go into more details as to what happened before and after.
MK84
post Oct 16 2006, 02:49 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

One way maybe can open up the 360, use compressed air or something to clean the board.
goodspeed
post Oct 16 2006, 02:59 PM

you can try removing all the cables (i mean everything) ... and replugging all again....

also remember to run without the HDD... sometimes the HDD may cause the ring of death...

make sure the power brick shows green when you turn on your console and orange when not turned on....
huss_wuss
post Oct 16 2006, 03:38 PM

did u cover ur 360 wit blankets while playing or whn its off?

cos if u cover wit blankets while playing.. i dnt think there's enuff ventilation going out of it.. poor airflow..

oh, & dnt cover ur power brick wit blankets as it gets really hot..
un9ku
post Oct 16 2006, 04:15 PM

335 posts

yeah, mine went kaput coz of my power brick. after replacing it, it went fine. the way to diagnose my problem is, when the console is turned on, the power brick's led is still orange in color, instead of green
TSHitman190
post Oct 16 2006, 05:16 PM

589 posts

[quote=marauderz,Oct 16 2006, 02:40 PM]
err.. one question.. you covered your 360.. did you cover your power brick?

[/quote]

Yeah I did. Everything covered from the brick to the console itself
[quote=MK84,Oct 16 2006, 02:49 PM]
One way maybe can open up the 360, use compressed air or something to clean the board.

[/quote]
Maybe thats the way to fix it. But Im worried that the dust could have lead to something worse like hardware error or something..

[quote=goodspeed,Oct 16 2006, 02:59 PM]
you can try removing all the cables (i mean everything) ... and replugging all again....

also remember to run without the HDD... sometimes the HDD may cause the ring of death...
Nah I tried everything in the book. Do not want to do something like take it apart myself

[quote=huss_wuss,Oct 16 2006, 03:38 PM]
did u cover ur 360 wit blankets while playing or whn its off?

cos if u cover wit blankets while playing.. i dnt think there's enuff ventilation going out of it.. poor airflow..
oh, & dnt cover ur power brick wit blankets as it gets really hot..

[/quote]

I didnt even play it when the room was under renovation. The fine dust must have got into the system. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

terranova
post Oct 16 2006, 06:09 PM

1,161 posts

If all these home remedies don't work, then call up Microsoft hotline and exercise your warranty. It may involve returning your console to Singapore. Anyway, that's worst case scenario but there is still hope.
Kabadi84
post Oct 17 2006, 12:58 AM

weeeeeee..................
1,012 posts

hey welcome to the team....... sorry to hear this bro but we have the same problem ... btw terra if there are no microsoft sticker will they entertain our xbox360 even though we will pay for it
terranova
post Oct 17 2006, 01:05 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ Oct 17 2006, 12:58 AM)
hey welcome to the team....... sorry to hear this bro but we have the same problem ... btw terra if there are no microsoft sticker will they entertain our xbox360 even though we will pay for it
BUCUK!!!!!! Hey I saw u online that nite, then my console hung before i could message you!

Dunno ler. Not sure about this sticker thing. Got sticker meh? Never noticed.
Even if have, why yours tak de?

For your case, have you called Micro$oft yet?
Kabadi84
post Oct 17 2006, 05:40 PM

1,012 posts

not yet donno what microsoft to call ....ade nombor microsoft singapore tak any body bole call pakai maxis ke huh....btw dude i misss our old day playing fifa together ...cant wait for wining eleven ...i want to fight you waaa........ long live england huhuhuhuuh

btw you saw me online ..hmm strange donno maybe metalgrind bro is troubleshooting mine ...right metal bro still doing the best he can to get nmy xbox360 up and running

This post has been edited by Kabadi84: Oct 17 2006, 05:42 PM
TSHitman190
post Oct 17 2006, 07:39 PM

589 posts

Hey guys. Another development. Took my 360 to another repair shop. But the guy isnt an expert with the 360 shakehead.gif . But he promises he'll try his very best and will reimburse me for any damages caused.

So wish me luck guys.

PS- I know the risks involved in this guy but my options are down to this. Once again.....

"PRAY FOR ME" sweat.gif sweat.gif cry.gif
ImSIEBEL
post Oct 17 2006, 07:57 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

May the side of XBOX's be with you... notworthy.gif
marauderz
post Oct 17 2006, 10:58 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

Errr... how would you know he caused the damages in the first place?
metalgrindsolid
post Oct 17 2006, 11:37 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ Oct 17 2006, 05:40 PM)
not yet donno what microsoft to call ....ade nombor microsoft singapore  tak any body bole call pakai maxis ke huh....btw dude i misss our old day playing fifa together ...cant wait for wining eleven ...i want to fight you waaa........ long live england huhuhuhuuh

btw you saw me online ..hmm strange donno maybe metalgrind bro is troubleshooting mine ...right metal bro still doing the best he can to get nmy xbox360 up and running
Yes, that was me playing Saint Row demo at that time. Replaced my hard drive with Kabadi's on my 360.

Yesterday another success story over 3 ROD fix. I managed to fix bro XP750's 360. Right now fixing the cause of 3ROD.
XP750
post Oct 18 2006, 02:23 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(metalgrindsolid @ Oct 17 2006, 11:37 PM)
Yes, that was me playing Saint Row demo at that time. Replaced my hard drive with Kabadi's on my 360.

Yesterday another success story over 3 ROD fix. I managed to fix bro XP750's 360. Right now fixing the cause of 3ROD.
haha elite la u bro metal
shock me when u send me those photos, that was really fast!! u told me few days but sekejap few hours dah siap thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
maybe u can save his too
judge-the
post Oct 18 2006, 04:12 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Oct 17 2006, 07:39 PM)
Hey guys. Another development. Took my 360 to another repair shop. But the guy isnt an expert with the 360 shakehead.gif . But he promises he'll try his very best and will reimburse me for any damages caused.

So wish me luck guys.
PS- I know the risks involved in this guy but my options are down to this. Once again.....

"PRAY FOR ME" sweat.gif  sweat.gif  cry.gif
just make sure you dont send to a shop in sg wang called WEGAMAJU. this WEGAMAJU shop damn good in "repairing works"!

QUOTE(metalgrindsolid @ Oct 17 2006, 11:37 PM)

QUOTE(XP750 @ Oct 18 2006, 02:23 AM)
haha elite la u bro metal
shock me when u send me those photos, that was really fast!! u told me few days but sekejap few hours dah siap thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
maybe u can save his too
really have to salute bro metal too... by the way he fixed my broken ps2 already which i thought was the serious lens problem. meeting up with him noon today smile.gif

This post has been edited by judge-the: Oct 18 2006, 04:13 AM
TSHitman190
post Oct 18 2006, 05:23 PM

589 posts

I specifically askd the guy no flashing, modding or any piracy related stuff. He agreed laughed and told me to be on my way.

Listen guys the more I wait the more I worry. Probably the guy might be gutting it right now!!!Jk calm down

But I AM WORRIED but god willing he might give it to me before November.

TSHitman190
post Oct 18 2006, 07:48 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Oct 18 2006, 04:12 AM)
just make sure you dont send to a shop in sg wang called WEGAMAJU. this WEGAMAJU shop damn good in "repairing works"!
WEGAMAJU?? Hmmm never heard of them...Come to think of it I dont exactly memorize the names of the shops there. Some cheay you for all you are worth while the select few will treat you with respect as an avid gamer.

One more thing who is this Indian guy that can speak cantonese? seems hes quite hated here at LYN.
judge-the
post Oct 18 2006, 07:59 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Oct 18 2006, 07:48 PM)
WEGAMAJU?? Hmmm never heard of them...Come to think of it I dont exactly memorize the names of the shops there. Some cheay you for all you are worth while the select few will treat you with respect as an avid gamer.

One more thing who is this Indian guy that can speak cantonese? seems hes quite hated here at LYN.
that guy is working with wegamaju lah. wegamaju is located at the back parkson's entrance if you are coming from the toilet/staircase at the back... that staircase that you can use walk to lowyat. also wegamaju also selling digital camera in their shop.
MobiusVyper
post Oct 18 2006, 08:06 PM

Livin' Ultralife.
1,249 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Oct 18 2006, 07:59 PM)
that guy is working with wegamaju lah. wegamaju is located at the back parkson's entrance if you are coming from the toilet/staircase at the back... that staircase that you can use walk to lowyat. also wegamaju also selling digital camera in their shop.
Hmm.... I think that shop is where I bought my old Xbox. It got rosak 2 times and I sent it there, the guys fixed it within one week without any problems.

Then again I'm not sure if that's the shop. I know it's opposite the staircase and near Parkson's. Is there a DVD shop opposite near Parkson's?

Ah I've never gone to any other gameshop except the ones boss Djinn works at even since I knew about him tongue.gif
TSHitman190
post Oct 18 2006, 08:12 PM

589 posts

Wow so tell me this. Why is that guy so bad? Is he rude to you guys? OR let me guess He steals every penny each time one of you guys goes to his shop?
Merdeka
post Oct 19 2006, 11:27 AM

169 posts

ahh dang!!..it the 3 red light again last nite and this morn on and off.. sad.gif fed up man..

gonna have to go down and get a replacement...a new one he he he rclxm9.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Oct 19 2006, 11:31 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Oct 18 2006, 08:12 PM)
Wow so tell me this. Why is that guy so bad?  Is he rude to you guys? OR let me guess He steals every penny each time one of you guys goes to his shop?
Actually, yes, he's rude most of the time.

Based on my experience he'll also try and cheat you by quoting one price and then telling you you need this adapter, that accessory, etc etc. If you question him too much he'll have this really sucky look on his face.

So yeah, that's why people are pissed off at him. Hey maybe you're HIM! drool.gif
scpt
post Oct 19 2006, 01:40 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(Merdeka @ Oct 19 2006, 11:27 AM)
ahh dang!!..it the 3 red light again last nite and this morn on and off.. sad.gif fed up man..

gonna have to go down and get a replacement...a new one he he he  rclxm9.gif
replacement wat? a new 360?
metalgrindsolid
post Oct 19 2006, 02:16 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Oct 19 2006, 11:31 AM)

Based on my experience he'll also try and cheat you by quoting one price and then telling you you need this adapter, that accessory, etc etc. If you question him too much he'll have this really sucky look on his face.

So yeah, that's why people are pissed off at him. Hey maybe you're HIM!  drool.gif
I used to be their regular costumer. Bought my first PS2 there. Like you said, he cheating you by quote 1 price telling you need to pay more for this la and this la. I have experienced this when I asked him to quote for a gamecube console. I need to pay extra money for AV cable which most of us know that it come together doh.gif . Since then I never come to their shop, I don't want to be treated like an idiot.

Merdeka
post Oct 19 2006, 02:20 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Oct 19 2006, 01:40 PM)
replacement wat? a new 360?
under warranty, 1 to 1 exchange biggrin.gif
scpt
post Oct 19 2006, 02:28 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(Merdeka @ Oct 19 2006, 02:20 PM)
under warranty, 1 to 1 exchange  biggrin.gif
oh so nice, lucky u smile.gif
TSHitman190
post Oct 19 2006, 07:30 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Oct 19 2006, 11:31 AM)

So yeah, that's why people are pissed off at him. Hey maybe you're HIM!  drool.gif
Where got???

Im me. A simple gamer wishing his 360 well. <sigh> whistling.gif
Critical
post Oct 19 2006, 08:52 PM

258 posts

so now the 3ROD is fixable? i mean never rosak again after fix, not using the stupid hot air gun method...

This post has been edited by Critical: Oct 19 2006, 08:55 PM
Merdeka
post Oct 20 2006, 02:31 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Oct 19 2006, 02:28 PM)
oh so nice, lucky u  smile.gif
i say but wait abt 1 week for exchange... sad.gif
Kabadi84
post Oct 20 2006, 02:34 PM

1,012 posts

bro metal any good news ????? or should i say jahanam already.... u balik kampung bile ???
judge-the
post Oct 20 2006, 03:04 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ Oct 20 2006, 02:34 PM)
bro metal any good news ????? or should i say jahanam already.... u balik kampung bile ???
bro metal is going balik kampong penang tomorrow... call him better
tripleB
post Oct 20 2006, 05:33 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(metalgrindsolid @ Oct 19 2006, 02:16 PM)
I used to be their regular costumer. Bought my first PS2 there. Like you said, he cheating you by quote 1 price telling you need to pay more for this la and this la. I have experienced this when I asked him to quote for a gamecube console. I need to pay extra money for AV cable which most of us know that it come together doh.gif . Since then I never come to their shop, I don't want to be treated like an idiot.
Dead on. He's probably the most hated smacktard I've met in the whole of Sg Wang. I got my first Dreamcast from that shop. He must reaaaaaalllly be good at mincing words; I remember asking him for the price of a Dreamcast back in 2001. He quoted it as RM450. But when I got around to asking for other accessories, he tallied it up to RM600, which I paid. Supposedly, he said "Saya tak tau kira, banyak murah". Right.

Once I got back to my car, I noticed that my funds have been greatly reduced. I remembered having calculated in advance how much it would have cost me. Guess what? The smacktard just cheated me out of RM80. So, I got the calculator out, started summing up my purchase, and sure enough, I overpaid RM80. I was THIS close to making a commotion at the shop. Instead, I just delegated the issue to my brother, who was much level-headed at the time.

Adding to the problem, the Dreamcast had problems exactly 10 days after purchase. When I brought it back, he started SCOLDING me for messing up the Dreamcast, saying I touched the lens, saying that the "lens kaki rosak". That's when I got touchy and enquired in what scenario does a gamer need to reach for the lens. He just danced around the question, insisting it MUST have been the lens.

Two weeks later, I had to fork out RM80 for so-called "repairs". The final blow came when I reached home, and found that the problem was NOT SOLVED. I ended up opening up the Dreamcast myself to check for problems. Turns out, it was a loose GD-ROM ribbon cable. After fixing it, my Dreamcast was fine, and continues to be fine until this day. No thanks to Mr. Smacktard of WEGAMAJU. Worst. Shop. Ever.
TSHitman190
post Oct 20 2006, 07:39 PM

589 posts

Hopefully when I get my 360(god willing) it will be fine adn and in tip top condition for years to come.

BTW tripleB

Your insult known as Smacktard is indeed very humourus I must use it sometime against someone.
daidzz
post Oct 21 2006, 10:52 PM

165 posts

whack em ar haha
XP750
post Oct 23 2006, 01:02 AM

324 posts

cheers!! got my 360 back from bro metalgrind,
no more 3ROD!! hope this will last for a long time,
he did some small mod on my 360
really pro, should look for him if u hav any problems!!
thanks ya bro metal!!
Microsuck_360
post Oct 23 2006, 09:59 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(XP750 @ Oct 23 2006, 02:02 AM)
cheers!! got my 360 back from bro metalgrind,
no more 3ROD!! hope this will last for a long time,
he did some small mod on my 360
really pro, should look for him if u hav any problems!!
thanks ya bro metal!!
which shops bro and how much is da service? hope ur 360 will be last longer this time.... notworthy.gif
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Oct 23 2006, 11:40 AM

263 posts

today mornin when i started my 360....gasp.....red ring of death...then connected back again the av and other connectors then it was okay....gave me a shock man......phew....but im still scared.....
judge-the
post Oct 23 2006, 12:14 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Microsuck_360 @ Oct 23 2006, 09:59 AM)
which shops bro and how much is da service? hope ur 360 will be last longer this time.... notworthy.gif
not shop lah... he's our 360 geng also here in LYN, bro metalgrindsolid. he just fixed my playstation2 the other day. before that he was the one helped both bro pop and me installing an additional fan inside our 360 smile.gif
tailgunner
post Oct 23 2006, 12:45 PM

293 posts

can he fix bro jijobest 360? the problem is bro jijo accidently cut the cable (dunno what cable) when he try to open up the heatsink doh.gif
judge-the
post Oct 23 2006, 12:50 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(tailgunner @ Oct 23 2006, 12:45 PM)
can he fix bro jijobest 360? the problem is bro jijo accidently cut the cable (dunno what cable) when he try to open up the heatsink  doh.gif
well you can try pm him and fix a date drop by his place in serdang. he should be back from kampong end of this weekend.
windows_sux
post Oct 23 2006, 01:15 PM

75 posts

hope ur 360 okay

This post has been edited by windows_sux: Oct 23 2006, 01:20 PM
Microsuck_360
post Oct 23 2006, 01:22 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Oct 23 2006, 01:14 PM)
not shop lah... he's our 360 geng also here in LYN, bro metalgrindsolid. he just fixed my playstation2 the other day. before that he was the one helped both bro pop and me installing an additional fan inside our 360 smile.gif
oh i see..thanks for info.. notworthy.gif
XP750
post Oct 25 2006, 02:47 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(Microsuck_360 @ Oct 23 2006, 01:22 PM)
oh i see..thanks for info.. notworthy.gif
haha this guy is really great!!
very dedicated!!!
fix all my 360's problems
hzwasy
post Oct 27 2006, 01:32 AM

My one died too(red ring of death). is there any repair shop in kl? will give it a shot if I can't get it replaced.
judge-the
post Oct 27 2006, 08:50 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(hzwasy @ Oct 27 2006, 01:32 AM)
My one died too(red ring of death). is there any repair shop in kl? will give it a shot if I can't get it replaced.
you better send to bro metalgrindsolid for repair than sending it to useless shops in sg wang
hzwasy
post Oct 27 2006, 11:49 PM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Oct 27 2006, 09:50 AM)
you better send to bro metalgrindsolid for repair than sending it to useless shops in sg wang
Thanks for the feedback bro.
XP750
post Oct 28 2006, 01:46 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Oct 27 2006, 08:50 AM)
DONT SEND TO SG WANG!!!!
those guys are really cheaters!!!
i sent my for warranty be4, and they said that they hav to send it back to hong kong for repairing, cost me rm180 for the shipment which i think they themselves repaired my 360. bro metal said all they did was adding a small wire about 4cm long....and i paid rm180 for that and waited for 3 weeks

bro metalgrind can really be trusted, his price is cheap compared to those shops.
he only took 3 hours to fix my 3ROD!!
Merdeka
post Oct 30 2006, 10:17 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(Merdeka @ Oct 19 2006, 11:27 AM)

gonna have to go down and get a replacement...a new one he he he  rclxm9.gif
woohoo!..

i got a new xbox360!.. thumbup.gif

Thank GOD!.. biggrin.gif
Kabadi84
post Oct 30 2006, 06:34 PM

1,012 posts

bestnyeeee ade xbox baruuuuuuuuuuuuuu
TSHitman190
post Oct 30 2006, 08:56 PM

589 posts

Hey bros!!!

Long time i posted anything here but i got an update.

One of my fans in the 360 went nuclear on me. So the guy said he will fix it as soon as he gets the spare parts which will take quite a while. But on the bright side progress has been made.

So once again "PREY FOR ME MY FELLOW 360ers

AND SOON WE TOGETHER WILL CARVE A BLOODY PATH THROUGH

GEARS OF WAR"

Bwahahaha jk notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
judge-the
post Oct 30 2006, 09:18 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Oct 30 2006, 08:56 PM)
Hey bros!!!

Long time i posted anything here but i got an update.

One of my fans in the 360 went nuclear on me.  So the guy said he will fix it as soon as he gets the spare parts which will take quite a while. But on the bright side progress has been made.

So once again "PREY FOR ME MY FELLOW 360ers

AND SOON WE TOGETHER WILL CARVE A BLOODY PATH THROUGH   

GEARS OF WAR"

Bwahahaha jk notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
another fast solution for you is just get the XCM fan. you can get more information from bro alkt
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Oct 30 2006, 09:47 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

kabadi...ur avatar is giving me nightmares as we post.. shocking.gif
TSHitman190
post Nov 9 2006, 09:30 PM

589 posts

Hey guys an update...

Um.....
Well the guy said that he had to order a chip from sg. I warned him make sure is not a MOD CHIP!!!

I really dont know whats going on......if by next week no progress im taking it away.

360 spare parts are hard to get according to him...but guys who here can fix my 360 in distress!!!

If you have been following my progress you know i ordered about 3 games and thing is i cant play them cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Heres hoping for the best.

If not can you guys give me the names of guys who can help????
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
judge-the
post Nov 9 2006, 09:39 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Nov 9 2006, 09:30 PM)
Hey guys an update...

Um.....
Well the guy said that he had to order a chip from sg. I warned him make sure is not a MOD CHIP!!!

I really dont know whats going on......if by next week no progress im taking it away.

360 spare parts are hard to get according to him...but guys who here can fix my 360 in distress!!!

If you have been following my progress you know i ordered about 3 games and thing is i cant play them cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
3ROD got nothing to do with chip lah. i thought that day you said the shop guy told you 1 fan broken must order 1 new fan replacement and why today need to order chip? what chip? if you fan is broken just buy the XCM fan then settle already.

if i am not mistaken the most common 3ROD because of over heating and those thermal paste thing spilled over on your motherboard. i think you better check with bro metalgrindsolid. the longer you keep your 360 at the shop then the chance getting repaired very slim.

you sent to which shop? sorry no bad intention on yuor shop but you sure or not that shop got experience fixing 3ROD?

This post has been edited by judge-the: Nov 9 2006, 09:40 PM
TSHitman190
post Nov 9 2006, 09:43 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Nov 9 2006, 09:39 PM)
3ROD got nothing to do with chip lah. i thought that day you said the shop guy told you 1 fan broken must order 1 new fan replacement and why today need to order chip? what chip? if you fan is broken just buy the XCM fan then settle already.

if i am not mistaken the most common 3ROD because of over heating and those thermal paste thing spilled over on your motherboard. i think you better check with bro metalgrindsolid. the longer you keep your 360 at the shop then the chance getting repaired very slim.

you sent to which shop? sorry no bad intention on yuor shop but you sure or not that shop got experience fixing 3ROD?
An electronics store in Ampang Park. The guy said he can fix but at this rate he wont instead he'll install a new mod chip at twice the price.

I dont knowlah but its a guess.

Besides where is metalgrindsolid's place anyhow if can i fix there
silencer
post Nov 9 2006, 09:48 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Nov 9 2006, 09:43 PM)
An electronics store in Ampang Park. The guy said he can fix but at this rate he wont instead he'll install a new mod chip at twice the price.

I guess u r being CONNED big time.....better take back your 360 ASAP..before it will lead to other big problem....
TSHitman190
post Nov 9 2006, 09:54 PM

589 posts

I have a feeling you're right....but giving him one more week if nothing persists and the chip actually turns out to be a MOD im taking it...

till then i might change my mind and take the whole thing back!!

also im keeping tabs on this guy now...
judge-the
post Nov 9 2006, 09:54 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Nov 9 2006, 09:43 PM)

you must understand there is a huge difference between he can fix and he fixed before!
fixing normal xbox is different from fixing xbox360. i am not sure what modchip for 360 yet in the market because now all sg wang shops selling flashed dvdrom firmware so we can make conclusion no modchip yet. so why you still wanna wait for the modchip double charges cost?

like what bro silencer said... take back your 360 now! if you want metalgrindsolid's hp please call me at 03-89258058.
TSHitman190
post Nov 9 2006, 10:01 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Nov 9 2006, 09:54 PM)
you must understand there is a huge difference between he can fix and he fixed before!
fixing normal xbox is different from fixing xbox360. i am not sure what modchip for 360 yet in the market because now all sg wang shops selling flashed dvdrom firmware so we can make conclusion no modchip yet. so why you still wanna wait for the modchip double charges cost?

like what bro silencer said... take back your 360 now! if you want metalgrindsolid's hp please call me at 03-89258058.
He has spare parts??? if so that would be cool.
silencer
post Nov 9 2006, 10:09 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Put it this way....what will happen if u let that guy messing around with your 360 for another week... I guess....at that time..no one can fix it at all...

This post has been edited by silencer: Nov 9 2006, 10:10 PM
TSHitman190
post Nov 9 2006, 10:32 PM

589 posts

THAT IS IT!!!!!

ENOUGH!!!!!

jkjk

tongue.gif tongue.gif

I agree on Monday im getting it back. Till then i asked him not to touch it or else he'll pay the damages!!!

anyway by end of November if im good my parents will get me another one. And the fact that my other 360 has a good chance of being repaired i'll have two by the mid 07.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Thats the plan anyway.....heres to fate hope on my side(seriously)

I am not that happy right now..so that you know just concerned that something bad will happen....here to good luck cool.gif

This post has been edited by Hitman190: Nov 9 2006, 10:34 PM
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Nov 10 2006, 09:55 AM

263 posts

YOur 360 is as good as gone dude...ill come for the funeral....
hikaru_x
post Nov 10 2006, 10:24 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Nov 9 2006, 09:30 PM)
Hey guys an update...

Um.....

If you have been following my progress you know i ordered about 3 games and thing is i cant play them cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
what chip la? u know y 360 spare parts hard to get? because there aren't any, esp chips because all repairs are done inhouse by microsoft (or their distributor or whatever). no way they'd sell a piece of chip to some guy and let that fella service their product.
TSHitman190
post Nov 10 2006, 10:31 AM

589 posts

I told the guy not to touch it anymore and i'll come back on Monday to pick it up.

So i assume the guy will not and on monday when i take it back i'll take it to mealgrindsolids place eventually and hopefully it can get fixed till then im preoccupied with my finals.
silencer
post Nov 10 2006, 11:05 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Nov 10 2006, 10:31 AM)
I told the guy not to touch it anymore and i'll come back on Monday to pick it up.

So i assume the guy will not and on monday when i take it back  i'll take it to mealgrindsolids place eventually and hopefully it can get fixed till then im preoccupied with my finals.
Why not taking it now...i doubt that the guy will not touch anythin..as he got nothin to loose...anyhow...by the way.....how do u know if the guy will not mess inside your 360 again...as your 360 is already broken....just my 2 cent..
TSHitman190
post Nov 10 2006, 11:09 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Nov 10 2006, 11:05 AM)
Why not taking it now...i doubt that the guy will not touch anythin..as he got nothin to loose...anyhow...by the way.....how do u know if the guy will not mess inside your 360 again...as your 360 is already broken....just my 2 cent..
Preoccupied studying for exams on Monday i have the day off co i can i pick it up...if he does mess with it i slash the tires of his car tongue.gif

Seriously the guy said he wont touch it if he does HE has to pay... tongue.gif
judge-the
post Nov 10 2006, 11:09 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

actually i do agreed with bro silencer, better collect your 360 asap if possible by today. no point leaving it there tll monday.

sorry no bad intention and dont wanna make you feel bad also.
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Nov 10 2006, 03:58 PM

263 posts

happened to my friend b4..ps2 sent to repair...after that even worse.....
Then tok to another vendor and found out most the parts cannibalised.
necromanser
post Nov 10 2006, 07:43 PM

67 posts

we all here urge you to retrieve that 360 on the double. we are all afraid it will be converted into damn expensive paperweight!!! Trust us friend.. take that 360 before it is to late.
Microsuck_360
post Nov 10 2006, 07:53 PM

241 posts

retrieve and send it to CSI:Microsoft notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Microsuck_360: Nov 10 2006, 07:55 PM
Kabadi84
post Nov 10 2006, 09:33 PM

1,012 posts

yup or else u will ended like me .......
archonixm
post Nov 11 2006, 03:54 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Nov 10 2006, 11:09 AM)
Preoccupied studying for exams on Monday i have the day off co i can i pick it up...if he does mess with it i slash the tires of his car tongue.gif

Seriously the guy said he wont touch it if he does HE has to pay... tongue.gif
He surely must be thinking

Waa this guy warning me?

Heck who cares? He so noob can he even know i already canibalise the part.....

once he bring the xbox360 out of my shop, even after he bring it back i can say

"mebbe u wanna frame us? open all the part then say we do it?"

lol.Dude ....all those leecher always look down on us coz we dont have the skill to repair it our self..so u know la, ur word to them = crap

They r the law

I recommend u take it now......NOW and i said NOW..or u will regret...

SUScarnbyresurrected
post Nov 11 2006, 05:31 AM

263 posts

Since there is nowarranty here in Malaysia...you might as well open up ur console urself....and have a look....if too complex just put back the covers.....no harm done....
alkt
post Nov 11 2006, 08:10 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

who can help fix my 360? it'll hang whenever i load up demo or game from cd sad.gif
DjiNn
post Nov 11 2006, 08:44 AM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Nov 11 2006, 08:10 AM)
who can help fix my 360? it'll hang whenever i load up demo or game from cd sad.gif
throw it away laugh.gif
judge-the
post Nov 11 2006, 09:52 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

maybe you wanna let bro metalgrindsolid have a look at it? both metalgrindsolid and me will be at time square 2pm today.
alkt
post Nov 11 2006, 10:39 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

judge, will meet u guys there after i meet djinn smile.gif
judge-the
post Nov 11 2006, 11:10 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Nov 11 2006, 10:39 AM)
judge, will meet u guys there after i meet djinn smile.gif
ok boss, i'll be there till late evening because my daughter wanna play kuda2 with her 2 cousins in the theme park. will pm you my wife's hp.
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Nov 11 2006, 11:18 AM

263 posts

You bought modded or unmodded.....and if you updated then i guess you already know the answer........
judge-the
post Nov 11 2006, 11:24 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(carnbyresurrected @ Nov 11 2006, 11:18 AM)
You bought modded or unmodded.....and if you updated then i guess you already know the answer........
his 360 is a virgin set lah unmodded...
stoNeYn
post Nov 13 2006, 01:00 AM

I'm having the problem myself, 3ROD. Any advice?
silencer
post Nov 13 2006, 07:15 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(stoNeYn @ Nov 13 2006, 01:00 AM)
I'm having the problem myself, 3ROD. Any advice?
Give more details about it.....yours is modded or unmodded one...it happened after playing certain games?....
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Nov 13 2006, 09:13 AM

263 posts

I heard that you play GOW can get ROD.....guess you need a fan like the one i have blasting at full speed towards the adapter and console....
stoNeYn
post Nov 13 2006, 06:21 PM

It just died on me last night..mine is an unmodded japanese version. I haven't played anything yet last night. The screen was frozen for a while and then the damn light start appearing. I've tried everything, unplugged all the connection plus the harddrive and plugged them again but unsuccessful.
I'm gonna talk to my local retailer today to find out if they can repair it.
The worst thing is, I just received my GOW and COD3 today, damn I'm starting to cry already.
Anyway I'm from Langkawi. Gotta to run, thanks.
stoNeYn
post Nov 13 2006, 06:22 PM

It just died on me last night..mine is an unmodded japanese version. I haven't played anything yet last night. The screen was frozen for a while and then the damn light start appearing. I've tried everything, unplugged all the connection plus the harddrive and plugged them again but unsuccessful.
The worst thing is, I just received my GOW and COD3 today, damn I'm starting to cry already.
TSHitman190
post Nov 13 2006, 06:27 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(stoNeYn @ Nov 13 2006, 06:22 PM)
Friend I feel your grief and know how you feel....Listen you coming down to KL anytime soon? If so a forummer here by the metalgrindsolid maybe can help if he aint busy.

Heck, im looking him up next January to fix my 360.
tailgunner
post Nov 13 2006, 06:34 PM

293 posts

ok which console with the most 3ROD when playing GOW?

for me the 3ROD most appear infront of me at night and it night that everyone using alot of electric. so this u happen when ur 360 not enough electric to push up. normal for me. icon_rolleyes.gif
REsuperG
post Nov 13 2006, 06:53 PM

121 posts

juz send your console to bro metalgridsolid, he fixed my 3ROD'ed 360 in juz 1 day, damn power~~ notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Thrust
post Nov 13 2006, 07:01 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

360 seems to be a little fragile.
TSHitman190
post Nov 13 2006, 08:30 PM

589 posts

Okay guys update finally got my 360 back....Yeah i know it was supposed to be earlier but things got in the way...I got it back and the guy promised nothing was wrong so i checked it out myself and true to his word nothing was missing. So come January metalgrindsolid can fix my 360.

metalgrindsolid BRO PUT ME ON TOP OF THE LIST FOR THAT MONTH KAY?? tongue.gif tongue.gif
alkt
post Nov 13 2006, 08:38 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

to those who played GoW and caused probs to their unit pls reply in
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=366176&st=40

wanna know the headcount smile.gif
jaylike7
post Nov 13 2006, 09:04 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

guess is only you n me man,

going to send my unit to bro Metalgrindsolid to check it out...

hopefully he will free n help me out on this..
sunauto
post Nov 13 2006, 10:01 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

The ring of death is nothing new, I had two XBOX 360 consoles replaced and I'm now on my third one, I'm not too worried as when they replaced a new one, the warranty starts from the one I have received as a replacement and yeah, it takes 3-4 months to get replaced. I guess the XBOX 360 is running too hot but I'm using a NYKO intercooler plus a few Thermaltake fans that I have modified myself to be connect to the USB ports of my XBOX 360 console, I have extra rear and side fans now and it's running now, has been playing with it for 4 months. smile.gif
stoNeYn
post Nov 14 2006, 12:05 AM

I've sent the my unit to my local retailer and according to him, he will sent it to his agent in KL and gonna let them have a look and he promise me to keep me updated on the progress.
If they are unable to fix it I might need bro Metalgrindsolid's help, maybe I can contact him personally to make an arrangement since I won't be coming down to K.L. anytime soon. If worst still, I might be buying a new one when I get my bonus next month (my wife surely gonna kill me).
Anyway thanks alot guys.
silencer
post Nov 14 2006, 12:48 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 13 2006, 10:01 PM)
The ring of death is nothing new, I had two XBOX 360 consoles replaced and I'm now on my third one, I'm not too worried as when they replaced a new one, the warranty starts from the one I have received as a replacement and yeah, it takes 3-4 months to get replaced. I guess the XBOX 360 is running too hot but I'm using a NYKO intercooler plus a few Thermaltake fans that I have modified myself to be connect to the USB ports of my XBOX 360 console, I have extra rear and side fans now and it's running now, has been playing with it for 4 months.  smile.gif
Using nyko intercooler.......?????
judge-the
post Nov 14 2006, 08:33 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(stoNeYn @ Nov 14 2006, 12:05 AM)
I've sent the my unit to my local retailer and according to him, he will sent it to his agent in KL and gonna let them have a look and he promise me to keep me updated on the progress.
If they are unable to fix it I might need bro Metalgrindsolid's help, maybe I can contact him personally to make an arrangement since I won't be coming down to K.L. anytime soon. If worst still, I might be buying a new one when I get my bonus next month (my wife surely gonna kill me).
Anyway thanks alot guys.
dont think so it's a good decision there. so far none of the shops in kl can fix this problem. you send to them and you'll ended up as bro kabadi lah.
sunauto
post Nov 14 2006, 01:05 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

FYI, no one in Malaysia can fix it so the nearest place is Singapore but for my XBOX 360 consoles, both of them were sent from Singapore to Hong Kong than to Japan and finally to US, the whole process took me 3-4 months before I got a brand new XBOX 360 from the shop. Honestly, it can't be fixed as what I was told. The trouble is XBOX 360 is running too hot and if it is using a casing like the old XBOX 1, ventilation might be improved and it will probably lower the heat inside the console. I wouldn't mind if my XBOX 360 looked like a tank as long as it's running great, after all, my pc casing is like a tank (Gigabyte 3D Aurora).

If not, I'll pay them extra to install Thermaltake Mini Typhon and two Vantec 80mm rear fans as long as my console is running cool. Hahaha.

The XBOX 360 has a higher tendency to run hotter when you play games with complex 3D graphics, like Dead Rising, COD 2, etc. I tested the temperature on mine and games like Ridge Racer, the unit doesn't run that hot, that's why most shops always play the Ridge Racer demo, if they were to use Dead Rising as a demo, their console will be dead before they close shop. I guess if under load, the XBOX 360 will run hotter, imagine if a game uses all the three cores and pushing the console to the limit. rclxub.gif We might need to put it inside the freezer.

QUOTE(stoNeYn @ Nov 14 2006, 12:05 AM)
Anyway thanks alot guys.
sunauto
post Nov 14 2006, 01:07 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Yeah, Bro, I'm still using it, so far, no problems, I took it out and checked it, nothing melted or burnt so I guess it doesn't affect every unit in ther market, most probably the person using it has a faulty unit gua. Hard to say, right?

QUOTE(silencer @ Nov 14 2006, 12:48 AM)
Using nyko intercooler.......?????
yoroi
post Nov 14 2006, 01:51 PM

The LOWEST ranked Halo 3 player in the WORLD!!!
1,545 posts

dude this is a much better cooling solution as compared to the nyko intercooler... i suggest you get it...

http://pega.manufacturer.globalsources.com...-GetProduct.htm
judge-the
post Nov 14 2006, 02:16 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 14 2006, 01:07 PM)
Yeah, Bro, I'm still using it, so far, no problems, I took it out and checked it, nothing melted or burnt so I guess it doesn't affect every unit in ther market, most probably the person using it has a faulty unit gua. Hard to say, right?
you better stop using it because all of us that bought it earlier all quit using it. dont think so like what you said lah maybe few faulty units... already can see many cases around, like mine it kept hanging my 360...
sunauto
post Nov 14 2006, 07:12 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

I dunno wor but it helped to keep my XBOX 360 from the ring of death problem, I'll check my Nyko thingy everytime I switched off my console and it's still in good condition, not even a scratch, burnt mark or melted either. Maybe some people trying to give Nyko a bad name leh. Not all reported cases are genuine, remembered last time when people showed photos of melted XBOX 360 games inside the drive, claiming that the dvd drive was so hot until it melted the game inside it. Well, seeing is believing, I dun believe news circulated around the net, maybe some PS3 fan boys trying to make XBOX 360 owners panic.

Aiyah, the cooling stand fan is useless, I have modded two 80 cm fans and fitted to the side of my XBOX 360 console, very good airflow now, powered by USB and DIY pulak, much better choice lah. smile.gif

If it wasn't under warranty, I would have ripped the two useless fans from the console and replace them with Zalman or Vantec ones.

TSHitman190
post Dec 1 2006, 09:32 PM

589 posts

IM BACCCCCK!!!!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

THANKS BRO DJINN AND GUYS NO LIVE FOR ME YET GONNA GET MY ROUTER REPLACED BUT IM BACK IN THE GAME AND THATS WHAT MATTERS!!

SO THANKS GUYS SEE YOU ALL ON LIVE EVENTUALLY AND I WILL PREPARE FOR A BUTT WHIPPING IN GEARS!!! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSHitman190
post Dec 2 2006, 12:33 AM

589 posts

One question:

To avoid any overheating or the fans going nuclear how long do you guys play in one single sitting for a game like say Gears? ??

0.1641sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:21 PM