11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

> Asian Parents and their mentality, I dun wanna live on this planet anymore

TSmanpower4x4
post Apr 6 2015, 09:47 AM, updated 11y ago

200 posts

I don't know about you people but I feel that Asian parents' mentality are not so fit with the current modern era.
Yes, this is a ranting thread but also a discussion thread.

1. My parents are in their 60s and eventhough they are at this age, they still find my granduncle annoying. My granduncle is about 70+ and for all you know, at age of 70, he has some weird behaviour that needs a lot of patience. In their eyes, since they are considered old and still not having such behaviour, they show that my granduncle is now a burden to them. He can't walk much and can't do much and that has brought them to feel that he is now a physical burden.

2. Favouritism is always an issue but in my case it's over the limit. For those who read my posts on CC will know what I went through. In this case, I would say that just because my younger sister is the one sitting down at home not going out (AT ALL WITH ANY FRIENDS OR WHATEVER) and listens to my parents' words most of the time, she gets favourited. No matter how much I did for them, it didn't show once I started ignoring their advice and going against them for my fiancee. And for some reasons, I feel that my family is always trying to keep us (the children and everyone else inside) in a protective bubble that protects us from the outside world. The younger sister is still very immature at 25 this year and she has not lived independently outside of my parents' control and protection.

3. Then there is the "we know what is best for you including marrying which girl" issue which still kinda ticks me off a lot. I myself isn't very happy that they have lots to say about my career choices. I wanted to go into Maktab Perguruan to be a govt teacher, they blocked me instantly saying teachers are for lazy people and people who work as teachers got no prospect. Who cares prospect when they earn more than any average office worker and work half of the time others do. So now I ventured in lecturing without letting them influence me. Though not liking it, they still prayed that I give up on this one day and go back being an office worker.

4. YOU OWE THEM YOUR LIFE AND WELL BEING. OMG. This is the worst part of my life. In my few years working life, 75% of my salary goes to them and yet they are not satisfied. I am a toy collector and my fiancee respects that so when I started working, I will use the sub credit-card to buy some stuffs which one month about RM400-500. Still, my salary was RM2k nett and I only have like what, RM600 to use every month. Reason? I don't need so much money to buy stuffs or spend. And the balance from my salary is to pay for my credit cards normally. But, come on. RM1.4k for them and they still desire more. The best part is, both parents of mine are not being truthful to one another in terms of $$$. Mother can tell me that part of my salary has been saved but at the end when I asked for it, they said "No need to eat, no need to pay for this and that? At the end, where got anymore?". So yeah, I ended up stop giving any $$$ to them and that ticked them off again and to the point of not talking to me. I guess they just want me for my money in repayment of me being brought up so 'well'?

Let's share stories of your parents here and rant it all out. Or opinions as well.
alanyuppie
post Apr 6 2015, 09:48 AM

2,834 posts

TS your past life must be an ang moh so you can make comparison between angmoh and asian parenting difference.

SUSM4A1
post Apr 6 2015, 09:49 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

Go die ts
xpole
post Apr 6 2015, 09:50 AM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

My parents forced me taking a course that I don't like.

But when it comes to find a job, they don't mind. As long as I have a good job. laugh.gif
ray123

Senior Citizen
2,510 posts

Maybe adopted.
GreenSamurai

The Green One
2,150 posts

Wait your salary is only 2.4k but you got fiancée already? Very brave of you there.
firewire
post Apr 6 2015, 09:51 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(manpower4x4 @ Apr 6 2015, 09:47 AM)
I don't know about you people but I feel that Asian parents' mentality are not so fit with the current modern era.
Yes, this is a ranting thread but also a discussion thread.

Let's share stories of your parents here and rant it all out. Or opinions as well.
Do you hope that one day in the future your kid also bash you in a public forum? tongue.gif
TSmanpower4x4
post Apr 6 2015, 09:52 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Apr 6 2015, 09:50 AM)
Wait your salary is only 2.4k but you got fiancée already? Very brave of you there.
Was 2+k. Now it's wayyy above that la.
alanyuppie
post Apr 6 2015, 09:52 AM

2,834 posts

somewhere in lowyat.us ..

"My parent kicked me out at 18 and Im jobless and my only skill is being expert in social media and join webforum. Western parenting sucks. Now I'm aimless coz not given any guidelines on how to even buy my own food. btw , can I redeem food coupons for a handgun? - powermax4x4"

TSmanpower4x4
post Apr 6 2015, 09:53 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(firewire @ Apr 6 2015, 09:51 AM)
Do you hope that one day in the future your kid also bash you in a public forum? tongue.gif
Well if I am at fault, I wouldn't mind been bashed. But the thing is, they themselves do not admit their mistakes. They treat every mistake they make as "it's like that wan la".
olay biscuit barrel
post Apr 6 2015, 09:53 AM

93 posts

Like my buddy said:

They're OK(Chinese)...just rough around the edges.
pineapplegrenade
post Apr 6 2015, 09:54 AM

You can go back to the "circle of reincarnation" if you wanted poi. Very free. Much hurt. poi
ichigo_6091
post Apr 6 2015, 09:55 AM

Renewable energy pls
2,079 posts

Ts, no offense la, but what you described is 140% cainis parents
TSmanpower4x4
post Apr 6 2015, 09:56 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(ichigo_6091 @ Apr 6 2015, 09:55 AM)
Ts, no offense la, but what you described is 140% cainis parents
But come on, I am freaking 30. No need to do this to me anymore.
gettodachoppa
post Apr 6 2015, 09:56 AM

U chinese? Solution?

Just move out whistling.gif
theyoungconsumer
post Apr 6 2015, 09:57 AM

21 posts

I have to agree. I face a lot of these problems also despite coming from a more "privileged" family. All the Petronas bullshit about how parents ask for nothing in return pisses me off all the time.

I literally just got shouted at by my mother because:

a) I'm a girl and I play video games. (I play like 1 or 2 hours MAX per day and not everyday)
- She thinks it turns your brains to shit, I bet she got that from a scientific research paper huh.

b) She thinks everything I do that is bad is in SPITE of her
- EVERYTHING IS ABOUT HER

c) Anything that is wrong with me is my dad's fault (My dad is estranged)
- None of my character issues have anything to do with her

d) She's rich but she is calculative and often uses the "how long do you think it'll take you to pay me back the money" card

e) She has this mentality that being a lady is not playing video games, reading about political things etc but about going out, drinking and meeting guys. AND YET she will let me do neither and then get mad at me for not doing anything like other "people my age". Then when I ask if I can do things that "people my age" do she'll get pissed.

f) Criticizes all my opinions regarding equality and feminism making me feel like a bad person. But is a downright racist who cannot stand malays (call them pig brains) and cannot respect any religion.

My life isn't hard per se, just really frustrating when I'm talking to her and she really brings me down.

mumeichan
post Apr 6 2015, 09:58 AM

4,152 posts

So how much you earn now? Does your sister work?
alanyuppie
post Apr 6 2015, 09:58 AM

2,834 posts

With 2k salary..I suggest TS skip collecting toys for your future's sake. next time blame everything under the sun why wedding cost so much... but when looked back... you seemed cool getting orgasmic spending $$$ on toys with that meagre salary .

shin_daria
post Apr 6 2015, 09:59 AM

24 posts

no 3...my parents are in reverse. want me to be lecturer so bad but i end up being office worker. lol

btw post this up in reddit subforum about asian parents. you'll see a lot more like yours. even in modern america.
Zaryl
post Apr 6 2015, 10:03 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

Be very grateful to your parents la.
They are the ones that brought you to this world. Of course they wanted the best for their children right?

Ditch your toys hobby & grow up become a man. Or find a cheaper hobby to compensate for your mediocre average monthly salary dude.

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0205sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:23 PM